DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 8-13, 15-are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Takeda #2 et al (US 2023/0246755 A1, Provisional application No. 63/079630, filed on September 17, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Takeda et al (US 2023/0136589 A1, Provisional application No. 63/272,977, filed on October 28, 2021) discloses a method for direct secondary cell (SCell) activation (see, direct second cell activation using temporary reference signals/tracking reference signals, section 0176), the method (see, fast SCell activation at the UE where the UE used a reference signals to perform time and frequency tracking and/or AGC during activation of the SCell, section 0156, 0176, 0189-measurements and/or adjust time tacking and/or frequency tracking and AGC) comprising:
receiving (see, the UE receives direct SCell activation using RRC signaling, section 00164, 0171) , by a user equipment (UE), radio resource control (RRC) command (see, RRC message which triggers the SCell activation, section 0151-0152) that
causes the UE to be configured to detect a tracking reference signal (TRS) transmission (see, fast SCell activation at the UE where the UE used a reference signals to time and frequency tracking and/or AGC during activation of the SCell, section 0156, 0176) of a
plurality of TRS transmission bursts (see, direct SCell activation using temporary reference signals/TRS, section 0147, 0151, noted: multiple reference signal burst in relation to SCell activation 0187-0189) broadcast by an access node (see, multiple tracking reference signals may be broadcast by SCell, section 0102, see, SCell activation using broadcasting signal, section 0130);
disregarding, by the UE, one or more TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS
transmission bursts that are received, by the UE, during processing of the received RRC
command (noted: the UE does not use the reference signal,, then the UE may have to wait until the next SSB to perform the time/frequency tracking and ACG for the activation of SCell, section 0187); and
after processing, by the UE, of the received RRC command (see, section 0054-the after the UE receives the activation of the SCell using temporary reference signals, transmits RRC complete message in relation to activation of Scell), decoding, by the UE, a TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that was received subsequent to
completion of processing of the received RRC command for automatic gain control (AGC) (see, the UE receives temporary reference signal from SCell that the UE uses to perform time and/or frequency tracking of the SCell, section 0054, 0093, 0188-0191-the UE uses the reference signal to perform time and frequency tacking and /or AGC for activation of the SCell).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Takeda ‘589 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each TRS transmission burst includes a plurality of TRS transmissions (see, multiple tracking reference signals may be broadcast by SCell, section 0102, see, SCell activation using broadcasting signal, section 0130).
Regarding claim 3 (Original) Takeda ‘589 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein decoding, by the UE, a TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command for AGC comprises: decoding, by the UE (see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103), a first TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command for AGC (see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103, noted: as mentioned above, the activation of SCell is received via MAC CE or RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended) Takeda ‘589 discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: decoding another TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command and completion of AGC for time/frequency (T/F) tracking (s(see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103, noted: as mentioned above, the activation of SCell is received via MAC CE or RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Takeda ‘589 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the received RRC command (noted: SCell activation using MAC CE or activation command, section 0127, see, RRC signaling identifying resources to be used, section 0123) further includes data corresponding to an offset value (see, DCI message indicating set of candidate reference signal/resources and timing offsets, section 0180), wherein the offset value is specified in units of slot relative to the slot in which the RRC command was received (see, time offsets in relation to resources to be used, the timing offsets defined a number of slots/TTIs, section 0180-0183).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Takeda ‘589 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the received RRC command further includes data (see, the tracking reference signals/reference signal may be triggered by a DCI, MAC CE, section 0102-0103, noted: SCell activation using MAC CE or activation command, section 0127, see, RRC signaling identifying resources to be used, section 0123) that causes the UE to enable semi-persistent TRS (SP-TRS) activation (see, the tracking reference signal as an aperiodic reference signal for SCell activation, section 0102-0103).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Takeda ‘589 discloses a user equipment (UE) for direct SCell activation (see, fast SCell activation at the UE where the UE used a reference signals to time and frequency tracking and/or AGC during activation of the SCell, section 0156, 0176, fig. 10, device 1005 as UE 115 that supports direct SCell activation, section 0216-0221) comprising: one or more processors (fig. 10, processor 1040 coupled to memory 1030, section 0216-0221); and one or more memory devices (fig. 10, see, memory 1030 which stores computer-readable instructions executed by the processor, section 0216-0221) storing instructions that (fig. 10, see, memory 1030 which stores computer-readable instructions executed by the processor, section 0216-0221), when executed by the one or more processors (fig. 10, see, memory 1030 which stores computer-readable instructions executed by the processor, section 0216-0221), cause the UE to perform operations (see, the device/UE that supports direct SCell activation using TRS/temporary reference signals, section 0216-0221), the operations (see, the UE/device via RRC signaling performs SCell activation using temporary reference signals/tracking reference signals, section0176-0177, 0216-0223, noted: time and frequency tracking and/or automatic gain control (AGC) during the activation of the SCell, section 0150-0153) comprising:
receiving (see, the UE receives direct SCell activation using RRC signaling, section 00164, 0171) , by a user equipment (UE), radio resource control (RRC) command (see, RRC message which triggers the SCell activation, section 0151-0152) that
