DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8, of applicant’s response, applicant states “so as to provide a transitional stage for switching from the target picture to the target area, reduce the sense of jumping during switching, and improve visual effect of the user viewing the target picture of the target video.” and further
“In particular, in the fusion interface, the target area and the target picture of the target video are connected through the gradient layer, so as to improve the visual effect presented by the fusion interface to the user, reduce the sense of jumping during picture switching, and improve the visual effect.”
On page 10, of applicant’s response, applicant states that “Applicant submits that although Law discloses the combination of a menu region 40 and a video playback region 11, in the context of Law, how the region 40 appears is not disclosed or taught in the context of Law. More specifically, Law only describes that the video playback region 11 is either reduced in size to make room for the menu region 40 within the interface 10, or is covered by the menu region 40. However, Law neither discloses nor teaches a "moving fusion" of the menu region 40 and the video playback region 11 in terms of visual presentation.”
In response, as admitted by applicant, Law explicitly discloses wherein the “video playback region 11” is reduced in size to make room for the menu region 40 within the interface 10 (see Fig. 1B-1C and paragraph 31 of Law). The video region 11 has been reduced and moved leftwards to allow the inclusion of region 40 along the right side. Thus, as seen in Fig. 1C, region 11 and region 40 are how displayed together in a “fusion page” with only a single vertical line separating the two regions. This meets the current language of the independent claims.
As admitted within the rejections, Law fails to disclose a “gradient layer” as the two regions are shown with only a single vertical black line between them.
Seo was then introduced for disclosing a display system where a displayed first area and second area connected via a gradient layer (see Fig. 12B, 13D-E; paragraph 132-136, 162-164) so as to contrast the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
Thus, it is the combination of Law and Seo which meet the current claim limitations.
In response to applicant’s arguments that “Based on the above, and in the context of Seo, it is evident that Seo generally focuses on solving a problem of text visibility on a picture background, and Seo makes text clearer by adjusting the brightness and saturation of the background color or adding a gradient layer.”, it is noted that both Law and Seo are disclosing the insertion of a second area including text data onto a display screen along with video content. (see Law at Fig. 1A-C and Seo at 12A-13E).
Law discloses moving the target video and including a second area comprising text data (as seen in Fig. 1A-1C). Law does not disclose any specifics regarding the separation of the target video region and the new region 40, how to display the text or colors/backgrounds regarding the displayed text.
Seo specifically discloses including a gradient layer between the two regions to account improve text visibility and account for text and background colors when including the text on the display (see Fig. 12B, 13D-E; paragraph 132-136, 162-164).
Thus, the combination of Law and Seo meet the current claim limitations.
In response to applicant's argument the gradient layer is to “improve the visual effect presented by the fusion interface to the user, reduce the sense of jumping during picture switching, and improve the visual effect”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that “Seo generally focuses on a problem of text visibility on a picture background”, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant’s arguments, on page 11-12 of applicant’s response, that Seo “cannot provide any teaching or suggestion to the above features related to the movement of the target picture as well as the configuration of the gradient layer as recited in amended claim 1”, it is again noted that Law already discloses the movement of the target picture and a single line “layer” between the two regions.
Seo was then merely relied upon for disclosing the user of a “gradient layer”.
Further, it is noted that the current claims merely recite the general usage of a “gradient layer”, which is disclosed by Seo. The claims do not required any specific “configuration” for the gradient layer, as applicant suggests.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9-12, 14-15, 18-19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law et al. (Law) (US 2012/0159327) (of record) in view of Seo et al. (Seo) (US 2018/0033164) (of record).
As to claim 1, Law discloses a page interface display method (Fig. 1A-C), comprising:
receiving a trigger operation acting on a preset control, wherein the preset control is displayed in a playing-page interface of a target video, and the playing-page interface is used for playing a target picture at an initial position (user selection of event displayed on video program; Fig. 1A-B, paragraph 27-30);
in response to the trigger operation, acquiring a target area associated with the preset control (acquiring interactive content associated with particular selected event; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36); and
displaying a fusion-page interface of the target area and the target picture of the target video (screen including the original video region and new interactive area, 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), wherein the target area appears from a preset position in the display interface and moves in a preset direction, and the target picture of the target video moves on the display interface from the initial position in the preset direction, while the target picture is kept in a playing state (video region 11 is shifted and made smaller to fit interactive region 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 31).
While Law discloses wherein, in the fusion-page interface, the target area and the target picture of the target video are connected (screen including both the original video region and new interactive area, 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), they fail to specifically disclose a gradient layer.
In an analogous art, Seo discloses a display system displaying a first area and a second area connected via a gradient layer (see Fig. 12B, 13D-E; paragraph 132-136, 162-164) so as to contrast the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include a gradient layer, as taught in combination with Seo, for the typical benefit of better contrasting the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
As to claim 6, Law and Seo disclose wherein, when the target picture moves to a first set position on the display interface, the target picture is switched to a preset picture associated with the target area (presentation/display of content associated with the interactive option, video program may be paused until interaction is completed; see Law at paragraph 32, 105).
As to claim 9, Law and Seo disclose in response to a trigger operation acting on a first control in the fusion interface, controlling to close the target area and display the target picture of the target video in full screen (see Law at Fig 1a-b, 11b; paragraph 26-30, 98-105).
As to claim 10, Law and Seo disclose wherein, when the target area and the target picture of the target video are concurrently displayed on the display interface, the first control is displayed in the target picture of the target video, and the target picture is also displayed with at least one preset control associated with the target area (see Law at Fig. 1C, displaying plural video program events within the video area, 18, 20, 22, and plural selectable interactive elements within the interactive area 40; paragraph 31-34).
