DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, there needs to be a “;” after “coupled to the memory” in line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims 1, and similarly for claims 15 and 16, recites “acquire traffic status data related to movements of a vehicle and a pedestrian at an intersection for a predetermined time in the past; calculate a first evaluation value based on the traffic status data; and create, based on the first evaluation value, a signal control schedule, including timing at which pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control is to be performed at the intersection”. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. Nothing in the claim precludes the acquiring, calculating, and creating from practically being performed in the human mind. If a claim limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Specifically, independent claim 1, and similarly for claims 15 and 16, recites “acquire traffic status data related to movements of a vehicle and a pedestrian at an intersection for a predetermined time in the past; calculate a first evaluation value based on the traffic status data; and create, based on the first evaluation value, a signal control schedule, including timing at which pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control is to be performed at the intersection”, which is merely just a concept can be performed in the human mind. Thus, all of the limitations can be performed mentally. As such, the claim is directed solely to perform mental processes that fall into the “Mental Processes” groupings of abstract ideas and is directed to a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The memory and processor are generic elements. Therefore, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-14 recites limitations adding specific information to the abstract idea. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuichi (JP 2023-094223 A)
In regard to claim 1, Yuichi teaches a signal control system comprising (Yuichi, Page 3, Para. 5, the signal control server 2 constitutes a central device of the traffic control system. The signal control server 2 generates traffic condition information about the traffic condition around the intersection by image analysis processing on the camera image, and generates signal control information for controlling the traffic signal 3 based on the traffic condition information. The signal control server 2 transmits signal control information to the traffic signal 3): a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Yuichi, Page 10, Para. 10, The signal control server 2 includes a communication section 21, a storage section 22 and a processor 23); the at least one processor performing operations to: acquire traffic status data related to movements of a vehicle and a pedestrian at an intersection (Yuichi, Page 8, Para. 8, the traffic conditions of left-turning vehicles, specifically the number of pedestrians crossing, and the traffic conditions of pedestrians crossing, specifically, the average speed of left-turning vehicles In addition to the traffic situation of left-turning vehicles and pedestrians crossing, the waiting situation of pedestrians waiting to cross the street, specifically, the number of people waiting to cross may be added to perform signal control) for a predetermined time in the past (Yuichi, Page, 11, Para. 5-10, traffic conditions are categorized into multiple patterns based on past traffic condition information; The signal control server 2 first acquires traffic condition information for each monitoring area by image analysis of camera images at a predetermined control period (for example, 1 minute, 2.5 minutes, 5 minutes, 15 minutes, etc.) (ST101)); calculate a first evaluation value based on the traffic status data (Yuichi, page. 11, Para. 11, the signal control server 2 calculates the balance (stability) of the traffic flow at the intersection (ST102). At this time, the traffic flow balance for each lane and pedestrian crossing is calculated); and create, based on the first evaluation value, a signal control schedule, including timing at which pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control is to be performed at the intersection (Yuichi, Page, 13, Para. 11-12, when the first event applies, that is, when the number of pedestrians crossing is large and the left-turning vehicle speed is high ("first event" in ST401), the signal control server 2 Signal control information is generated so as to extend the green time (signal time during which pedestrians are permitted to cross) (ST402). As a result, pedestrians crossing the street are given priority, and the waiting area for pedestrians to cross is improved; In addition, when the second event applies, that is, when the number of pedestrians crossing is small and the speed of the left-turning vehicle is high ("second event" in ST401), the degree of trouble is low, so signal control is performed. Server 2 generates standard signal control information (ST403)).
In regard to claim 2, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the first evaluation value is a statistical value indicating a degree of stay of the vehicle due to intersection of traffic lines of the vehicle and the pedestrian in the predetermined time in the past (Yuichi, Page, 10, Para. 7, each piece of information such as the date and time, the number of areas, the lane number, and the distance of the trailing vehicle (the length of the congested lane) is acquired. Also, as information about vehicles, each information of the number of passing vehicles, average speed, time occupation ratio, and space occupation ratio is acquired).
