DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group II (claims 56-69) in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction did not provide an option to elect a group that comprises a communication network that includes both a source and target network nodes. The applicant amended claim 61 (Group II) to include a communication network that comprises a source and target network nodes. Thus, Group II is related to a single invention (e.g., a communication network) and therefore the restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 58, 61, 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS Reference: “3rd Generation Partnership Projection; Technical Specification Group RAN; NR; Study on enhancement of Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing (Release 17)”, 3GPP DRAFT; 38832-H00, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 9July 2021 (2021-07-09), XP052031178, hereinafter referred as “3GPP” in view of Moon et al. (Pub No.: 2016/0302127) and Chen et al. (Pub No.: 2019/0261187).
Regarding claim 61, the 3GPP discloses a communication network comprising: a source network node (see S-gNB in fig. 6.2.1.2.1.1-1), and a target network node (see T-gNB in fig. 6.2.1.2.1.1-1), the source network node comprising:
at least one processor (a gNB implicitly includes a processing unit); and at least one memory (a gNB implicitly includes a memory) including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the source network node at least to:
transmit a handover request to the target network node (3GPP see fig. 6.2.1.2.1.1-1, “Handover Request” from S-gNB to T-gNB), and the target network node being overloaded for the network slice (3GPP see fig. 6.1-5; slice resource shortage in SN; fig. 6.2.1.2.1.1-1, step 1 “Handover Request”; Pages 13 and 15, as shown by Figure 6.1-5, the UE's ongoing slice(s) is/are supported by both the MN and the SN. However, in case of SN addition or modification procedure, the SN fails to accept the UE with at least one ofthe ongoing S-NSSAIs due to e.g., high slice-related load at the SN. On page 15, …the S-gNB sends the HAND OVER REQUEST message to the T-gNB.); and
receive a handover request acknowledgement message (3GPP see fig. 6.2.1.2.1.1-1, “Handover Request Acknowledge” from T-gNB to S-gNB) from the target network node, the handover request acknowledgement message indicating if multi-carrier radio resource sharing is applicable for supporting the service (3GPP see page 15, step 2 “Handover Request Acknowledge” including slice re-mapping/fallback decision; …If the UE's ongoing slice(s) is rejected in the target gNB, based on the slice re-mapping policy described in clause 6.2.1, the T-gNB makes the slice re-mapping/fallback decision. The T-gNB may send the slice re mapping/fallback decision in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message to the S-gNB; and pages 20-22, 6.2.3.1 … the slice re-mapping between different S-NSSAIs can be achieved via the prioritized resource modeling. For example, suppose UE's ongoing slice is S-NSSAI 1 configured with rRMPolicyMaxRatio policy, which can use at least one of the shared resources, prioritized resources and dedicated resources. If the dedicated resources are not available, it can use other un-used prioritized and shared resources; 6.2.3.3 Multi-carrier radio resource sharing; and fig. 6.2.3.3-1 (RAN node supporting two layers); …the solution addresses temporary resource shortage in one cell as per scenario 1, and where the RAN node hosts another cell with different frequency and overlapping coverage where the same slice is available., …In above, this could be the case for slice 1 and cell 1/F2 (or also slice 1 and cell 2/F1).). Thus, the S-gNB receives the handover request acknowledgement including the slice re-mapping decision to solve the resource shortage in scenario 1 (6.2.3.1), indicating multi-carrier radio resource sharing is applicable by sharing slice 1 in F1 of cell 2 when the slice 1 in F2 of cell 1 is congested; and
the target network node comprising:
at least one processor (a gNB implicitly includes a processing unit); and
at least one memory (a gNB implicitly includes a memory) including computer program codes,
the at least one memory and the computer program codes configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the target network node at least to:
receive, from the source network node serving the UE for the service associated with the network slice, the target network node being overloaded for the network slice (3GPP see fig. 6.1-5; slice resource shortage in SN; fig. 6.2.1.2.1.1-1, step 1 “Handover Request”; Pages 13 and 15, as shown by Figure 6.1-5, the UE's ongoing slice(s) is/are supported by both the MN and the SN. However, in case of SN addition or modification procedure, the SN fails to accept the UE with at least one ofthe ongoing S-NSSAIs due to e.g., high slice-related load at the SN. On page 15, …the S-gNB sends the HAND OVER REQUEST message to the T-gNB.);
