DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment dated 8/27/2026 has been considered and entered into the record. Claim 16 has been amended to require 30–70 weight percent each of polymer components A and B, respectively, which overcomes the previous rejection based upon Katsuya. Accordingly, the previous prior art rejections based upon Katsuya are hereby withdrawn. Additionally, the previous indefinite rejections are overcome due to further amendment. Claim 18 is cancelled. New claim 36 has been added. Claims 16, 17, and 19–36 are pending, while claim 29 remains withdrawn from consideration. Claims 16, 17, 19–28, and 30–36 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 17, 19–21, 24, 26–28, 30, 32, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Garg (US 2023/0272567 A1) in view of Jin (KR 20160053235 A).
Garg teaches the formation of bi-component fibers comprising first and second regions used to make nonwoven fabrics, such as spunbond fabrics. Garg abstract, ¶¶ 1–6, 30–32. Each region comprises different polyethylene compositions and the polyethylene of the first region has a crystallization temperature difference from the crystallization temperature of the second region of at least 2oC and less than 30oC. Id. Each of the first and second regions in the bi-component fibers may comprise propylene homopolymer and propylene-a-olefin copolymer. Id. ¶ 43. The absolute values of the crystallization temperatures of the polymers used in the first and second regions are within the claimed range. See id. Tables 3–5. In inventive examples 1–4, the fibers have an excess of the polymer component with the lower crystallization temperature in the bi-component fiber. See id. Tables 3 and 4. Additionally, the melt indices and the Mw/Mn values of the polymers used to make the bi-component fibers fall within the claimed ranges. See id. As shown in Figure 1, the two polyethylene polymer components have a curvature with an interface line contained in a radial plane of the fibers, wherein the interface line has the shape of a single arc devoid of an in flection point at which the curvature changes sign. The weight ratio of the two polyethylene compositions may range from 60:40 to 40:60. Id. ¶ 24.
Garg fails to teach that the two polymer components have a curvature with an interface line contained in a radial plane of the fibers, wherein the curvature value = CD / AB ranges from 0.05 to 0.25, wherein CD represents the claimed bow height and AB represents a baseline length, wherein the interface line has the shape of a single arc devoid of an in flection point at which the curvature changes sign.
Jin teaches the formation of a side-by-side, multi-component fiber, wherein the fiber comprises two different polymer components having large differences in shrinkage leading to a crimped fiber. Jin abstract. The two polymer components have a curvature with an interface line contained in a radial plane of the fibers, wherein the curvature value = CD / AB
≤
0.6, wherein CD represents the claimed bow height and AB represents a baseline length, wherein the interface line has the shape of a single arc devoid of an in flection point at which the curvature changes sign. Id. ¶¶ 27, 53, Drawing 5. The weight ratio between the two polymer components ranges between 60:40 to 80:20. Id. Table 1.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have looked to Jin for guidance as to suitable bow height to baseline length ratios when making multi-component shrinkable fibers having curvature in order to successfully practice the invention of Garg.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have included an additional spunbond or meltblown nonwoven layer to make one the articles formed in Garg. See Garg ¶¶ 12, 17–19.
Claim(s) 22, 25, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gard and Jin as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2021/0395512 A1).
Garg and Jin fail to teach the use of nucleating agent and a visbreaking additive in the one or both of the polymer components of the bi-component fibers.
Wang teaches the creation of a polyolefin composition comprising a propylene copolymer and an ethylene-based plastomer. Wang abstract. The polyolefin composition may further comprise nucleating agents, such as sorbitols to assist in clarifying the polymer at levels as low as 1,000 ppm. Id. ¶¶ 128–130. The propylene copolymer requires a visbreaking step to finely tune its rheological profile by using peroxides. Id. ¶ 97.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the nucleating agent and visbreaking additive to the polymer components of the bi-component fibers motivated by the desire to clarify the polymer composition and fine-tune its rheological properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 31, and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16, 17, 19–28, and 30–36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786