In regard to claim 3, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: switch between control methods for a traffic light at the intersection according to the created signal control schedule (Yuichi, Page, 13, Para. 11-12, when the first event applies, that is, when the number of pedestrians crossing is large and the left-turning vehicle speed is high ("first event" in ST401), the signal control server 2 Signal control information is generated so as to extend the green time (signal time during which pedestrians are permitted to cross) (ST402). As a result, pedestrians crossing the street are given priority, and the waiting area for pedestrians to cross is improved; In addition, when the second event applies, that is, when the number of pedestrians crossing is small and the speed of the left-turning vehicle is high ("second event" in ST401), the degree of trouble is low, so signal control is performed. Server 2 generates standard signal control information (ST403)).
In regard to claim 4, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: calculate the first evaluation value using a statistical value of a left turn waiting time when a left-turning vehicle waits for passage of a pedestrian in front of a crosswalk located ahead of a left turn in the predetermined time in the past (Yuichi, Page9, Para. 7, A third monitoring area (left-turn waiting area) is set at a place where a left-turning vehicle waits in front of a pedestrian crossing. The third monitoring area is for obtaining traffic condition information regarding the stagnation of left-turning vehicles. Specifically, vehicle detection using object recognition technology is performed. By counting the detected vehicles, the number of left-turning vehicles is acquired. Also, by measuring the speed of each detected vehicle, the average speed of left-turning vehicles is obtained. It should be noted that when the processing of tracking the detected vehicle is performed, it is possible to avoid confusing the straight lane of the cross road with the vehicle turning left).
In regard to claim 5, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 4, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: calculate the first evaluation value using a statistical value of the left turn waiting time and a statistical value of a right turn waiting time when a right-turning vehicle waits for passage of a pedestrian in front of a crosswalk located ahead of a right turn in the predetermined time in the past (Yuichi, Page 12, Para. 2, if the priority issue is a problem related to a right-turning vehicle (“turn right” in ST105), the process proceeds to right-turn improvement processing (ST106) (see FIG. 10). If the priority issue is a problem related to a vehicle traveling straight (“Go straight” in ST105), the process proceeds to straight improvement processing (ST107) (see FIG. 11). Also, if the priority issue is a problem related to left-turning vehicles and pedestrians crossing ("left-turn crossing" in ST105), the process proceeds to left-turn crossing improvement processing (ST108) (see FIG. 12)).
In regard to claim 6, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: calculate the first evaluation value using a statistical value of a time during which a pedestrian at a crosswalk located ahead of a left turn of a left-turning vehicle is located on the crosswalk in the predetermined time in the past (Yuichi, Page 13, Para. 9-10, The signal control server 2 executes left-turn crossing improvement processing when the priority problem (problem to be improved preferentially) is a problem related to left-turn vehicles and pedestrians crossing the road. In the left-turn crossing improvement process, the signal control server 2 first determines the current traffic conditions based on the number of pedestrians crossing (the number of pedestrians passing by) and the speed of left-turning vehicles (average speed of left-turning vehicles). 4 event is determined (ST401). Here, the first event is when the number of pedestrians crossing is large and the left-turn vehicle speed is high. The second event is when the number of pedestrians crossing is small and the left-turn vehicle speed is high).
In regard to claim 7, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: calculate the first evaluation value for each of lanes facing each other at the intersection, and create, based on the first evaluation value, a signal control schedule, including the timing at which the pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control is to be performed at the intersection (Yuchi, Page 13, Para. 4-5, In the straight-running improvement process, the signal control server 2 first determines whether or not the straight-running vehicle speed (average speed of straight-running vehicles) is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold value (for example, 20 km/h) (ST301). Here, when the speed of the vehicle traveling straight ahead is equal to or less than the threshold value (Yes in ST301), the signal control server 2 shortens the right-turn green arrow time (signal time allowing only right-turn vehicles to proceed), Signal control information is generated so as to extend the green time (signal time for which vehicles are permitted to proceed straight ahead) to the maximum extent (ST302). As a result, the passage of straight vehicles is smoothed, and the stagnation of straight vehicles is improved).