determine whether or not to apply multi-carrier radio resource sharing for supporting the service based on the urgency of the handover (see page 15, fig. 6.2.1.2.1, “Slice Remapping decision in target gNB at Xn based handover”). Thus, the T-gNB determines to include the slice re-mapping decision for supporting the interrupted/urgency service; and transmit, to the source network node, the handover request acknowledgement message indicating if the multi-carrier radio resource sharing is applicable for the service (3GPP see page 15, step 2 “Handover Request Acknowledge” including slice re-mapping/fallback decision; …If the UE's ongoing slice(s) is rejected in the target gNB, based on the slice re-mapping policy described in clause 6.2.1, the T-gNB makes the slice re-mapping/fallback decision. The T-gNB may send the slice re mapping/fallback decision in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message to the S-gNB; and pages 20-22, 6.2.3.1 … the slice re-mapping between different S-NSSAIs can be achieved via the prioritized resource modeling. For example, suppose UE's ongoing slice is S-NSSAI 1 configured with rRMPolicyMaxRatio policy, which can use at least one of the shared resources, prioritized resources and dedicated resources. If the dedicated resources are not available, it can use other un-used prioritized and shared resources; 6.2.3.3 Multi-carrier radio resource sharing; and fig. 6.2.3.3-1 (RAN node supporting two layers); …the solution addresses temporary resource shortage in one cell as per scenario 1, and where the RAN node hosts another cell with different frequency and overlapping coverage where the same slice is available., …In above, this could be the case for slice 1 and cell 1/F2 (or also slice 1 and cell 2/F1).). Thus, the T-gNB transmits the handover request acknowledgement including the slice re-mapping decision to solve the resource shortage in scenario 1 (6.2.3.1), indicating multi-carrier radio resource sharing is applicable by sharing slice 1 in F1 of cell 2 when the slice 1 in F2 of cell 1 is congested.
The 3GPP does not explicitly disclose the features to receive, from a user equipment (UE) being served by the source network node for a service associated with a network slice, a message indicative of the target network node for a handover of the UE from the source network node to the target network node; and wherein the handover request indicating urgency of the handover for the UE.
Moon et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the handover request indicating urgency of the handover for the UE (Moon et al. see fig. 14, HO Request 1012; para. 0111, 0112; The target eNB 220 receiving the handover request message determines whether the corresponding handover is urgent handover based on the one-bit indicator.). The handover request includes one-bit indicator.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the 3GPP and to implement with the feature as taught by Moon et al. wherein the HO request message includes urgency indication.
The motivation would be to provide faster HO preparation.
Moon et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature to receive, from a user equipment (UE) being served by the source network node for a service associated with a network slice, a message indicative of the target network node for a handover of the UE from the source network node to the target network node.
Chen et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to receive, from a user equipment (UE) being served by the source network node for a service associated with a network slice, a message indicative of the target network node for a handover of the UE from the source network node to the target network node (Chen et al. see fig. 5, step 503; para. 0204-0207; Step 502: The UE performs measurement, including measuring a cell corresponding to the SRAN, that is, a current serving cell, and optionally, measuring a neighbor cell. In para. 0207, …The measurement report may include the following content: a cell with a strongest signal, a global cell identity (Cell Global Identity, CGI), a physical cell ID, and a signal measurement result corresponding to the physical cell ID.). The UE transmits measurement report to SRAN for HO associated with slice resource adjustment, wherein the report indicates a network node (e.g., SRAN or TRAN) with a strongest signal;
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Chen et al. to receive from UE, measurement report indicating a network node (e.g., SRAN or TRAN) having the strongest signal.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 58, the 3GPP discloses the feature wherein the handover request acknowledgement message indicates that the multi-carrier radio resource sharing is applicable for supporting the service by indicating a serving cell supporting the network slice in a secondary cell group is added by the target network node (3GPP see page 15, step 2 “Handover Request Acknowledge” including slice re-mapping/fallback decision; …If the UE's ongoing slice(s) is rejected in the target gNB, based on the slice re-mapping policy described in clause 6.2.1, the T-gNB makes the slice re-mapping/fallback decision. The T-gNB may send the slice re mapping/fallback decision in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message to the S-gNB; and pages 20-22, 6.2.3.1 … the slice re-mapping between different S-NSSAIs can be achieved via the prioritized resource modeling. For example, suppose UE's ongoing slice is S-NSSAI 1 configured with rRMPolicyMaxRatio policy, which can use at least one of the shared resources, prioritized resources and dedicated resources. If the dedicated resources are not available, it can use other un-used prioritized and shared resources; 6.2.3.3 Multi-carrier radio resource sharing; and fig. 6.2.3.3-1 (RAN node supporting two layers); …the solution addresses temporary resource shortage in one cell as per scenario 1, and where the RAN node hosts another cell with different frequency and overlapping coverage where the same slice is available., …In above, this could be the case for slice 1 and cell 1/F2 (or also slice 1 and cell 2/F1).).
