Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Abbasi et al, US 10276336 [Abbasi].
Regarding claim 1, Abbasi discloses (figs.1-5) a circuit breaker (2) comprising:
an enclosure (4) for the circuit breaker (2);
a base assembly (14) installed in the enclosure (4) for each phase;
an exhaust duct (46) connected to an exhaust port (80) in the base assembly (14); and
a terminal part mount (24) coupled to a terminal part (18) of the enclosure (4) and connected to the exhaust duct (80),
where a center part exhaust groove (104, 105) is disposed in the exhaust duct (46), and
a center part exhaust hole (74) communicating with the center part exhaust groove (104, 105) is disposed through the terminal part mount (24).
Regarding claim 4., Abbasi further discloses wherein a guide wall (64) having a curved front surface part (97, 98) is disposed above the central part exhaust hole (70).
Regarding claim 8, Abbasi further discloses where a roof portion (233) having a 'V' shape or a 'U' shape is disposed on the two leg portions (231, 234).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbasi in view of Jang, US 9607794.
Regarding claim 2, Abbasi fails to explicitly disclose wherein a pair of terminal part exhaust pipes through which an arc gas is discharged are disposed in the terminal part for each phase,
the terminal part mount comprises a support disposed between the pair of terminal part exhaust pipes, and
the center part exhaust hole directing from inside toward outside of the enclosure is disposed in the support.
Jang discloses (figs.2-10) a circuit breaker where a pair of terminal part exhaust pipes (213) through which an arc gas is discharged are disposed in a terminal part (212) for each phase,
the terminal part (212) mount comprises a support (230) disposed between the pair of terminal part exhaust pipes (213), and
a center part exhaust hole (222) directing from inside toward outside of an enclosure (210) is disposed in the support (230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the terminal part of Abbasi with the teaching of the terminal part of Jang, thereby providing enclosed vent chutes integrated within the terminal part, however isolated from the terminal connection, thus avoiding arc debris from contaminating the terminal connection.
Regarding claim 7, Abbasi fails to disclose wherein a branch port having two leg portions is disposed in a rear portion of the exhaust duct, and a space between the two leg portions is the center part exhaust groove.
Jang discloses (figs.2-10) a circuit breaker where a branch port (233) having two leg portions is disposed in a rear portion of an exhaust duct (234), and a space between the two leg portions is the center part exhaust groove (243).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the terminal part of Abbasi with the teaching of the terminal part of Jang, thereby slowing down the arc gases prior to expulsion to the exterior of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 9, Abbasi fails to disclose wherein a plurality of cut grooves are disposed in an upper surface part of the exhaust duct.
Jang discloses (figs.2-10) a circuit breaker where a plurality of cut grooves (241) are disposed in an upper surface part of the exhaust duct (230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the terminal part of Abbasi with the teaching of the terminal part of Jang, thereby slowing down the arc gases prior to expulsion to the exterior of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 10, Abbasi discloses (figs.1-5) a circuit breaker (2) comprising:
an enclosure (4);
a base assembly (14) comprised in the enclosure (4) for each phase;
an exhaust duct (46) connected to an exhaust port (80) in the base assembly (140; and
a terminal part mount (24) coupled to a terminal part (18) of the enclosure (4) and connected to the exhaust duct (46), but silent on wherein a through hole is disposed between a pair of terminal part exhaust pipes located on the terminal part, a center part exhaust groove communicating with the through hole is disposed in the exhaust duct, and a center part exhaust hole communicating with the center part exhaust groove is disposed through the terminal part mount.
Jang discloses (figs.2-10) a circuit breaker where a through hole is disposed between a pair of terminal part exhaust pipes (213) located on a terminal part (212), a center part exhaust groove (242) communicating with the through hole (222) is disposed in an exhaust duct (230), and a center part exhaust hole (222)communicating with the center part exhaust groove (242) is disposed through the terminal part mount (212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the terminal part of Abbasi with the teaching of the terminal part of Jang, thereby providing enclosed vent chutes integrated within the terminal part, however isolated from the terminal connection, thus avoiding arc debris from contaminating the terminal connection.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbasi and Jang and further in view of Bausch et al, US 5811749 [Bausch].
Regarding claim 3, Abbasi and Jang disclose where the enclosure (Jang, 210) is equipped with the pair of terminal part exhaust pipes (213), but silent on a through hole disposed in a partition wall.
Bausch discloses (figs.1-9) an electrical switch where an enclosure (10) is equipped with a through hole (3) disposed in a partition wall (16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the terminal part of Abbasi with the teaching of the terminal part of Bausch, thereby ensuring rapid expulsion of the arc gases from interior of the enclosure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed circuit breaker where a portion of an upper surface of the exhaust duct, the portion being connected to the exhaust port, is disposed as a curved surface portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Eberts et al, Cassina et al, Oh, Cho, Wehr, Etscheidt et al and Fleege et al are examples of molded case circuit breaker configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831