Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
The present application is being examined under the claims filed on 7/1/2024.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Specification
The specification filed on 7/1/2024 is acceptable for examination purposes.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 7/1/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1,
Step 1: Claim 1 is a method claim. Therefore, Claims 1-12 are directed to a process.
Step 2A Prong 1:
establishing, using processing circuitry, whether a rule system is affected by the change (mental process – establishing, using processing circuitry, whether a rule system is affected by the change may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the change and using a judgement to establish whether a rule system is affected by the change. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
receiving an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
where the rule system is used to provide activity information indicative of an activity in the computing network, where a rule of the rule system is applied to provide the activity information in response to identification of an event in the computing network that triggers implementation of the rule to provide the activity information; and in response to establishing that the rule system is affected by the change, causing the rule system to be modified to account for the change (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements recite generic computer elements and programs at a high-level of generality to perform the judicial exception as well as recitation of generic computer functionality such as a computing system and a computing network.
Additional Elements:
receiving an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
where the rule system is used to provide activity information indicative of an activity in the computing network, where a rule of the rule system is applied to provide the activity information in response to identification of an event in the computing network that triggers implementation of the rule to provide the activity information; and in response to establishing that the rule system is affected by the change, causing the rule system to be modified to account for the change (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
For the reasons above, Claim 1 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claims 2-12. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Regarding Claim 2,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 2 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
receiving a log comprising event information about the event (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
in response to the rule being implemented as a result of analysis of the event information, providing the activity information in accordance with the rule system (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
receiving a log comprising event information about the event (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
in response to the rule being implemented as a result of analysis of the event information, providing the activity information in accordance with the rule system (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
Regarding Claim 3,
Step 2A Prong 1:
analyzing the event information in the received log to determine whether the first rule or second rule applies (mental process – analyzing the event information in the received log to determine whether the first rule or second rule applies may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the event information in the received log and using a judgement to determine whether the first rule or second rule applies. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
implementing the first rule or second rule that is determined to apply to the log generated by the computing system (mental process – implementing the first rule or second rule that is determined to apply to the log generated by the computing system may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the first rule or second rule and the log, and using a judgement to implement the first rule or second rule to apply to the log. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
the log is generated by the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
a first rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a first version of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
a second rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a second version of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
the log is generated by the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
a first rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a first version of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
a second rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a second version of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claim 4,
Step 2A Prong 1:
in response to establishing that the rule system is affected by the change, indicating a rule template or existing rule for use in creating a new or modified rule for the rule system (mental process – in response to establishing that the rule system is affected by the change, indicating a rule template or existing rule for use in creating a new or modified rule for the rule system may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the rule system and the change, and using a judgement to indicate a rule template or existing rule to create a new or modified rule for the rule system. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
using the rule template or existing rule to create the new or modified rule based on the indication of the change such that the rule system is modified to account for the change (mental process – using the rule template or existing rule to create the new or modified rule based on the indication of the change such that the rule system is modified to account for the change may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the indication of the change and using a judgement to use the rule template or existing rule to create the new or modified rule accounting for the change. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
There are no additional elements.
Regarding Claim 5,
Step 2A Prong 1:
adding event information to the rule template about a new event associated with the change to create the new rule (mental process – adding event information to the rule template about a new event associated with the change to create the new rule may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the new event and using a judgement to add event information to the rule template about a new event associated with the change to create the new rule. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
modifying the rule template to account for the change (mental process – modifying the rule template to account for the change may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the change and using a judgement to modify the rule template to account for the change. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
modifying the existing rule by removing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule (mental process – modifying the existing rule by removing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the existing rule and the existing event, and using a judgement to modify the existing rule by removing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
modifying the existing rule by replacing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule with new information about the existing event (mental process – modifying the existing rule by replacing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule with new information about the existing event may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the existing rule and the existing event, and using a judgement to modify the existing rule by replacing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule with new information about the existing event. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
modifying the existing rule by dividing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule into a plurality of parts of event information (mental process – modifying the existing rule by dividing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule into a plurality of parts of event information may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the existing rule and the existing event, and using a judgement to modify the existing rule by dividing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule into a plurality of parts of event information. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
where using the rule template or existing rule to create the new or modified rule based on the indication of the change such that the rule system is modified to account for the change comprises at least one of: (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
where using the rule template or existing rule to create the new or modified rule based on the indication of the change such that the rule system is modified to account for the change comprises at least one of: (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claim 6,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 5 above, which Claim 6 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
where the added, removed, replaced and/or divided event information about the new or existing event comprises at least one of: a type of the new or existing event; a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to the new or existing event; an event identifier for identifying the new or existing event; an event feature indicative of an attribute of the new or existing event; and/or an event feature value associated with the event feature, where the event feature value is indicative of an attribute value (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
where the added, removed, replaced and/or divided event information about the new or existing event comprises at least one of: a type of the new or existing event; a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to the new or existing event; an event identifier for identifying the new or existing event; an event feature indicative of an attribute of the new or existing event; and/or an event feature value associated with the event feature, where the event feature value is indicative of an attribute value (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claim 7,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 7 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
where causing the rule system to be modified to account for the change comprises changing the activity information to be provided in response to the event based on the received indication (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
where causing the rule system to be modified to account for the change comprises changing the activity information to be provided in response to the event based on the received indication (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claim 8,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 8 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
where the indication of the change comprises event change data produced by the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
where the indication of the change comprises event change data produced by the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claim 9,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 8 above, which Claim 9 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
where the event change data is produced in response to a change in state of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
where the event change data is produced in response to a change in state of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claim 10,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 9 above, which Claim 10 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
where the change in state comprises at least one of: execution of an update to a firmware or software operated by the computing system; and/or a change in hardware of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
where the change in state comprises at least one of: execution of an update to a firmware or software operated by the computing system; and/or a change in hardware of the computing system (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Regarding Claim 11,
Step 2A Prong 1:
parsing the received indication (mental process – parsing the received indication may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the received indication and using a judgement to parse it. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
interpreting the parsed indication to identify event change data indicative of a change to how data associated with the activity is logged as a result of the change in the computing network (mental process – interpreting the parsed indication to identify event change data indicative of a change to how data associated with the activity is logged as a result of the change in the computing network may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the parsed indication and using a judgement to interpret the parsed indication to identify event change data indicative of a change. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
establishing whether the rule system is affected by the change based on a comparison of the event change data with the rule system (mental process – establishing whether the rule system is affected by the change based on a comparison of the event change data with the rule system may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the event change data and using a judgement to compare the event change data and establish whether the rule system is affected by the change. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
in response to establishing that an existing rule of the rule system is affected by the change, modifying the rule system by causing existing event information in rule content of the rule system to be removed, replaced with new event information or divided into smaller portions of event information based on the event change data (mental process – in response to establishing that an existing rule of the rule system is affected by the change, modifying the rule system by causing existing event information in rule content of the rule system to be removed, replaced with new event information or divided into smaller portions of event information based on the event change data may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the event information and the event change data, and using a judgement to modify the rule system by removing existing event information, replacing with new event information or dividing into smaller portions of event information. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
in response to establishing that the rule system does not take into account the change, modifying the rule system by causing new event information to be added to rule content of the rule system based on the event change data (mental process – in response to establishing that the rule system does not take into account the change, modifying the rule system by causing new event information to be added to rule content of the rule system based on the event change data may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the event information and the event change data, and using a judgement to modify the rule system by adding new event information. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
Step 2A Prong 2 & Step 2B:
There are no additional elements.