causes the UE to be configured to detect a tracking reference signal (TRS) transmission (see, fast SCell activation at the UE where the UE used a reference signals to time and frequency tracking and/or AGC during activation of the SCell, section 0156, 0176) of a
plurality of TRS transmission bursts (see, direct SCell activation using temporary reference signals/TRS, section 0147, 0151, noted: multiple reference signal burst in relation to SCell activation 0187-0189) broadcast by an access node (see, multiple tracking reference signals may be broadcast by SCell, section 0102, see, SCell activation using broadcasting signal, section 0130);
disregarding, by the UE, one or more TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS
transmission bursts that are received, by the UE, during processing of the received RRC
command (noted: the UE does not use the reference signal,, then the UE may have to wait until the next SSB to perform the time/frequency tracking and ACG for the activation of SCell, section 0187); and
after processing, by the UE, of the received RRC command (see, section 0054-the after the UE receives the activation of the SCell using temporary reference signals, transmits RRC complete message in relation to activation of Scell), decoding, by the UE, a TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that was received subsequent to
completion of processing of the received RRC command for automatic gain control (AGC) (see, the UE receives temporary reference signal from SCell that the UE uses to perform time and/or frequency tracking of the SCell, section 0054, 0093, 0188-0191-the UE uses the reference signal to perform time and frequency tacking and /or AGC for activation of the SCell).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Takeda ‘579 discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein each TRS transmission burst includes a plurality of TRS transmissions (see, multiple tracking reference signals may be broadcast by SCell, section 0102, see, SCell activation using broadcasting signal, section 0130).
Regarding claim 10 (Original) Takeda ‘589 discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein decoding, by the UE, a TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command for AGC comprises: decoding, by the UE (see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103, noted: as mentioned above, the activation of SCell is received via MAC CE or RRC signaling), a first TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command for AGC (see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103, noted: as mentioned above, the activation of SCell is received via MAC CE or RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended) Takeda ‘589 discloses the UE of claim 8, the operations further comprising: decoding, by the UE, another TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command and completion of AGC for time/frequency (T/F) tracking (see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103, noted: as mentioned above, the activation of SCell is received via MAC CE or RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Takeda ‘589 discloses UE of claim 8, wherein the received RRC command (noted: SCell activation using MAC CE or activation command, section 0127, see, RRC signaling identifying resources to be used, section 0123) further includes data corresponding to an offset value (see, DCI message indicating set of candidate reference signal/resources and timing offsets, section 0180), wherein the offset value is specified in units of slot relative to the slot in which the RRC command was received (see, time offsets in relation to resources to be used, the timing offsets defined a number of slots/TTIs, section 0180-0183).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 8, wherein the received RRC command further includes data (see, the tracking reference signals/reference signal may be triggered by a DCI, MAC CE, section 0102-0103, noted: SCell activation using MAC CE or activation command, section 0127, see, RRC signaling identifying resources to be used, section 0123) that causes the UE to enable semi-persistent TRS (SP-TRS) activation (see, the tracking reference signal as an aperiodic reference signal for SCell activation, section 0102-0103).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Takeda ‘589 discloses one or more processors (fig. 10, processor 1040 coupled to memory 1030, section 0216-0221) comprising circuitry to execute one or more instructions that (fig. 10, see, memory 1030 which stores computer-readable instructions executed by the processor, section 0216-0221), when executed (fig. 10, see, memory 1030 which stores computer-readable instructions executed by the processor, section 0216-0221), cause the one or more processors to perform operations (see, the device/UE that supports direct Scell activation using TRS/temporary reference signals, section 0216-0221), the operations (see, the device/UE that supports direct Scell activation using TRS/temporary reference signals, section 0216-0221) comprising:
receiving (see, the UE receives direct SCell activation using RRC signaling, section 00164, 0171) , by a user equipment (UE), radio resource control (RRC) command (see, RRC message which triggers the SCell activation, section 0151-0152) that
causes the UE to be configured to detect a tracking reference signal (TRS) transmission (see, fast SCell activation at the UE where the UE used a reference signals to time and frequency tracking and/or AGC during activation of the SCell, section 0156, 0176) of a
plurality of TRS transmission bursts (see, direct SCell activation using temporary reference signals/TRS, section 0147, 0151, noted: multiple reference signal burst in relation to SCell activation 0187-0189) broadcast by an access node (see, multiple tracking reference signals may be broadcast by SCell, section 0102, see, SCell activation using broadcasting signal, section 0130);
disregarding, by the UE, one or more TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS
transmission bursts that are received, by the UE, during processing of the received RRC
command (noted: the UE does not use the reference signal,, then the UE may have to wait until the next SSB to perform the time/frequency tracking and ACG for the activation of SCell, section 0187); and
after processing, by the UE, of the received RRC command (see, section 0054-the after the UE receives the activation of the SCell using temporary reference signals, transmits RRC complete message in relation to activation of Scell), decoding, by the UE, a TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that was received subsequent to
completion of processing of the received RRC command for automatic gain control (AGC) (see, the UE receives temporary reference signal from SCell that the UE uses to perform time and/or frequency tracking of the SCell, section 0054, 0093, 0188-0191-the UE uses the reference signal to perform time and frequency tacking and /or AGC for activation of the SCell).
