Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the 35 USC 112(b) rejections as follow.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, claims 1 and 9 respectively reciting “when the first surface is viewed in a plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line extending from a radiation surface of the antenna passes over the first surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 reciting “a base substrate; an antenna mounted to a mount surface” are indefinite, since (a) it’s unclear how or whether the “base substrate” and the “mount surface” have any interconnection with rest of the claimed elements, and (b) it’s not understood which “mount surface” is being referred to. It other words, it’s unclear what structural interrelationship the base substrate and the mount surface have with rest of the limitations in claim 1.
As such, scope of claim 1 cannot be ascertained.
For examination purposes, the indefinite limitations will be interpreted as --a base substrate; an antenna mounted to a mount surface of the base substrate--.
Claims 2-8 are rejected for depending therefrom.
Claim 5 reciting second instances of “an imaginary perpendicular line” and “a radiation surface” are indefinite, since it’s unclear whether these are related (or in addition) to those recited in claim 1, respectively.
Claims 1 and 9 respectively reciting “when the first surface is viewed in a plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line extending from a radiation surface of the antenna passes over the first surface” are indefinite, since it’s unclear how the “imaginary line…passes over the first surface”. In other words, it’s NOT understood what is meant by “passes over”.
The spec. discloses, e.g., in ¶ 111 of the printed publication:
[0111] An imaginary perpendicular line B extending from a radiation surface 12a of the patch antenna element 12 passes above the AMC 6. Each of the imaginary perpendicular lines B extending from the radiation surfaces of the four patch antenna elements 12 passes above the AMC 6. That is, as shown in FIG. 2, when the first surface 6c of the AMC 6 is viewed in a plan view, the imaginary perpendicular lines B pass the first surface 6c. Each imaginary perpendicular line B indicates the radiation direction of the radio wave radiated from the corresponding radiation surface 12a. Thus, the AMC 6 extends along the radiation direction of the patch antenna element 12.
As such, for examination purposes, last clause of claims 1 and 9 will be interpreted as --when the first surface is viewed in a plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line extending from a radiation surface of the antenna passes above the first surface such that the conductor member extends along a radiation direction of the antenna--.
There should be a clear recitation of interrelated structure in order to provide a complete and operable (vehicle) antenna module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Crawford” (US 6456242).
Claim 1: As best understood, Crawford discloses an antenna module comprising:
a base substrate 510 (Fig. 9);
an antenna 520, 550 mounted to a mount surface; and
a conductor member 508 having a plate shape and arranged so as to be adjacent to the antenna (see Fig. 9),
the conductor member having a first (top) surface on which a plurality of first unit cells 530, 540 made (inherently) of a conductor are regularly arrayed, wherein
the conductor member has a base end B adjacent to the antenna,
the first surface extends from the base end along the mount surface (see Fig. 9), and
when the first surface is viewed in a plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line I extending from a radiation surface of the antenna passes over the first surface (see Fig. 9).
Claim 5: As best understood, Crawford teaches the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein the antenna includes one or a plurality of patch antenna elements, and when the first surface is viewed in the plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line I extending from a radiation surface of the one or the plurality of patch antenna elements passes over the first surface (see Fig. 9 reproduced above).
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Takahashi” (US 2023/0238708)
Claim 1: As best understood, Takahashi discloses an antenna module comprising:
a base substrate 5 (Fig. 1 reproduced below);
an antenna 6 mounted to a mount surface (atop substrate 5); and
a conductor member 10 having a plate shape and arranged so as to be adjacent to the antenna (see Fig. 1),
the conductor member having a first (top) surface on which a plurality of first unit cells 11-12 made of a conductor are regularly arrayed, wherein
the conductor member has a base end B adjacent to the antenna,
the first surface extends from the base end along the mount surface (see Fig. 1 above), and
when the first surface is viewed in a plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line I extending from a radiation surface of the antenna passes over the first surface (a skilled artisan would appreciate that the imaginary line I passes “over” the first surface by virtue of it not crossing or interacting with said first surface).
Claim 2: Takahashi teaches the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein the conductor member includes:
a first ground conductor layer 7 (Fig. 1); and
a first dielectric layer 5 present between the plurality of first unit cells and the first ground conductor layer.
