DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments of claims 2, 6, 9-10, 12, 14, 17, 20 and 22 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s cancelation of claim 11 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s amendment of claim 10 has overcome the previous drawing objection. Therefore, the drawing objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments of claims 2, 6, 10, 12, 20, and 22 has overcome the previous claim objections. Therefore, the claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments of claims 2, 9-10, 12, and 14 has overcome the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Therefore, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Applicant’s cancelation of claim 11 has rendered the previous claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) moot. Therefore, the claim rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is withdrawn.
Claims 1-10, and 12-23 are pending in the current Application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to Applicant’s arguments that the prior art does not disclose “the wound contact layer is provided with a porous silica gel layer”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the non-final rejection, Chen discloses the wound contact layer (31-32) is provided with a porous gel layer (32; see [0041]). Chen discloses the porous gel layer can be a silicone gel, a hydrocolloid, and a hydrogel (see [0035]). Although materials such as hydrocolloids and hydrogels can be silica gel layers, Chen does not explicitly disclose the porous gel layer is a silica gel layer. The rejection of claim 1 also establishes that Dodel teaches an analogous wound dressing (wound dressing; see [0027]; see figure 1a-b) comprising an analogous gel wound contacting layer (30; see [0018] and [0027]; see figure 1a-b) wherein the gel layer is a silica gel layer (see [0018] in reference to the wound contacting layer being made from hydrogel and/or silica gel). Thus, making obvious a modification of the porous gel layer of Chen (which may be a hydrogel as established in Chen [0035]) to be formed as a silica gel layer as taught by Dodel [0018] for the benefit of proving a wound contacting layer which may both accommodate or absorb, as well as release liquids, so as to adjust a desired moisture milieu in the area of the wound, thereby promoting the healing process as taught by Dodel [0002]. Thus, the combination of Chen and Dodel discloses the claimed limitation of “the wound contact layer is provided with a porous silica gel layer”.
In regards to Applicant’s arguments that Dodel is not analogous or even similar to either Chen or the present Application, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art references of Chen and Dodel, and the present application are each wound dressings and are therefore, analogous and similar to one another.
In regards to Applicant’s arguments that the wound contact layer of Dodel does not have pores, Examiner agrees. However, the wound contact layer of Dodel is not required to have pores as this feature is taught by the porous wound contacting gel layer of Chen. The combination of Chen and Dodel is to modify the material of the porous wound contacting layer of Chen (which is disclosed as being a hydrogel as established in Chen [0035]) to be formed as a silica gel layer as taught by Dodel [0018] which teaches the interchangeable use of hydrogels or silica gels for the benefit of proving a wound contacting layer which may both accommodate or absorb, as well as release liquids, so as to adjust a desired moisture milieu in the area of the wound, thereby promoting the healing process as taught by Dodel [0002].
In regards to Applicant’s arguments that the structure of the bandage in Chen, negates the need for the use of a silica gel. Examiner respectfully disagrees. To modify the wound contacting layer of Chen to be silica gel as taught by Dodel adds the benefit of proving a wound contacting layer which may both accommodate or absorb, as well as release liquids, so as to adjust a desired moisture milieu in the area of the wound, thereby promoting the healing process as taught by Dodel [0002]. Thus, the modification would improve upon the wound dressing of Chen’s ability to promote the healing process of the wound it is covering.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments of claim 1 are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s remaining arguments of the dependent claims each depend from the arguments against the combination of Chen in view of Dodel and are therefore, not persuasive, and the rejections of the dependent claims are similarly maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites the limitation “respective transverse sizes of first liquid absorption element” in line 3. This limitation should be amended to recite “respective transverse sizes of the first liquid absorption element”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “between first liquid absorption element” in line 2. This limitation should be amended to recite “between the first liquid absorption element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 depends from canceled claim 11 which renders the claim indefinite because the dependency of claim 12 is unclear. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret claim 12 as being dependent from claim 10.
Claims 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the acrylic adhesive structure is an acrylic adhesive”. This limitation fails to limit claim 22 from which claim 23 depends as “an acrylic adhesive structure” as recited in claim 22 is obviously “an acrylic adhesive”. Thus, claim 23 fails to further limit claim 22 from which claim 23 depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 13, 14, 16-18, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 113116634 A) (Examiner relies on a machine translation of Chen provided by Espacenet.com) in view of Dodel et al. (US 2021/0106469 A1) (hereinafter Dodel).
In regards to claim 1, Chen discloses a gel foam dressing (wound dressing comprising gel layer and foam layer; see [0001], [0019], and [0024]; see figure 2), comprising:
a gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive; see [0019] and [0029]; see figure 2);
a liquid absorption layer (21-22; see [0019] and [0026]; see figure 2); and
a wound contact layer (31-32; see [0019] and [0034]; see figure 2),
wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) is arranged between the gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive) and the wound contact layer (31-32; see figure 2), and
the wound contact layer (31-32) is provided with a porous gel layer (32; see [0041]).