As to claim 11, Law and Seo disclose wherein, the target picture of the target video is a picture in which the size of the center area of the target picture matches the size of a second area displaying the target picture (see Law at Fig. 1A-C, full video sized to fit the available window 11; paragraph 25, 27, 31); or,
the target picture of the target video is a picture for a target object in the target video that matches the second area in terms of size (see Law at Fig. 1A-C, full video sized to fit the available window 11; paragraph 25, 27, 31).
As to claim 12, Law and Seo disclose in response to a trigger operation acting on the sharing control, generating an information page based on the target area for sharing (social media/messaging within the interactive area; see Law at paragraph 38, 88).
As to claim 14, Law discloses an electronic device (Fig. 6), comprising:
one or more processors (501; paragraph 71); and
a memory for storing one or more programs (506; paragraph 71);
wherein the one or more programs, when executable by the one or more processors (paragraph 71), cause the one or more processors to implement:
receiving a trigger operation acting on a preset control, wherein the preset control is displayed in a playing-page interface of a target video, and the playing-page interface is used for playing a target picture at an initial position (user selection of event displayed on video program; Fig. 1A-B, paragraph 27-30);
in response to the trigger operation, acquiring a target area associated with the preset control (acquiring interactive content associated with particular selected event; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36); and
displaying a fusion-page interface of the target area and the target picture of the target video (Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), wherein the target area appears from a preset position in a display interface and moves in a preset direction, and the target picture of the target video moves on the display interface from the initial position in the preset direction, while the target picture is kept in a playing state (video region 11 is shifted and made smaller to fit interactive region 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 31).
While Law discloses wherein, in the fusion-page interface, the target area and the target picture of the target video are connected (screen including both the original video region and new interactive area, 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), they fail to specifically disclose a gradient layer.
In an analogous art, Seo discloses a display system displaying a first area and a second area connected via a gradient layer (see Fig. 12B, 13D-E; paragraph 132-136, 162-164) so as to contrast the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include a gradient layer, as taught in combination with Seo, for the typical benefit of better contrasting the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
As to claim 15, Law discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium a memory for storing one or more programs (506; paragraph 71) storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor (501), implements:
receiving a trigger operation acting on a preset control, wherein the preset control is displayed in a playing-page interface of a target video, and the playing-page interface is used for playing a target picture at an initial position (user selection of event displayed on video program; Fig. 1A-B, paragraph 27-30);
in response to the trigger operation, acquiring a target area associated with the preset control (acquiring interactive content associated with particular selected event; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36); and
displaying a fusion-page interface of the target area and the target picture of the target video (Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), wherein the target area appears from a preset position in a display interface and moves in a preset direction, and the target picture of the target video moves on the display interface from the initial position in the preset direction, while the target picture is kept in a playing state (video region 11 is shifted and made smaller to fit interactive region 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 31).
While Law discloses wherein, in the fusion-page interface, the target area and the target picture of the target video are connected (screen including both the original video region and new interactive area, 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), they fail to specifically disclose a gradient layer.
In an analogous art, Seo discloses a display system displaying a first area and a second area connected via a gradient layer (see Fig. 12B, 13D-E; paragraph 132-136, 162-164) so as to contrast the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include a gradient layer, as taught in combination with Seo, for the typical benefit of better contrasting the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
As to claim 18, Law and Seo disclose wherein, when the target picture moves to a first set position on the display interface, the target picture is switched to a preset picture associated with the target area (presentation/display of content associated with the interactive option, video program may be paused until interaction is completed; see Law at paragraph 32, 105), and/or
wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen.
As to claim 19, Law and Seo disclose wherein, the one or more programs, when executable by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further implement:
in response to a trigger operation acting on a first control in the fusion interface, controlling to close the target area and display the target picture of the target video in full screen (see Law at Fig 1a-b, 11b; paragraph 26-30, 98-105), and/or
in response to a trigger operation acting on the sharing control, generating an information interface based on the target area for sharing (see Law at paragraph 38, 88).
As to claim 21, Law and Seo disclose wherein, when the target picture moves to a first set position on the display interface, the target picture is switched to a preset picture associated with the target area (presentation/display of content associated with the interactive option, video program may be paused until interaction is completed; see Law at paragraph 32, 105), and/or
wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen.
As to claim 22, Law and Seo disclose wherein, the computer program which, when executed by a processor, further implements:
in response to a trigger operation acting on a first control in the fusion interface, controlling to close the target area and display the target picture of the target video in full screen (see Law at Fig 1a-b, 11b; paragraph 26-30, 98-105), and/or
in response to a trigger operation acting on the sharing control, generating an information interface based on the target area for sharing (see Law at paragraph 38, 88).
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law and Seo and further in view of Xiao et al. (Xiao) (US 2012/0062473) (of record).
As to claim 3, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and
concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and
concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 4, Law, Seo and Xiao disclose wherein, the speed at which the target picture moves on the display interface along the first direction is smaller than the speed at which the target area moves on the display interface along the first direction (different user movements may move both areas the same amount or scroll through the GUI information more quickly; see Xiao at paragraph 42-44).
As to claim 5, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases (scrolling to decrease interface size while increasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include wherein, in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 7, Law fails to specifically disclose wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along a direction with user input (scrolling to increase the interface size while decreasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen (continued vertical scrolling moves the video window off the display; see Fig. 5C, paragraph 42) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 8, Law, Seo and Xiao disclose wherein, after the target area is displayed in full screen, the method further comprises:
in response to an operation of sliding the target area along the second direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the second direction, and concurrently controlling the playing interface for the target video to be restored and displayed on the display interface (vertical scrolling decreases the interface and moves the video window onto the display; see Xiao at Fig. 5A-C, paragraph 41-43).
As to claim 17, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases (scrolling to decrease interface size while increasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 20, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases (scrolling to decrease interface size while increasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424