DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 14-15, 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the display interface " in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the first set position" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first control" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second area" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the display interface " in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the display interface " in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first set position" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first control" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the first control" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9-12, 14-15, 18-19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Law et al. (Law) (US 2012/0159327).
As to claim 1, Law discloses a page interface display method (Fig. 1A-C), comprising:
receiving a trigger operation acting on a preset control, wherein the preset control is displayed in a playing-page interface of a target video, and the playing-page interface is used for playing a target picture at an initial position (user selection of event displayed on video program; Fig. 1A-B, paragraph 27-30);
in response to the trigger operation, acquiring a target area associated with the preset control (acquiring interactive content associated with particular selected event; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36); and
displaying a fusion-page interface of the target area and the target picture of the target video (screen including the original video region and new interactive area, 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), wherein the target area appears from a preset position in the display interface and moves in a preset direction, and the target picture of the target video moves on the display interface from the initial position in the preset direction, while the target picture is kept in a playing state (video region 11 is shifted and made smaller to fit interactive region 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 31).
As to claim 6, Law discloses wherein, when the target picture moves to the first set position on the display interface, the target picture is switched to a preset picture associated with the target area (presentation/display of content associated with the interactive option, video program may be paused until interaction is completed; paragraph 32, 105).
As to claim 9, Law discloses in response to a trigger operation acting on the first control in the fusion interface, controlling to close the target area and display the target picture of the target video in full screen (Fig 1a-b, 11b; paragraph 26-30, 98-105).
As to claim 10, Law discloses wherein, when the target area and the target picture of the target video are concurrently displayed on the display interface, the first control is displayed in the target picture of the target video, and the target picture is also displayed with at least one preset control associated with the target area (see Fig. 1C, displaying plural video program events within the video area, 18, 20, 22, and plural selectable interactive elements within the interactive area 40; paragraph 31-34).
As to claim 11, Law discloses wherein, the target picture of the target video is a picture in which the size of the center area of the target picture matches the size of the second area displaying the target picture (Fig. 1A-C, full video sized to fit the available window 11; paragraph 25, 27, 31); or,
the target picture of the target video is a picture for a target object in the target video that matches the second area in terms of size (Fig. 1A-C, full video sized to fit the available window 11; paragraph 25, 27, 31).
As to claim 12, Law discloses in response to a trigger operation acting on the sharing control, generating an information page based on the target area for sharing (social media/messaging within the interactive area; paragraph 38, 88).
As to claim 14, Law discloses an electronic device (Fig. 6), comprising:
one or more processors (501; paragraph 71); and
a memory for storing one or more programs (506; paragraph 71);
wherein the one or more programs, when executable by the one or more processors (paragraph 71), cause the one or more processors to implement:
receiving a trigger operation acting on a preset control, wherein the preset control is displayed in a playing-page interface of a target video, and the playing-page interface is used for playing a target picture at an initial position (user selection of event displayed on video program; Fig. 1A-B, paragraph 27-30);
in response to the trigger operation, acquiring a target area associated with the preset control (acquiring interactive content associated with particular selected event; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36); and
displaying a fusion-page interface of the target area and the target picture of the target video (Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), wherein the target area appears from a preset position in the display interface and moves in a preset direction, and the target picture of the target video moves on the display interface from the initial position in the preset direction, while the target picture is kept in a playing state (video region 11 is shifted and made smaller to fit interactive region 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 31).
As to claim 15, Law discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium a memory for storing one or more programs (506; paragraph 71) storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor (501), implements:
receiving a trigger operation acting on a preset control, wherein the preset control is displayed in a playing-page interface of a target video, and the playing-page interface is used for playing a target picture at an initial position (user selection of event displayed on video program; Fig. 1A-B, paragraph 27-30);
in response to the trigger operation, acquiring a target area associated with the preset control (acquiring interactive content associated with particular selected event; Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36); and
displaying a fusion-page interface of the target area and the target picture of the target video (Fig. 1C; paragraph 30-36), wherein the target area appears from a preset position in the display interface and moves in a preset direction, and the target picture of the target video moves on the display interface from the initial position in the preset direction, while the target picture is kept in a playing state (video region 11 is shifted and made smaller to fit interactive region 40; Fig. 1C; paragraph 31).