In regard to claim 8, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: acquire the traffic status data related to movements of the vehicle and the pedestrian at the intersection (Yuichi, Page 13, Para. 10, In the left-turn crossing improvement process, the signal control server 2 first determines the current traffic conditions based on the number of pedestrians crossing (the number of pedestrians passing by) and the speed of left-turning vehicles (average speed of left-turning vehicles). 4 event is determined (ST401). Here, the first event is when the number of pedestrians crossing is large and the left-turn vehicle speed is high. The second event is when the number of pedestrians crossing is small and the left-turn vehicle speed is high. A third event is when the number of pedestrians crossing is large and the left-turn vehicle speed is low. A fourth event is when the number of pedestrians crossing is small and the left-turn vehicle speed is low), calculate the first evaluation value for each time zone based on the traffic status data, and create, based on the first evaluation value, a signal control schedule including timing at which the pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control is to be performed at the intersection (Yuichi, Page 13, Para. 11, Here, when the first event applies, that is, when the number of pedestrians crossing is large and the left-turning vehicle speed is high ("first event" in ST401), the signal control server 2 Signal control information is generated so as to extend the green time (signal time during which pedestrians are permitted to cross) (ST402). As a result, pedestrians crossing the street are given priority, and the waiting area for pedestrians to cross is improved).
In regard to claim 9, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: acquire, based on the traffic status data, a second evaluation value indicating a degree of decrease in traffic volume of straight-running vehicles per unit time when the pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control is employed at the intersection, wherein and create, based on the first evaluation value and the second evaluation value, a signal control schedule for performing the pedestrian-and- vehicle separation type signal control at the intersection (Yuichi, Page 11, Para. 2, regarding the first monitoring area (straight left turn lane area), the position of the end of the congested vehicle in the straight left turn lane, that is, the congestion length (tail vehicle distance), the number of straight vehicles passing, the average speed, etc. is obtained. For the second monitoring area (right-turn lane area), the position of the end of the congested vehicle in the right-turn lane, that is, the congestion length (tail vehicle distance), the number of right-turn vehicles passing, the average speed, and the like are obtained. Regarding the third monitoring area (left-turn waiting area), the number of passing vehicles and the average speed of left-turning vehicles are acquired. For the fourth monitoring area (crosswalk area), the number and average speed of pedestrians and the number and average speed of bicycles are obtained. Regarding the fifth monitoring area (crossing waiting area), the number of staying pedestrians and the number of staying bicycles are obtained. In the signal control process, the processor 23 generates signal control information based on the traffic condition information regarding each monitored area acquired in the image analysis process. Further, in the present embodiment, which of the obstacles to the right-turning vehicle (see FIG. 2), the obstacle to the straight-running vehicle (see FIG. 3), and the obstacle to the left-turning vehicle and the pedestrian crossing (see FIG. 4) should be improved with the highest priority).
In regard to claim 14, Yuichi teaches the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: perform, after signal control other than the pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control is switched to the pedestrian-and-vehicle separation type signal control, signal control for extending an all red time in one cycle for a predetermined time (Yuichi, Page 13, Para. 11, when the first event applies, that is, when the number of pedestrians crossing is large and the left-turning vehicle speed is high ("first event" in ST401), the signal control server 2 Signal control information is generated so as to extend the green time (signal time during which pedestrians are permitted to cross) (ST402). As a result, pedestrians crossing the street are given priority, and the waiting area for pedestrians to cross is improved).
In regard to claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 1 as stated above.
In regard to claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 1 as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichi (JP 2023-094223 A) in view of Sivertsen (US 20130022245 A1).
