DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the respective transverse sizes of all layers in the liquid absorption layer are gradually increased in a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer as recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Figures 2a-3 show multiple embodiments of the silica gel bandage, none of which show each layer of the liquid absorption layer are gradually increased. Each embodiment shows one or more layers of the liquid absorption layer which are the same size.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, 10, 12, 20, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 should be amended to include a comma separating the preamble and body of the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the liquid absorption layer comprises a first liquid absorption layer”. While not unclear that Applicant’s liquid absorption layer comprises multiple individual layers including a first liquid absorption layer, Examiner recommends amending the limitation “a first liquid absorption layer” to either recite one of the specific materials of the first liquid absorption layer recited in Applicant’s specification [0015], or a different term entirely to avoid potential issues for the potential lack of clarity in future amendments.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “all layers in the liquid absorption layer”. This limitation, while not unclear, should be amended to recite “the first liquid absorption layer, the polyurethane foam layer, and the sodium polyacrylate layer are gradually increased” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “all the layers in the liquid absorption layer”. This limitation, while not unclear, should be amended to recite “the first liquid absorption layer, the polyurethane foam layer, and the sodium polyacrylate layer is 0-30mm” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the wound contact area corresponds to an area closest to the wound contact layer in all the layers in the liquid absorption layer”. This limitation, while not unclear as to what Applicant is claiming, appears to be grammatically confusing as a result of potentially being a machine translation. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “wherein the wound contact area corresponds to an area aligned with the liquid absorption layer” to clearly and concisely claim the location of the wound contact layer with respect to the liquid absorption layer.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer”. While not unclear that Applicant is referring to the porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer of claim 17, this limitation should be amended to recite “the porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer” to maintain consistency in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 9-12, 14, 17-18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a plurality of breathing pores with different apertures formed in the wound contact layer”. This limitation is unclear in view of claim 1 which recites “the wound contact layer is provided with a porous silica gel layer”. Thus, it is unclear as to if the plurality of breathing pores includes the pores of the porous silica gel layer, or if these are new pores in the wound contact layer. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as the plurality of breathing pores includes the pores of the silica gel layer.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a polyurethane foam layer”. This limitation is unclear in view of claim 6 which recites “the liquid absorption layer comprises…a polyurethane foam layer”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the polyurethane foam layer of claim 9 is a new polyurethane foam layer, or the same. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as best understood.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “respective transverse sizes of all layers in the liquid absorption layer are gradually increased”. Applicant’s specification, figures, and the claim do not provide a requisite degree, or description for what is being claimed by the recitation of “gradually” rendering the claim indefinite. Applicant’s specification in [0018] states “the size difference between all the layers in the liquid absorption layer is 0-30 mm” which evidences that the layers of the liquid absorption layer may have a size difference of 0mm which does not differ in size at all, as evidenced by Applicant’s figures 2a-3. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as best understood in view of Applicant’s specification and figures.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer” in lines 4, and 6. This limitation is unclear in view of claim 6 which recites “a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the direction of claim 10 is a new direction, or the same. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret the direction of claim 10 as being the same as recited in claim 6.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “sizes of whole edges of the wound contact layer and the liquid absorption layer”. This limitation is considered unclear as to which edges (i.e. upper edges, top edges, bottom edges, lower edges, left and right edges, etc.) Applicant is referring to. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as best understood.
Claims 10 and 11 each recite the limitation “the respective transverse sizes of whole edges of the wound contact layer and the liquid absorption layer are regularly increased gradually in a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer”. Applicant’s specification, figures, and the claim do not provide a requisite degree, or description for what is being claimed by the recitation of “regularly increased gradually” rendering the claim indefinite. Applicant’s specification in [0016] merely restates the limitations as claimed without providing an additional description as to what is being claimed. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret these limitations as best understood in view of Applicant’s specification and figures.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the size difference…is 0-30mm”. This limitation renders the claim unclear due to a size difference of 0mm equates to the structures being of the same size and not having a size difference. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as best understood.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the polyurethane film carrier layer" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “the gluing carrier layer”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the other face" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “a second face”.