Regarding Claim 12,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 1 above, which Claim 12 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
the computing network comprises a set of computing systems; a first subset of the set of computing systems comprises a first version of hardware, software and/or firmware; a second subset of the set of computing systems comprises a second version of hardware, software and/or firmware (merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
a first rule of the rule system is associated with the first subset; a second rule of the rule system is associated with the second subset (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
the change to the computing system results in a different number of computing systems being in the first subset and/or second subset (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
providing a scale indicative of the number of computing systems in the first and/or second subsets as a result of the change (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
the computing network comprises a set of computing systems; a first subset of the set of computing systems comprises a first version of hardware, software and/or firmware; a second subset of the set of computing systems comprises a second version of hardware, software and/or firmware (merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
a first rule of the rule system is associated with the first subset; a second rule of the rule system is associated with the second subset (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
the change to the computing system results in a different number of computing systems being in the first subset and/or second subset (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
providing a scale indicative of the number of computing systems in the first and/or second subsets as a result of the change (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
Regarding Claim 13,
Step 1: Claim 13 is a non-transitory machine-readable medium claim. Therefore, Claim 13 is directed to a manufacture.
Step 2A Prong 1:
use the indication to modify a rule system for providing activity information indicative of the activity such that a rule specified by the rule system is to provide the activity information in response to logging of the event data triggering implementation of the rule (mental process – using the indication to modify a rule system for providing activity information indicative of the activity such that a rule specified by the rule system is to provide the activity information in response to logging of the event data triggering implementation of the rule may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the indication and the event data, and using a judgement to modify a rule system to provide activity information indicative of the activity such that a rule is to provide the activity information in response to the event data triggering implementation of the rule. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: (merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
receive an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network that results in different event data being logged in response to activity in the computing network (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements recite generic computer elements and programs at a high-level of generality to perform the judicial exception as well as recitation of generic computer functionality such as a processor.
Additional Elements:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: (merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
receive an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network that results in different event data being logged in response to activity in the computing network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that merely “Receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer)
For the reasons above, Claim 13 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 14,
Step 1: Claim 14 is an apparatus claim. Therefore, Claim 14 is directed to a machine.
Step 2A Prong 1:
establish that a change in state of a computing system associated with the processor has occurred, where the change in state results in different event data being logged by the processor in response to activity in a computing network associated with the computing system (mental process – establishing that a change in state of a computing system associated with the processor has occurred, where the change in state results in different event data being logged by the processor in response to activity in a computing network associated with the computing system may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the change of a computing system, and using a judgement to establish that a change of a computing system associated with the processor has occurred. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
generate an indication of the change, where the indication is useable for modifying a rule system for providing activity information indicative of the activity such that a rule specified by the rule system is to provide the activity information in response to the processor logging event data that triggers implementation of the rule (mental process – generating an indication of the change, where the indication is useable for modifying a rule system for providing activity information indicative of the activity such that a rule specified by the rule system is to provide the activity information in response to the processor logging event data that triggers implementation of the rule may be performed manually by a user with the aid of pen and paper by observing/analyzing the change, and using a judgement to create an indication of the change, where the indication is useable for modifying a rule system for providing activity information. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).)
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
a processor; and a machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements recite generic computer elements and programs at a high-level of generality to perform the judicial exception as well as recitation of generic computer functionality such as a processor.
Additional Elements:
a processor; and a machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
For the reasons above, Claim 14 is rejected as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. This rejection applies equally to dependent claim 15. The additional limitations of the dependent claims are addressed below.
Regarding Claim 15,
Step 2A Prong 1:
See the rejection of Claim 14 above, which Claim 15 depends on.
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
Additional Elements:
where the indication comprises a structured file comprising at least one of: a type of event associated with an event to be logged by the processor; a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to a new or existing event to be logged by the processor; an event identifier for identifying the event to be logged by the processor; an event feature indicative of an attribute of the new or existing event; and/or an event feature value associated with the event feature, where the event feature value is indicative of an attribute value (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional Elements:
where the indication comprises a structured file comprising at least one of: a type of event associated with an event to be logged by the processor; a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to a new or existing event to be logged by the processor; an event identifier for identifying the event to be logged by the processor; an event feature indicative of an attribute of the new or existing event; and/or an event feature value associated with the event feature, where the event feature value is indicative of an attribute value (merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Smith (US 20130298237 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Smith teaches:
“A method, comprising:” (preamble)
“receiving an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network” (Smith, Paragraph [0006], “The methods also involve detecting a reactive trigger event within the computer network. The reactive trigger event comprises a spontaneous event for causing a change to occur in relation to the dynamic modification of the identity parameter.”; Examiner’s note: receiving an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network (i.e., detecting a reactive trigger event within the computer network. The reactive trigger event comprises an event for causing a change to occur in relation to the dynamic modification of the parameter) is taught.)
“establishing, using processing circuitry, whether a rule system is affected by the change” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038] and [0065], “the mission plan 220 implemented by processor 215 will also control certain other aspects of the manner in which computer network 100 can maneuver. For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […]”; Examiner’s note: establishing, using processing circuitry (i.e., processor 215), whether a rule system (i.e., a module) is affected by the change (i.e., the mission plan 220 specifying that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated and the mission plan used by each module) is taught.)
