DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Limitations
Claims
Support/Interpretation
cutting point information acquisition circuitry to
1, 8
See the cutting point information acquisition unit as described in paragraph 0057
feature acquisition circuitry to
1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9
See the feature acquisition unit as described in paragraph 0064
curved surface designation circuitry to
6
See the curved surface designation unit 111 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0067
tool trajectory calculation circuitry to
8, 9, 15
See the tool trajectory calculation unit 102 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0021
command position generation circuitry to
15
See the command position generation unit 311 as illustrated in figure 27 and as described in paragraph 0109
detected position acquisition circuitry to
15
See the detected position acquisition unit 312 as illustrated in figure 27 and as described in paragraph 0110
operational information generation circuitry to
15
See the operational information generation unit 313 as illustrated in figure 27 and as described in paragraph 0111
cutting point calculation circuitry to
15
See the cutting point calculation unit 106 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0023
feature calculation circuitry to
15
See the feature calculation unit 108 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraph 0029
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0324877 (Tezuka).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a display device comprising: (Tezuka: “The present invention relates to a waveform display device.” Paragraph 0001)
cutting point information acquisition circuitry to acquire cutting point information indicating a position of a cutting point that is a point at which a tool attached to a machine tool cuts a workpiece, the cutting point corresponding to each of a plurality of tip points included in a tool trajectory that is information indicating a movement path of the tip point of the tool; (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 calculates a path of tool tip points based on the motor position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 301 and the shaft information acquired by the shaft information setting unit 302. The path of the tool tip points is a moving path drawn by the tip of the tool attached to the machine tool 100 when the machine tool 100 operates based on the machining program. Specifically, the tool path display unit 303 calculates coordinates (Xt, Yt, Zt) of each of the tool tip points based on the sampled motor position information and shaft information. A well-known method can be used for calculating the coordinates.” Paragraph 0024; “Shaft information indicating a shaft configuration of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 is set in the shaft information setting unit 302. The shaft information includes information on a type, a length, a shape and the like of the tool attached to the machine tool 100. The shaft information setting unit 302 outputs the shaft information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0023)
feature acquisition circuitry to acquire a feature indicating a characteristic of machining, the feature being calculated corresponding to each of the plurality of tip points based on operational information that is information indicating an operational status of the machine tool, the tool trajectory, and the cutting point information; and (Tezuka: see the analysis object range 340 with measurement points 310b as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraphs 0035, 0036; see the motor position information (i.e., operational status) as described in paragraph 0022; see the tool path (i.e., tool trajectory) as described in paragraphs 0023, 0024; see the shaft information (i.e., cutting point information) as described in paragraph 0023)
display to display each of a plurality of the cutting points using an expression method indicating the feature corresponding to the cutting point based on the cutting point information and the feature. (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 displays, as a waveform, the path of the tool tip points calculated in this way on a screen of a display device (not shown) such as a liquid crystal monitor.” Paragraph 0030; see the display of the generated analysis by the analysis object range generation unit 305 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraphs 0034, 0037)
Claim 2:
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, wherein the feature acquisition circuitry acquires, as the feature, at least one of
machining error amount that is a difference between a machining target shape of the workpiece and the tool,
speed of the tip point,
acceleration of the tip point,
jerk of the tip point,
speed of the cutting point,
acceleration of the cutting point,
jerk of the cutting point,
position of a drive shaft of the machine tool, (Tezuka: see the analysis object range 340 with measurement points 310b as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraphs 0035, 0036; see the motor position information (i.e., operational status) as described in paragraph 0022; see the tool path (i.e., tool trajectory) as described in paragraphs 0023, 0024; see the shaft information (i.e., cutting point information) as described in paragraph 0023)
speed of the drive shaft,
acceleration of the drive shaft,
jerk of the drive shaft, or
reverse position of the drive shaft.
