DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the character of the lines, numbers, and letters are not sufficiently dense and dark, uniformly thick and well-defined as required by MPEP §608.02(V)(l). The numerals are handwritten. They should be typewritten for clarity. The lead lines and the lines for element 12-1 to 12-4 are thicker and darker than the other lines of the drawings. The remainder of the lines are or poor quality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1: line 1 recites “large”. The term “large” in claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not set forth a standard for the term large. One of ordinary skill in the art would not know which sizes of bearings would be classified as “large” and which would not.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the at least one displacement sensor module is pushable from outside the housing or the outer ring”. It is unclear what structure provides this feature. For example, an opening is incapable of pushing on a sensor module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rode U.S. 4,348,665.
Re clm 11, Rode discloses a large rolling bearing assembly (Fig. 2) comprising: a rolling bearing (40, 42, 44 and 46); and at least one displacement sensor module (70), wherein the rolling bearing includes an inner ring (40), an outer ring (42), and a plurality of rolling elements (44 and 46) between the inner ring and the outer ring, wherein the inner ring is supported on a shaft (28), wherein the outer ring is mounted in a housing (38), and wherein the at least one displacement sensor module is configured to measure a radial position of the shaft in order to detect wear of the rolling bearing (col. 5: lines 38-48).
Re clm 12, Rode further discloses the at least one displacement sensor module is integrated in the housing or is integrated in the outer ring (housing as shown in Fig. 2).
Re clm 13, Rode further discloses the at least one displacement sensor module is arranged on a radial surface of the housing (bore hole is a radially extending surface) or on a radial surface of the outer ring adjacent to an axial end of the rolling bearing.
Re clm 14, Rode further discloses the housing or the outer ring includes a radially extending opening (hole through which 70 extends in 38) through which the at least one displacement sensor module is pushable (via threads and nut on top of 38) from outside the housing or the outer ring.
Re clm 15, Rode further discloses the at least one displacement sensor module includes at least one sensor element (70, Fig. 5), and wherein the at least one displacement sensor module is mounted so that the at least one sensor element is arranged adjacent to the shaft (bottom tip of 70 is close to shaft 28).
Re clm 16¸ Rode further discloses the at least one displacement sensor module includes at least one sensor element (70), and wherein the at least one displacement sensor module is mounted so that the at least one sensor element is arranged adjacent to an intermediate element (50) mounted on the shaft at an axial end of the rolling bearing.
Re clm 18, Rode further discloses at least one sealing unit (at 54) arranged on at least one axial end of the rolling bearing, and wherein the at least one displacement sensor module is arranged radially outside of the sealing unit (at least a portion of sensor arrangement is radially outside of seal arrangement at 54) and configured to indirectly measure the radial position of the shaft.
Re clm 20, Rode further discloses the at least one displacement sensor module includes a tubular, radially extending receptacle (76, Fig. 5) extending toward the shaft for receiving at least one sensor element (70) and/or at least one cable (71).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rode U.S. 4,348,665 as applied to claim 11 above.
Rode discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 19, although Rode discloses the at least one displacement sensor module is arranged at a first axial end of the rolling bearing (shown in Fig. 2), Rode does not disclose the at least one displacement sensor module comprises a first displacement sensor module and a second displacement sensor module, wherein the first displacement sensor module is arranged at a first axial end of the rolling bearing, and wherein the second displacement sensor module is arranged at a second axial end of the rolling bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Rodes and provide a first displacement sensor module and a second displacement sensor module, wherein the first displacement sensor module is arranged at a first axial end of the rolling bearing, and wherein the second displacement sensor module is arranged at a second axial end of the rolling bearing, since it held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(B). Furthermore, duplicating the sensors in each bearing would improve the redundancy of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 21-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617