CTNF 18/725,852 CTNF 101564 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2024 w is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Response to Preliminary Amendment Preliminary amendments were submitted on 07/01/2024 and have been acknowledged. Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 have been amended. Claims 2, 3, 10, and 11 have been cancelled. Claims 12, 13 and 14 are new. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claim 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 12 and 13 are dependent on cancelled claim 2. Examiner notes that because of this ambiguity in dependency claim scope cannot be surely determined. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellary et al (Bellary hereinafter GB 2609619 A “A Method For Determining Deviation In Alignment Of A Camera In A Vehicle”) in view of Ogura et al (Ogura hereinafter JP 2003016459 A “METHOD FOR DETECTING VISUAL FIELD DIRECTION DEVIATION”) As per claim 1 Bellary teaches deviation amount detecting device comprising : processing circuitry configured to acquire an image of an inside of a vehicle captured by an imaging device (Detailed description “ adjustment or positioning of camera in a slot defined in the vehicle…a method for determining deviation in alignment of a camera in a vehicle is disclosed…the above method of aligning the camera 201 may also be applicable to dashboard cameras”) , and generate an edge image representing a contour of a structure appearing in the image (Detailed description: “ The processing module 202b in the control unit 202 may determine edges 2b and 2e of the body portion 2a of vehicle visible in the captured images 2 received from the camera 201 at step 101. The processing module 202b may further estimate an alignment 2h from the determined edges 2b and 2e of the captured image 2 at step 103.”) acquire a reference image representing the contour of the structure when an installation position of the imaging device is a correct installation position ( Detailed Description “ the estimated alignment 2h in the captured image 2 is further compared with the alignment lh of the body portion la in the one or more reference images 1 by the comparison module 202e at step 105 .” ) search for a reference pixel corresponding to each of imaging pixels which are a plurality of pixels indicating the contour represented by the generated edge image from among reference pixels, which are a plurality of pixels indicating the contour represented by the reference image (Detailed Description :“The number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the captured images 2 are compared with the number of pixels in the body portion la of the one or more reference image I by the comparison module at step 104.”) output a pixel position of each of the imaging pixels and a pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the imaging pixels; (Detailed description: “Further, the comparison module 202c of the control unit 202 compares the number of pixels in the body portion 2a of the captured image 2 with number of pixels in the body portion la of the reference image 1 at step 104” Detailed description: “The display module 202d of the control unit 202 may convey the deviation in number of pixels of the body portion 2a to the display unit 203b of the indication unit 203 and the same may be indicated by display unit 203b”) calculate a positional deviation amount, which is a deviation amount between the installation position of the imaging device and the correct installation position, from the pixel position of each of the imaging pixels having been output and the pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the imaging pixels having been output ( “The control unit 202 is configured to determine deviation in the body portion 2a of vehicle visible in the images 2 received from the camera 201, from the body portion la of the vehicle visible in one or more reference images 1... the comparison module 202c may also compare the determined number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the images 2 received from the camera 201 with the number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the reference images 2. Further, based on the output form the comparison module 202c, the display module 202d of the control unit 202 may display the results or deviation in alignment of the body portion 2a by the display unit 203b…the comparison module 202c may also compare the determined number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the images 2 received from the camera 201 with the number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the reference images 2. Further, based on the output form the comparison module 202c, the display module 202d of the control unit 202 may display the results or deviation in alignment of the body portion 2a by the display unit 203b.”) calculate, using the positional deviation amount, an optical axis deviation amount that is a deviation amount between an optical axis of the imaging device and an optical axis of the imaging device when an installation angle of the imaging device is a correct installation angle ; Bellary does not teach calculate, using the positional deviation amount, an optical axis deviation amount that is a deviation amount between an optical axis of the imaging device and an optical axis of the imaging device when an installation angle of the imaging device is a correct installation angle ; and correct the image of the inside of the vehicle captured by the imaging device by using the optical axis deviation amount. Ogura teaches calculate, using the positional deviation amount, an optical axis deviation amount that is a deviation amount between an optical axis of the imaging device and an optical axis of the imaging device when an installation angle of the imaging device is a correct installation angle (Paragraph [0014] “An input edge image generating step of generating an input edge image of the input image and a positional deviation amount calculating step