Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 6068422) in view of Lester (US 2023/0191532) and Ohkawa (US 2020/0180346).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches a writing implement refill, comprising: an ink storage tube (22) made of a synthetic resin (col. 3, ll. 47-48), an inside of the ink storage tube being visible (col. 3, ll. 47-48); and an engraved mark (24) formed, on a surface of the ink storage tube.
Smith does not disclose that the engraved mark is formed by the synthetic resin being foamed or carbonized or both, wherein a reactive additive is blended in the synthetic resin, wherein the ink storage tube has a multilayer structure of two or more layers including an outermost layer and at least one inner layer located inside the outermost layer, and wherein the reactive additive is blended only in the inner layer.
Lester teaches forming an engraved mark on a synthetic resin by foaming, carbonizing, or both foaming and carbonizing the synthetic resin (¶0034) wherein a reactive additive is blended in the synthetic resin (¶0033).
Ohkawa teaches a multilayer structure of two or more layers including an outermost layer (7) and at least one inner layer (5) located inside the outermost layer, and only the inner layer is chromogenic.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the engraved mark of Smith by foaming, carbonizing, or both foaming and carbonizing the synthetic resin as taught by Lester, wherein doing so would merely be a matter of selecting a known method of engraving a mark on resin.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the ink tube of Smith to include an outermost layer and at least one inner layer located inside the outermost layer as taught by Ohkawa for the purpose of protecting the inner layer and the engraving (Ohkawa, layer 7 is a “transparent protective laminate member”, ¶0081). It therefore would have been obvious to for the ink tube of Smith such that the reactive additive is blended only in the inner layer so that the engraving would be under the protection of the outer layer.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Smith and Lester teaches the writing implement refill according to claim 1, wherein the engraved mark protrudes from the surface of the ink storage tube (this is a result of foaming the resin, which creates bubbles in the resin and produces a protruded mark).
Regarding claims 6-8, the combination of Smith and Lester teaches a method of engraving a writing implement refill according to claims 1-3, respectively, the method comprising forming the engraved mark by applying laser marking to the surface of the ink storage tube (Lester, ¶0034).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, Lester and Ohkawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shigeyasu (JP S5872084 U).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Smith and Lester teaches the writing implement refill according to claim 1, wherein: a color of an ink contained in the ink storage tube is visible from outside (the tube of Smith is transparent).
Smith and Lester do not teach that in addition to the engraved mark, an information identifier of a color of an identical tone to the color of the ink is formed on the surface of the ink storage tube.
Shigeyasu teaches an information identifier (5) that is a color of an identical tone to the color of the ink is formed on the surface of the ink storage tube.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an information identifier of a color of an identical tone to the color of the ink is formed on the surface of the ink storage tube for the purpose of conveying the maker’s gratitude (Shigeyasu, pg. 1 of the attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Smith, Lester, and Shigeyasu teaches a method of engraving a writing implement refill according to claim 4, the method comprising forming the engraved mark by applying laser marking to the surface of the ink storage tube (Lester, ¶0034).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ohkawa does not teach a reactive additive is only in the inner layer and points to Fig. 2 to support this argument.
In response, it is noted that the rejection points to layers 7 and 5, neither of which is present in Fig. 2. Figure 10, however, includes layers 7 and 5, and the markings 5a formed by a laser (¶0081).
Applicant argues that there is no teaching or suggestion to modify the refill of Smith with the teachings of Ohkawa.
In response, it is noted that Ohkawa teaches that the outer layer 7 is a protective layer. One of ordinary skill would understand that an outer protective layer could also be applied to the refill of Smith to protect the markings thereon.
In response to applicant's argument that the cited references do not recognize the advantageous results of the claimed invention, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754