Claim 6:
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, further comprising
curved surface designation circuitry to designate at least one machining curved surface included in a machining target shape of the workpiece, wherein (Tezuka: see the object range 340 as illustrated in figures 3, 5; “The measurement point selection unit 306 selects, from the path of the tool tip points, the measurement point on the waveform line 320 included in the analysis object range 340 generated by the analysis object range generation unit 305, and displays the selected measurement point on the display device (not shown). In other words, when the analysis object range generation unit 305 generates the analysis object range 340 as shown in FIG. 3, the measurement point selection unit 306 enlarges and displays the analysis object range 340 on the screen of the display device (not shown). Thus, the user can easily and visually check and analyze the state of the machining surface of the workpiece within the analysis object range 340.” Paragraph 0037)
the display displays a cutting point present on the machining curved surface designated among the cutting points, and does not display a cutting point present on the machining curved surface that is undesignated. (Tezuka: “FIG. 6 shows an example of a screen SC on which measurement points within the analysis object range 340 are selected and displayed.” Paragraph 0045; “FIG. 5 shows a screen SC being in a state in which the user selects the analysis object position 330 on a plurality of waveform lines 320 representing the path of the tool tip points.” Paragraph 0042)
Claim 8:
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, further comprising
tool trajectory calculation circuitry to generate the tool trajectory based on operational information that is information indicating an operational status of the machine tool, wherein (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 calculates a path of tool tip points based on the motor position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 301 and the shaft information acquired by the shaft information setting unit 302. The path of the tool tip points is a moving path drawn by the tip of the tool attached to the machine tool 100 when the machine tool 100 operates based on the machining program. Specifically, the tool path display unit 303 calculates coordinates (Xt, Yt, Zt) of each of the tool tip points based on the sampled motor position information and shaft information. A well-known method can be used for calculating the coordinates.” Paragraph 0024; “Shaft information indicating a shaft configuration of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 is set in the shaft information setting unit 302. The shaft information includes information on a type, a length, a shape and the like of the tool attached to the machine tool 100. The shaft information setting unit 302 outputs the shaft information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0023)
the cutting point information acquisition circuitry includes cutting point calculation circuitry to generate the cutting point information based on the tool trajectory, tool information that is information defining a shape of the tool, and a machining target shape of the workpiece, and (Tezuka: “In Formula (1) below, parameters a, b, c, and d are set in the tool path display unit 303 to indicate a reference surface, which is a target machining surfaced of the workpiece.” Paragraph 0025; “The tool path display unit 303 calculates a path of tool tip points based on the motor position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 301 and the shaft information acquired by the shaft information setting unit 302. The path of the tool tip points is a moving path drawn by the tip of the tool attached to the machine tool 100 when the machine tool 100 operates based on the machining program. Specifically, the tool path display unit 303 calculates coordinates (Xt, Yt, Zt) of each of the tool tip points based on the sampled motor position information and shaft information. A well-known method can be used for calculating the coordinates.” Paragraph 0024; “Shaft information indicating a shaft configuration of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 is set in the shaft information setting unit 302. The shaft information includes information on a type, a length, a shape and the like of the tool attached to the machine tool 100. The shaft information setting unit 302 outputs the shaft information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0023)
the feature acquisition circuitry includes feature calculation circuitry to calculate the feature corresponding to each of the tip points based on the operational information, the tool trajectory, and the cutting point information. (Tezuka: see the analysis object range 340 with measurement points 310b as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraphs 0035, 0036; see the motor position information (i.e., operational status) as described in paragraph 0022; see the tool path (i.e., tool trajectory) as described in paragraphs 0023, 0024; see the shaft information (i.e., cutting point information) as described in paragraph 0023)
Claim 15:
The cited prior art describes a numerical control device comprising: (Tezuka: “As shown in FIG. 1, a numerical control system includes a machine tool 100, a numerical control device 200, and a waveform display device 300.” Paragraph 0016)
command position generation circuitry to generate, in every control cycle, a command position for each of a plurality of drive shafts included in a machine tool; (Tezuka: “The machine tool 100 includes a drive shaft (not shown) including one or more servo motors that operates under numerical control of the numerical control device 200.” Paragraph 0017)
detected position acquisition circuitry to acquire, in every control cycle, a detected position of the drive shafts from a position detector of each of the plurality of drive shafts; (Tezuka: “The machine tool 100 feeds back information indicating an operating state based on an operation command of the numerical control device 200 to the numerical control device 200. The information indicating the operating state includes servo-motor position information (hereinafter, referred to as motor position information) indicating a position of the drive shaft. Specifically, the motor position information includes information on a motor command position output from the numerical control device 200 to the servo motor and information on an actual motor position when the servo motor is driven by the motor command position.” Paragraph 0017; “The position information acquisition unit 301 samples and acquires, from the numerical control device 200, motor position information indicating the position of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 during machining of a workpiece, with a predetermined frequency.” Paragraph 0022)
