Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 18-25 in the reply filed on 02/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not properly established lack of unity of invention between Group I and Group II. This is not found persuasive because SUH discloses the special technical feature an injection mold wherein a cavity-forming wall is formed by a movable mold part which can be displaced during an injection process so that a volume of the cavity is exposed when the movable mold part is moved away (see Fig.7) in that the injection mold is designed in such a manner for inserting an insert so that an edge region, which is overmolded, is arranged loose in the cavity of the injection mold (the film inserting step S30, as show in Fig.4, is a step of inserting the film F into the one side cavity 100a of the upper mold 100 in a state that the side with the hook shape is disposed at an inside [0035]) see Fig.4:
Furthermore, Fig.5 shows a first side surface of the edge region faces the movable mould part (300) and a second side surface of the region faces away from the movable mould part (see below):
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 26-34 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/01/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the end face" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the exposed volume" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the mould" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SUH (2010/0038814-of record).
Regarding claim 18, SUH discloses a method for producing a product comprising
an insert having an edge which is to be reinforced and a plastic body which is injection-moulded onto the edge, the plastic body surrounding an edge region of the insert on both sides and at the end face, the method comprising:
a. providing an injection mould having a cavity, a cavity-forming wall being formed by a movable mould part (300) which can be displaced during an injection process so that an additional volume of the cavity is exposed when the movable mould part is moved away (like in Fig.7);
b. inserting the insert (F) into the injection mould (100) so that the edge region to be overmoulded is arranged loose in the cavity of the injection mould (the film inserting step S30, as show in Fig.4, is a step of inserting the film F into the one side cavity 100a of the upper mold 100 in a state that the side with the hook shape is disposed at an inside [0035]):
a first side surface of the edge region facing the movable mould part and a second side surface of the edge region facing away from the movable mould part (Fig.5):
c. injecting a polymer melt (S) into the cavity at an injection point, so that the polymer melt first flows onto the second side surface of the edge region (Fig.5), which faces away from the movable mould part, and pushes the first side surface of the edge region, which faces the movable mould part, onto the movable mould part (Fig.6):
d. moving away the movable mould part and filling the exposed volume of the cavity in that the polymer melt (S) flows along the first side surface of the edge region, which faces the movable mould part (Fig.7):
e. completing the injection process and removing the product from the mould [0045].
Regarding claim 19, SUH discloses wherein the injection point for the polymer melt is arranged on the side of the second side surface of the edge region of the inserted insert, so the injected polymer melt first contacts the insert at the second side surface and in the process pushes the first side surface of the edge region of the insert against the movable mould part (Figs.5-6).
Regarding claim 20, SUH discloses wherein the movable mould part is movable substantially in one direction parallel to the first side surface (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 21, SUH discloses wherein during step d, a volume region of the cavity is made smaller so that the polymer melt present therein is displaced and flows into the exposed volume of the cavity (Figs.4-5).
Regarding claim 22, SUH discloses wherein the reduced volume region is located in a region of the cavity, which adjoins the exposed volume of the cavity or is at least fluidically directly connected thereto and is arranged on the side of the first side surface of the inserted insert (Figs. 4-8).
Regarding claim 23, SUH discloses wherein the injection point into the cavity for the polymer melt is arranged on the side of the first side surface of the edge region of the inserted insert, wherein the edge region is hidden in such a protected manner behind the movable part in the direction of flow that the injected polymer melt flows over the end face of the insert and first contacts the insert at the second side surface and in the process pushes the first side surface of the edge region of the insert against the movable mould part (Figs.5-7).
Regarding claim 24, SUH discloses wherein the cavity extends behind the movable mould part on the side facing away from the inserted insert (Fig.5).
Regarding claim 25, SUH discloses wherein the product is an interior vehicle panel that contains a variety of components that contribute to a vehicle’s functionality and aesthetics; the panels serve to protect the vehicle’s interior from damage by containing them, and they latch on to the vehicle’s door or dashboard. Therefore, the interior vehicle panel is a container, wherein the insert forms a container body or a container wall and the plastic body forms a peripheral collar having an outwardly directed edge similar to a flange, an external thread or latching means for a container lid (Fig.8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) VAN DER LINDE (2018/0186052) discloses a method for producing a trim component having a molded rim at an edge thereof.
b) MUHLEMANN ROLF (EP 2821203) discloses a method and injection mold for producing an insertion part with a plastic collar.
c) WNEK et al. (2011/022725) discloses container with injection-molded feature and tool for forming container.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742