of calculating a positional deviation between the reference edge image and the input edge image are provided to detect the optical axis deviation… Paragraph [0019] “The position shift amount calculating step of the optical axis shift detecting method of the image pickup apparatus according to the present invention comprises the reference image projection in which the pixels of the reference edge image of the reference image are projected in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction, and the input of the input image…image pickup apparatus optical axis shift detection method of the present invention, an optical axis shift determination step for determining the accuracy of the shift amount by comparing the pixel values of the reference image and the input image is provided to detect the optical axis shift of the image pickup apparatus””) correct the image of the inside of the vehicle captured by the imaging device by using the optical axis deviation amount. ( Paragraph [0020] “If the field of view of the camera 501 has moved, incorrect matching may occur. Therefore, in FIG. 7, a confirmation step 701 is added by comparing grayscale images for determining whether or not the calculated optical axis shift amount 109 is correct.” In further regard to the limitation of correct the image of the inside of the vehicle captured by the imaging device by using the optical axis deviation amount. Bellary states that “ The control unit 202 may be configured to generate a recommendation indicative of correction of the deviation, based on the determined level of the deviation…the calibration algorithm may compensate for the deviation in the second alignment 2h by suitably programming the software to realize the correct alignment of the camera 201… the control unit 202 may accordingly indicate that the camera 201 is aligned correctly and any small deviation in the second alignment 2h may suitably be compensated by the calibration algorithm.” Within the confines of the modified Bellary/Ogura modified workflow, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be aware that instead of directly using the angular positional deviation to make corrections , to calculate an optical axis deviation using the positional deviation (as taught by Ogura )and use that optical axis deviation to make the correction. Therefore, accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious at the time this invention was effectively filed to modify the Bellary workflow with Ogura’s concept of calculating an optical axis deviation from the positional deviation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this because Bellary states that “The technician may slightly move the camera 201 along its optical axis to re-align the camera 201 such that the body portion 2a of the vehicle lies within the predetermined range of ideal values… Based on the results from the comparison module 202e of the control unit 202, the technician, in the above case may re-align the camera 201 by rotating the camera 201 along its optical axis and by also moving the camera 201 along its vertical axis if required.” Bellary also states that “The alignment may be performed by manually adjusting the camera or using an automated technique, and the feedback for correct alignment of the camera may be procured form images captured by the camera.” A person of ordinary skill would have realized after reading this that there is a need to automate the optical axis alignment itself and would have seen the remedy of mathematically transitioning the positional deviation to the optical axis deviation through Ogura. This modification allows the alignment system to remove human caused error of optical axis realignment and boost the adjustments efficiency. As per claim 9 Bellary and Ogura teach all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 1’s 103 rejection. See claim 1’s 103 rejection. Bellary teaches The deviation amount detecting device according to claim 1, wherein the imaging device is installed on a center console, a steering wheel column, an A-pillar, a rearview mirror, a dashboard, an instrument panel, or a ceiling (Detailed description “camera 201 mounted at the right-side rear-view mirror and the left-side rear-view mirror….camera 201 aligned on the left side mirror or the right-side rear-view mirror. As seen from Fig.8, the captured image 2 includes the body portion 2a of the vehicle. The body portion 2a of the vehicle in the captured image 2 from the camera 201 aligned to the left or the right-side rear-view mirror ) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellary et al (Bellary hereinafter GB 2609619 A “A Method For Determining Deviation In Alignment Of A Camera In A Vehicle”) in view of Luo et al (Luo hereinafter US 20080231027 A1) As per claim 6 Bellary teaches deviation amount detecting device comprising :processing circuitry configured to acquire an image of an inside of a vehicle captured by an imaging device (Detailed description “ adjustment or positioning of camera in a slot defined in the vehicle…a method for determining deviation in alignment of a camera in a vehicle is disclosed…the above method of aligning the camera 201 may also be applicable to dashboard cameras”) , and generate an edge image representing a contour of a structure appearing in the image (Detailed description: “ The processing module 202b in the control unit 202 may determine edges 2b and 2e of the body portion 2a of vehicle visible in the captured images 2 received from the camera 201 at step 101. The processing module 202b may further estimate an alignment 2h from the determined edges 2b and 2e of the captured image 2 at step 103.”) acquire a reference image representing the contour of the structure when an installation position of the imaging device is a correct installation position ( Detailed Description “ the estimated alignment 2h in the captured image 2 is further compared with the alignment lh of the body portion la in the one or more reference images 1 by the comparison