In regard to claim 10, Yuichi does not teach the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: change a display content on a display board that displays a signal control method being performed at a traffic light at the intersection according to the signal control schedule.
However, the concept of having countdown timer with traffic signal is well known in the art as also taught by Sivertsen. Sivertsen teaches after learning the timing of the traffic signal 100, the processor 270 performs control to display a countdown timer on the display screen 260. The countdown timer generated by the processor 270 may show the number of seconds until the green light 123 is illuminated, the number of seconds until the red light 121 is illuminated, or both. This may be accomplished by dedicating a portion of the display screen 260 for this purpose. That is, rather than including a seven-segment display to be used as a countdown timer, a specific portion of the display screen 260, for example, a farthest most left or right section thereof, may be dedicated for use in displaying a countdown timer (Para. 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a countdown timer (as taught by Sivertsen) in order to improve road safety and traffic flow by giving drivers and pedestrians real-time info on remaining signal time.
In regard to claim 11, Combination of Yuichi and Sivertsen teach the signal control system according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: display a counter or a figure, on the display board, indicating a waiting time until a next phase by the signal control method currently being performed (Sivertsen, Para. 39, after learning the timing of the traffic signal 100, the processor 270 performs control to display a countdown timer on the display screen 260. The countdown timer generated by the processor 270 may show the number of seconds until the green light 123 is illuminated, the number of seconds until the red light 121 is illuminated, or both. This may be accomplished by dedicating a portion of the display screen 260 for this purpose. That is, rather than including a seven-segment display to be used as a countdown timer, a specific portion of the display screen 260, for example, a farthest most left or right section thereof, may be dedicated for use in displaying a countdown timer).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichi (JP 2023-094223 A) in view of Bandi et al. (US 20210043083 A1).
In regard to claim 12, Yuichi does not teach the signal control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: notify a vehicle near the intersection of the signal control method being performed at a traffic light at the intersection according to the signal control schedule.
However, the concept of notifying the driver about traffic signal is well known in the art as also taught by Bandi. Bandi teaches the roadside unit 135 transmits to the onboard computer 131 a traffic light timing signal that provides information about various timing characteristics of the various traffic lights at the traffic intersection 170. For example, the traffic light timing signal can provide information such as how long the traffic light 120 will remain in a current condition (a red state, a yellow state, and/or a green state) or how much time is remaining before the traffic light 120 turns from a red state to a green state. In an exemplary embodiment, the traffic light timing signal provided by the roadside unit 135 to the onboard computer 131 can be a signal phase and timing (SPaT) signal. In one exemplary implementation, the onboard computer 131 may use the SPaT signal to operate a countdown timer. The countdown timer may be displayed on a display screen of an infotainment system 132 that is mounted on a dashboard of the automobile 130 or on a display screen of a personal device carried by a driver or a passenger of the automobile 130. The countdown timer may indicate a number of seconds before the traffic light 120 transitions out of a red state to a green state for example (Para. 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to notify driver regarding traffic light timing information (as taught by Bandi) in order to improve road safety and traffic flow by giving drivers real-time info on remaining signal time.
In regard to claim 13, Combination of Yuichi and Bandi teach the signal control system according to claim 12, wherein the at least one processor further performs operation to: notify the vehicle of a counter or a figure indicating a waiting time until a next phase by the signal control method currently being performed (Bandi, Para. 19, the traffic light timing signal provided by the roadside unit 135 to the onboard computer 131 can be a signal phase and timing (SPaT) signal. In one exemplary implementation, the onboard computer 131 may use the SPaT signal to operate a countdown timer. The countdown timer may be displayed on a display screen of an infotainment system 132 that is mounted on a dashboard of the automobile 130 or on a display screen of a personal device carried by a driver or a passenger of the automobile 130. The countdown timer may indicate a number of seconds before the traffic light 120 transitions out of a red state to a green state for example).
Conclusion
/SHARMIN AKHTER/
Examiner, Art Unit 2689