“where the rule system is used to provide activity information indicative of an activity in the computing network” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038], [0057], [0062], [0063] and [0065], “For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated […] The collected information can be compared against the contents of a pre-defined table or matrix to identify which of a plurality of possible traffic patterns currently exists within a computer network […] the receipt of a data packet at a module 105, 106, 107, 113, 114 where the packet contains one or more identity parameters […] a packet having a particular origin or destination; a code word contained in a packet; secret or confidential information contained in a packet; a particular level of congestion; a particular traffic pattern; a particular protocol pattern; a particular entropy pattern […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […]”; Examiner’s note: wherein the rule system (i.e., a module) is used to provide activity information indicative of an activity (i.e., a data packet having a particular traffic pattern, a particular protocol pattern and a particular entropy pattern) in the computing network (i.e., within a computer network) is taught.)
“where a rule of the rule system is applied to provide the activity information in response to identification of an event in the computing network that triggers implementation of the rule to provide the activity information” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006], [0038], [0062], [0063] and [0065], “In response to the detection of the reactive trigger event, a second mission plan is selected from the plurality of mission plans. Subsequently, the operations of the computer network are automatically reconfigured in accordance with the second mission plan such that the identity parameter is dynamically modified in a manner that is different than that specified in the first mission plan […] For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […]”; Examiner’s note: wherein a rule (i.e., a mission plan) of the rule system (i.e., a module) is applied to provide the activity information in response to identification of an event (i.e., a second mission plan selected in response to the detection of the reactive trigger event) in the computing network (i.e., the computer network) that triggers implementation of the rule (operations of the computer network reconfigured with the second mission plan) to provide the activity information (i.e., the parameter dynamically modified in a manner that is different from the one in the first mission plan) is taught.)
“in response to establishing that the rule system is affected by the change, causing the rule system to be modified to account for the change” (Smith, Paragraph [0035], “the module 105 can implement different modification functions, depending on a source of a particular data packet. The dynamic modification function in the module 105 can be specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet. The module 105 can determine a source of data packets by any suitable means. For example, a source address of a data packet can be used for this purpose.”; Examiner’s note: in response to establishing that the rule system (i.e., the module) is affected by the change (i.e., modification), causing the rule system (i.e., the module) to be modified to account for the change (i.e., the dynamic modification function in the module being specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 2,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 1, comprising:” (preamble)
“receiving a log comprising event information about the event” (Smith, Paragraph [0113], “a logging function is performed whereby all false identity parameters determined in step 1314 are recorded, for example, in memory.”; Examiner’s note: receiving a log (i.e., a logging function performed and recorded in memory) comprising event information about the event (i.e., all false identity parameters determined and recorded) is taught.)
“in response to the rule being implemented as a result of analysis of the event information, providing the activity information in accordance with the rule system” (Smith, Paragraphs [0057] and [0066], “Such a network analysis can involve monitoring traffic patterns (e.g., the number of users), protocol patterns, and/or entropy patterns (i.e., who is communicating with who) of a network at particular times of a day. A traffic pattern can be determined by collecting information about network equipment usage (e.g., a processor's usage) and a number of connections that exist from a network device (e.g., a network server) […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […] a plurality of mission plans can be stored on each module and can be activated as necessary or desirable to maintain security of the network.”; Examiner’s note: in response to the rule (i.e., the mission plan) being implemented as a result of analysis of the event information (i.e., such a network analysis involving monitoring traffic patterns (e.g., the number of users), protocol patterns, and/or entropy patterns (i.e., who is communicating with who) of a network), providing the activity information (i.e., collecting information about network equipment usage and a number of connections that exist from a network device) in accordance with the rule system (i.e., the module) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 4,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 1, comprising:” (preamble)
“in response to establishing that the rule system is affected by the change, indicating a rule template or existing rule for use in creating a new or modified rule for the rule system” (Smith, Paragraph [0006], “In response to the detection of the reactive trigger event, a second mission plan is selected from the plurality of mission plans. Subsequently, the operations of the computer network are automatically reconfigured in accordance with the second mission plan such that the identity parameter is dynamically modified in a manner that is different than that specified in the first mission plan.”; Examiner’s note: in response to establishing that the rule system is affected by the change (i.e., in response to the detection of the reactive trigger event), indicating a rule template or existing rule (i.e., a mission plan from the plurality of mission plans or the first mission plan) for use in creating a new or modified rule for the rule system (i.e., a second mission plan selected and the operations of the computer network automatically reconfigured) is taught.)
“using the rule template or existing rule to create the new or modified rule based on the indication of the change such that the rule system is modified to account for the change” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006] and [0035], “In response to the detection of the reactive trigger event, a second mission plan is selected from the plurality of mission plans. Subsequently, the operations of the computer network are automatically reconfigured in accordance with the second mission plan such that the identity parameter is dynamically modified in a manner that is different than that specified in the first mission plan […] the module 105 can implement different modification functions, depending on a source of a particular data packet. The dynamic modification function in the module 105 can be specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet. The module 105 can determine a source of data packets by any suitable means. For example, a source address of a data packet can be used for this purpose.”; Examiner’s note: using the rule template or existing rule (i.e., the mission plan from the plurality of mission plans or the first mission plan) to create the new or modified rule (i.e., a second mission plan selected and the operations of the computer network automatically reconfigured) based on the indication of the change (i.e., the dynamic modification function) such that the rule system (i.e., the module) is modified to account for the change (i.e., the dynamic modification function in the module being specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 5,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 4,” (preamble)
“where using the rule template or existing rule to create the new or modified rule based on the indication of the change such that the rule system is modified to account for the change comprises at least one of:” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006] and [0035], “In response to the detection of the reactive trigger event, a second mission plan is selected from the plurality of mission plans. Subsequently, the operations of the computer network are automatically reconfigured in accordance with the second mission plan such that the identity parameter is dynamically modified in a manner that is different than that specified in the first mission plan […] the module 105 can implement different modification functions, depending on a source of a particular data packet. The dynamic modification function in the module 105 can be specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet. The module 105 can determine a source of data packets by any suitable means. For example, a source address of a data packet can be used for this purpose.”; Examiner’s note: where using the rule template or existing rule (i.e., the mission plan from the plurality of mission plans or the first mission plan) to create the new or modified rule (i.e., a second mission plan selected and the operations of the computer network automatically reconfigured) based on the indication of the change (i.e., the dynamic modification function) such that the rule system (i.e., the module) is modified to account for the change (i.e., the dynamic modification function in the module being specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet) comprises at least one of: is taught.)
