DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01 July 2024 & 09 December 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 34 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old (i.e.,“comparative example”) is illustrated (¶[0047]). See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to because the “gap” formed between side surfaces of a pair of the insulators opposed to each other in the circumferential direction (claim 1) lacks a reference character/number. The claimed gap between side surfaces of a pair of insulators is distinct from the gap C formed between cores arranged in an annular shape (¶[0063]; Fig.34) or the radial gap between the rotor 11 and stator 12 (claim 12; Figs.14-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Recitation “recess/projection” is indefinite. Presumably this means ---recess or projection---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-10, 12-13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuda et al. (US 8,288,903).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda teaches an insulator (bobbin) 154 of a stator 150 of a rotating electric machine in which a plurality of divisional-coil-wound bodies are arranged in an annular shape, the divisional-coil-wound bodies each including a divisional core (core segment) 158, the insulator 154 provided to the divisional core, and a coil 156 wound around the divisional core with the insulator interposed therebetween (Figs.23-24&26), the insulator 154 comprising:
a first connection portion 192 which is provided at one end in a circumferential direction on an outer side in a radial direction and which is to be connected to another said insulator adjacent in the circumferential direction (Figs.28-29); and
a second connection portion 194 which is provided at another end in the circumferential direction on the outer side in the radial direction and which is to be connected to the first connection portion of another said insulator adjacent in the circumferential direction (Figs.28-29), wherein
the first connection portion 192 and the second connection portion 194 are structured by a snap-fit mechanism using elastic deformation (c.15:10-21; Figs.28-29),
a pair of the insulators 154 adjacent in the circumferential direction and connected via the first connection portion 192 and the second connection portion 194 are rotatable relative to each other about rotation center axes (corresponding to axis of connection pin 192 and axis of hole 195 in connection member 194) in an axial direction of the first connection portion and the second connection portion (c.17:27-31; Figs.19-22&28-29), and
the rotation center axes are located on an inner side in the radial direction relative to an outer-circumferential surface on the outer side in the radial direction of the divisional core 158 (Figs.28&32),
one of the rotation-center axis of the first connection portion 192 and the rotation-center axis of the second connection portion is located on an inner side in the circumferential direction relative to a circumferential-direction end surface of the divisional core 158 (i.e., side of yoke 160), and the other rotation-center axis 195 is located on an outer side in the circumferential direction relative to the circumferential-direction end surface of the divisional core (Figs.28-29), and
between side surfaces (not numbered) opposed to each other in the circumferential direction, of a pair of the insulators 154 connected via the first connection portion 192 and the second connection portion 194, a gap (not numbered) is formed so that the circumferential-direction end surfaces of the divisional cores 158 connected by the pair of insulators contact with each other when closed in an annular shape (Figs.20&22).
Regarding claim 3, the first connection portion 192 is formed by a columnar portion having a columnar shape (i.e., pin shape), and the second connection portion 194 is formed by an opening 195 having a columnar-shaped surface to be engaged with the columnar portion (Figs.28-29).
Regarding claim 5, each rotation-center axis is on a virtual plane extending in the axial direction at a middle in the circumferential direction between a pair of the divisional cores adjacent in the circumferential direction (Fig.32).
Regarding claim 8, each divisional core 158 has a yoke portion 160 extending in the circumferential direction and a tooth portion 162 protruding toward the inner side in the radial direction from an inner-circumferential surface on the inner side in the radial direction of the yoke portion, one end in the circumferential direction of the yoke portion is formed in a convex shape (recessed portion) 160b , another end in the circumferential direction of the yoke portion is formed in a concave shape (defined by protruding portion) 160a, and the convex shape and the concave shape have curved surfaces having the same radius of curvature (i.e., side end surfaces of yoke portions abut each other; c.13:15-19; Figs.22&25).
Regarding claim 9, centers of curvature of the convex shape and the concave shape in a cross-section of the yoke portion along a direction perpendicular to the axial direction coincide with the rotation center axes of the first connection portion and the second connection portion (Figs.22,25&28-29).
Regarding claim 10, a mold resin portion covers the divisional-coil-wound bodies (c.2:63-65).
Regarding claim 12, Matsuda teaches a stator according to claim 8; and a rotor provided so as to be opposed to the stator with a gap in the radial direction therebetween (Figs.1-2).