operational information generation circuitry to generate, based on the command position and the detected position, operational information that is information indicating an operational status of the machine tool; (Tezuka: “The position information acquisition unit 301 samples and acquires, from the numerical control device 200, motor position information indicating the position of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 during machining of a workpiece, with a predetermined frequency. The position information acquisition unit 301 outputs the acquired motor position information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0022)
tool trajectory calculation circuitry to generate, based on the operational information, a tool trajectory that is a trajectory of a tip point of a tool attached to the machine tool; (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 calculates a path of tool tip points based on the motor position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 301 and the shaft information acquired by the shaft information setting unit 302. The path of the tool tip points is a moving path drawn by the tip of the tool attached to the machine tool 100 when the machine tool 100 operates based on the machining program. Specifically, the tool path display unit 303 calculates coordinates (Xt, Yt, Zt) of each of the tool tip points based on the sampled motor position information and shaft information. A well-known method can be used for calculating the coordinates.” Paragraph 0024; “Shaft information indicating a shaft configuration of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 is set in the shaft information setting unit 302. The shaft information includes information on a type, a length, a shape and the like of the tool attached to the machine tool 100. The shaft information setting unit 302 outputs the shaft information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0023)
cutting point calculation circuitry to calculate a position, with respect to a machining target shape, of a cutting point corresponding to each of a plurality of the tip points included in the tool trajectory based on the tool trajectory, tool information that is information defining a shape of the tool, and the machining target shape; (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 calculates a path of tool tip points based on the motor position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 301 and the shaft information acquired by the shaft information setting unit 302. The path of the tool tip points is a moving path drawn by the tip of the tool attached to the machine tool 100 when the machine tool 100 operates based on the machining program. Specifically, the tool path display unit 303 calculates coordinates (Xt, Yt, Zt) of each of the tool tip points based on the sampled motor position information and shaft information. A well-known method can be used for calculating the coordinates.” Paragraph 0024; “Shaft information indicating a shaft configuration of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 is set in the shaft information setting unit 302. The shaft information includes information on a type, a length, a shape and the like of the tool attached to the machine tool 100. The shaft information setting unit 302 outputs the shaft information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0023)
feature calculation circuitry to calculate a feature of machining corresponding to each of the tip points based on the operational information, the tool trajectory, and the cutting point; and (Tezuka: see the analysis object range 340 with measurement points 310b as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraphs 0035, 0036; see the motor position information (i.e., operational status) as described in paragraph 0022; see the tool path (i.e., tool trajectory) as described in paragraphs 0023, 0024; see the shaft information (i.e., cutting point information) as described in paragraph 0023)
display to display each of a plurality of the cutting points using an expression method indicating the feature corresponding to the cutting point. (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 displays, as a waveform, the path of the tool tip points calculated in this way on a screen of a display device (not shown) such as a liquid crystal monitor.” Paragraph 0030; see the display of the generated analysis by the analysis object range generation unit 305 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraphs 0034, 0037)
Claim 16:
The cited prior art describes a machining system comprising: (Tezuka: “As shown in FIG. 1, a numerical control system includes a machine tool 100, a numerical control device 200, and a waveform display device 300.” Paragraph 0016)
a machine tool; and (Tezuka: see the machine tool 100 as illustrated in figure 1)
the numerical control device according to claim 15 that controls the machine tool. Tezuka: see the numerical control device 200 as illustrated in figure 1)
Claim 17:
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
17. A display method comprising:
acquiring cutting point information indicating a position of a cutting point with respect to a machining target shape of a workpiece, the cutting point being a point at which a tool attached to a machine tool cuts the workpiece, the cutting point corresponding to each of a plurality of tip points included in a tool trajectory that is information indicating a movement path of the tip point of the tool;
acquiring a feature indicating a characteristic of machining, the feature being calculated corresponding to each of the plurality of tip points based on operational information that is information indicating an operational status of the machine tool, the tool trajectory, and the cutting point information; and
displaying each of a plurality of the cutting points using an expression method indicating the feature corresponding to the cutting point based on the cutting point information and the feature.