module 202e at step 105 .” ) search for a reference pixel corresponding to each of imaging pixels which are a plurality of pixels indicating the contour represented by the generated edge image from among reference pixels, which are a plurality of pixels indicating the contour represented by the reference image (Detailed Description :“The number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the captured images 2 are compared with the number of pixels in the body portion la of the one or more reference image I by the comparison module at step 104.”) output a pixel position of each of the imaging pixels and a pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the imaging pixels; (Detailed description: “Further, the comparison module 202c of the control unit 202 compares the number of pixels in the body portion 2a of the captured image 2 with number of pixels in the body portion la of the reference image 1 at step 104” Detailed description: “The display module 202d of the control unit 202 may convey the deviation in number of pixels of the body portion 2a to the display unit 203b of the indication unit 203 and the same may be indicated by display unit 203b”) calculate a positional deviation amount, which is a deviation amount between the installation position of the imaging device and the correct installation position, from the pixel position of each of the imaging pixels having been output and the pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the imaging pixels having been output ( “The control unit 202 is configured to determine deviation in the body portion 2a of vehicle visible in the images 2 received from the camera 201, from the body portion la of the vehicle visible in one or more reference images 1... the comparison module 202c may also compare the determined number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the images 2 received from the camera 201 with the number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the reference images 2. Further, based on the output form the comparison module 202c, the display module 202d of the control unit 202 may display the results or deviation in alignment of the body portion 2a by the display unit 203b…the comparison module 202c may also compare the determined number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the images 2 received from the camera 201 with the number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the reference images 2. Further, based on the output form the comparison module 202c, the display module 202d of the control unit 202 may display the results or deviation in alignment of the body portion 2a by the display unit 203b.”) acquires a plurality of images of the inside of the vehicle (Detailed description: method includes the steps of receiving, by a control unit, images captured from the camera positioned in a slot defined in the vehicle . ) Bellary does not teach generates the edge image representing the contour of the structure appearing in each of the images, and performs averaging processing of a plurality of generated edge images; and the pixel searching unit searches for, among the plurality of reference pixels, a reference pixel corresponding to each of imaging pixels, which are a plurality of pixels indicating a contour represented by the edge image after the averaging processing Luo teaches acquires a plurality of images of the inside of the vehicle , generates the edge image representing the contour of the structure appearing in each of the image (Paragraph [0019] “An edge detection algorithm can then be utilized to produce an edge image from each of a plurality of images of the vehicle interior”) performs averaging processing of a plurality of generated edge images (Paragraph [0033] “Values (e.g., grayscale values) associated with corresponding pixels can be averaged across the edge images in the rolling buffer. The averaged value for each pixel within the resulting averaged edge image can then be compared to a threshold value”) searches for, among the plurality of reference pixels, a reference pixel corresponding to each of imaging pixels which are a plurality of pixels indicating a contour represented by the edge image after the averaging processing (Paragraph [0024] “An averaging element 176 can average associated values (e.g., grayscale values) of corresponding pixels across the images in the rolling buffer to produce a composite image, where the associated value of each pixel is equal to the average (e.g., mean) of pixels in the corresponding position in the images” Paragraph [0025] A template matching element 188 compares a plurality of templates to the static edge image. Paragraph [0033] “a long term filter is applied across a series of edge images to produce a static edge image that represents relatively stationary edges within the image. For example, each image can be stored in a rolling buffer and blurred with a Gaussian filter to obscure small changes in the edge position. Values (e.g., grayscale values) associated with corresponding pixels can be averaged across the edge images in the rolling buffer. The averaged value for each pixel within the resulting averaged edge image..” The static edge image is the product of a series of edge images. The static edge image is the average of the edge images. This static edge image is then compared to the plurality of template images (reference images)) Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time this invention was effectively filed would have found it obvious to modify Bellary’s pipeline with Luo’s concept of comparing the average of a plurality of edge images to a plurality of reference images. Bellary already states in the Detailed Description that the “number of pixels in the body portion la of the vehicle from the reference image I may be determined by histogram or any other method known in the art. The number of pixels detectable in the body portion la of the vehicle from the reference image 1 is also indicative of an ideal alignment of the camera 201”. A person of ordinary skill in the art is aware that histogram is a model which displays the distribution of data by grouping it into bins and showing how many data points fall into each bin. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be inclined to take the average of all those data points. Luo already points out in paragraph [0035] that “One set of features that can be extracted is a set of descriptive statistics representing the edge segments comprising the static edge image…histograms of these characteristics can be constructed in which counts of segments falling within define ranges of one or more of size”. A person of ordinary skill in the art is also aware that averaging edge images and comparing them to reference images creates a strong noise filter. A person of ordinary skill in the art is aware this separates true consistent structural features from random anomalies. Comparing a population of these averages to a set of references improves accuracy, and fidelity of object recognition allowing for a more accurate device alignment/ calibration . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellary et al (Bellary hereinafter GB 2609619 A “A Method For Determining Deviation In Alignment Of A Camera In A Vehicle”) in view of Ogura et al (Ogura hereinafter JP 2003016459 A “METHOD FOR DETECTING VISUAL FIELD DIRECTION DEVIATION”) in further view of Miyaji et al (Miyaji hereinafter JP 2010181209 “A DEVICE AND METHOD FOR AUTOMATICALLY CALIBRATING CAMERA” As per claim 7 Bellary and Ogura teach all claim limitation previously rejected in claim 1’s 103 rejection. See claim 1’s 103 rejection. Bellary nor Ogura teach the structure appearing in the image of the inside of the vehicle is a window frame, an assist grip, a headrest, a B-pillar, a door frame, a shoulder anchor, or a sun visor of the vehicle. Miyaji teaches the structure appearing in the image of the inside of the vehicle is a window frame, an assist grip, a headrest, a B-pillar, a door frame, a shoulder anchor, or a sun visor of the vehicle ( Figure 1, “FIG. 1 is a configuration diagram of a camera automatic calibration apparatus 10 mounted on an in-vehicle system according to an…The camera 12 takes an image of a region that extends from the arrangement site within a predetermined angular range. The photographing area photographed by the camera 12 is plane-symmetric with respect to a certain reference plane (plane-symmetrical reference plane… A plane-symmetric object 16 having a plurality of sets of feature points is included. The plane-symmetrical object 16 includes an outer frame of a back portion of a vehicle seat on which a vehicle driver is seated, an outer frame of a headrest attached to the vehicle seat, a window frame” Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time this invention was effectively filed would have further modified the Bellary/Ogura pipeline with Miyaji’s concept of using a headrest or window frame within the captured image. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to include one of these objects within the image because a person of ordinary skill in the art is aware that a stationary non moving inanimate object that is a core part of the vehicle is the best object for calibrating the installed device. These objects within the image are stationary and can give a constant and repeatable calibration result. Bellary states that “the control unit further determines a deviation in a body portion of vehicle visible in the images received from the camera, from the body portion of the vehicle visible in one or more reference image.”, insisting that whatever is in the image should be an integral part of the interior of the vehicle to make the deviation comparison. As per claim 8 Bellary and Ogura teach all claim limitations previously rejected in claim 1’s 103 rejection. See claim 1’s 103 rejection. Miyaji teaches wherein the structure appearing in the image of the inside of the vehicle is a part of a window frame of the vehicle, and the part of the window frame includes an upper side portion of the window frame and a side portion of the window frame in contact with the upper side portion of the window frame, or includes only the upper side portion of the window frame. (Detailed description: “ should be noted that the vehicle seat, headrest, glass window frame, and interior break as the plane-symmetric object 16 are included in the captured image 14 of the camera 12 when the vehicle driver is not seated.” Examiner considers that an image of a window frame includes a upper side portion of the window frame and a side portion of the window frame in contact with the upper side portion of the window frame” Furthermore a person of ordinary skill in the art can choose what position the camera should be to capture the image of the window frame in order to calibrate the device.) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bellary et al (Bellary herein after GB 2609619 A “A Method For Determining Deviation In Alignment Of A Camera In A Vehicle” ) As per claim 5 Bellary teaches a deviation amount detecting device --comprising: processing circuitry configured to acquire an image of an inside of a vehicle captured by an imaging device (Detailed description “ adjustment or positioning of camera in a slot defined in the vehicle”) , and generate an edge image representing a contour of a structure appearing in the image (Detailed description: “ The processing module 202b in the control unit 202 may determine edges 2b and 2e of the body portion 2a of vehicle visible in the captured images 2 received from the camera 201 at step 101. The processing module 202b may further estimate an alignment 2h from the determined edges 2b and 2e of the captured image 2 at step 103.”) acquire a reference image representing the contour of the structure when an installation position of the imaging device is a correct installation position ( Detailed Description “ the estimated alignment 2h in the captured image 2 is further compared with the alignment