DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-002945, filed on 1/12/22.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/10/24 and 5/28/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a data acquirer in claim 1, dV/dQ estimator in claims 1-3, determiner in claims 1-4 and slope calculator in claim 4.
According to the specification and drawings,
the data acquirer as any well-known voltage sensing device and current voltage sensing device;
the dV/dQ estimator as any well-known CPU, processor, controller;
the determiner as any well-known CPU, processor, controller and
the slope calculator as any well-known CPU, processor, controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Tsujiko et al (US 20110012604, provided by applicant, hereinafter Tsujiko).
Regarding to claim 1, Tsujiko discloses a battery abnormality detection system comprising:
a data acquirer acquiring voltage data (fig. 2 shows voltage detection [50]) and current data (fig. 2 shows current detection [50]) of each of a plurality of cells in a battery pack including the plurality of cells connected in series (fig. 2 shows battery 10 with plurality cells 100 connected in series, paragraph 0098 discloses the voltage detector 40 detects battery voltage V (terminal voltage) of each secondary battery 100 constituting the assembled battery 10), or voltage data and current data of each of a plurality of parallel cell blocks connected in series in a battery pack including the plurality of parallel cell blocks each including a plurality of cells connected in parallel;
a dV/dQ estimator estimating dV/dQ indicating a differential value of a voltage with respect to a capacity of each of the cells (paragraph 0098 discloses battery controller 30 further calculates a dV/dQ value that is a ratio of a change amount dV of the battery voltage V of each secondary battery 100 with respect to a change amount dQ of the storage amount Q of the same secondary battery 100 when the storage amount Q varies) or each of the parallel cell blocks, based on the voltage data and the current data of the each of the cells or the each of the parallel cell blocks; and
a determiner determining whether or not a micro-short circuit has occurred in the battery pack based on a change in variation of characteristic points of dV/dQ between the plurality of cells or the plurality of parallel cell blocks (claim 10 discloses based on the dV/dQ value, whether or not the secondary battery has reached the state corresponding to the characteristic point appearing in the Q-dV/dQ curve, the abnormality detecting means includes micro-short circuit detecting means for detecting a micro-short circuit of the secondary battery).
Regarding to claim 2, Tsujiko discloses the battery abnormality detection system according to claim 1, wherein:
the dV/dQ estimator estimates dV/dQ of the cells (controller 30 to determine dV/dQ of cells 100) or the parallel cell blocks for a constant-current charging period of the battery pack (paragraph 0154 discloses the cells charged with a current value of 1/5C); the battery abnormality detection system further comprises a charged electricity quantity calculator calculating, at every constant-current charging period (paragraph 0139 discloses each value of the storage amounts QA1 to QA5 is divided by a theoretical electric capacity of the secondary batteries 100 and converted into a SOC value (%). A maximum value, a minimum value, and an average value of them are shown in a graph of FIG. 12), a charged electricity quantity for a period from a first appearing peak to a last appearing peak of a plurality of peaks of dV/dQ of the plurality of cells or the plurality of parallel cell blocks (fig, 13-14 shows charged electricity quantity for a period from a first appearing peak to a last appearing peak of a plurality of peaks of dV/dQ); and
the determiner determines whether or not a micro-short circuit has occurred in the battery pack based on a change in the charged electricity quantity (paragraph 160 and claim 10 discloses based on the dV/dQ value, whether or not the secondary battery has reached the state corresponding to the characteristic point appearing in the Q-dV/dQ curve, the abnormality detecting means includes micro-short circuit detecting means for detecting a micro-short circuit of the secondary battery).
Regarding to claim 3, Tsujiko discloses the battery abnormality detection system according to claim 1, wherein:
the dV/dQ estimator estimates dV/dQ of the cells (controller 30 to determine dV/dQ of cells 100) or the parallel cell blocks for a constant-current charging period interval of the battery pack;
the battery abnormality detection system further comprises a charged electricity quantity calculator calculating, at every constant-current charging period, a charged electricity quantity for a period from a mean value or a median value of a plurality of peaks of dV/dQ of the plurality of cells or the plurality of parallel cell blocks to a last appearing peak of the plurality of peaks of dV/dQ (paragraph 0139 discloses each value of the storage amounts QA1 to QA5 is divided by a theoretical electric capacity of the secondary batteries 100 and converted into a SOC value (%). A maximum value, a minimum value, and an average value of them are shown in a graph of FIG. 12); and
the determiner determines whether or not a micro-short circuit has occurred in the battery pack based on a change in the charged electricity quantity (fig, 13-14 shows charged electricity quantity for a period from a first appearing peak to a last appearing peak of a plurality of peaks of dV/dQ).
Regarding to claim 5, Tsujiko discloses the battery abnormality detection system according to claim 1, wherein each of the cells is a lithium-ion iron phosphate battery (paragraph 0010 discloses a lithium ion secondary battery).