Regarding claim 16 (Previously Presented), Takeda ‘589 discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein each TRS transmission burst includes a plurality of TRS transmissions (see, multiple tracking reference signals may be broadcast by SCell, section 0102, see, SCell activation using broadcasting signal, section 0130).
Regarding claim 17 (Previously Presented) Takeda ‘589 discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein decoding a TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command for AGC comprises: decoding a first TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command for AGC (see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103, noted: as mentioned above, the activation of SCell is received via MAC CE or RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended) Takeda ‘589 discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, the operations further comprising: decoding another TRS transmission of the plurality of TRS transmission bursts that is received subsequent to completion of processing of the received RRC command and completion of AGC for time/frequency (T/F) tracking (see, the UE processes multiple pair of tracking reference signals, performs time and frequency tracking and/or ACG, section 0102-0103, noted: as mentioned above, the activation of SCell is received via MAC CE or RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 19 (Previously Presented), Takeda ‘589 discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein the received RRC command further includes data (see, the tracking reference signals/reference signal may be triggered by a DCI, MAC CE, section 0102-0103, noted: SCell activation using MAC CE or activation command, section 0127, see, RRC signaling identifying resources to be used, section 0123) corresponding to an offset value (see, DCI message indicating set of candidate reference signal/resources and timing offsets, section 0180), wherein the offset value is specified in units of slot relative to the slot in which the RRC command was received (see, time offsets in relation to resources to be used, the timing offsets defined a number of slots/TTIs, section 0180-0183).
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), Takeda ‘589 discloses the one or more processors of claim 15, wherein the received RRC command further includes data (see, the tracking reference signals/reference signal may be triggered by a DCI, MAC CE, section 0102-0103, noted: SCell activation using MAC CE or activation command, section 0127, see, RRC signaling identifying resources to be used, section 0123) that causes the UE to enable semi-persistent TRS (SP-TRS) activation (see, the tracking reference signal as an aperiodic reference signal for SCell activation, section 0102-0103).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babaei et al (US 2022/0330137 A1) discloses a wireless device that activates first secondary cell and the secondary cell based on activation command through MACE CE (section 0103-104, 0121, 0123, 0153-0160).
Babaei further discloses the use of tracking reference signal for SCell activation including automatic gain control (AGC), time/frequency tracking during SCell activation (section 0145-0148, 0150-0152, 0167-0342) and deactivation of SCell based on the MACE CE command indicating deactivation.
Babaei discloses ignoring of the MACE CE command during SCell activation (section 0194-0195, 0245, 0247, 0342).
Babaei et a (US 2022/0225215 A1) discloses ignoring of the MAC CE command that triggers the activation of SCell (section 0193-0195, 0199-0202, 0222-0240, 0245-0256) and activation of SCell based on aperiodic tracking reference signal (TRS) (section 0276-0283)
XU et al (US 2023/0043826 A1) discloses fast activation of SCell based on activation command using periodic TRSs/TRS occasions (section 0054-0120).
Takeda et al (US 2022/0085930 A1) discloses activation/deactivation of secondary serving cell (SCell), adjustment of ACG., time tracking, frequency tracking based on reference signals received (section 0144-0148, 0155-0313).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473