“adding event information to the rule template about a new event associated with the change to create the new rule” (Smith, Paragraphs [0069], [0082] and [0083], “the NCSA can generate a dialog box 400 of which can be used to further develop a mission plan […] the process checks to determine if a trigger event occurred. The occurrence of a trigger event will influence the selection of false identify values to use. Accordingly, in step 822, the module determines the false identify values to use based on one or more of the trigger information, clock time and mission plan […] a new mission plan is created in step 908 and the process continues to step 910 […]”; Examiner’s note: adding event information to the rule template (i.e., developing a mission plan) about a new event associated with the change (i.e., the occurrence of a trigger event) to create the new rule (i.e., create a new mission plan in step 908) is taught.)
“modifying the rule template to account for the change” (Smith, Paragraph [0066], “the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries.”; Examiner’s note: modifying the rule template (i.e., the mission plan being modified) to account for the change (i.e., to update or change the way to thwart potential adversaries) is taught.)
“modifying the existing rule by removing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038] and [0066], “the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated. The dynamic selection can include a choice of which identity parameters are selected for modification, and/or a number of such identity parameters that are selected […] changes in the selection of identity parameters can occur asynchronously (i.e., the group of selected identity parameters changes incrementally as individual identity parameters are added or removed from the group of selected identity parameters) […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries.”; Examiner’s note: modifying the existing rule (i.e., modifying the mission plan) by removing event information (i.e., removing identity parameters from the group) about an existing event (i.e., a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated) specified by the existing rule (i.e., specified by the mission plan) is taught.)
“modifying the existing rule by replacing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule with new information about the existing event” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038] and [0066], “the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated. The dynamic selection can include a choice of which identity parameters are selected for modification, and/or a number of such identity parameters that are selected […] changes in the selection of identity parameters can occur asynchronously (i.e., the group of selected identity parameters changes incrementally as individual identity parameters are added or removed from the group of selected identity parameters) […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries.”; Examiner’s note: modifying the existing rule (i.e., modifying the mission plan) by replacing event information (i.e., replacing with identity parameters added) about an existing event (i.e., a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated) specified by the existing rule (i.e., specified by the mission plan) with new information about the existing event (i.e., identity parameters added to the selected identity parameters) is taught.)
“modifying the existing rule by dividing event information about an existing event specified by the existing rule into a plurality of parts of event information” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038], [0066] and [0130], “the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated. The dynamic selection can include a choice of which identity parameters are selected for modification, and/or a number of such identity parameters that are selected […] changes in the selection of identity parameters can occur asynchronously (i.e., the group of selected identity parameters changes incrementally as individual identity parameters are added or removed from the group of selected identity parameters) […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […] the subnet number and the host number can each be considered to be a separate identity parameter. Accordingly, each of these identity parameters can be separately manipulated […]”; Examiner’s note: modifying the existing rule (i.e., modifying the mission plan) by dividing event information (i.e., separate identity parameters) about an existing event (i.e., a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated) specified by the existing rule (i.e., specified by the mission plan) into a plurality of parts of event information (i.e., parts of the selected identity parameters) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 6,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 5,” (preamble)
“where the added, removed, replaced and/or divided event information about the new or existing event comprises at least one of:” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038], [0066] and [0130], “the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated. The dynamic selection can include a choice of which identity parameters are selected for modification, and/or a number of such identity parameters that are selected […] changes in the selection of identity parameters can occur asynchronously (i.e., the group of selected identity parameters changes incrementally as individual identity parameters are added or removed from the group of selected identity parameters) […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […] the subnet number and the host number can each be considered to be a separate identity parameter. Accordingly, each of these identity parameters can be separately manipulated […]”; Examiner’s note: where the added, removed, replaced and/or divided event information (i.e., added, removed, replaced and/or separate identity parameters) about the new or existing event (i.e., a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated) comprises at least one of: is taught.)
“a type of the new or existing event” (Smith, Paragraph [0080], “the module can load the data associated with the new mission plan. This process of entering into the by-pass state and loading the new mission plan data can occur automatically in response to receipt of the mission plan, or can occur in response to a command from the NCSA software controlled by the network administrator.”; Examiner’s note: a type of the new or existing event (i.e., the data associated with the new mission plan or the data associated with the existing mission plan) is taught.)
“a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to the new or existing event” (Smith, Paragraph [0080], “the module can load the data associated with the new mission plan. This process of entering into the by-pass state and loading the new mission plan data can occur automatically in response to receipt of the mission plan, or can occur in response to a command from the NCSA software controlled by the network administrator. The new mission plan preferably includes changes in the way that identity parameter values are varied.”; Examiner’s note: a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to the new or existing event (i.e., changes in the way that identity parameter values are varied included in the new mission plan or in the existing mission plan) is taught.)
“an event identifier for identifying the new or existing event” (Smith, Paragraph [0082], “the process checks to determine if a trigger event occurred. The occurrence of a trigger event will influence the selection of false identify values to use. Accordingly, in step 822, the module determines the false identify values to use based on one or more of the trigger information, clock time and mission plan”; Examiner’s note: an event identifier for identifying the new or existing event (i.e., the occurrence of a trigger event influencing the selection of identity values to use) is taught.)