Claims 3-5, 18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claims 11 and 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 recites the limitations of the first and third sections of claim 10 almost verbatim. The only difference between claims 10 and 11 is that claim 10 recites “respective transverse sizes of the whole edges”, and claim 11 recites “transverse sizes of the whole edges”. Thus, claim 11 fails to further limit claim 10 from which claim 11 depends.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the acrylic adhesive structure is an acrylic adhesive”. This limitation fails to limit claim 22 from which claim 23 depends as “an acrylic adhesive structure” as recited in claim 22 is obviously “an acrylic adhesive”. Thus, claim 23 fails to further limit claim 22 from which claim 23 depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 13, 14, 16-18, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 113116634 A) (Examiner relies on a machine translation of Chen provided by Espacenet.com) in view of Dodel et al. (US 2021/0106469 A1) (hereinafter Dodel).
In regards to claim 1, Chen discloses a gel foam dressing (wound dressing comprising gel layer and foam layer; see [0001], [0019], and [0024]; see figure 2), comprising:
a gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive; see [0019] and [0029]; see figure 2);
a liquid absorption layer (21-22; see [0019] and [0026]; see figure 2); and
a wound contact layer (31-32; see [0019] and [0034]; see figure 2),
wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) is arranged between the gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive) and the wound contact layer (31-32; see figure 2), and
the wound contact layer (31-32) is provided with a porous gel layer (32; see [0041]).
Chen discloses the porous gel layer can be a silicone gel, a hydrocolloid, and a hydrogel (see [0035]). Although materials such as hydrocolloids and hydrogels can be silica gel layers, Chen does not explicitly disclose the porous gel layer is a silica gel layer.
However, Dodel teaches an analogous wound dressing (wound dressing; see [0027]; see figure 1a-b) comprising an analogous carrier layer (60; see [0027]; see figure 1a-b), and an analogous gel wound contacting layer (30; see [0018] and [0027]; see figure 1a-b) wherein the gel layer is a silica gel layer (see [0018] in reference to the wound contacting layer being made from hydrogel and/or silica gel) for the purpose of proving a wound contacting layer which may both accommodate or absorb, as well as release liquids, so as to adjust a desired moisture milieu in the area of the wound, thereby promoting the healing process (see [0002]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the porous gel layer as disclosed by Chen and to have formed the porous gel layer of Chen from the silica gel material as taught by Dodel in order to have provided an improved porous gel layer of the wound contacting layer that would add the benefit of proving a wound contacting layer which may both accommodate or absorb, as well as release liquids, so as to adjust a desired moisture milieu in the area of the wound, thereby promoting the healing process (see [0002]).
Furthermore, such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that “(w)here a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007) (see MPEP 2143 I B). Accordingly, Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results. In the instant case, Chen as discussed above, discloses that the wound contacting layer can be formed from a silicone gel, a hydrocolloid, and a hydrogel (see [0035]) and Dodel teaches that the wound contacting layer can be formed from hydrogel and/or silica gel (see [0018]), thereby establishing that the hydrogel and silica gel are known in the art to one of ordinary skill as being equivalents thereof. Furthermore, the combination of Chen as now modified by Dodel yields the predictable results of aiding in the healing process by maintaining a level of desired moisture that can rehydrate dried necrotic or decayed tissue as disclosed by Chen [0037], and Dodel [0002]).
Thus, as now combined the dressing of Chen as now modified by Dodel is a silica gel foam dressing as claimed.
In regards to claim 2, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses a plurality of breathing pores with different apertures (pores; see [0041]; see figure 2) formed in the wound contact layer (31-32).
In regards to claim 3, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein an aperture of the breathing pores (pores) ranges from 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm (see [0053]).
In regards to claim 8, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) is one of a sodium polyacrylate layer and a polyurethane foam layer (22 is a polyurethane foam layer; see [0043]).
In regards to claim 13, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive) comprises a polyurethane film carrier layer (polyurethane membrane; see [0055]).
In regards to claim 14, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the gluing carrier layer (1 and associated adhesive) further comprises a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (associated adhesive; see [0029] and [0048]), and the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (associated adhesive) is arranged between the polyurethane film carrier layer (polyurethane membrane; see [0055]) and the liquid absorption layer (21-22; see [0029]).
