CTNF 18/726,140 CTNF 92669 Detailed Action Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation “ the connection body has a force receiving part that receives a force to make the connection body move in an axial direction of the tube ” which is unclear as to what is structurally required to meet “ has a force receiving part that receives a force ”. Examiner looks to the specification and [0067 connectors (Fig. 1: 61 and 62) on the connection body are the force receiving part. Claim 5 recites the limitation “ the force receiving part is a pulled part that is pulled in the axial direction of the tube, and the pulled part has: an advancing pulled part that is pulled in one direction along the axial direction of the tube; and a retracting pulled part ”, which is unclear as the element of a “ force receiving part ” is changed to a “pulled part” and then to “an advancing pulled part ” and “ a retracting pulled part ”. For clarity a single term should be cited for a single element. Examiner suggests in the base claim to “ an advancing pulled part ” and “ a retracting pulled part ” that are connectors on the connection body. All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5 & 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN 104515807:”Guo” translation provided for citations) in view of Yamamoto (US 20190038257: “Yamamoto”) . Claim 1 . Guo discloses an ultrasonic phased array inspection device (1), comprising: a plate (Figs. 2, 3 & 15: plate 2) extending along an inner circumferential surface of a tube (14) [0048](Fig. 1 shows the extension of the rim of plate 2 with tip array probe from the probe base 13 in the inner circumferential surface 13) an array probe (15) that is disposed on the plate (2)[0048: phased array probe assembly 2 in circumferential direction focusing collecting for electronic focusing technology, the principle shown in FIG. 3, designing the corresponding focus control phased array probe a plurality of independent emitting piezoelectric wafer 15, array ] and sends and receives an ultrasonic wave based on a phased array (15) technique [0048: mitting piezoelectric wafer 15, array of each unit transmitting ultrasonic wave is overlapped to form a new wavefront so that the specific position focused, at the same time, the reflection wave received in this process, according to a certain rule and the time sequence control signal received by the receiving unit and synthesis, and finally reach the synthesis result of the acoustic beam]; and a connection body (13) that is connected to the plate (2, 3 & 4) , wherein the array probe (15) has a set of a predetermined number of piezoelectric elements (15) [0096: This cylindrical phased array probe assembly consists of four phased array probes (2-5) with 128 array elements each] arranged in an inner circumferential direction of the tube (14) (Fig. 3)[0096], and the connection body (13) has a force receiving part (9) that receives a force (6) to make the connection body (13) move in an axial direction of the tube (14)[0047]. Guo does not explicitly disclose: The plate is a flexible plate Yamamoto teaches a plate (56) [0071] for an ultrasonic phased array inspection device [0058: and a flexible part 43 that couples a proximal end side of the bending part 42 and a distal end side of the operating part 24 to each other and is thin, elongated, and flexible, sequentially from the distal end side]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Yamamoto’s flexible plate board for the ultrasonic array support with Guo’s ultrasonic support because the flexible support board improves the reliability of the ultrasonic device scan by contouring to a bending path while still scanning and without damage to the path or the device [Yamamoto 0082]. Claim 2 . Dependent on the ultrasonic phased array inspection device according to claim 1. Guo further discloses the array probe (15) has a plurality of array probes [0096: approx. 8 per probe], and the plurality of array probes [0096: 16 probes to equal 128 piezo elements] are located at different positions in the axial direction of the tube (14) (Fig. 3)[0048][0096]. Claim 3 . Dependent on the ultrasonic phased array inspection device according to claim 2. Guo further discloses the plurality of array probes [0096: 16 probes to equal 128 piezo elements] cover at least an entire length in the inner circumferential direction of the tube (14)[0096]. Claim 5 . Dependent on the ultrasonic phased array inspection device according to claim 1. Guo further discloses the force receiving part (9) is a pulled part [0047] that is pulled (6) in the axial direction of the tube (14)[0047], and the pulled part (9) has: an advancing pulled part (12 right) that is pulled in one direction (Fig. 1: 9 the one on the left of connection member 5 to pull one way and one on the right of connection member 5 a retracting pulled part) along the axial direction of the tube (14); and a retracting pulled part (12 left) that is pulled in another direction along the axial direction of the tube (14) (Fig. 1: 9 the one on the left of connection member 5 to pull one way and one on the right of connection member 5 a retracting pulled part) . Claim 7 . Dependent on an ultrasonic phased array inspection method that uses the ultrasonic phased array inspection device according to claim 1. Guo further discloses flaw detection and/or thickness measurement with the array probe (15) while moving [0046-0047] the connection body (13)[0083, 0090 & 0094 wall thickness] & [0020 & 0046: corrosion and flaws]. Claim 8 . Dependent on an ultrasonic phased array inspection method that uses the ultrasonic phased array inspection device according to claim 5. Guo further discloses installing the connection body (13) at one end of the tube (14); moving the connection body (13) from the one end to another end of the tube (14) by pushing the retracting pulled part (12 left) of the connection body (13)[0047]; and performing flaw detection and/or thickness measurement [0083, 0090 & 0094 wall thickness] & [0020 & 0046: corrosion and flaws] with the array probe (15) while moving the connection body (13) from the another end to the one end of the tube (14) by pushing the advancing pulled part (12 right) of the connection body (13) [0047]. Guo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose: moving the connection body from the one end to another end of the tube by pulling the retracting pulled part of the connection body. The moving of the connection body by pulling instead of by pushing requires an obvious reversal of parts with the advanced pulled part placed on the opposite side of the connection body and pulling on the retracting pulled part. Since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, USPQ 167, the reversing of the advance pulled part to the other end of the connection body and pulled part is not a patentably distinct feature. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Guo’s crawl robot to pull on the opposite side of a connection member and with retracting centering guide to pull the ultrasonic phased array inspection device rather than push because the pulling improves maintainability by placing the drive in the lead position for efficient retrieval in when a failure of the crawl robot occurs . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Hideyuki (JP 4472069: “Hideyuki” translation provided for citations) . Claim 4 . Dependent on the ultrasonic phased array inspection device according to claim 1. Guo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose: a hydrophilic protection film that protects the array probe. Hideyuki teaches the ultrasonic observation unit 29 having a plurality of array elements arranged on the capsule body 22A constituting the side peripheral surface [0038]. Hideyuki further teaches the probe (10) has a hydrophilic protection film that protects the array probe (10) [0021: Furthermore, a hydrophilic polymer coat, which is a lubricating material, is applied to the surface of the oral capsule unit 10 composed of the transparent cover part 21 and the capsule body 22 shown in FIG. 3 and the surface of the traction protection tube 13. As a result, when the oral capsule part 10 is swallowed, the water of the human body and the hydrophilic polymer are combined and a film of water is formed on the surfaces of the oral capsule part 10 and the traction protection tube 13]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hideyuki’s hydrophilic protection film on a probe surface with Guo’s, as modified probe surfaces because a hydrophilic protection layer improves reliability of the probe by increasing the exterior softness, lubricity and anti-fogging of surfaces reducing error inducing stiction and fogging [Hideyuki 0021] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo in view of Yamamoto and in further view of Sudo (JP-H0648184: “Sudo” translation provided for citations) . Claim 6 . Dependent on the ultrasonic phased array inspection device according to claim 5. Guo, as modified, does not explicitly disclose: Advancing the traction member for pulling the advancing pulled part; an advancing winding device that winds up the advancing traction member; a retracting traction member for pulling the retracting pulled part; and a retracting winding device that winds up the retracting traction member. Sudo teaches a probe for efficiently measuring the wall thickness of a pipe from inside the pipe using electromagnetic ultrasonic measurement [0001]. Sudo further teaches advancing the traction member (23a) for pulling the advancing pulled part (16); an advancing winding device (17) that winds up the advancing traction member (23a); a retracting traction member (24a) for pulling the retracting pulled part (13); and a retracting winding device (14) that winds up the retracting traction member (24a) [Page 6: The signal from probe 1 is taken to the ground via amplifier 12 and cable 13, and sent from cable winder 14 to signal processing device 15. Furthermore, a rope 16 is attached to one end of the probe 1, and the probe 1 can be freely moved within the pipeline 8 by winding up the rope 16 with a rope winding machine 17 installed on the ground]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Sudo’s pulled part cables on either side of Guo’s, as modified, elements of a connection member and traction members because the dual tension on the elements provides a stabilizing arrangement for moving the connection member [Sudo Page 3]. Prior Art Considered but not Utilized The prior art made of record and not relied upon and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided in the following table: Prior Art Document Identifier Inventor Comment US 5770800 Jenkins; Charles F. A flexible, modular ultrasonic pipe inspection apparatus, comprising a flexible, hollow shaft JP 2018136271 AOKI K The sensor (1) has a sensor unit (4) to receive a reflected wave of an ultrasonic wave and to transmit ultrasonic wave towards a piping from inside of the piping. CN 110672719 XI, Ze et al. a phased array ultrasonic detection device for detecting in the pipe. JP 2015099971 MORIYAMA NOBUHIRO et al. ultrasonic probe element that is deformable along the outer shape of a test object and uses a piezoelectric vibration element CN 216082606 LIU, YUN et al. phased array probe for ultrasonic inspection of heat transfer tube Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Monica S Young whose telephone number is (303)297-4785. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 08:30-05:30 MST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter Macchiarolo can be reached at 571-273-2375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MONICA S YOUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855 /PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 3 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 5 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 6 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 7 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 8 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 9 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/726,140 Page 10 Art Unit: 2855