Regarding to claim 6, Tsujiko discloses a battery abnormality detection method (fig. 10) comprising:
acquiring voltage data and current data (fig. 10[S2]) of each of a plurality of cells in a battery pack including the plurality of cells connected in series (fig. 2 shows battery 10 with plurality cells 100 connected in series, paragraph 0098 discloses the voltage detector 40 detects battery voltage V (terminal voltage) of each secondary battery 100 constituting the assembled battery 10), or voltage data and current data of each of a plurality of parallel cell blocks connected in series in a battery pack including the plurality of parallel cell blocks each including a plurality of cells connected in parallel;
estimating dV/dQ indicating a differential value of a voltage with respect to a capacity of each of the cells or each of the parallel cell blocks (fig. 10[S3-S6]), based on the voltage data and the current data of the each of the cells or the each of the parallel cell blocks; and
determining whether or not a micro-short circuit has occurred in the battery pack based on a change in variation of characteristic points of dV/dQ between the plurality of cells or the plurality of parallel cell blocks (claim 10 discloses based on the dV/dQ value, whether or not the secondary battery has reached the state corresponding to the characteristic point appearing in the Q-dV/dQ curve, the abnormality detecting means includes micro-short circuit detecting means for detecting a micro-short circuit of the secondary battery).
Regarding to claim 7, Tsujiko discloses a non-transitory machine-readable recording medium that stores a battery abnormality detection program causing a computer (fig. 2 shows ROM 31 CPU 32 and RAM 33) to execute:
a process of acquiring voltage data and current data (fig. 10[S2]) of each of a plurality of cells in a battery pack including the plurality of cells connected in series (fig. 2 shows battery 10 with plurality cells 100 connected in series, paragraph 0098 discloses the voltage detector 40 detects battery voltage V (terminal voltage) of each secondary battery 100 constituting the assembled battery 10), or voltage data and current data of each of a plurality of parallel cell blocks connected in series in a battery pack including the plurality of parallel cell blocks each including a plurality of cells connected in parallel;
a process of estimating dV/dQ indicating a differential value of a voltage with respect to a capacity of each of the cells or each of the parallel cell blocks, based on the voltage data and the current data of the each of the cells or the each of the parallel cell blocks (paragraph 0098 discloses battery controller 30 further calculates a dV/dQ value that is a ratio of a change amount dV of the battery voltage V of each secondary battery 100 with respect to a change amount dQ of the storage amount Q of the same secondary battery 100 when the storage amount Q varies); and
a process of determining whether or not a micro-short circuit has occurred in the battery pack based on a change in variation of characteristic points of dV/dQ between the plurality of cells or the plurality of parallel cell blocks (claim 10 discloses based on the dV/dQ value, whether or not the secondary battery has reached the state corresponding to the characteristic point appearing in the Q-dV/dQ curve, the abnormality detecting means includes micro-short circuit detecting means for detecting a micro-short circuit of the secondary battery).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujiko as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of LV et al. (CN 109663756 hereinafter LV).
Regarding to claim 4, Tsujiko discloses the battery abnormality detection system according to claim 2, further comprising:
Paragraph 0037 Tsujiko discloses the deterioration detecting means includes resistance increase detecting means for detecting an increase in internal resistance of the secondary battery, the resistance increase detecting means compares a reference difference value of the secondary battery in an initial state, the reference difference value being a difference value of the battery voltage V between the two characteristic points in the V-dV/dQ curve and being stored in advance in the secondary battery system with an actual difference value that is a difference value of the battery voltage V between the two characteristic points in the V-dV/dQ curve determined by the determining means, and determines that the internal resistance of the secondary battery has been increased when the actual difference value is larger than the reference difference value.
However, Tsujiko does not disclose
a slope calculator calculating a slope of a regression line obtained by linearly regressing a plurality of charged electricity quantities calculated for the every constant-current charging period; and
wherein the determiner determines that a micro-short circuit has occurred in one of the cells or one of the parallel cell blocks showing the last appearing peak of dV/dQ when the slope of the regression line is greater than or equal to a predetermined value.
LV discloses the obtained voltage, capacity data column into the ADS software, to capacity is the y-axis voltage is x-axis, then performing a analysis-mathematics-differentiate operation to generate a new column is the dQ/dV. finally in the dQ/dV is the y-axis voltage is x-axis mapping to obtain the differential coefficient difference curve (dQ/dV-V curve) can also be produced by Excel software differential difference curve, the voltage and capacity data column into the Excel software, executes the SLOPE function computed by capacity is the y-axis, the voltage is the x-axis of the linear regression fitted line slope value, the slope is a y-axis is x axis plotting the voltage to obtain the differential difference curve (dQ/dV-V curve).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to use slope calculator calculating a slope of a regression line obtained by linearly regressing a plurality of charged electricity quantities to determine the abnormality of the battery as a matter of data manipulation since Tsujiko includes the structure and method to acquire the information to determine micro-short of battery cells.
Conclusion
/SON T LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863