In regards to claim 16, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact layer (31-32) comprises a wound contact area (area of 31-32 directly under 21-22; see figure 2) and an application edge area (areas of 31-32 not directly under 21-22; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 17, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact layer (31-32) further comprises a porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23; see [0048]; said adhesive is associated with 31 which is porous (see figure 2) and thus, is considered to have pores similar to 31) and a porous polyurethane film layer (31; see [0040]), the porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23) is arranged on a face of the porous polyurethane film layer (31) close to the liquid absorption layer (21-22; the face of 31 which connects to 23 is “close” to 22), and the porous silica gel layer (32) is arranged on the other face of the porous polyurethane film layer (31; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 18, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the plurality of breathing pores (pores) extend through the porous pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23), the porous polyurethane film layer (31) and the porous silica gel layer (32; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 21, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein a release film layer (4; see [0019]; see figure 2) is arranged on an outer side of the porous silica gel layer (32; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 22, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive which connects 31 to 23) includes an acrylic adhesive structure (see [0048]).
In regards to claim 23, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the acrylic adhesive structure (adhesive which connects 31 to 23) is an acrylic adhesive (see [0048]).
Claim(s) 4-7, 9-12, 15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Dodel as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cotton (WO 2015/173547 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen as now modified by Dodel does not disclose wherein the plurality of breathing pores include a first group of large aperture breathing pores and a second group of small aperture breathing pores, wherein a size of an aperture of the large aperture breathing pores is larger than that of the small aperture breathing pores.
However, Cotton teaches an analogous wound dressing (601; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6) comprising an analogous backing layer (611; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6), liquid absorption layer (612; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7), and wound contacting layer (615; see [pg 35 para 4]; see figure 7), the wound contacting layer (615) comprising a plurality of breathing pores (621-622; see [pg 35 para 5]; see figure 7); wherein the plurality of breathing pores (621-622) include a first group of large aperture breathing pores (621) and a second group of small aperture breathing pores (622), wherein a size of an aperture of the large aperture breathing pores (621) is larger than that of the small aperture breathing pores (622; see figure 7-8) for the purpose of providing a group of larger pores with a larger diameter for permitting wound exudate to pass from the wound into the liquid absorption layer, and a group of smaller pores with a smaller diameter for permitting the passage of gas from the surface of the wound, while also ensuring the smaller pores do not impair the secure retention of the dressing on the skin (see [pg 35 para 5-pg 36 para 1]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of breathing pores in the wound contacting layer as disclosed by Chen as now modified by Dodel and to have formed the plurality of breathing pores as a group of larger pores over the wound site, and a group smaller pores about the periphery of the dressing as taught by Cotton in order to have provided an improved plurality of breathing pores that would add the benefit of providing a group of larger pores with a larger diameter for permitting wound exudate to pass from the wound into the liquid absorption layer, and a group of smaller pores with a smaller diameter for permitting the passage of gas from the surface of the wound, while also ensuring the smaller pores do not impair the secure retention of the dressing on the skin (see [pg 35 para 5-pg 36 para 1]).
In regards to claim 5, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen as now modified by Cotton further discloses wherein the large aperture breathing pores (621 of Cotton) are formed in a wound contact area of the wound contact layer (see Cotton [pg 35 para 5]), and the small aperture breathing pores (622 of Cotton) are formed in an application edge area of the wound contact layer (see Cotton [pg 35 para 5]).
In regards to claim 6, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) comprises a first liquid absorption layer (21), a polyurethane foam layer (22; see [0043]) which are sequentially arranged in a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer (31-32; see figure 2).
Chen as now modified by Dodel does not disclose a sodium polyacrylate layer.
However, Cotton teaches an analogous wound dressing (601; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6) comprising an analogous backing layer (611; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6), liquid absorption layer (612; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7), and wound contacting layer (615; see [pg 35 para 4]; see figure 7); the liquid absorption layer (612) comprising an analogous polyurethane foam (613; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) and further comprising a sodium polyacrylate layer (614; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) for the purpose of providing a liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid absorption layer as disclosed by Chen as now modified by Dodel and to have included the sodium polyacrylate layer as taught by Cotton in order to have provided an improved liquid absorption layer that would add the benefit of providing an additional liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3) thereby increasing the amount of liquid the dressing is able to remove from the wound site.
