CTNF 18/726,053 CTNF 90720 DETAILED ACTION This action is pursuant to the claims filed on July 1, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-20 is as follows. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1)/(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Quinlan et al. (hereinafter ‘Quinlan’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2016/0242654) . In regards to independent claim 1 and 10 and claims 2-3, 9, 11, 12, 20, Quinlan discloses a wearable electronic device (health-monitor patch 100 in Fig. 1A-1C; internal configuration shown in Fig. 6) comprising: a housing (flexible strip assembly 105, [0030]); a first electrode and a second electrode (electrodes 660a, 670 and 660b); an interface (replaceable electrode strip 150 as shown in Fig. 6) for electrically coupling a biosensor (the biosensor is not necessarily required as part of the interface; therefore, the replaceable electrode strip 150 is capable of being positioned in a conductive plate; alternatively, the biosensor reads on the two or more electrodes 160a and 160b configured to contact a skin) to electrodes of a wearable electronic device ([0081]: electrodes 660a,660b and 670 are infused on a silicone casing of a flexible strip assembly 105 as shown in Fig. 6), the interface comprising: a first portion that includes a first material configured to provide a conductive path between the biosensor and the wearable electronic device ([0076]: replaceable electrode strip may include two or more electrodes 160a, 160b and one or more noise electrodes 170 as shown in Fig. 1C and its respective conductive components (not shown) to electrically connect to the electrodes 660a, 660b and 670; note that the two or more electrodes 160a and 160b that is configured to contact a wearer reads on the biosensor since the electrodes 160a and 160b is for biopotential sensing, thus meeting claims 9 and 12 ); a second portion that is different than the first portion ([0035], [0065] & [0085]: an adhesion surface 252 disposed along upper and lower surfaces of the electrode strip 150 a silicone adhesive layer that is electrically insulating, thus meeting claims 2-3 and 20 ), the second portion including a second material that is different than the first material ([0065]: the electrodes 160a, 160b and 170 is formed from a conductive material which is different from the surface of the adhesive silicone of the electrode strip 150), the second material configured to removeably couple the interface to the wearable electronic device (the silicone adhesive layer allows for the strip 150 to be removably coupled to the bottom surface of the assembly 105 as shown in Fig. 6); wherein when the interface is removably coupled to the wearable electronic device ([0032]: the replaceable electrode strip 150 is capable of being re-adhered to the health-monitor patch and to the skin via an adhesive surface 252), the first portion of the interface contacts the electrodes of the wearable electronic device to provide the conductive path between the biosensor and the electrodes ([0076]: Fig. 6 shows that the electrodes 160a,160b and 170 of the strip 150 contacts the electrodes 660a, 660b and 670, respectively). In regards to claims 5 and 11, Quinlan further discloses a third portion covering one or more surfaces of the first portion and one or more surfaces of the second portion ([0078]: the strip 150 is formed from silicone), the third portion including a third material that is different than the first material and the second material (note that an adhesive layer which is formed from an adhesive material is different from a silicone material). In regards to claim 6 and 16, Quinlan further discloses wherein the second portion is embedded within the third portion ([0078]: the silicone strip 150 is embedded between the adhesive tape disposed on both the upper and lower strips 150). In regards to claim 7, Quinlan further discloses wherein a first surface of the first portion that contacts a first electrode of the electrodes is flush with a surface of the third portion that contacts the wearable electronic device when the interface is removably coupled to the wearable electronic device; and a second surface of the first portion that contacts a second electrode of the electrodes is flush with the surface of the third portion (the electrodes 160a and 160b and 170 are flushed with the surface of the strip 150 and although not shown in Fig. 6, each of the electrodes are exposed on the opposite side of the strip to directly contact the electrodes of the assembly 105). In regards to claim 19, the examiner notes that given that the wearable electronic device of Quinlan is a patch-type device formed from flexible material ([0030]: a health-monitor patch may comprise a flexible strip assembly 105), it is capable of contouring, even forming a ring shape as claimed, to accommodate a finger of a user . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quinlan as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wahlgren et al. (hereinafter ‘Wahlgren’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2008/0147146) . In regards to claim 4, Quinlan discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above. However, Quinlan does not disclose wherein the second material includes a magnetic material. Wahlgren teaches providing an electrode patch to a skin of a patient through an adhesive means or magnets ([0004]-[0006] & [0017]: see skin tattoo 20 disposed on a skin and magnet metal disc 30 disposed on a bottom surface of the patch in Fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the second portion comprising an adhesive material of Quinlan with a magnetic material as taught by Wahgren, as doing so are equivalent for coupling electrode patches to the skin and it further allows for precise and repeatable placement of skin electrodes ([0006]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quinlan as applied to claim 1 above . In regards to claims 8 and 17, Quinlan discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above. Quinlan does not disclose wherein the first surface of the first portion is raised relative to the surface of the third portion and the second surface of the second portion is raised relative to the surface of the third portion. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thickness of the first surface and the second surface of the first portion so that it is raised relative to the surface of the third portion, since doing so is an obvious modification to allow the conductive electrodes/components to better contact the first and second electrodes. In regards to claim 18, Quinlan discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 17/16/11 and discussed above except a surface of the first electrode and a surface of the second electrode are each raised relative to the surface of the housing. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thickness of electrodes, since doing so is an obvious modification to allow the electrodes to be further exposed to better contact the interface and its corresponding conductive portions . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quinlan as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Golda et al. (hereinafter ‘Golda’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2020/0237309) . In regards to claims 13-15, Quinlan discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 11 and discussed above. However, Quinlan does not disclose wherein the housing includes a transparent portion; and the third portion of the interface includes a transparent region that is positioned over the transparent portion of the housing when the interface is removably coupled to the surface of the housing. Golda teaches an electrode patch (patch 100 in Fig. 1D) comprising a housing (upper component side 101 of the device 100 formed from silicone) similar to the housing of Quinlan and further comprising a transparent portion ([0058]: windows or other communication channels or openings 111, 112 (FIG. 1C) may be provided for a pulse oximeter, for example, for LEDs and a sensor. Such openings 111, 112 (e.g., FIG. 1C) would typically be disposed for optimum light communication to and from the patient skin) and a removable patch (113) comprising a corresponding transparent region which includes an aperture ([0086]: a corresponding one or more light apertures 111 b /112 b are shown in the adhesive of 113 of the example of FIG. 1D to communicate light therethrough in cooperation with the light conduit(s) 111 a /112 a in/through layer 105 for communication of light data typically involved in pulse oximetry) that is positioned over the transparent portion of the housing. In addition, the removable patch comprises a release liner which is commonly formed from a transparent plastic film layer which would inherently cover the aperture prior to use ([0054], [0056]: use of release liner prior to attaching to a patient). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing and the interface of Quinlan to thereby provide transparent portion, transparent region, respectively and release liner along with necessary light emitter diode and light receiver as taught by Golda to configure the electrode patch for other physiological sensing including pulse oximetry ([0022]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EUNHWA KIM whose telephone number is (571)270-1265. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM-5:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JOSEPH STOKLOSA can be reached at (571) 272-1213. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 5/29/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 2 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 3 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 4 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 5 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 6 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 7 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 8 Art Unit: 3794 Application/Control Number: 18/726,053 Page 9 Art Unit: 3794