DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 and 11-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertrand et al. (US 2020/0165526 A1) in view of McNamara et al. (US 2017/0233657 A1), further in view of KR 10-2021-0098036 A.
Claim 1
Bertrand teaches a process for pyrolysis of waste plastics comprising feeding plastic material to a pyrolysis reactor (e.g., ¶¶ [0047]-[0054]); heating the plastic in the substantial absence of oxygen to pyrolysis temperatures that encompass the claimed range (e.g., ¶¶ [0056]-[0068]); maintaining the material in the reactor for a sufficient residence time to generate pyrolysis vapors (¶¶ [0060]-[0068]); condensing the pyrolysis vapors to recover liquid hydrocarbons (¶¶ [0071]-[0078]); and recovering liquid hydrocarbon products in substantial yields (¶¶ [0075]-[0083]). Bertrand does not expressly teach adjusting reactor pressure according to characteristic parameters of the plastic feedstock and/or pyrolysis products while maintaining the pressure between atmospheric pressure and 13 bar(a), as recited in step (d). McNamara teaches controlling reactor pressure and reactor operating conditions during plastic pyrolysis, including pressure monitoring, pressure regulation, reactor control valves, and control of pyrolysis vapors to maintain desired operating conditions (e.g., ¶¶ [0043]-[0055], [0070]-[0085]). KR 10-2021-0098036 A further teaches maintaining and regulating reactor pressure during staged plastic pyrolysis using inert gas introduction and pressure monitoring to stabilize the pyrolysis process (e.g., pp. 8-12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertrand's process with the pressure-control techniques taught by McNamara and KR20210098036 in order to stabilize pyrolysis conditions, accommodate varying feedstock characteristics, improve liquid product yield, and optimize reactor operation, which are recognized goals in the pyrolysis art. Claim 2 Bertrand teaches monitoring product yield and product characteristics during pyrolysis (¶¶ [0075]-[0083]). McNamara teaches adjusting operating conditions in response to process conditions (¶¶ [0070]-[0085]). It would have been obvious to utilize product yield or measured product characteristics as control parameters for reactor pressure. Claim 3 Bertrand teaches processing mixed plastic waste having varying composition (¶¶ [0038]-[0046]). Claims 4 and 5 McNamara teaches dynamic reactor pressure control using valves and control systems, resulting in pressure varying over time and within portions of the system (¶¶ [0048]-[0055], [0072]-[0085]). Claims 6 and 7 Bertrand teaches residence times encompassing the claimed ranges (¶¶ [0060]-[0068]).
Claim 9 Bertrand teaches waste plastic feedstocks containing contaminants and non-plastic materials. ¶¶ [0038]-[0046]. Claim 11 Bertrand teaches recycling condensed liquid hydrocarbons back to the reactor or process. ¶¶ [0078]-[0083]. Claims 12 and 13 KR20210098036 teaches introducing inert gases, including nitrogen, during the pyrolysis process to regulate reactor conditions and pressure (pp. 9-11). Claim 14 McNamara teaches pressure regulation by valves controlling vapor flow and downstream pressure regulation. ¶¶ [0070]-[0085]. KR20210098036 further teaches pressure regulation using inert gas supply. Claims 17 and 18 McNamara teaches automatic process control with rapid response to measured process variables (¶¶ [0070]-[0085]). Bertrand teaches measuring feed and product characteristics. It would have been obvious to employ conventional analytical instruments, including spectroscopic techniques, for rapid measurement and automatic process control. Many of the recited analytical techniques were well known for online chemical analysis before the effective filing date.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Adam et al. (WO 2021/204818 A1)
Claim 8
Adam teaches integrating plastic recovery operations with downstream catalytic upgrading of waste-plastic pyrolysis products (e.g., pp. 1-8). It would have been obvious to feed non-recovered mixed plastics from a sorting operation to Bertrand's pyrolysis process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Bertrand to receive mixed plastic feedstock from a downstream plastics sorting and recovery facility as taught by Adam because doing so would have enabled the efficient utilization of otherwise unrecoverable mixed plastic waste, increased overall recovery of valuable hydrocarbons from plastic waste, and improved the economic efficiency of an integrated plastic recycling process.
Claim 15 Bertrand teaches characterizing plastic feedstocks according to composition (¶¶ [0038]-[0046]). Adam teaches analysis of plastic feedstock composition for process optimization (pp. 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Bertrand to characterize the composition of the plastic feedstock using compositional indices, including hydrogen-to-carbon ratio and carbon content, as taught or suggested by Adam because knowledge of feedstock composition enables optimization of pyrolysis operating conditions, accommodates variability in mixed plastic feedstocks, and predictably improves product yield and quality.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stankevitch (US 2003/0047437 A1). Stankevitch teaches secondary heating/cracking of pyrolysis vapors before condensation to improve product distribution (e.g., col. 5, ll. 20-60; col. 6, ll. 1-30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Bertrand to further thermally treat the gaseous pyrolysis effluent before condensation as taught by Stankevitch because doing so would have promoted additional cracking of heavier hydrocarbons, improved the composition and yield of condensable liquid hydrocarbons, and predictably optimized the quality and recovery of the resulting pyrolysis oil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771