“an event feature indicative of an attribute of the new or existing event; and/or an event feature value associated with the event feature, where the event feature value is indicative of an attribute value” (Smith, Paragraphs [0074] and [0082], “the user can move a cursor 508 and make selections to specify whether a particular module is in an active or bypass mode during each time slot […] the module is ready to begin processing data and proceeds to do so at step 808, where it accesses a data packet from an input data buffer of the module. In step 810, the module checks to determine if it is in a bypass mode of operation. If so, the data packet accessed in step 808 is retransmitted in step 812 without any modification of the data packet. If the module is not in bypass mode, then it must be in its active mode of operation and continues on to step 814 […] The occurrence of a trigger event will influence the selection of false identify values to use. Accordingly, in step 822, the module determines the false identify values to use based on one or more of the trigger information, clock time and mission plan. The module then continues to step 826 where it manipulates identity parameters of the data packet.”; Examiner’s note: an event feature indicative of an attribute (i.e., a particular module in an active or bypass mode. When the module in bypass mode, the data packet is retransmitted without any modification.) of the new or existing event (i.e., the new or existing data packet); and/or an event feature value (i.e., true or false identity values) associated with the event feature (i.e., an active or bypass mode), where the event feature value (i.e., true or false identity value) is indicative of an attribute value (i.e., identity parameters of the data packet) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 7,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 1,” (preamble)
“where causing the rule system to be modified to account for the change comprises changing the activity information to be provided in response to the event based on the received indication” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006], [0035], [0038] and [0065] “In response to the detection of the reactive trigger event, a second mission plan is selected from the plurality of mission plans. Subsequently, the operations of the computer network are automatically reconfigured in accordance with the second mission plan such that the identity parameter is dynamically modified in a manner that is different than that specified in the first mission plan […] the module 105 can implement different modification functions, depending on a source of a particular data packet. The dynamic modification function in the module 105 can be specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet. The module 105 can determine a source of data packets by any suitable means. For example, a source address of a data packet can be used for this purpose […] the mission plan 220 implemented by processor 215 will also control certain other aspects of the manner in which computer network 100 can maneuver. For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […]”; Examiner’s note: where causing the rule system (i.e., a module) to be modified to account for the change (i.e., the dynamic modification function in the module being specified in the mission plan in accordance with a source computing device of a particular data packet) comprises changing the activity information (i.e., the parameter dynamically modified in a manner that is different from the one in the first mission plan) to be provided in response to the event based on the received indication (i.e., in response to the detection of the reactive trigger event) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 8,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 1,” (preamble)
“where the indication of the change comprises event change data produced by the computing system” (Smith, Paragraph [0044], “a module must have some way of determining the proper transformation or manipulation to apply to each data communication it receives. In a preferred embodiment, this determination is performed by examining at least a source address identity parameter contained within the received data communication. For example, the source address identity parameter can include an IP address of a source computing device.”; Examiner’s note: where the indication of the change (i.e., determining the proper transformation or manipulation) comprises event change data (i.e., a source address identity parameter such as an IP address of a source) produced by the computing system (i.e., a source computing device) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 9,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 8,” (preamble)
“where the event change data is produced in response to a change in state of the computing system” (Smith, Paragraph [0066], “the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […] if the network administrator determines or suspects that an adversary has discovered a current mission plan for a network, the administrator may wish to change the mission plan. Effective security procedures can also dictate that the mission plan be periodically changed.”; Examiner’s note: where the event change data (i.e., the modified mission plan) is produced in response to a change in state of the computing system (i.e., changing the current mission plan for a network for effective security procedures) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 10,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 9,” (preamble)
“where the change in state comprises at least one of: execution of an update to a firmware or software operated by the computing system; and/or a change in hardware of the computing system” (Smith, Paragraphs [0066] and [0089], “the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […] if the network administrator determines or suspects that an adversary has discovered a current mission plan for a network, the administrator may wish to change the mission plan. Effective security procedures can also dictate that the mission plan be periodically changed […] the exemplary system is applicable to software, firmware, and hardware implementations.”; Examiner’s note: where the change in state (i.e., changing the current mission plan for a network for effective security procedures) comprises at least one of: execution of an update to a firmware or software operated by the computing system; and/or a change in hardware of the computing system (i.e., executing update to the exemplary system applicable to software, firmware, and hardware implementations) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 11,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 1, comprising:” (preamble)
“parsing the received indication” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006] and [0052], “The methods also involve detecting a reactive trigger event within the computer network. The reactive trigger event comprises a spontaneous event for causing a change to occur in relation to the dynamic modification of the identity parameter […] a reactive trigger can be based on a packet inspection based scheme, a congestion level based scheme, a heuristic algorithm based scheme and/or an NBA analysis based scheme.”; Examiner’s note: parsing the received indication (i.e., a reactive trigger event detected within the computer network and the reactive trigger being parsed based on a packet inspection based scheme, a congestion level based scheme, a heuristic algorithm based scheme and/or an NBA analysis based scheme) is taught.)
“interpreting the parsed indication to identify event change data indicative of a change to how data associated with the activity is logged as a result of the change in the computing network” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006], [0052], [0056] and [0066], “The methods also involve detecting a reactive trigger event within the computer network. The reactive trigger event comprises a spontaneous event for causing a change to occur in relation to the dynamic modification of the identity parameter […] a reactive trigger can be based on a packet inspection based scheme, a congestion level based scheme, a heuristic algorithm based scheme and/or an NBA analysis based scheme. The packet inspection based scheme can involve analyzing a packet to obtain an identifier identifying an origin of the packet, a destination of the packet, a group to which the origin or destination belong, and/or a type of payload contained in the packet […] The congestion level based scheme can involve: monitoring and tracking the level of congestion within a computer network; comparing a current level of congestion with a threshold value; and selecting a mission plan or security model from a plurality of mission plans/models based on the results of the comparison […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […]”; Examiner’s note: interpreting the parsed indication (i.e., interpreting the parsed reactive trigger based on a packet inspection based scheme, a congestion level based scheme, a heuristic algorithm based scheme and/or an NBA analysis based scheme) to identify event change data (i.e., the modified mission plan) indicative of a change to how data associated with the activity is logged (i.e., the packet inspection based scheme including a packet obtaining an origin, a destination, a group, and/or a type of payload and the congestion level based scheme monitoring and tracking the level of congestion, comparing a current level of congestion with a threshold value and selecting a mission plan) as a result of the change in the computing network (i.e., the reactive trigger event within the computer network is detected) is taught.)
“establishing whether the rule system is affected by the change based on a comparison of the event change data with the rule system” (Smith, Paragraphs [0056], [0065] and [0066], “The congestion level based scheme can involve: monitoring and tracking the level of congestion within a computer network; comparing a current level of congestion with a threshold value; and selecting a mission plan or security model from a plurality of mission plans/models based on the results of the comparison […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […]”; Examiner’s note: establishing whether the rule system (i.e., the module) is affected by the change (i.e., manipulation of identity parameters) based on a comparison of the event change data (i.e., a mission plan selected based on the results of comparison such as comparing a current level of congestion with a threshold value) with the rule system (i.e., the module) is taught.)