lh of the body portion la in the one or more reference images 1 by the comparison module 202e at step 105 .” ) search for a reference pixel corresponding to each of imaging pixels, which are a plurality of pixels indicating the contour represented by the generated edge image, from among reference pixels, which are a plurality of pixels indicating the contour represented by the reference image (Detailed Description :“The number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the captured images 2 are compared with the number of pixels in the body portion la of the one or more reference image I by the comparison module at step 104.”) output a pixel position of each of the imaging pixels and a pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the imaging pixels (Detailed description: “Further, the comparison module 202c of the control unit 202 compares the number of pixels in the body portion 2a of the captured image 2 with number of pixels in the body portion la of the reference image 1 at step 104” Detailed description: “The display module 202d of the control unit 202 may convey the deviation in number of pixels of the body portion 2a to the display unit 203b of the indication unit 203 and the same may be indicated by display unit 203b”) calculate a positional deviation amount, which is a deviation amount between the installation position of the imaging device and the correct installation position, from the pixel position of each of the imaging pixels having been output and the pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the imaging pixels having been output ( “The control unit 202 is configured to determine deviation in the body portion 2a of vehicle visible in the images 2 received from the camera 201, from the body portion la of the vehicle visible in one or more reference images 1... the comparison module 202c may also compare the determined number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the images 2 received from the camera 201 with the number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the reference images 2. Further, based on the output form the comparison module 202c, the display module 202d of the control unit 202 may display the results or deviation in alignment of the body portion 2a by the display unit 203b…the comparison module 202c may also compare the determined number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the images 2 received from the camera 201 with the number of pixels of the visible body portion 2a in the reference images 2. Further, based on the output form the comparison module 202c, the display module 202d of the control unit 202 may display the results or deviation in alignment of the body portion 2a by the display unit 203b.”) calculates the positional deviation amount from the pixel position of each of the imaging pixels and the pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the imaging pixels only when a matching degree between a line shape of the contour represented by the reference image and a line shape of the contour represented by the edge image is equal to or greater than a threshold . (Hough line detection algorithm detects lines by finding the pairs that has a number of intersections larger than a certain threshold...The slope or the second alignment 2h between the third edge 2b and the fourth edge 2c may be determined by the processing module 202b through Hough line detection method… The comparison module 202c of the control unit 202 may determine a deviation of the second alignment 2h of the body portion 2a in the captured image 2 from the first alignment 111 of the body portion la in the reference image 1 at step 105…control unit 202 may determine a deviation of the second alignment 2h of the body portion 2a in the captured image 2 from the first alignment 111 of the body portion la in the reference image 1 at step 10… The deviation of the second alignment 2h may be for example found to be two degrees. Further, the comparison module 202c of the control unit 202 may check if the determined deviation of the second alignment 2h from the first alignment lh lies within a pre-determined range of values. If the deviation of the second alignment 2h does not lie within the range of pre-determined values) Allowable Subject Matter Claim 4 and 14 are allowed. No prior art or combination of prior art suggest generating a distance image, comparing the distance image to the edge image in regards to distance and subsequent luminance value, nor calculating a positional deviation amount from the pixel position of each of the distance pixels and the pixel position of the reference pixel corresponding to each of the distance pixels. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHANE WRENSFORD CODRINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-8130. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Bella can be reached at (571) 272-7778. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHANE WRENSFORD CODRINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2667 /MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 2 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 3 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 4 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 5 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 6 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 7 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 8 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 9 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 10 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 11 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 12 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 13 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 14 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 15 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 16 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 17 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/725,852 Page 18 Art Unit: 2667