DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
CLAIMS 1 AND 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoller et al. (US 2017/0049044 A1).
Stoller et al. ‘044 (“Stoller”) teaches an agricultural implement (Fig. 29), comprising:
CLAIM 1 at least one row unit (200), each said at least one row unit including an opening assembly (234) and a seed delivery device (32), the opening assembly configured to open a seed trench (38) in a soil surface and the seed delivery device configured to deposit seed in said open seed trench as the agricultural implement travels in a forward direction of travel;
an image capture device disposed (8020) on said at least one row unit to capture images of said open seed trench looking down from above said open seed trench after the seed is deposited in said open seed trench; and
a processor (50, [0064]) in data communication with said image capture device, said processor configured to analyze said captured images from said image capture device to determine agronomic properties of said open seed trench, said agronomic properties selected from the group consisting of: trench depth, trench collapse percentage and trench shape ([0064]);
CLAIM 6 further comprising: a row cleaner assembly ([0077]) disposed forward of said opening assembly (234) of said at least one row unit (200), said row cleaner assembly disposed to engage the soil surface to move soil and residue from the soil surface laterally with respect to the forward direction of travel and forward of said opening assembly;
CLAIM 7 wherein said image capture device (8020) captures images of said soil surface a distance laterally to each side of said open seed trench and wherein said processor is further configured to analyze said captured image to detect a presence of an extra trench laterally of said open seed trench produced by said row cleaner assembly ([0164]);
CLAIM 8 further comprising a sensor (350) mounted to the agricultural implement and oriented toward the soil surface forward of said row cleaner assembly to detect soil mounds forward of said row cleaner assembly; and
CLAIM 9 wherein said sensor comprises LIDAR.
CLAIM 10 Stoller discloses all of the limitations of the claimed method, including the controller functionality of adjusting the trench depth ([0064]).
CLAIM 11 Stoller discloses all of the limitation of the claimed method, including the generation of seed pulses ([0106]-[0114]).
Allowable Subject Matter
CLAIMS 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
III. § 102 REJECTIONS
With respect to each of independent CLAIMS 1, 10 AND 11, Applicant argues Stoller fails to teach “an image capture device disposed on said at least one row unit to capture images of said open seed trench looking down from above said open seed trench after the seed is deposited in said open seed trench.” The examiner contends the prior art image capture device (Stoller, 8020) is taught expressly as capable of capturing images of “the bottom of the trench and/or the upper surface of the soil surface 40” ([0164]). Additionally, Stoller teaches the image capture device “is mounted forward of the closing system 236 and rearward of a leading edge of the opening discs 244” ([0164]). Thus, at least a portion of the prior art image capture device looks down from above the open trench after deposition of the seed. If not, the soil surface would not be within field of view of the prior art device (Stoller, 8020).
The rejection of the claims is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARA MAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/tm/
21 June 2026