“in response to establishing that an existing rule of the rule system is affected by the change, modifying the rule system by causing existing event information in rule content of the rule system to be removed, replaced with new event information or divided into smaller portions of event information based on the event change data” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038], [0065], [0066] and [0130], “the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated. The dynamic selection can include a choice of which identity parameters are selected for modification, and/or a number of such identity parameters that are selected […] changes in the selection of identity parameters can occur asynchronously (i.e., the group of selected identity parameters changes incrementally as individual identity parameters are added or removed from the group of selected identity parameters) […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […] the subnet number and the host number can each be considered to be a separate identity parameter. Accordingly, each of these identity parameters can be separately manipulated […]”; Examiner’s note: in response to establishing that an existing rule (i.e., the mission plan) of the rule system (i.e., the module) is affected by the change (i.e., manipulation of identity parameters), modifying the rule system (i.e., modifying the module) by causing existing event information in rule content of the rule system (i.e., a dynamic selection of identity parameters specified by the mission plan) to be removed (i.e., removing identity parameters from the group), replaced with new event information (i.e., replacing with identity parameters added) or divided into smaller portions of event information (i.e., separate identity parameters) based on the event change data (i.e., identity parameters being manipulated) is taught.)
“in response to establishing that the rule system does not take into account the change, modifying the rule system by causing new event information to be added to rule content of the rule system based on the event change data” (Smith, Paragraphs [0038], [0065] and [0066], “the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated. The dynamic selection can include a choice of which identity parameters are selected for modification, and/or a number of such identity parameters that are selected […] changes in the selection of identity parameters can occur asynchronously (i.e., the group of selected identity parameters changes incrementally as individual identity parameters are added or removed from the group of selected identity parameters) […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […] the mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries […]”; Examiner’s note: in response to establishing that the rule system (i.e., the module) does not take into account the change (i.e., identity parameters not being manipulated), modifying the rule system (i.e., modifying the module) by causing new event information to be added (i.e., adding identity parameters) to rule content of the rule system (i.e., a dynamic selection of identity parameters specified by the mission plan) based on the event change data (i.e., identity parameters being manipulated) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 12,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 1, where:” (preamble)
“the computing network comprises a set of computing systems” (Smith, Paragraph [0027], “there is shown a diagram of an exemplary computer network 100 which includes a plurality of computing devices. The computing devices can include client computers 101-103, NAC 104, servers 111, 112, network layer 2 switches 108, 109, layer 3 switch 110, and a bridge 115.”)
“a first subset of the set of computing systems comprises a first version of hardware, software and/or firmware; a second subset of the set of computing systems comprises a second version of hardware, software and/or firmware” (Smith, Paragraphs [0027] and [0032], “there is shown a diagram of an exemplary computer network 100 which includes a plurality of computing devices. The computing devices can include client computers 101-103, NAC 104, servers 111, 112, network layer 2 switches 108, 109, layer 3 switch 110, and a bridge 115 […] the computer network 100 can be divided into a number of logical subdivisions, sometimes referred to as sub-networks or subnets, connected through layer 3 switch 110. An enterprise network can be divided into a number of subnets for a variety of administrative or technical reasons including, but not limited to, hiding the topology of the network from being visible to external hosts, connecting networks utilizing different network protocols, separately administering network addressing schemes on the subnet level, enabling management of data traffic across subnets due to constrained data connections, and the like. Subnetting is well known in the art […]”; Smith, Fig. 1,
)
“a first rule of the rule system is associated with the first subset; a second rule of the rule system is associated with the second subset; the change to the computing system results in a different number of computing systems being in the first subset and/or second subset” (Smith, Paragraphs [0042], [0049] and [0065], “Locations where identity parameters are to be manipulated will change in accordance with the predefined sequence at times indicated by a reactive trigger event. For example, the reactive trigger event can cause a transition to a new location for manipulation or transformation of identity parameters as described herein. Accordingly, the reactive trigger event serves as a basis for the occurrence of a change in the location where identity parameters are modified, and the predefined sequence determines where the new location will be […] in FIG. 1, the dynamic modification of identity parameters are implemented in selected ones of the modules 105, 106, 107, 113, 114. The modules actually used to respectively implement the dynamic modification is determined as previously described. If module 105 is used for converting identity parameters to false values and module 106 is used to convert them back to true values, then there are three network nodes (108, 110, 109) between modules 105 and 106 […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […]”; Examiner’s note: a first rule (i.e., a mission plan) of the rule system is associated with the first subset (i.e., the module 105 is in the first subset); a second rule (i.e., a mission plan) of the rule system is associated with the second subset (i.e., the module 106 is in the second subset); the change to the computing system results in a different number of computing systems being in the first subset and/or second subset (i.e., a transition to a new location for manipulation or transformation of identity parameters teaches the change to the computing system results in a different number of computing systems (e.g., new location has different number of computing systems)) is taught.)
“providing a scale indicative of the number of computing systems in the first and/or second subsets as a result of the change” (Smith, Paragraphs [0042] and [0044], “Locations where identity parameters are to be manipulated will change in accordance with the predefined sequence at times indicated by a reactive trigger event. For example, the reactive trigger event can cause a transition to a new location for manipulation or transformation of identity parameters as described herein. Accordingly, the reactive trigger event serves as a basis for the occurrence of a change in the location where identity parameters are modified, and the predefined sequence determines where the new location will be […] a module must have some way of determining the proper transformation or manipulation to apply to each data communication it receives. In a preferred embodiment, this determination is performed by examining at least a source address identity parameter contained within the received data communication. For example, the source address identity parameter can include an IP address of a source computing device.”; Examiner’s note: providing a scale indicative of the number of computing systems (i.e., a source address identity parameter) in the first and/or second subsets as a result of the change (i.e., transformation or manipulation in the first and/or second subsets) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 13,
Smith teaches:
“A non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:” (Smith, Paragraph [0085], “The main memory 1020 includes a computer-readable storage medium 1010 on which is stored one or more sets of instructions 1008 (e.g., software code) configured to implement one or more of the methodologies, procedures, or functions described herein […] The static memory 1018 and the processor 1012 also can constitute machine-readable media.”)
“receive an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network that results in different event data being logged in response to activity in the computing network” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006] and [0038], “The methods also involve detecting a reactive trigger event within the computer network. The reactive trigger event comprises a spontaneous event for causing a change to occur in relation to the dynamic modification of the identity parameter […] the mission plan 220 implemented by processor 215 will also control certain other aspects of the manner in which computer network 100 can maneuver. For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated.”; Examiner’s note: receiving an indication of a change to a computing system useable in a computing network (i.e., detecting a reactive trigger event within the computer network. The reactive trigger event comprises an event for causing a change to occur in relation to the dynamic modification of the parameter) that results in different event data being logged (i.e., the modification of the identity parameter) in response to activity in the computing network (i.e., dynamic selection of identity parameters in the computer network) is taught.)
