DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, applicant recites “the specific type is 'gpel', 'gpeg', 'gpcl', or 'gpcg’” with no explanation of what these specific terms or acronyms mean, which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “'gpel', 'gpeg', 'gpcl', or 'gpcg’” are not defined by the claim, and the specification does not explain these terms further, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination these terms are treated as generic placeholder labels for any number of categorization types, and their specific titles are arbitrary and a matter of design choice. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 5, applicant recites “the specific type is 'gpel', 'gpeg', 'gpcl', or 'gpcg’” with no explanation of what these specific terms or acronyms mean, which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “'gpel', 'gpeg', 'gpcl', or 'gpcg’” are not defined by the claim, and the specification does not explain these terms further, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination these terms are treated as generic placeholder labels for any number of categorization types, and their specific titles are arbitrary and a matter of design choice. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 7, applicant recites “the specific type is 'gpcb' or 'gpeb'” with no explanation of what these specific terms or acronyms mean, which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “'gpcb' or 'gpeb'” are not defined by the claim, and the specification does not explain these terms further, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination these terms are treated as generic placeholder labels for any number of categorization types, and their specific titles are arbitrary and a matter of design choice. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 10, applicant recites “the specific type is 'gpcb' or 'gpeb'” with no explanation of what these specific terms or acronyms mean, which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “'gpcb' or 'gpeb'” are not defined by the claim, and the specification does not explain these terms further, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination these terms are treated as generic placeholder labels for any number of categorization types, and their specific titles are arbitrary and a matter of design choice. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 12, applicant recites “the specific type is 'gpeb'” with no explanation of what this specific term or acronym means, which renders the claim indefinite. The term “'gpeb'” is not defined by the claim, and the specification does not explain the term further, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination this term is treated as a generic placeholder label for any number of categorization types, and the specific title is arbitrary and a matter of design choice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gudumasu et al. (US 20230281923 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Gudumasu et al. teaches a method performed by a reception device of point cloud data (abstract; Paragraph 32), the method comprising:
obtaining a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file including the point cloud data (Paragraph 159); and
reconstructing the point cloud based on temporal scalability information (Paragraph 159; Paragraphs 278-283),
wherein the temporal scalability information includes information about multiple temporal level tracks for the file, and wherein the information about multiple temporal level tracks is determined based on a sample entry type of a track (Paragraphs 95-97; Paragraphs 99-109).
Regarding Claim 2, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein if the sample entry type is a specific type and a value of the information about multiple temporal level tracks is a first value, it indicates that a single temporal level track is present for a bitstream of the G-PCC file (Paragraphs 95-97; Paragraphs 99-109).
Regarding Claim 3, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first value is 0 and the specific type is 'gpel', 'gpeg', 'gpcl', or 'gpcg' (Paragraphs 238-245; Paragraph 302; Paragraphs 314-317).
Regarding Claim 4, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein if the sample entry type is a specific type and a value of the information about multiple temporal level tracks is a second value, it indicates that multiple temporal level tracks are present for a bitstream of the G-PCC file (Paragraphs 95-97; Paragraphs 99-109).
Regarding Claim 5, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the second value is 1 and the specific type is 'gpel', 'gpeg', 'gpcl', or 'gpcg' (Paragraphs 238-245; Paragraph 302; Paragraphs 314-317).
Regarding Claim 6, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein if the sample entry type is a specific type and a value of the information about multiple temporal level tracks is a first value, it indicates that a tile track referred to by a tile base track includes samples of all temporal levels (Paragraphs 93-97; Paragraphs 99-109; Paragraphs 115-123; Paragraphs 283-292).
Regarding Claim 7, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first value is 0 and the specific type is 'gpcb' or 'gpeb' (Paragraphs 300-303).
Regarding Claim 8, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the sample entry type which is the specific type indicates that the track is a tile base track (Paragraphs 93-97; Paragraphs 99-109; Paragraphs 115-123; Paragraphs 283-292).
Regarding Claim 9, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein if the sample entry type is a specific type and a value of the information about multiple temporal level tracks is a second value, it indicates possibility of a temporal level tile track that does not include samples of all temporal levels (Paragraphs 93-97; Paragraphs 99-109; Paragraphs 115-123; Paragraphs 283-292).
Regarding Claim 10, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second value is 1 and the specific type is 'gpcb' or 'gpeb' (Paragraphs 300-303).
Regarding Claim 11, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the sample entry type which is the specific type indicates that the track is a tile base track (Paragraph 104).
Regarding Claim 12, Gudumasu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein if the sample entry type is a specific type and the track refers to two or more temporal level tracks of the same tile, the value of the information about multiple temporal level tracks is a first value, and wherein the first value is 1 and the specific type is 'gpeb' (Paragraphs 93-97; Paragraphs 99-109; Paragraphs 115-123; Paragraphs 238-245; Paragraphs 283-292; Paragraphs 300-303; Paragraph 318).
Method claim 13 is similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as cited above. Gudumasu et al. further teaches a method performed by a transmission device of point cloud data (Paragraphs 2-3; Paragraphs 32-34; Paragraphs 46-50; Paragraph 367).
Apparatus claims 14 and 15 are drawn to the methods of claims 1 and 13 above and have similar limitations which are rejected for the same reasons as above. Gudumasu et al. further teaches a reception device of point cloud data, the reception device comprising: a memory; and at least one processor; and a transmission device of point cloud data, the transmission device comprising: a memory; and at least one processor (Paragraphs 32-34; Paragraphs 45-50; Paragraphs 85-88; Paragraph 358; Paragraph 367).
Conclusion
/FARHAN MAHMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483