CTNF 18/726,042 CTNF 101709 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2024, 05/29/2025, and 07/11/2025 have been considered by the examiner. Abstract Objections The abstract is objected to because of the following minor informalities: the abstract, lines 2-3, states "...in communication with at least a first nodeis disclosed herein," i.e. the term "nodeis" should be "node is." Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections Claim 20 is objected to because of the following minor informalities: claim 20, lines 6-7, states “retrieve, from the information element and in response to determining that the information element includes the list of two or more conditional configuratoins ,” i.e. the term “configuratoins” should be “configurations.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-18, and 20 are re jected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being an ticipated by Pa richehrehteroujeni et al. (US 2023/0040285 A1, hereinafter Parichehrehteroujeni) Re garding claim 1, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches a method for managing candidate cell configuration for a user equipment (UE) initially in communication with at least a first node ([0160] "FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary signal flow between a user equipment (UE) 710, a source node 720, and a target node 730 for a conditional handover (HO)," i.e. managing candidate cell configuration) , the method implemented in a second node and comprising: receiving, by the second node and from the first node, a request for connectivity with the second node, the request including a procedure indicator and measurement results of one or more cells ([0162] referring to FIG. 7, "upon performing measurements that meet the low threshold, the UE can send a measurement report to the serving node (operation 1). While performing the measurements and evaluating the low threshold, the UE continues operating in its current RRC configuration. In operation 2, based on this report, the source node can decide to request a conditional handover (CHO) of the UE to the target node (e.g., to a cell indicated in the UE's measurement report)," i.e. based upon a measurement result (operation 1), the source node 720 will make a CHO request to the target node 730 (operation 2), wherein the target node 730 may accept the CHO based on "conventional handover procedures," such as the measurement performed in operation 1 according to [0163]) ; and transmitting, by the second node to the first node and depending on the procedure indicator ([Figure 7, operation 3]) , one of a list of two or more conditional configurations or a single conditional configuration ([0163] and [Figure 7, operation 3/4] "in operation 4, the source node then sends the UE a RRCReconfiguration message (a “CHO command”) that includes a CHO configuration with the high threshold," i.e. operation 4 forwards the information gathered from operation 3, which may be a single conditional configuration such as a "high threshold," to the UE) , the list of two or more conditional configurations or the single conditional configuration to be used by the UE ([0163] "upon receiving this message (operation 4), the UE continues to perform measurements and whenever the high threshold condition is met, it can move to the target node and perform the handover (e.g., operations 5-6)," i.e. the conditional configuration is used by the UE) . Regarding claim 2, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches the procedure indicator is a conditional handover (CHO) indicator or a conditional primary-secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change (CPAC) indicator ([Figure 7, operation 2] operation 2 indicates a CHO request) . Regarding claim 4, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches the request for connectivity includes the CHO indicator ([Figure 7, operation 2] the request indicates a CHO request) , the method further comprising: generating the single conditional configuration; wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the single conditional configuration ([Figure 7, operation 3/4] and [0163] "whenever the high threshold condition is met, it can move to the target node and perform the handover (e.g., operations 5-6)," i.e. target node 730 generates and sends the threshold value (conditional condition) in operation 3, where the source node 720 forwards/transmits this information to the UE in operation 4, to be used via the UE in future operations) . Regarding claim 5, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches selecting at least one cell of the one or more cells with a measurement result above a threshold ([0151] describes "the UE selects a target cell and succeeds with reestablishment, it includes an indication in the RRC Reestablishment Complete message that an RLF report is available," i.e. the UE selects a target cell from a plurality of cells, plurality of cells shown in FIG. 1, wherein "each of the eNBs can serve a geographic coverage area including one more cells, including cells 106, 111, and 115 served by eNBs 105, 110, and 115, respectively," according to [0006]) ; and generating the list of two or more conditional configurations, wherein the list of two or more conditional configurations includes a configuration for each cell of the at least one cell; wherein the transmitting includes transmitting the list of two or more conditional configurations ([0161] describes "involves two different measurement thresholds: a low threshold and a high threshold. The two thresholds can be expressed as different levels of a particular metric, e.g., signal strength, signal quality, etc." i.e. the RRCReconfiguration message in operation 3/4 depicted in FIG. 7 may include two or more conditional configurations (a low threshold and a high threshold), wherein this process may be performed for a plurality of cells, according to FIG. 1 and described above, i.e. each cell may transmit a low threshold and a high threshold (two or more conditional configurations)) . Regarding claim 6, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Parichehrehteroujeni teaches transmitting, by the first node and to a second node (FIG. 7 depicts the first node transmitting to the second node in operation 2) , and receiving, by the first node and from the second node, a response to the request ([Figure 7, operation 3] Source Node 720 receiving a response to the request from the Target Node 730, Target node 730 read as second node) , the response causing the first node to perform a secondary node procedure and the response