“use the indication to modify a rule system for providing activity information indicative of the activity such that a rule specified by the rule system is to provide the activity information in response to logging of the event data triggering implementation of the rule” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006], [0038], [0062], [0063] and [0065], “In response to the detection of the reactive trigger event, a second mission plan is selected from the plurality of mission plans. Subsequently, the operations of the computer network are automatically reconfigured in accordance with the second mission plan such that the identity parameter is dynamically modified in a manner that is different than that specified in the first mission plan […] For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […]”; Examiner’s note: use the indication (i.e., detecting the reactive trigger event) to modify a rule system (i.e., a module) for providing the activity information indicative of the activity (i.e., a second mission plan selected in response to the detection of the reactive trigger event) such that a rule specified by the rule system (i.e., the mission plan used by the module) is to provide the activity information (i.e., providing a second mission plan) in response to logging of the event data (i.e., detecting the reactive trigger event) triggering implementation of the rule (i.e., triggering a second mission plan) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 14,
Smith teaches:
“Apparatus comprising:” (preamble)
“a processor; and a machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:” (Smith, Paragraph [0085], “The main memory 1020 includes a computer-readable storage medium 1010 on which is stored one or more sets of instructions 1008 (e.g., software code) configured to implement one or more of the methodologies, procedures, or functions described herein […] The static memory 1018 and the processor 1012 also can constitute machine-readable media.”)
“establish that a change in state of a computing system associated with the processor has occurred, where the change in state results in different event data being logged by the processor in response to activity in a computing network associated with the computing system” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006], [0034] and [0038], “The methods also involve detecting a reactive trigger event within the computer network. The reactive trigger event comprises a spontaneous event for causing a change to occur in relation to the dynamic modification of the identity parameter […] In module 105, manipulation of identity parameters is performed by processor 215 in accordance with a mission plan 220 stored in a memory 218 […] the mission plan 220 implemented by processor 215 will also control certain other aspects of the manner in which computer network 100 can maneuver. For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated.”; Examiner’s note: establish that a change in state of a computing system associated with the processor has occurred (i.e., manipulation of identity parameters performed by processor 215), where the change in state results in different event data being logged (i.e., the modification of the identity parameter) by the processor (i.e., processor 215) in response to activity in a computing network (i.e., dynamic selection of identity parameters in the computer network) associated with the computing system (i.e., see Fig. 1 for the computing system in supra claim 12) is taught.)
“generate an indication of the change, where the indication is useable for modifying a rule system for providing activity information indicative of the activity such that a rule specified by the rule system is to provide the activity information in response to the processor logging event data that triggers implementation of the rule” (Smith, Paragraphs [0006], [0038], [0062], [0063] and [0065], “In response to the detection of the reactive trigger event, a second mission plan is selected from the plurality of mission plans. Subsequently, the operations of the computer network are automatically reconfigured in accordance with the second mission plan such that the identity parameter is dynamically modified in a manner that is different than that specified in the first mission plan […] For example, the mission plan 220 can specify that a dynamic selection of identity parameters is manipulated […] The mission plan is thereafter used by each module to control the manipulation of identity parameters […]”; Examiner’s note: generate an indication of the change (i.e., detecting the reactive trigger event), where the indication is useable for modifying a rule system (i.e., a module) for providing activity information indicative of the activity (i.e., a second mission plan selected in response to the detection of the reactive trigger event) such that a rule specified by the rule system (i.e., the mission plan used by the module) is to provide the activity information (i.e., providing a second mission plan) in response to the processor logging event data (i.e., the processor detecting the reactive trigger event) that triggers implementation of the rule (i.e., triggering a second mission plan) is taught.)
Regarding Claim 15,
Smith teaches:
“The apparatus of claim 14,” (preamble)
“where the indication comprises a structured file comprising at least one of:” (Smith, Paragraph [0072], “Dialog box 400 also allows a network administrator to set the trigger type to be used for the dynamic variation of the IP address identity parameter.”; Examiner’s note: where the indication (i.e., trigger type to be used for the dynamic variation) comprises a structured file (i.e., file having the dialog box 400) comprising at least one of: is taught.)
“a type of event associated with an event to be logged by the processor” (Smith, Paragraphs [0080] and [0084], “the module can load the data associated with the new mission plan. This process of entering into the by-pass state and loading the new mission plan data can occur automatically in response to receipt of the mission plan, or can occur in response to a command from the NCSA software controlled by the network administrator […] The module 1000 includes a processor 1012 (such as a Central Processing Unit ("CPU")), a main memory 1020 and a static memory 1018, which communicate with each other via a bus 1022.”; Examiner’s note: a type of event associated with an event (i.e., the data type with the data associated with the mission plan) to be logged by the processor (i.e., the processor 1012) is taught.)
“a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to a new or existing event to be logged by the processor” (Smith, Paragraphs [0080] and [0084], “the module can load the data associated with the new mission plan. This process of entering into the by-pass state and loading the new mission plan data can occur automatically in response to receipt of the mission plan, or can occur in response to a command from the NCSA software controlled by the network administrator. The new mission plan preferably includes changes in the way that identity parameter values are varied […] The module 1000 includes a processor 1012 (such as a Central Processing Unit ("CPU")), a main memory 1020 and a static memory 1018, which communicate with each other via a bus 1022.”; Examiner’s note: a change type indicative of whether the indication relates to a new or existing event (i.e., changes in the way that identity parameter values are varied included in the new mission plan or in the existing mission plan) to be logged by the processor (i.e., the processor 1012) is taught.)
“an event identifier for identifying the event to be logged by the processor” (Smith, Paragraphs [0082] and [0084], “the process checks to determine if a trigger event occurred. The occurrence of a trigger event will influence the selection of false identify values to use. Accordingly, in step 822, the module determines the false identify values to use based on one or more of the trigger information, clock time and mission plan […] The module 1000 includes a processor 1012 (such as a Central Processing Unit ("CPU")), a main memory 1020 and a static memory 1018, which communicate with each other via a bus 1022.”; Examiner’s note: an event identifier for identifying the event (i.e., the occurrence of a trigger event influencing the selection of identity values to use) to be logged by the processor (i.e., the processor 1012) is taught.)
