CTNF 18/725,996 CTNF 91684 DETAILED ACTION This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/01/2024. Claims 25- 46 are pending for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-fti AIA The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Priority 02-27 Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application. Drawings The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 07/01/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23 AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 25-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. (US 20140044023 A1), hereinafter “ Kazmi”; and in further view of Sierra Wireless S. A “Methods for barring and for capability reporting”, 3GPP DRAFT; hereinafter “ Sierra” . Regarding claim 25, Kazmi teaches A method performed by a radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communications network, the method comprising [Kazmi: Abstract teaches of method and UE for transmission of parameters to support duplex arrangement in wireless communication] : transmitting an indication indicating duplex barring information (DBI) associated with or related to at least one duplex operational mode (DOM) of a user equipment (UE) [Kazmi: Figs. 7c; 8; Par. 143- 150 teaches of performing method of transmission parameters/ indication for duplex arrangement with related to support duplexer], PNG media_image1.png 490 666 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Kazmi does not teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell. Nevertheless, Sierra , in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell [Sierra: Section 3 teaches information indication to indicate whether a RedCap UE can camp on the cell/frequency or not]. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Sierra for cell access. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sierra in the Kazmi system in order to be able to initial access with both HD-FDD and FD-FDD [Sierra: Section 2]. Regarding claim 26, the combined Kazmi in view of Sierra teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 25. Kazmi in view of Sierra further teaches herein the DBI further comprises cell change information (CCI), wherein the CCI indicates that upon barring the cell whether the UE can perform cell change to another cell [Kazmi: Par. 23- 237 teaches of receiving parameters which include channel number to perform handover, cell change, cell reselection; Sierra: Section 3 further teaches of system information indicate whether to permitted to access cell with the default (no indication) means UE is barred]. Regarding claim 27, the combined Kazmi in view of Sierra teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 25. Kazmi in view of Sierra further teaches wherein the CCI further comprises information about one or more cells to which the UE is to perform a cell change to [ Kazmi: Par. 23- 237 teaches of receiving parameters which include channel number to perform handover, cell change, cell reselection] . Regarding claim 28, the combined Kazmi in view of Sierra teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 25. Kazmi in view of Sierra further teaches wherein the indication is transmitted to the UE and/or a first radio network node [Sierra: Section 3 further teaches of system information indicate whether to permitted to access cell]. Regarding claim 29, the combined Kazmi in view of Sierra teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 25. Kazmi in view of Sierra further teaches comprising determining the DBI and/or CCI for the cell based on one or more criteria [Kazmi: Par. 23- 237 teaches of receiving parameters/ criteria which include channel number to perform handover, cell change, cell reselection]. Regarding claim 30, Kazmi teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) for handling communication in a wireless communications network, the method comprising [Kazmi: Abstract teaches of method and UE for transmission of parameters to support duplex arrangement in wireless communication] : obtaining an indication indicating duplex barring information (DBI) associated with or related to at least one duplex operational mode (DOM) of the UE [Kazmi: Figs. 7c; 8; Par. 143- 150 teaches of performing method of transmission parameters/ indication for duplex arrangement with related to support duplexer], PNG media_image1.png 490 666 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Kazmi does not teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell; using the indication for determining whether the UE can access a cell and/or storing the indication. Nevertheless, Sierra , in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell [Sierra: Section 3 teaches information indication to indicate whether a RedCap UE can camp on the cell/frequency or not]; using the indication for determining whether the UE can access a cell and/or storing the indication [Sierra: Section 3 further teaches of system information indicate whether to permitted to access cell with the default (no indication) means UE is barred] Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Sierra for cell access. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sierra in the Kazmi system in order to be able to initial access with both HD-FDD and FD-FDD [Sierra: Section 2]. Regarding claim 31, the combined Kazmi in view of Sierra teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 30. Kazmi in view of Sierra further teaches wherein determining whether the UE can access the cell is based on whether the DBI is transmitted by a radio network node [Sierra: Section 3; proposal 2 teaches that system information with certain capabilities is permitted to access the radio network]. Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 26. Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 27. Regarding claim 34, the combined Kazmi in view of Sierra teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 30. Kazmi in view of Sierra further teaches wherein the indication is received from a radio network node or retrieved internally [Kazmi: Fig. 7c illustrates parameters are received from node or by selecting parameters based on said one or more parameter received]. Regarding claim 35, the combined Kazmi in view of Sierra teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 30. Kazmi in view of Sierra further teaches wherein the at least one DOM supported by the UE comprises at least one of: a half-duplex frequency division duplex and a full duplex [Kazmi: Par. 3 teaches where the duplex mode of operation is for FDD and half duplex FDD]. Regarding claim 36, Kazmi teaches A radio network node for handling communication in a wireless communications network, wherein the radio network node is configured to [Kazmi: Abstract teaches of method and UE for transmission of parameters to support duplex arrangement in wireless communication] : transmitting an indication indicating duplex barring information (DBI) associated with or related to at least one duplex operational mode (DOM) of a user equipment (UE) [Kazmi: Figs. 7c; 8; Par. 143- 150 teaches of performing method of transmission parameters/ indication for duplex arrangement with related to support duplexer], PNG media_image1.png 490 666 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Kazmi does not teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell; Nevertheless, Sierra , in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell [Sierra: Section 3 teaches information indication to indicate whether a RedCap UE can camp on the cell/frequency or not]; Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Sierra for cell access. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sierra in the Kazmi system in order to be able to initial access with both HD-FDD and FD-FDD [Sierra: Section 2]. Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 26. Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 27. Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 28. Regarding claim 40, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 29. Regarding claim 41, Kazmi teaches A user equipment (UE) for handling communication in a wireless communications network, wherein the UE is configured to [Kazmi: Abstract teaches of method and UE for transmission of parameters to support duplex arrangement in wireless communication] : obtaining an indication indicating duplex barring information (DBI) associated with or related to at least one duplex operational mode (DOM) of the UE [Kazmi: Figs. 7c; 8; Par. 143- 150 teaches of performing method of transmission parameters/ indication for duplex arrangement with related to support duplexer], PNG media_image1.png 490 666 media_image1.png Greyscale However, Kazmi does not teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell; using the indication for determining whether the UE can access a cell and/or storing the indication. Nevertheless, Sierra , in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches wherein the DBI for a cell indicates whether the UE supporting the at least one DOM can access the cell [Sierra: Section 3 teaches information indication to indicate whether a RedCap UE can camp on the cell/frequency or not]; using the indication for determining whether the UE can access a cell and/or storing the indication [Sierra: Section 3 further teaches of system information indicate whether to permitted to access cell with the default (no indication) means UE is barred] Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Sierra for cell access. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sierra in the Kazmi system in order to be able to initial access with both HD-FDD and FD-FDD [Sierra: Section 2]. Regarding claim 42, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 31. Regarding claim 43, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 32. Regarding claim 44, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 33. Regarding claim 45, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 34. Regarding claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 35. Conclusion The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of the action. An extension of time may be obtained under 37 CFR 1.136(a). However, in no event, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYAW Z SOE whose telephone number is (571)270-0304. The examiner can normally be reached on 9am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles C Jiang can be reached on 5712707191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 4 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 5 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 6 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 7 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 8 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 9 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 10 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 11 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 12 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/725,996 Page 13 Art Unit: 2412