DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “the plasma assembly”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the plasma assembly in previous claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by European Patent Application(EP1367331A1).
European Patent Application in figure 2 teaches an air purifier, comprising a casing(housing 18), an air inlet(outside air inlet opening 48), a first air outlet(outlet downstream of condenser 32) and a second air outlet(supply air outlet opening 43), wherein air ducts are arranged in the casing, the air inlet, the first air outlet and the second air outlet are provided on the casing, a first air duct of the air ducts is arranged between the air inlet and the first air outlet(noting arrows indicating airflow from outside air inlet opening 48 to outlet downstream of condenser 32) , a second air duct of the air ducts is arranged between the air inlet and the second air outlet(noting arrows indicating airflow from outside air inlet opening 48 to supply air outlet opening 43), the first air duct and the second air duct are arranged in the casing, a first fan(radial fan 44) is arranged in the first air duct, and a second fan(axial fan 42) is arranged in the second air duct.
With regards to claim 2, European Patent Application further teaches at least one of a functional purifying member(filter 39) and a fragrance diffuser, wherein at least one pluggable opening(pluggable opening covered by rear side 22 ) is provided on the casing, and the functional purifying member and/or the fragrance diffuser passes through the at least one pluggable opening so as to be mounted in the air duct by means of a limiting structure(para 0015 stating “it will be appreciated that this air filter 39 may be easily exchanged from the rear side 22 of the housing 18”).
With regards to claim 3, European Patent Application further teaches wherein the functional purifying member comprises at least one of a primary-efficiency filter screen, a high-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter screen and an ozone removal screen.
With regards to claim 14, European Patent Application further teaches wherein power of the second fan is higher than power of the first fan; and/or the first air duct and the second air duct each correspond to at least one pluggable opening.
Claims 1-3,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Chinese reference(CN108113557A)
Chinese reference in figure 1 teaches an air purifier, comprising a casing(dryer main body 1), an air inlet(unnumbered lower air inlet in figure 1), a first air outlet(unnumbered lower air outlet in figure 1) and a second air outlet(unnumbered upper air outlet downstream of air purifier 2), wherein air ducts are arranged in the casing, the air inlet, the first air outlet and the second air outlet are provided on the casing, a first air duct of the air ducts is arranged between the air inlet and the first air outlet(noting arrows indicating airflow from first air inlet to through first air passage 101 to first air outlet) , a second air duct of the air ducts is arranged between the air inlet and the second air outlet(noting arrows indicating airflow from air inlet 1021 to second air passage 102 to second air outlet), the first air duct and the second air duct are arranged in the casing, a first fan(first fan 3) is arranged in the first air duct, and a second fan(second fan 4) is arranged in the second air duct.
With regards to claim 2, Chinese reference further teaches at least one of a functional purifying member(air purifier 2 noted to be an ozone generator) and a fragrance diffuser, wherein at least one pluggable opening(pluggable opening covered by upper cover ) is provided on the casing, and the functional purifying member and/or the fragrance diffuser passes through the at least one pluggable opening so as to be mounted in the air duct by means of a limiting structure(upper cover).
With regards to claim 3, Chinese reference further teaches wherein the functional purifying member comprises at least one of a primary-efficiency filter screen, a high-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter screen and an ozone removal screen.
With regards to claim 14, Chinese reference further teaches wherein power of the second fan is higher than power of the first fan; and/or the first air duct and the second air duct each correspond to at least one pluggable opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7,9-11,13,16, 18-20,22,24,27,28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the limiting structure comprises a limiting plate, the limiting plate is connected to the functional purifying member, the limiting plate is located outside the pluggable opening, and the casing supports the limiting plate; and/or
the functional purifying member is in interference fit with the pluggable opening; and/or the limiting structure comprises at least two limiting convex ribs, the at least two limiting convex ribs are arranged on an inner side wall of the air duct, the at least two limiting convex ribs are arranged opposite each other, and the functional purifying member is located between the at least two limiting convex ribs; and/or the limiting structure is a limiting groove, and the limiting groove is formed on the inner side wall of the air duct in an outward protrusion manner.”. European Patent Application and Chinese reference teaches a limiting structure, however European Patent Application and Chinese reference does not teach or suggest wherein the limiting structure comprises a limiting plate, the limiting plate is connected to the functional purifying member, the limiting plate is located outside the pluggable opening, and the casing supports the limiting plate; and/or the functional purifying member is in interference fit with the pluggable opening; and/or the limiting structure comprises at least two limiting convex ribs, the at least two limiting convex ribs are arranged on an inner side wall of the air duct, the at least two limiting convex ribs are arranged opposite each other, and the functional purifying member is located between the at least two limiting convex ribs; and/or the limiting structure is a limiting groove, and the limiting groove is formed on the inner side wall of the air duct in an outward protrusion manner. Claim 5 depends on claim 4 would also be allowable upon incorporation of claims 2 and 4 into claim 1.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the limiting structure comprises a mounting frame, the mounting frame is hung in the pluggable opening, and the fragrance diffuser is arranged on the mounting frame.”. European Patent Application and Chinese reference teaches a limiting structure, however European Patent Application and Chinese reference does not teach or suggest wherein the limiting structure comprises a mounting frame, the mounting frame is hung in the pluggable opening, and the fragrance diffuser is arranged on the mounting frame. Claims 7,13 depends on claim 6 would also be allowable upon incorporation of claims 2 and 6 into claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the limiting structure comprises a limiting chamber, the limiting chamber is located in the air duct, the fragrance diffuser sequentially passes through the pluggable opening and a first opening of the limiting chamber so as to enter the limiting chamber, an air hole is provided on a side wall of the limiting chamber, and the air duct passes through the air hole.”. European Patent Application and Chinese reference teaches a limiting structure, however European Patent Application and Chinese reference does not teach or suggest wherein the limiting structure comprises a limiting chamber, the limiting chamber is located in the air duct, the fragrance diffuser sequentially passes through the pluggable opening and a first opening of the limiting chamber so as to enter the limiting chamber, an air hole is provided on a side wall of the limiting chamber, and the air duct passes through the air hole. Claims 10 and 11 depends on claim 9 would also be allowable upon incorporation of claims 2 and 9 into claim 1.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the casing comprises: an outer casing, wherein the air inlet, the second air outlet and the first air outlet are provided on the outer casing, and the second air duct and the first air duct are arranged in the outer casing; a second inner casing, wherein the second air duct penetrates the second inner casing; and a first inner casing, wherein the first air duct penetrates the first inner casing.”. European Patent Application and Chinese reference teaches an outer casing, wherein the air inlet, the second air outlet and the first air outlet are provided on the outer casing, and the second air duct and the first air duct are arranged in the outer casing , however European Patent Application and Chinese reference does not teach or suggest a second inner casing, wherein the second air duct penetrates the second inner casing; and a first inner casing, wherein the first air duct penetrates the first inner casing. Claims 18-20, 22,24,27,28 depend on claim 16 and would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 16 into claim 1.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
June 18, 2026