Chen discloses the porous gel layer can be a silicone gel, a hydrocolloid, and a hydrogel (see [0035]). Although materials such as hydrocolloids and hydrogels can be silica gel layers, Chen does not explicitly disclose the porous gel layer is a silica gel layer.
However, Dodel teaches an analogous wound dressing (wound dressing; see [0027]; see figure 1a-b) comprising an analogous carrier layer (60; see [0027]; see figure 1a-b), and an analogous gel wound contacting layer (30; see [0018] and [0027]; see figure 1a-b) wherein the gel layer is a silica gel layer (see [0018] in reference to the wound contacting layer being made from hydrogel and/or silica gel) for the purpose of proving a wound contacting layer which may both accommodate or absorb, as well as release liquids, so as to adjust a desired moisture milieu in the area of the wound, thereby promoting the healing process (see [0002]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the porous gel layer as disclosed by Chen and to have formed the porous gel layer of Chen from the silica gel material as taught by Dodel in order to have provided an improved porous gel layer of the wound contacting layer that would add the benefit of proving a wound contacting layer which may both accommodate or absorb, as well as release liquids, so as to adjust a desired moisture milieu in the area of the wound, thereby promoting the healing process (see [0002]).
Furthermore, such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that “(w)here a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007) (see MPEP 2143 I B). Accordingly, Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results. In the instant case, Chen as discussed above, discloses that the wound contacting layer can be formed from a silicone gel, a hydrocolloid, and a hydrogel (see [0035]) and Dodel teaches that the wound contacting layer can be formed from hydrogel and/or silica gel (see [0018]), thereby establishing that the hydrogel and silica gel are known in the art to one of ordinary skill as being equivalents thereof. Furthermore, the combination of Chen as now modified by Dodel yields the predictable results of aiding in the healing process by maintaining a level of desired moisture that can rehydrate dried necrotic or decayed tissue as disclosed by Chen [0037], and Dodel [0002]).
Thus, as now combined the dressing of Chen as now modified by Dodel is a silica gel foam dressing as claimed.
In regards to claim 2, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses a plurality of breathing pores with different apertures (pores; see [0041]; see figure 2) formed in the wound contact layer (31-32) including the porous silica gel layer (32).
In regards to claim 3, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein an aperture of the breathing pores (pores) ranges from 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm (see [0053]).
In regards to claim 8, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) is one of a sodium polyacrylate layer and a polyurethane foam layer (22 is a polyurethane foam layer; see [0043]).
In regards to claim 13, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive) comprises a polyurethane film carrier layer (polyurethane membrane; see [0055]).
In regards to claim 14, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive) further comprises a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (associated adhesive; see [0029] and [0048]), and the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (associated adhesive) is arranged between the gluing carrier layer (polyurethane membrane; see [0055]) and the liquid absorption layer (21-22; see [0029]).
In regards to claim 16, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact layer (31-32) comprises a wound contact area (area of 31-32 directly under 21-22; see figure 2) and an application edge area (areas of 31-32 not directly under 21-22; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 17, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact layer (31-32) further comprises a porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23; see [0048]; said adhesive is associated with 31 which is porous (see figure 2) and thus, is considered to have pores similar to 31) and a porous polyurethane film layer (31; see [0040]), the porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23) is arranged on a face of the porous polyurethane film layer (31) close to the liquid absorption layer (21-22; the face of 31 which connects to 23 is “close” to 22), and the porous silica gel layer (32) is arranged on an opposite face of the porous polyurethane film layer (31; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 18, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the plurality of breathing pores (pores) extend through the porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23), the porous polyurethane film layer (31) and the porous silica gel layer (32; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 21, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein a release film layer (4; see [0019]; see figure 2) is arranged on an outer side of the porous silica gel layer (32; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 22, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23) includes an acrylic adhesive structure (see [0048]).
In regards to claim 23, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the acrylic adhesive structure (adhesive which connects 31 to 23) is an acrylic adhesive (see [0048]).
Claim(s) 4-7, 9-10, 12, 15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Dodel as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cotton (WO 2015/173547 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen as now modified by Dodel does not disclose wherein the plurality of breathing pores include a first group of large aperture breathing pores and a second group of small aperture breathing pores, wherein a size of an aperture of the large aperture breathing pores is larger than that of the small aperture breathing pores.