Regarding claim 65, 3GPP discloses the feature wherein in the target network node, the at least one memory and the computer program codes configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the target network node to determine whether to apply the multi-carrier radio resource sharing by: in accordance with a determination of an urgent handover, determining that the multi-carrier radio resource sharing is not applicable; or in accordance with a determination of a non-urgent handover, determining that the multi-carrier radio resource sharing is applicable (3GPP see page 15, step 2 “Handover Request Acknowledge” including slice re-mapping/fallback decision; …If the UE's ongoing slice(s) is rejected in the target gNB, based on the slice re-mapping policy described in clause 6.2.1, the T-gNB makes the slice re-mapping/fallback decision. The T-gNB may send the slice re mapping/fallback decision in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message to the S-gNB; and pages 20-22, 6.2.3.1 … the slice re-mapping between different S-NSSAIs can be achieved via the prioritized resource modeling. For example, suppose UE's ongoing slice is S-NSSAI 1 configured with rRMPolicyMaxRatio policy, which can use at least one of the shared resources, prioritized resources and dedicated resources. If the dedicated resources are not available, it can use other un-used prioritized and shared resources). The multi-carrier radio resource sharing is determined based on non-urgent handover.
Claim(s) 56, 57, 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS Reference: “3rd Generation Partnership Projection; Technical Specification Group RAN; NR; Study on enhancement of Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing (Release 17)”, 3GPP DRAFT; 38832-H00, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 9July 2021 (2021-07-09), XP052031178, hereinafter referred as “3GPP” in view of Moon et al. (Pub No.: 2016/0302127) and Chen et al. (Pub No.: 2019/0261187) as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Takano et al. (Pub No.: 2012/0287911).
Regarding claim 56, 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein in the source network node the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the source network node to: measure at least one reference signal from the UE; and determine the urgency of the handover based on a result of the measurement.
Takano et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein in the source network node the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the source network node to: measure at least one reference signal from the UE; and determine the urgency of the handover based on a result of the measurement (Takano et al. see para. 0113-0116; the urgency level determination unit 276 determines whether the moving speed of the user equipment is higher than a predetermined reference value such as a speed threshold). The urgency level of the HO is determined based on the moving speed (e.g., reference signal) of the UE.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Takano et al. to determine the urgency of the HO is determined based on the reference signal of the UE.
The motivation would be to reduce handover interruption.
Regarding claim 57, Takano et al. discloses the feature wherein the urgency of the handover is indicated by one of the following: a first indicator for indicating an urgent handover, while a second indicator for indicating a relaxed handover; or a presence of an urgent indication indicating the urgent handover, while an absence of the urgent indication indicating the relaxed handover (Takano et al. see para. 0116; In the step S108, the urgency level determination unit 276 determines whether the moving speed of the user equipment is higher than a predetermined reference value such as a speed threshold (step S108). When it is determined that the moving speed of the user equipment is higher than the predetermined reference, the process proceeds to the step S112. On the other hand, when it is determined that the moving speed of the user equipment is not higher than the predetermined reference, the process proceeds to the step S110). The urgency of the handover is indicated based on presence of an urgent indication (e.g., high moving speed) and absence of the indication (e.g., high moving speed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Takano et al. wherein the urgency of the HO is indicated by a presence of an urgent indicator and absence of the urgent indicator.
