DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takajo et al. (US 2020/0056256, hereafter “Takajo”) in view of Omura et al. (EP 2602339, “Omura”, see attached document)
Regarding claim 1, Takajo discloses a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet [0002-0003] comprising a chemical composition containing, in mass%, Si: 1 to 7% (meets 2.0 % to 8.0 %), Mn: 0.1% or less (meets 0.005 % to 1.000 %), and C: 0.003% (meets 0.0050 % or less) with the balance being Fe [0097]. The steel sheet includes a local area having a misorientation angle of 1.5 degrees or more and up to 4 degrees from surrounding crystals and extending linearly in a direction crossing a rolling direction on at least one of front and back surfaces of the steel sheet [0105, 0189, 0195]. Takajo discloses steel sheet surface having the local area with an average amount of roughness on a steel substrate being up to 0.3 µm [0095], which overlaps with less than 5 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05
Concerning the local area volume fraction and residual stress, Takajo mentions electron or laser beam irradiation for magnetic domain refining [0181-0184, 0195], which results in the local treated area. Such refining technique is known in the art. Omura (also directed to grain oriented steel sheet) discloses magnetic domain refining treatment by electron beam irradiation to achieve excellent magnetic properties such as less iron loss and low-noise, as desirable for iron cores of transformers (see abstract, [0002]). Furthermore, Omura teaches electron beam irradiation conditions resulting in local/treated area fraction exhibiting properties of less iron loss and low noise [0045-0046, 0049, 0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to perform electron beam irradiation to have the recited local/treated area volume fraction & residual stress in the steel sheet of Takajo with a motivation to obtain desirable magnetic properties of less iron loss and low-noise, useful for iron cores of transformers, as suggested by Omura. Examiner notes that Applicant’s specification also discloses electron beam as an effective treatment to cause crystal misorientation angle to obtain magnetic domain refining effect and low iron loss & good noise properties [0064-0065]. It is further noted that present claim does not require any specific beam irradiation conditions.
As to claim 2, Takajo discloses that the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet further contains, in mass%, P: 0.1% or less [0097], which falls within recited range of 0.01 % to 0.20%.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/1/25, 7/1/24 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Inquiry
To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice. Communications via Internet email are at the discretion of Applicant. If Applicant wishes to communicate via email, a written authorization form must be filed by Applicant: Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via the Patent Center and can be found using the document description Internet Communications, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/forms. In limited circumstances, the Applicant may make an oral authorization for Internet communication. See MPEP § 502.03.
/DEVANG R PATEL/
Primary Examiner, AU 1735