Regarding method claim 13, the first connection portions and the second connection portions of the divisional cores adjacent in the circumferential direction and provided with the insulators for a plural number not less than a number for forming the stator are connected, and then a magnet wire is continuously wound around the tooth portions with the insulators interposed therebetween by a flyer arm 215, to form the coils (c.15:22-40; c.16:20-c.17:21; Fig.32).
Regarding claim 15, each rotation-center axis is on a virtual plane extending in the axial direction at a middle in the circumferential direction between a pair of the divisional cores adjacent in the circumferential direction (Fig.32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of Akita et al. (US 6,369,687).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda does not further teach the columnar portion of the first connection portion is “formed in a polygonal column shape or a shape obtained by providing a recess/projection to a circular column” [sic].
But, Akita teaches a stator including a plurality of divisional-coil-wound bodies (core bodies) 15 & 16 with connection portions (holes/pins) 14/17 formed in a “polygonal column shape” (i.e., inner and outer surfaces of holes and pins are formed into polygonal shapes) to improve rigidity of the assembly and its mechanical strength (c.17:51-c.18:21; Figs.17-19).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to form the columnar portion of Matsuda’s first connection portion in a “polygonal column shape or a shape obtained by providing a recess/projection to a circular column” since Akita teaches this would have improved rigidity of the assembly and its mechanical strength.
Regarding claim 16, in Matsuda each rotation-center axis is on a virtual plane extending in the axial direction at a middle in the circumferential direction between a pair of the divisional cores adjacent in the circumferential direction (Fig.32).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of Saito et al. (US 10,056,793).
Matsuda teaches a frame but it does not specifically “appl[y] a preload to outer-circumferential surfaces of the divisional-coil-wound bodies arranged in an annular shape toward the inner side in the radial direction.”
But, Saito teaches a stator 1 including a plurality of divisional-coil-wound bodies (divided cores) 3 and a frame (annular holder) 4 applying a preload to outer-circumferential surfaces of the divisional-coil-wound bodies arranged in an annular shape toward the inner side in the radial direction, i.e., a pressing mechanism 28 presses holder 4 to form projection parts 14 pressing into recess parts 10, thereby tightly connecting the cores via their joint surfaces (c.5:9-19; Figs.1-4).
It would thus have been obvious before the effective filing date to apply a preload to outer-circumferential surfaces of Matsuda’s divisional-coil-wound bodies arranged in an annular shape toward the inner side in the radial direction since Saito teaches this would have been desirable to tightly connect the cores.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 14 & 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not appear to further teach the claimed insulator including, inter alia:
“the one rotation-center axis [T11] is separate, toward a side opposite in the circumferential direction to the circumferential-direction end surface of the divisional core, from a virtual plane [A1] extending in the axial direction at a middle in the circumferential direction between a pair of the divisional cores adjacent in the circumferential direction, and the other rotation-center axis [T21] is separate, toward a side opposite in the circumferential direction to the circumferential-direction end surface of the divisional core, from the virtual plane” (claims 6 & 17-18; Fig.19 embodiment); or
“the first connection portion has a first barb portion [43] to be engaged with the second connection portion when the divisional-coil-wound bodies are arranged in an annular shape, and the second connection portion has a second barb portion [44] to be engaged with the first connection portion when the divisional-coil-wound bodies are arranged in an annular shape” (claims 7 & 19-21; Fig.4 embodiment); or
“a center of curvature [T11] of the convex shape [31] in a cross-section of the yoke portion along a direction perpendicular to the axial direction is separate, toward a side opposite in the circumferential direction to a circumferential-direction end surface of the convex shape, from a virtual plane [A1] extending in the axial direction at a middle in the circumferential direction between a pair of the divisional cores adjacent in the circumferential direction, and a center of curvature [T21] of the concave shape [32] in the cross-section of the yoke portion along the direction perpendicular to the axial direction is separate, toward a side opposite in the circumferential direction to a circumferential-direction end surface of the concave shape, from the virtual plane” (claim 14; Fig.19 embodiment).
These determinations are based on keyword and citation searches performed in a limited amount of time in a limited number of subclasses. Artificial intelligence search tools were employed. Nomenclature in the art is inconsistent. For all these reasons, the scope of the search was necessarily truncated and relevant art classified outside the subclasses searched and/or using different terminology or keywords may not have been reviewed. See the Search Notes for details.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834