Claim 18:
The cited prior art describes a numerical control method comprising: (Tezuka: “As shown in FIG. 1, a numerical control system includes a machine tool 100, a numerical control device 200, and a waveform display device 300.” Paragraph 0016)
numerically controlling a machine tool by generating, in every control cycle, a command position for each of a plurality of drive shafts included in the machine tool based on a machining program and a numerical control parameter, and giving the generated command position to the machine tool; (Tezuka: “The machine tool 100 includes a drive shaft (not shown) including one or more servo motors that operates under numerical control of the numerical control device 200.” Paragraph 0017; “The numerical control device 200 controls an operation of the machine tool 100. The numerical control device 200 is a control device known to those skilled in the art.” Paragraph 0018)
acquiring cutting point information indicating a position of a cutting point with respect to a machining target shape of a workpiece, the cutting point being a point at which a tool attached to the machine tool cuts the workpiece, the cutting point corresponding to each of a plurality of tip points included in a tool trajectory that is information indicating a movement path of the tip point of the tool; (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 calculates a path of tool tip points based on the motor position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 301 and the shaft information acquired by the shaft information setting unit 302. The path of the tool tip points is a moving path drawn by the tip of the tool attached to the machine tool 100 when the machine tool 100 operates based on the machining program. Specifically, the tool path display unit 303 calculates coordinates (Xt, Yt, Zt) of each of the tool tip points based on the sampled motor position information and shaft information. A well-known method can be used for calculating the coordinates.” Paragraph 0024; “Shaft information indicating a shaft configuration of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 is set in the shaft information setting unit 302. The shaft information includes information on a type, a length, a shape and the like of the tool attached to the machine tool 100. The shaft information setting unit 302 outputs the shaft information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0023)
acquiring a feature indicating a characteristic of machining, the feature being calculated corresponding to each of the plurality of tip points based on operational information that is information indicating an operational status of the machine tool, the tool trajectory, and the cutting point information; and (Tezuka: see the analysis object range 340 with measurement points 310b as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraphs 0035, 0036; see the motor position information (i.e., operational status) as described in paragraph 0022; see the tool path (i.e., tool trajectory) as described in paragraphs 0023, 0024; see the shaft information (i.e., cutting point information) as described in paragraph 0023)
displaying each of a plurality of the cutting points using an expression method indicating the feature corresponding to the cutting point based on the cutting point information and the feature. (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 displays, as a waveform, the path of the tool tip points calculated in this way on a screen of a display device (not shown) such as a liquid crystal monitor.” Paragraph 0030; see the display of the generated analysis by the analysis object range generation unit 305 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraphs 0034, 0037)
Claim 19:
The cited prior art describes a machining method comprising: (Tezuka: “As shown in FIG. 1, a numerical control system includes a machine tool 100, a numerical control device 200, and a waveform display device 300.” Paragraph 0016)
numerically controlling a machine tool by generating, in every control cycle, a command position for each of a plurality of drive shafts included in the machine tool based on a machining program and a numerical control parameter, and giving the generated command position to the machine tool; (Tezuka: “The machine tool 100 includes a drive shaft (not shown) including one or more servo motors that operates under numerical control of the numerical control device 200.” Paragraph 0017; “The numerical control device 200 controls an operation of the machine tool 100. The numerical control device 200 is a control device known to those skilled in the art.” Paragraph 0018)
cutting a workpiece by driving the drive shafts according to the command position given by the numerical control device; (Tezuka: “A machine tool moves a tool in response to a command from a numerical control device based on a machining program to perform cutting on a workpiece.” Paragraph 0002)