However, Cotton teaches an analogous wound dressing (601; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6) comprising an analogous backing layer (611; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6), liquid absorption layer (612; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7), and wound contacting layer (615; see [pg 35 para 4]; see figure 7), the wound contacting layer (615) comprising a plurality of breathing pores (621-622; see [pg 35 para 5]; see figure 7); wherein the plurality of breathing pores (621-622) include a first group of large aperture breathing pores (621) and a second group of small aperture breathing pores (622), wherein a size of an aperture of the large aperture breathing pores (621) is larger than that of the small aperture breathing pores (622; see figure 7-8) for the purpose of providing a group of larger pores with a larger diameter for permitting wound exudate to pass from the wound into the liquid absorption layer, and a group of smaller pores with a smaller diameter for permitting the passage of gas from the surface of the wound, while also ensuring the smaller pores do not impair the secure retention of the dressing on the skin (see [pg 35 para 5-pg 36 para 1]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of breathing pores in the wound contacting layer as disclosed by Chen as now modified by Dodel and to have formed the plurality of breathing pores as a group of larger pores over the wound site, and a group smaller pores about the periphery of the dressing as taught by Cotton in order to have provided an improved plurality of breathing pores that would add the benefit of providing a group of larger pores with a larger diameter for permitting wound exudate to pass from the wound into the liquid absorption layer, and a group of smaller pores with a smaller diameter for permitting the passage of gas from the surface of the wound, while also ensuring the smaller pores do not impair the secure retention of the dressing on the skin (see [pg 35 para 5-pg 36 para 1]).
In regards to claim 5, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen as now modified by Cotton further discloses wherein the large aperture breathing pores (621 of Cotton) are formed in a wound contact area of the wound contact layer (see Cotton [pg 35 para 5]), and the small aperture breathing pores (622 of Cotton) are formed in an application edge area of the wound contact layer (see Cotton [pg 35 para 5]).
In regards to claim 6, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) comprises a first liquid absorption element (21), a polyurethane foam layer (22; see [0043]) which are sequentially arranged in a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer (31-32; see figure 2).
Chen as now modified by Dodel does not disclose a sodium polyacrylate layer.
However, Cotton teaches an analogous wound dressing (601; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6) comprising an analogous backing layer (611; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6), liquid absorption layer (612; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7), and wound contacting layer (615; see [pg 35 para 4]; see figure 7); the liquid absorption layer (612) comprising an analogous polyurethane foam (613; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) and further comprising a sodium polyacrylate layer (614; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) for the purpose of providing a liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid absorption layer as disclosed by Chen as now modified by Dodel and to have included the sodium polyacrylate layer as taught by Cotton in order to have provided an improved liquid absorption layer that would add the benefit of providing an additional liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3) thereby increasing the amount of liquid the dressing is able to remove from the wound site.
In regards to claim 7, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) comprises a polyurethane foam layer (22; see [0043]).
Chen as now modified by Dodel does not disclose the liquid absorption layer comprises a sodium polyacrylate layer.
However, Cotton teaches an analogous wound dressing (601; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6) comprising an analogous backing layer (611; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6), liquid absorption layer (612; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7), and wound contacting layer (615; see [pg 35 para 4]; see figure 7); the liquid absorption layer (612) comprising an analogous polyurethane foam (613; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) and further comprising a sodium polyacrylate layer (614; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) for the purpose of providing a liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid absorption layer as disclosed by Chen as now modified by Dodel and to have included the sodium polyacrylate layer as taught by Cotton in order to have provided an improved liquid absorption layer that would add the benefit of providing an additional liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3) thereby increasing the amount of liquid the dressing is able to remove from the wound site.
In regards to claim 9, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the first liquid absorption element (21) is at least one of a second polyurethane foam layer, a knitted fabric layer and a non-woven fabric layer (see [0044] in reference to 21 being Carboxymethyl cellulose and see [0036] in reference to Carboxymethylated fibers such as those used in 21 being nonwoven).
In regards to claim 10, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein a transverse size of the wound contact layer (width of 31-32) is larger than that of the liquid absorption layer (width of 21-22; see figure 2),
wherein respective transverse sizes of first liquid absorption element (21), the polyurethane foam layer (22), and the sodium polyacrylate layer (614 of Cotton) are gradually increased (Applicant’s specification [0018] states that a gradual increase in the layers of the liquid absorption layer can be an increase of 0mm; thus, as seen in figure 2, 21-22 are the same width (transverse size) and are therefore considered to have a gradual increase in size similar to Applicant’s specification [0018] and Applicant’s figure 3c and 3d).
In regards to claim 12, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein a size difference between first liquid absorption element (21), the polyurethane foam layer (22) and the sodium polyacrylate layer (614 of Cotton) is a maximum of 30 mm (see figure 2 that 21 and 22 are the same size and thus, have a size difference of 0mm which does not exceed the maximum of 30mm).
In regards to claim 15, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen as now modified by Cotton further discloses wherein a bonding layer (see Chen [0048] that there exists a pressure sensitive adhesive (i.e. a bonding layer) between all layers of the dressing; thus as now modified there exists a pressure sensitive adhesive bonding layer between 21 of Chen and 614 of Cotton) is arranged between the first liquid absorption layer (21 of Chen) and the sodium polyacrylate layer (614 of Cotton).
In regards to claim 19, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact layer (31-32) comprises a wound contact area (area of 31-32 directly under 21-22; see figure 2) and an application edge area (area of 31-32 not directly under 21-22; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 20, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact area (area of 31-32 directly under 21-22) corresponds to an area aligned with the liquid absorption layer (21-22; the area of 31-32 directly under 21-22 is aligned with the liquid absorption layer as claimed).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3786