Takahashi fails to expressly teach an electrical length between a boundary between the plurality of first unit cells and the first dielectric layer, and a boundary between the first ground conductor layer and the first dielectric layer is 0.03 or greater.
However, Takahashi teaches in ¶ [0039], “the attenuation characteristics of the electromagnetic wave by the plurality of EBG elements 10 can be designed by adjusting values (inductance and capacitance) of the elements in the above-described equivalent circuit. Examples of the attenuation characteristics include an attenuation bandwidth, an attenuation amount, and the like. The values of the elements can be adjusted by changing parameters that define the structure of the plurality of EBG elements 10. Some examples of the parameters will be described.”
Nevertheless, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCP A 1980).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi’s invention such that an electrical length between a boundary between the plurality of first unit cells and the first dielectric layer, and a boundary between the first ground conductor layer and the first dielectric layer is 0.03 or greater, in order to obtain a desired attenuation bandwidth or attenuation amount.
Claim 3: Takahashi teaches the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein the conductor member has an outer end O (Fig. 1 reproduced above) on a side opposite to the base end B, the first surface extends from the base end to the outer end (see Fig. 1 above).
Takahashi fails to expressly teach a ratio of a distance from the base end to the outer end relative to a vacuum wavelength of a radio wave radiated from the antenna is 1 or greater.
Nevertheless, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCP A 1980).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi’s invention such that a ratio of a distance from the base end to the outer end relative to a vacuum wavelength of a radio wave radiated from the antenna is 1 or greater, in order to obtain a desired attenuation bandwidth or attenuation amount.
Claim 4: Takahashi teaches the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein the conductor member has an outer end O (Fig. 1 reproduced above) on a side opposite to the base end B, the first surface extends from the base end to the outer end (see Fig. 1 above).
Takahashi fails to expressly teach a distance from the base end to the outer end is 10.7 mm or more.
Nevertheless, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCP A 1980).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Takahashi’s invention such that a distance from the base end to the outer end is 10.7 mm or more, in order to obtain a desired attenuation bandwidth or attenuation amount.
Claim 5: As best understood, Takahashi teaches the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein the antenna includes one or a plurality of patch antenna elements (see Figs. 1 and 5-10), and when the first surface is viewed in the plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line I (in Z direction in Fig. 1 below) extending from a radiation surface of the one or the plurality of patch antenna elements passes the first surface (see Fig. 1).
Claim 7: Takahashi teaches the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein a frequency of a radio wave transmitted and received by the antenna is 20 GHz or higher (Figs. 11-12, ¶ [0062]).
Claim 8: Takahashi teaches the antenna module according to claim 1, wherein the mount surface is a roof surface of a vehicle 2900 (Fig. 15; the antenna is part of 2926, see ¶¶ [0081-0083]).
Claim 9: As best understood, Takahashi discloses a vehicle comprising:
a vehicle body 2900 (Fig. 15);
an antenna 6 (Fig. 1 reproduced above) mounted to an upper (roof) surface of the vehicle body (the antenna is part of 2926 in Fig. 15, see ¶¶ [0081-0083]); and
a conductor member 10 having a plate shape and mounted to the upper surface so as to be adjacent to the antenna (see Fig. 1),
the conductor member having a first surface (top surface of substrate 5) on which a plurality of first unit cells 11-12 made of a conductor are regularly arrayed, wherein
the conductor member has a base end B adjacent to the antenna,
the first surface extends from the base end along the upper surface (see Fig. 1 above), and
when the first surface is viewed in a plan view, an imaginary perpendicular line I extending from a radiation surface of the antenna passes over the first surface (a skilled artisan would appreciate that the imaginary line I passes “over” the first surface by virtue of it not crossing or interacting with said first surface).
Claims 10-11: Takahashi teaches the vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the conductor member is a body separate from the antenna (see Fig. 1);
wherein the conductor member includes an artificial magnetic conductor EBG (abstract; a skilled artisan would appreciate that an EBG is synonymous to an artificial magnetic conductor AMC).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizunuma (US 11133574)
Yun (US 10868362)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HASAN ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845