acquiring cutting point information indicating a position of a cutting point with respect to a machining target shape of the workpiece, the cutting point being a point at which a tool attached to the machine tool cuts the workpiece, the cutting point corresponding to each of a plurality of tip points included in a tool trajectory that is information indicating a movement path of the tip point of the tool; (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 calculates a path of tool tip points based on the motor position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 301 and the shaft information acquired by the shaft information setting unit 302. The path of the tool tip points is a moving path drawn by the tip of the tool attached to the machine tool 100 when the machine tool 100 operates based on the machining program. Specifically, the tool path display unit 303 calculates coordinates (Xt, Yt, Zt) of each of the tool tip points based on the sampled motor position information and shaft information. A well-known method can be used for calculating the coordinates.” Paragraph 0024; “Shaft information indicating a shaft configuration of the drive shaft of the machine tool 100 is set in the shaft information setting unit 302. The shaft information includes information on a type, a length, a shape and the like of the tool attached to the machine tool 100. The shaft information setting unit 302 outputs the shaft information to the tool path display unit 303.” Paragraph 0023)
acquiring a feature indicating a characteristic of machining, the feature being calculated corresponding to each of the plurality of tip points based on operational information that is information indicating an operational status of the machine tool, the tool trajectory, and the cutting point information; and (Tezuka: see the analysis object range 340 with measurement points 310b as illustrated in figure 3 and as described in paragraphs 0035, 0036; see the motor position information (i.e., operational status) as described in paragraph 0022; see the tool path (i.e., tool trajectory) as described in paragraphs 0023, 0024; see the shaft information (i.e., cutting point information) as described in paragraph 0023)
displaying each of a plurality of the cutting points using an expression method indicating the feature corresponding to the cutting point based on the cutting point information and the feature. (Tezuka: “The tool path display unit 303 displays, as a waveform, the path of the tool tip points calculated in this way on a screen of a display device (not shown) such as a liquid crystal monitor.” Paragraph 0030; see the display of the generated analysis by the analysis object range generation unit 305 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraphs 0034, 0037)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0324877 (Tezuka) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0054182 (Tezuka2013).
Claim 3:
Tezuka does not explicitly describe a difference value as described below. However, Tezuka2013 teaches the difference value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, wherein the feature acquisition circuitry acquires, as the feature, a difference value of the feature between two adjacent tip points. (Tezuka2013: “Then, with reference to FIG. 7, vector display in the display format selection unit 24 will be explained. In the center of FIG. 7, normal accelerations are shown in vector display, extending from each of the tool commanded coordinate values Pcn in the solid line X1. The orientation of these normal acceleration vectors Y1 show the direction of the normal accelerations, and the norm thereof shows the magnitude of the normal accelerations.” Paragraph 0063; “Furthermore, in the event of vector display, as illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 7, one or a plurality of normal acceleration vectors Y2 may be displayed between two neighboring vectors Y1. Such vectors Y2 extend from the solid line X1 between two neighboring tool commanded coordinate values Pcn. A person skilled in the art should understood that the vectors Y2 can be calculated easily from the vectors Y1 and the solid line X1. In vector display, by interpolating and displaying normal acceleration vectors or normal jerk vectors between neighboring data of the path of the tip point of the tool, the operator is able to easily recognize the normal acceleration vectors or normal jerk vectors visually.” Paragraph 0064)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tezuka, namely, a tool trajectory display device, with the known techniques of Tezuka2013, namely, tool path display apparatus, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Tezuka to display particular information about a tool trajectory with the teachings of Tezuka2013 to display particular information about a tool path would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved tool point trajectory display system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for a tool path display system for displaying information about the tool tip and other information based on the teachings of displaying tool trajectory information in Tezuka and the teachings of displaying other information about the tool path in Tezuka2013.