In regards to claim 7, Chen as now modified by Dodel discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the liquid absorption layer (21-22) comprises a polyurethane foam layer (22; see [0043]).
Chen as now modified by Dodel does not disclose the liquid absorption layer comprises a sodium polyacrylate layer.
However, Cotton teaches an analogous wound dressing (601; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6) comprising an analogous backing layer (611; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 6), liquid absorption layer (612; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7), and wound contacting layer (615; see [pg 35 para 4]; see figure 7); the liquid absorption layer (612) comprising an analogous polyurethane foam (613; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) and further comprising a sodium polyacrylate layer (614; see [pg 35 para 3]; see figure 7) for the purpose of providing a liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the liquid absorption layer as disclosed by Chen as now modified by Dodel and to have included the sodium polyacrylate layer as taught by Cotton in order to have provided an improved liquid absorption layer that would add the benefit of providing an additional liquid absorption layer that is capable of absorbing many times its own mass of fluids (see pg 17 para 3) thereby increasing the amount of liquid the dressing is able to remove from the wound site.
In regards to claim 9, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the first liquid absorption layer (21) is at least one of a polyurethane foam layer, a knitted fabric layer and a non-woven fabric layer (see [0044] in reference to 21 being Carboxymethyl cellulose and see [0036] in reference to Carboxymethylated fibers such as those used in 21 being nonwoven).
In regards to claim 10, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein a transverse size of the wound contact layer (width of 31-32) is larger than that of the liquid absorption layer (width of 21-22; see figure 2),
wherein respective transverse sizes of all layers in the liquid absorption layer (width of 21-22) are gradually increased in a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer (Applicant’s specification [0018] states that a gradual increase in the layers of the liquid absorption layer can be an increase of 0mm; thus, as seen in figure 2, 21-22 are the same width (transverse size) and are therefore considered to have a gradual increase in size similar to Applicant’s specification [0018] and Applicant’s figure 3c and 3d), and
the respective transverse sizes of whole edges of the wound contact layer (width of 31-32) and the liquid absorption layer (width of 21-22) are regularly increased gradually in a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer (31-32; see figure 2 that the width of 31-32 regularly increases gradually with respect to the width of 21-22 as claimed).
In regards to claim 11, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the transverse size of the wound contact layer (width of 31-32) is larger than that of the liquid absorption layer (width of 21-22; see figure 2),
and transverse sizes of whole edges of the wound contact layer (width of 31-32) and the liquid absorption layer (width of 21-22) are regularly increased gradually in a direction from far to near from the wound contact layer (31-32; see figure 2 that the width of 31-32 regularly increases gradually with respect to the width of 21-22 as claimed).
In regards to claim 12, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the size difference between all the layers in the liquid absorption layer (21-22) is 0-30 mm (see figure 2 that 21 and 22 are the same size and thus, have a size difference of 0mm as claimed).
In regards to claim 15, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen as now modified by Cotton further discloses wherein a bonding layer (see Chen [0048] that there exists a pressure sensitive adhesive (i.e. a bonding layer) between all layers of the dressing; thus as now modified there exists a pressure sensitive adhesive bonding layer between 21 of Chen and 614 of Cotton) is arranged between the first liquid absorption layer (21 of Chen) and the sodium polyacrylate layer (614 of Cotton).
In regards to claim 19, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact layer (31-32) comprises a wound contact area (area of 31-32 directly under 21-22; see figure 2) and an application edge area (area of 31-32 not directly under 21-22; see figure 2).
In regards to claim 20, Chen as now modified by Dodel and Cotton discloses the invention as discussed above.
Chen further discloses wherein the wound contact area (area of 31-32 directly under 21-22) corresponds to an area closest to the wound contact layer (31-32) in all the layers in the liquid absorption layer (21-22; the area of 31-32 directly under 21-22 corresponds to the area closest to the liquid absorption layer as claimed).
Conclusion
/DANIEL A MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3786