The motivation would be to improve transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 64, Takano et al. discloses the feature wherein the urgency of the handover is determined based on measurements by the source network node on at least one reference signal from the UE (Takano et al. see para. 0113-0116; the urgency level determination unit 276 determines whether the moving speed of the user equipment is higher than a predetermined reference value such as a speed threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Takano et al. to determine the urgency of the HO is determined based on the reference signal of the UE.
The motivation would be to reduce handover interruption.
Claim(s) 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS Reference: “3rd Generation Partnership Projection; Technical Specification Group RAN; NR; Study on enhancement of Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing (Release 17)”, 3GPP DRAFT; 38832-H00, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 9July 2021 (2021-07-09), XP052031178, hereinafter referred as “3GPP” in view of Moon et al. (Pub No.: 2016/0302127) and Chen et al. (Pub No.: 2019/0261187) as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Yiu et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0046487).
Regarding claim 59, 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the handover request acknowledgement message indicates that the multi-carrier radio resource sharing is not applicable for supporting the service by indicating a rejection of supporting the service with the overloaded network slice.
Yiu et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the handover request acknowledgement message indicates that the multi-carrier radio resource sharing is not applicable for supporting the service by indicating a rejection of supporting the service with the overloaded network slice (Yiu et al. see para. 0044; If the TBS does not support multi-connectivity, the TBS may reject a multi-connectivity HO and may proceed with a regular HO. In this case, the target cell 206 communicates an HO command in the HO acknowledgment with an indication of no multi-connectivity support.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Yiu et al. to indicate a rejection indicator when the TBS does not support multi-connectivity.
The motivation would be to reduce handover failures.
Claim(s) 60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS Reference: “3rd Generation Partnership Projection; Technical Specification Group RAN; NR; Study on enhancement of Radio Access Network (RAN) slicing (Release 17)”, 3GPP DRAFT; 38832-H00, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 9July 2021 (2021-07-09), XP052031178, hereinafter referred as “3GPP” in view of Moon et al. (Pub No.: 2016/0302127) and Chen et al. (Pub No.: 2019/0261187) as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Pateromichelakis et al. (Pub No.: 2020/0100176).
Regarding claim 60, 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature wherein the message comprises a measurement report comprising measurements by the UE on transmissions of the service in more than one frequency band.
Pateromichelakis et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature wherein the message comprises a measurement report comprising measurements by the UE on transmissions of the service in more than one frequency band (Pateromichelakis et al. see abstract; para. 0031; The radio access node is further configured to request and receive, from a UE, a channel measurement report on one or more unlicensed frequency bands.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the 3GPP in view of Moon et al. and Chen et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Pateromichelakis et al. to transmit from the UE, measurement report that includes measurements of one or more unlicensed frequency bands.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 62, 63, 66-69 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al. (Pub No.: 2013/0170347) discloses a service control method for a machine type communications device and a related apparatus and system are disclosed. The service control method for the machine type communications device may include: receiving, by an access-network network element, a service request message from a core-network network element, where the service request message carries device type indication information of a user equipment (UE), and the device type indication information of the UE is used to indicate whether the UE is a machine type communications device; determining a device type of the UE according to the device type indication information of the UE; and if a current load of the access-network network element exceeds a set threshold, determining, according to the device type of the UE, whether to execute a service operation corresponding to the service request message.
Quan et al. (Pub No.: 2014/0357275) discloses a cell handover method, a user equipment and a base station are disclosed. The method includes: obtaining, by a user equipment UE, a cell list and a measurement parameter that are configured by a serving base station, where the cell list includes at least one cell; performing, by the UE, cell measurement according to the measurement parameter to obtain a measurement result; when the measurement result includes a cell belonging to the cell list, selecting, by the UE, the cell belonging to the cell list from the measurement result to serve as a target cell; and handing over, by the UE, to the target cell. In embodiments of the present invention, when the UE is handed over to a cell in a free handover area, the number of signaling exchanges is decreased compared with an existing cell handover.
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464