Claim 4:
Tezuka does not explicitly describe first and second diagrams as described below. However, Tezuka2013 teaches the first and second diagrams as described below.
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, wherein the feature acquisition circuitry acquires a plurality of the features, and the display displays a first diagram and a second diagram side by side on one screen or superimposed on one screen, the first diagram showing each of the plurality of cutting points using an expression method indicating a first feature that is one of the plurality of features, the second diagram showing each of the plurality of cutting points using an expression method indicating a second feature that is the feature different from the first feature. (Tezuka2013: “Then, referring to FIG. 8, connection display in the display format selection unit 24 will be described. In the center of FIG. 8, only the end points of acceleration vectors that extend from each of the tool commanded coordinate values Pcn are displayed, and a solid line X2 to connect them by a straight line or a curved line is illustrated. As is clear from the drawing, the solid line X1 crosses the solid line X2 at its inflection points.” Paragraph 0065; “Furthermore, as illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 8, by further combining color display, the first color (blue, for example) is displayed in shading in the areas A1 and A3, and a second color (red, for example) is displayed in shading in the area A2. In addition, it is equally possible to apply different colors, from the color of the solid line X1, to the acceleration vectors, jerk vectors and connections, or change their shading. It should be understood that, by selecting two or more display formats in this way, it is possible to provide a variety of display formats, so that the operator is allowed easier recognition.” Paragraph 0066)
Tezuka and Tezuka2013 are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 5:
Tezuka does not explicitly describe a color display as described below. However, Tezuka2013 teaches the color display as described below.
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display determines a display color of the cutting point based on the feature corresponding to each of the plurality of cutting points, and determines a display color of a machining curved surface of a machining target shape based on the display color of each of the plurality of cutting points on the machining curved surface. (Tezuka2013: “First, color display will be described with reference to FIG. 6. In FIG. 6, tool commanded coordinate values Pcn and a solid line X1 which connects them by a straight line or a curved line are illustrated. This solid line X1 indicates a commanded path of the tip point of the tool 5. As illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 6, the solid line X1 includes areas A1 and A3, in which the normal acceleration is pointed upward above the solid line X1, and an area A2, in which the normal acceleration is pointed downward below the solid line X1.” Paragraph 0060; “In color display, the areas A1 and A3, in which the normal acceleration is pointed upward above the solid line X1, are colored by the first color (blue for example), and the area A2, in which the normal acceleration is pointed downward below the solid line X1, is colored by a second color (red for example).” Paragraph 0061)
Tezuka and Tezuka2013 are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 7:
Tezuka does not explicitly describe a difference value as described below. However, Tezuka2013 teaches the difference value as described below.