including an information element conveying a list of two or more conditional configurations or a single conditional configuration according to the indication; and transmitting, by the first node to the UE, a radio resource message (FIG. 7 depicts a radio resource message being sent from the Target Node 730 (operation 3), which includes a conditional configuration threshold(s) as described in claim 1, wherein the information from operation 3 is transmitted to the UE from Source Node 720 via operation 4, via a radio resource message) . Regarding claim 7, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Regarding claim 8, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches the secondary node procedure is one of an immediate secondary node procedure or a conditional secondary node procedure (secondary node procedure (FIG. 7 operation 3) includes a conditional secondary node procedure, i.e. a "high" and/or "low" threshold, which can be expressed as different levels of a particular metric, e.g., signal strength, signal quality, etc. see [0161]) . Regarding claim 9, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches determining, when the secondary node procedure is the conditional secondary node procedure, that the information element includes the list of two or more conditional configurations ([0161] "this procedure involves two different measurement thresholds: a low threshold and a high threshold," i.e. a list of two conditional configurations) ; retrieving, from the information element and in response to the determining, one or more configurations in the list of two or more conditional configurations; and generating, based on the one or more configurations, the radio resource message to be transmitted to the UE ([Figure 7, operation 3] the one or more conditional thresholds are determined and transmitted to the Source Node 720 from the Target Node 730, wherein Source Node 720 generates operation 4 to be transmitted to the UE) . Regarding claim 11, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches determining that the information element includes the list of two or more conditional configurations based on the request for connectivity including the indication of the addition or change for the C-PSCell ([Figure 7, operation 3/4] the radio resource messages may indicate a list of two or more conditional configuration thresholds as described in claim 6, wherein the configurations are based on the UE request for connectivity for the cell change) ; and retrieving, from the information element and in response to the determining, one or more configurations in the list of two or more conditional configurations; and generating, from the one or more configurations, the radio resource message to be transmitted to the UE ([Figure 7, operation 3/4] the conditional configuration thresholds are retrieved from Target Node 730 in operation 3, wherein operation 4 is generated to be transmitted to the UE via a radio resource message, wherein operation 4 includes the threshold information received form operation 3) . Regarding claim 12, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches the request for connectivity includes the indication of the addition or change for the C-PSCell when the first node does not cause the UE to begin communications with the second node during preparation for a conditional handover ([Figure 7] the handover request to Target Node 730 (operation 2), from the UE through Source Node 720, indicates a request for connectivity for a cell change, wherein the UE does not communicate directly with Target Node 730) . Regarding claim 13, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches the request for connectivity includes the indication of the CHO when the first node causes the UE to begin communications with the second node during preparation for a conditional handover (referring to Figure 8, operation 3, [0234] "the UE (810) attempts connection to a cell served by a CHO target node (830) once the radio conditions in a source cell served by the source node (820) have degraded to the CHO threshold. However, the UE fails in connecting to the CHO target node. The UE will therefore attempt to re-establish connection to another cell—served by a node referred to as re-establishment node 840—that became available to the UE," i.e. in the scenario depicted in FIG. 8, the UE communicates with the second node during preparation for a conditional handover) . Regarding claim 14, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches the first node comprises a first distributed unit, a second distributed unit, and a central unit; transmitting the request for connectivity is from the central unit; receiving the response is at the central unit ([0244] describes "each of the CUs and DUs can include various circuitry needed to perform their respective functions, including processing circuitry, transceiver circuitry (e.g., for communication)," i.e. the request for connectivity is derived from the central unit, additionally the central unit performs the communication needs of the node) ; and transmitting the radio resource message is from the central unit to the first distributed unit ([0245] "a gNB-CU connects to one or more gNB-DUs over respective F1 logical interfaces, such as interfaces 922 and 932 shown in FIG. 9," i.e. communications between the central unit and the first distributed unit, for radio resource messages) . Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6, further in view of Parichehrehteroujeni teaches a network node, configured- ([Figure 7, 720] Source Node 720, operating as the first node, to perform the elements from claim 6) and comprising: a transceiver; and processing hardware, configured to: transmit- ([0244] "each of the CUs and DUs (located within each network node, i.e. the Source Node 720, see FIG. 7) can include various circuitry needed to perform their respective functions, including processing circuitry, transceiver circuitry (e.g., for communication), and power supply circuitry") . Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7. Regarding claim 17, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 8. Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 9, further in view of Parichehrehteroujeni teaches in response to determining that the information element includes the list of two or more conditional configurations (referring to FIG. 7, operation 3/4 may contain a list of two or more conditional configurations, i.e. a high and/or low threshold, see [0161], described in claim 5) . Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 11, further in view of Parichehrehteroujeni teaches determining that the information element includes the list of two or more conditional configurations (referring to FIG. 7, operation 3/4 may contain a list of two or more conditional configurations, i.e. a high and/or low threshold, see [0161], described in claim 5) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 2023/0040285 A1, hereinafter Parichehrehteroujeni) in view of ZHANG et al. (US 2023/0078307 A1, hereinafter Zhang). Regarding claim 3, Parichehrehteroujeni is not relied on for the claim language including the list of two or more conditional configurations when the procedure indicator is the CPAC indicator. However, Zhang teaches [abstract] a method which includes receiving a first radio resource control (RRC) message including at least one of a conditional handover (CHO) configuration and a conditional primary secondary cell addition or change (CPAC) configuration. Zhang also teaches including the list of two or more conditional configurations when the procedure indicator is the CPAC indicator ([0116] "the CPAC configuration includes a CPAC configuration index, a CPAC candidate cell configuration, and a CPAC execution condition," i.e. the CPAC configuration includes a list of two or more conditional configurations) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parichehrehteroujeni to include the use of a CPAC indicator in association with two or more conditional configurations, as taught by Zhang, in order to [0075] improve the mobility performance to meet the requirements for minimal interruption and high reliability, and therefore [0090] improve mobility reliability. Claim 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US 2023/0040285 A1, hereinafter Parichehrehteroujeni) in view of Yao et al. (US 2020/0229043 A1, hereinafter Yao). Regarding claim 10, Parichehrehteroujeni teaches that the information element includes the single conditional configuration ([Figure 7, operation 3] described in claim 6) ; and generating, based on the single conditional configuration, the radio resource message to be transmitted to the UE ([Figure 7, operation 4] described in claim 6) . Parichehrehteroujeni is not relied on for the claim language determining, when the secondary node procedure is the immediate secondary node procedure. However, Yao teaches [abstract] a communication method involving a handover request message. Yao also teaches determining, when the secondary node procedure is the immediate secondary node procedure ([0089] “the handover command may be an immediate handover command, or may be a conditional handover command (CHO Command),” i.e. the handover procedure may be an immediate IHO handover) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parichehrehteroujeni to include the ability for the secondary node procedure to be an immediate secondary node procedure, as taught by Yao, in order to aid in [0321] enabling various possible communication methods between the communication devices, and [0005] increase a handover success rate. Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 10. References Cited Parichehrehteroujeni, Ali et al. (2023). Reporting failures of conditional handover mobility operations (US 2023/0040285 A1). Filed 2021-01-25. Zhang, Mengjie et al. (2023). System and method for mobility enhancements (US 2023/0078307 A1). Filed 2022-09-23. (Priority 04/09/2020) Yao, Chuting et al. (2020). Communication method and communications device (US 2020/0229043 A1). Filed 2018-05-16. Other Pertinent References 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chang, Henry et al. (2022). Occupied target channel notification for conditional handovers with unlicensed frequency bands (US 2022/0330107 A1). Filed 2020-08-11. Discloses a method which includes a conditional handover command identifying a target frequency on a target cell for a conditional handover. (abstract) Awada, Ahmad et al. (2022). Ue logging during handover (US 2022/0256405 A1). Filed 2019-07-30. Discloses a method for use by a communication device, the method including the steps of receiving a handover command from a service cell of a plurality of network cells. (abstract) Chang, NINGJUAN et al. (2024). Handover information reporting method and user equipment (US 2024/0224150 A1). Filed 2022-07-27. Discloses a method which includes handover information in association with CHO configurations. (abstract) Rune, Johan et al. (2023). Using the expected time to be served as handover target cell selection criterion in a non-terrestrial network (US 2023/0308980 A1). Filed 2021-08-17. Discloses a method wherein a wireless device performs the conditional handover procedure based on information that includes an expected time for the wireless device in the connected mode to be served in at least one cell. (abstract) Ishii, Atsushi (2022). Release of configurations for conditional handovers based on security configurations (US 2022/0330125 A1). Filed 2020-06-16. Discloses a wireless terminal which receives a configuration message comprising one or more conditional handover configurations. (abstract) Han, Jaemin et al. (2025). Enhancing inter-node handover signaling for conditional handover (US 12250600 B2). Filed 2020-05-01. Discloses a method for enhancing inter-node handover (HO) signaling for conditional HO (CHO). (abstract) Jeon, Jeongho et al. (2024). Handover reliability enhancement in wireless communication (US 11963052 B2). Filed 2021-10-11. Discloses a method for user equipment (UE) service handover from the serving cell to a target cell, which includes information regarding a handover timer and an associated handover execution condition. (abstract) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW JAMES DWYER whose telephone number is (571)272-5121. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6 a.m. - 3 p.m. EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuwen Pan can be reached at (571) 272-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 2 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 3 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 4 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 5 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 6 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 7 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 8 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 9 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 10 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 11 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/726,042 Page 12 Art Unit: 2649