“an event feature indicative of an attribute of the new or existing event; and/or an event feature value associated with the event feature, where the event feature value is indicative of an attribute value” (Smith, Paragraphs [0074] and [0082], “the user can move a cursor 508 and make selections to specify whether a particular module is in an active or bypass mode during each time slot […] the module is ready to begin processing data and proceeds to do so at step 808, where it accesses a data packet from an input data buffer of the module. In step 810, the module checks to determine if it is in a bypass mode of operation. If so, the data packet accessed in step 808 is retransmitted in step 812 without any modification of the data packet. If the module is not in bypass mode, then it must be in its active mode of operation and continues on to step 814 […] The occurrence of a trigger event will influence the selection of false identify values to use. Accordingly, in step 822, the module determines the false identify values to use based on one or more of the trigger information, clock time and mission plan. The module then continues to step 826 where it manipulates identity parameters of the data packet.”; Examiner’s note: an event feature indicative of an attribute (i.e., a particular module in an active or bypass mode. When the module in bypass mode, the data packet is retransmitted without any modification.) of the new or existing event (i.e., the new or existing data packet); and/or an event feature value (i.e., true or false identity values) associated with the event feature (i.e., an active or bypass mode), where the event feature value (i.e., true or false identity value) is indicative of an attribute value (i.e., identity parameters of the data packet) is taught.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied in claim 1, in view of Villella et al. (US 20070283194 A1) (hereinafter Villella).
Regarding Claim 3,
Smith teaches:
“The method of claim 2, where:” (Preamble)
“the log is generated by the computing system” (Smith, Paragraphs [0030] and [0113], “the use of Moving Target Technology ("MTT") to manipulate one or more of such identity parameters for one or more computing devices within the computer network 100 […] a logging function is performed whereby all false identity parameters determined in step 1314 are recorded, for example, in memory.”; Examiner’s note: the log is generated (i.e., a logging function performed and recorded in memory) by the computing system (i.e., one or more computing devices) is taught.)
Smith does not explicitly teach:
“a first rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a first version of the computing system”
“a second rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a second version of the computing system”
“analyzing the event information in the received log to determine whether the first rule or second rule applies”
“implementing the first rule or second rule that is determined to apply to the log generated by the computing system”
Villella teaches:
“a first rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a first version of the computing system” (Villella, Paragraphs [0053] and [0059], “The system 20 of the present invention provides for the rapid/automated extraction of viable information from the logs 111 . . . 11N. Namely, the system 20 provides for a log manager 13 that is communicatively coupled to the various computers 101 . . . 10M to receive the logs 111 . . . 11N generated therefrom (e.g., collection) […] the MPE 54 may also be configured with rules to implement such processing. For example, the MPE 54 may use a set of rules that are a combination of Microsoft .NETs regular expression syntax (modeled after industry standard regular expression syntax) and a unique tagging notation.”; Examiner’s note: a first rule of the rule system (i.e. a first rule of the MPE 54) applies to logs generated by a first version of the computing system (i.e., the first log 111 generated by the first computer 101) is taught.)
“a second rule of the rule system applies to logs generated by a second version of the computing system” (Villella, Paragraphs [0053] and [0059], “The system 20 of the present invention provides for the rapid/automated extraction of viable information from the logs 111 . . . 11N. Namely, the system 20 provides for a log manager 13 that is communicatively coupled to the various computers 101 . . . 10M to receive the logs 111 . . . 11N generated therefrom (e.g., collection) […] the MPE 54 may also be configured with rules to implement such processing. For example, the MPE 54 may use a set of rules that are a combination of Microsoft .NETs regular expression syntax (modeled after industry standard regular expression syntax) and a unique tagging notation.”; Examiner’s note: a second rule of the rule system (i.e. a second rule of the MPE 54) applies to logs generated by a first version of the computing system (i.e., the second log 112 generated by the second computer 102) is taught.)
“analyzing the event information in the received log to determine whether the first rule or second rule applies” (Villella, Paragraphs [0116] and [0117], “the event manager 245 of FIG. 15 may include a software component (e.g., reporting engine 247) that detects the events 246 transferred from log managers 242 through 244. Certain events may include unique information that the reporting engine 247 analyzes to determine if the information is reoccurring […] These alarm configurations may be stored as rules with the reporting engine. Accordingly, the reporting engine 247 may detect events over a period of time that correspond to the selected events statistics and generate alarms therefrom.”; Examiner’s note: analyzing the event information (i.e. detecting the events 246) in the received log (i.e., transferred from log managers 242 through 244) to determine whether the first rule or second rule applies (i.e., the reporting engine 247 generating alarms based on alarm configurations stored as rules. The reporting engine determines whether the first rule (i.e., the first alarm configuration) or second rule (i.e., the second alarm configuration) applies) is taught.)
“implementing the first rule or second rule that is determined to apply to the log generated by the computing system” (Villella, Paragraphs [0053], [0116] and [0117], “The system 20 of the present invention provides for the rapid/automated extraction of viable information from the logs 111 . . . 11N. Namely, the system 20 provides for a log manager 13 that is communicatively coupled to the various computers 101 . . . 10M to receive the logs 111 . . . 11N generated therefrom (e.g., collection) […] the event manager 245 of FIG. 15 may include a software component (e.g., reporting engine 247) that detects the events 246 transferred from log managers 242 through 244. Certain events may include unique information that the reporting engine 247 analyzes to determine if the information is reoccurring […] These alarm configurations may be stored as rules with the reporting engine. Accordingly, the reporting engine 247 may detect events over a period of time that correspond to the selected events statistics and generate alarms therefrom.”; Examiner’s note: implementing the first rule (i.e., the first alarm configuration) or second rule (i.e., the second alarm configuration) that is determined to apply to the log (i.e., events transferred from log managers 242 through 244) generated by the computing system (i.e., the system 20 providing for the log manager 13) is taught.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems and methods for spontaneously configuring a computer network in Smith and the log collection, structuring and processing as taught in Villella. Smith teaches that the log is generated by the computing system. Villella teaches a first rule of the rule system applying to logs generated by a first version of the computing system, a second rule of the rule system applying to logs generated by a second version of the computing system, determining whether the first rule or second rule applies to the log, and implementing the first rule or second rule that is determined to apply to the log. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Smith and Villella to “provide[] for enhanced processing of textual messages including log messages and enable[] improved audit and compliance analysis, application monitoring, security monitoring, and operations analysis” (Villella, Paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
/YONG DOO RHO/Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147