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, wherein the feature acquisition circuitry acquires a difference value between a first feature and a second feature as the feature of a first tool trajectory, the first feature being the feature corresponding to each of the plurality of tip points included in the first tool trajectory, the second feature being the feature corresponding to each of the plurality of tip points included in a second tool trajectory that is the tool trajectory calculated from position data of a drive shaft of the machine tool for machining the workpiece same as the first tool trajectory, the position data being different from the first tool trajectory. (Tezuka2013: “Then, referring to FIG. 8, connection display in the display format selection unit 24 will be described. In the center of FIG. 8, only the end points of acceleration vectors that extend from each of the tool commanded coordinate values Pcn are displayed, and a solid line X2 to connect them by a straight line or a curved line is illustrated. As is clear from the drawing, the solid line X1 crosses the solid line X2 at its inflection points.” Paragraph 0065; “Furthermore, as illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 8, by further combining color display, the first color (blue, for example) is displayed in shading in the areas A1 and A3, and a second color (red, for example) is displayed in shading in the area A2. In addition, it is equally possible to apply different colors, from the color of the solid line X1, to the acceleration vectors, jerk vectors and connections, or change their shading. It should be understood that, by selecting two or more display formats in this way, it is possible to provide a variety of display formats, so that the operator is allowed easier recognition.” Paragraph 0066; “To achieve the above-stated object, according to the first aspect, a tool path display apparatus of a machine tool is provided, the tool path display apparatus displaying a path of a tip point of a tool of the machine tool controlling a position and posture of at least one of the tool and a workpiece by means of a plurality of drive axes using a numerical control apparatus, and the tool path display apparatus including: a command generation unit that generates position commands for the plurality of drive axes per predetermined control cycle; position detectors that are attached to each of the plurality of drive axes and that detect a position of each of the plurality of drive axes per predetermined control cycle; a position data acquiring unit that acquires the position commands generated by the command generation unit per predetermined control cycle, as commanded value time series data, and that acquires position detected values detected by the position detectors per predetermined control cycle, as detected value time series data; a tool coordinate value calculation unit that calculates a tool commanded coordinate value of a tip point of the tool, in association with the commanded value time series data, based on the commanded value time series data and a structure of the machine tool, and that also calculates a tool actual coordinate value of the tip point of the tool, in association with the detected value time series data, based on the detected value time series data and the structure of the machine tool; an acceleration calculation unit that calculates an acceleration or a jerk of the tip point of the tool using at least three pieces of data of the tool commanded coordinate values, and that also calculates the acceleration or the jerk of the tip point of the tool using at least three pieces of data of the tool actual coordinate values; and a display format selection unit that selects display formats of the accelerations or the jerks of the tool commanded coordinate values and the tool actual coordinate values constituting the path of the tip point of the tool, and, in this tool path display apparatus, the display format selection unit performs at least one of: color display to apply colors to the path of the tip point of the tool according to orientation and magnitude of the accelerations or the jerks; vector display to display the accelerations or the jerks as acceleration vectors or jerk vectors on the path of the tip point of the tool; and connection display to display a connection that connects between end points of neighboring acceleration vectors or jerk vectors and the tool path display apparatus further includes a display unit that displays the accelerations or the jerks, with the path of the tip of the tool, in accordance with the display formats selected by the display format selection unit.” Paragraph 0013)
Tezuka and Tezuka2013 are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0324877 (Tezuka) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0003992 (Nakamoto).
Claim 14:
Tezuka does not explicitly describe superimposed on a machining target shape as described below. However, Nakamoto teaches the superimposed on a machining target shape as described below.
The cited prior art describes the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display displays each of the plurality of cutting points superimposed on a machining target shape of the workpiece. (Nakamoto: see the tool paths and machining surfaces as illustrated in figures 2, 10, 11; “In order to enable visual recognition of which tool path pattern has been selected on the machining surface, each of the plurality of tool path patterns is assigned a predetermined color. As shown in FIG. 2, for example, in the present embodiment, contour paths are assigned the color “red” on the selected machining surface, scanning line paths are assigned the color “green” on the selected machining surface, and surface paths are assigned the color “blue” on the selected machining surface. The display unit of the CAM system 60 displays each of the machining surfaces by a predetermined color corresponding to the selected tool path pattern. As a result, the operator P can easily recognize which tool path pattern has been selected on the machining surface. Note that in order to enable visual recognition of which tool path pattern has been selected on the machining surface, each of the plurality of tool path patterns may be assigned a predetermined characteristic with which each of the plurality of tool path patterns can be visually recognized (for example, a color, a pattern, and/or characters).” Paragraph 0034)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Tezuka, namely, a tool trajectory display device, with the known techniques of Nakamoto, namely, tool path generation system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Tezuka to display particular information about a tool trajectory with the teachings of Nakamoto to display particular information about a tool path would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved tool point trajectory display system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for a tool path display system for displaying information about the tool tip and other information based on the teachings of displaying tool trajectory information in Tezuka and the teachings of displaying other information about the tool path in Nakamoto.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0320764 describes a tool path trajectory display device.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0046773 describes a tool vector display apparatus.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0338816 describes a tool path display apparatus.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117