As to claim 18, Law discloses wherein, when the target picture moves to the first set position on the display interface, the target picture is switched to a preset picture associated with the target area (presentation/display of content associated with the interactive option, video program may be paused until interaction is completed; paragraph 32, 105), and/or
wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen.
As to claim 19, Law discloses wherein, the one or more programs, when executable by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further implement:
in response to a trigger operation acting on the first control in the fusion interface, controlling to close the target area and display the target picture of the target video in full screen (Fig 1a-b, 11b; paragraph 26-30, 98-105), and/or
in response to a trigger operation acting on the sharing control, generating an information interface based on the target area for sharing (paragraph 38, 88).
As to claim 21, Law discloses wherein, when the target picture moves to the first set position on the display interface, the target picture is switched to a preset picture associated with the target area (presentation/display of content associated with the interactive option, video program may be paused until interaction is completed; paragraph 32, 105), and/or
wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen.
As to claim 22, Law discloses wherein, the computer program which, when executed by a processor, further implements:
in response to a trigger operation acting on the first control in the fusion interface, controlling to close the target area and display the target picture of the target video in full screen (Fig 1a-b, 11b; paragraph 26-30, 98-105), and/or
in response to a trigger operation acting on the sharing control, generating an information interface based on the target area for sharing (paragraph 38, 88).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law in view of Xiao et al. (Xiao) (US 2012/0062473).
As to claim 3, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and
concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and
concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 4, Law and Xiao disclose wherein, the speed at which the target picture moves on the display interface along the first direction is smaller than the speed at which the target area moves on the display interface along the first direction (different user movements may move both areas the same amount or scroll through the GUI information more quickly; see Xiao at paragraph 42-44).
As to claim 5, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases (scrolling to decrease interface size while increasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include wherein, in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 7, Law fails to specifically disclose wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along a direction with user input (scrolling to increase the interface size while decreasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen (continued vertical scrolling moves the video window off the display; see Fig. 5C, paragraph 42) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include wherein, when the target picture moves to a second set position on the display interface, the target picture of the target video is hidden, and the target area is displayed in full screen, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 8, Law and Xiao disclose wherein, after the target area is displayed in full screen, the method further comprises:
in response to an operation of sliding the target area along the second direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the second direction, and concurrently controlling the playing interface for the target video to be restored and displayed on the display interface (vertical scrolling decreases the interface and moves the video window onto the display; see Xiao at Fig. 5A-C, paragraph 41-43).
As to claim 17, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases (scrolling to decrease interface size while increasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
As to claim 20, Law fails to specifically disclose in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases.
In an analogous art, Xiao discloses a system for displaying a fusion page interface including a target area and a target picture (video program window 115 displayed with user interface 120; Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 17, 41-42), wherein
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases (scrolling to increase interface size while decreasing video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44), and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases (scrolling to decrease interface size while increasing the video window; see Fig. 5A-5C, paragraph 41-44) so as to allow the viewer to adjust the amount of available space to view and browse the information (paragraph 42-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion page interface along a first direction, controlling the target area to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed increases, and concurrently controlling the target picture of the target video to move on the display interface along the first direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed decreases, and/or
in response to an operation of sliding a preset area in the fusion interface along a second direction, the target area is controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a first area where the target area is displayed decreases, and the target picture of the target video is concurrently controlled to move on the display interface along the second direction, so that a second area where the target picture is displayed increases, as taught in combination with Xiao, for the typical benefit of providing a more user friendly display which allows the viewer to adjust the amount of space to view and browse available options (paragraph 42-43).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law in view of Seo et al. (Seo) (US 2018/0033164).
As to claim 2, while Law discloses wherein, in the fusion-page interface, the target area and the target picture of the target video are connected, they fail to specifically disclose a gradient layer.
In an analogous art, Seo discloses a display system displaying a first area and a second area connected via a gradient layer (see Fig. 12B, 13D-E; paragraph 132-136, 162-164) so as to contrast the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Law’s system to include a gradient layer, as taught in combination with Seo, for the typical benefit of better contrasting the second image area from the first image area (paragraph 162).
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424