DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 7/2/24, wherein:
Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claims 4, 7, 9-10 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SALERNO ET AL (US 2021/0287836). Herein after SALERNO.
As for as claim 1, SALERNO discloses an electromechanical interactive module comprising: an origami parallel robot {see at least abstract, par. 0008, 0038, at least figures 27A-27G, 29C-29D, 46A-46C}; a base plate operatively coupled with a first end of the origami parallel robot {see at least figures 27C-27D, 29C-29D, pars. 0006, 0144 which discloses a base plate or platform 310 and also figures. 46A-46C, par. 0159}, and a distal plate operatively coupled with a second end of the origami parallel robot {see at least figures 27C-27D, 29C-29D, pars. 0143-0144 which discloses movable platform 380 and also figures 46A-46C, pars. 0159-0161}
As for claim 2, SALERNO discloses wherein the origami parallel robot comprises: n limbs or legs, with n being at least two, each limb {see at least figures 27C-27D, 29C-29D, 46A-46C comprising:
i) n basal linking members pivotally attached via basal hinge joints to a base plate at first ends of the basal linking members, with the basal hinge joints allowing a single DoF between each of the basal linking members and the base plate {see at least figures 27C-27D, 29C-29D, 46A-46C , pars. 0143-0144, 0159-0161};
ii) n distal linking members pivotally attached via distal hinge joints to a distal plate at first ends of the distal linking members, with the distal hinge joints allowing a single DoF between each of the distal linking members and the distal plate {see at least figures 27C-27D, 42A-42G, 46A-46C , pars, 0089, 0143-0144, 0155, 0159-0161}:
and a plurality of connecting member pairs, each member of the pairs being pivotally attached
i) at a first end, to a corresponding basal linking member at a second end of the corresponding basal linking member via a first hinge joint {see at least figures 1C, 4A, 27C-27D, 46A-46C, abstract, pars, 0015, 0074-0075, 0089, 0143-0144, 0155, 0159-0161}; and
ii) at a second end, to a corresponding distal linking member at a second end of the corresponding distal linking member via a second hinge joint each member of the pairs further comprising a third hinge joint, the first, second and third hinge joints of a limb intersecting in a spherical motion center of the limb {see at least figures 1C, 4A, 27C-27D, 29C-29D, 46A-46C , abstract, pars. 0015, 0074-0075, 0089, 0143-0144, 0159-0161}.
As for claims 3-4, SALERNO discloses N actuators, with N=n, mounted in fixed relationship relative to a base plate and being connected to the at least n basal linking members for pivoting the basal linking members about pivot axes of the basal linking members, wherein n = 3 {see at least figures 1A-1C, 4A pars. 0007, 0012-0013, 0015}.
As for claim 5, SALERNO discloses a plurality of electromechanical interactive modules of claim 1 {see at least figure 2, pars. 0013, 0064, 0080-0081, 0150}.
As for claim 6, SALERNO discloses wherein the modules comprise a rest position and at least one actuated position, and wherein, when all the modules of the array are in the rest position, the entire system forms a surface following the profile of a support it is located on {see at least figures 1B, 25, 28A-28D and pars. 0008, 0012, 0036, 0039}
As for claim 7, SALERNO discloses wherein at least some of the modules comprise a 3 degrees of freedom (DoF) origami parallel robot {see at least par. 0008, 0080}.
As for claim 8, SALERNO discloses wherein the origami parallel robot has 2 rotational DoF and 1 translational DoF {see at least pars. 0009}.
As for claim 9, SALERNO discloses wherein at least some of the modules further comprise an origami parallel robot having an additional rotational DoF, thereby forming a 4 DoF origami parallel robot {see at least pars. 0015, 0076 and figure 4A}.
As for claim 10, SALERNO discloses further comprising an operatively coupled computing device configured to control the movement of a module or the array of modules, the computing device comprising a memory and a processing unit encoding instructions that, when executed, cause the processing unit to control the module or array of modules {see at least figures 26A-26C, 44, pars. 0037, 0055, 0157}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al (US 2020/0130175): An artificial muscle system includes a collapsible skeleton, a flexible skin, and a muscle actuation mechanism.
Long (US 2012/007,9908): A parallel robot includes a base, a moving platform, an actuator and four control arms.
Rs et al (US 2017/0303965): Origami robots, systems, and methods of treatment.
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656