DETAILED ACTION
YThe present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This is a first office action for application Serial No. 18/726,259 filed on 07/02/2024. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: "A system comprising:
a plurality of smart cone devices, individual ones of the plurality of smart cone devices being configured to transmit smart cone device localization data;
a wearable device comprising a processor configured to transmit worker localization data for a worker wearing the wearable device and to receive alerts; and
a vehicle-to-everything base station comprising:
a computing system comprising at least one hardware processor and a memory to store program instructions executable by the at least one hardware processor that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to:
process the smart cone device localization data to define a virtual geofence boundary for a safe area;
process the worker localization data;
broadcast a location of the worker wearing the wearable device; and
in response to a vehicle or the worker approaching the virtual geofence boundary, provide an alert to at least one of: the worker wearing the wearable device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV)."
This language is vague and indefinite for at least the following reasons:
Subjective/Relative Terms: The term “approaching” is subjective and/or relative such that the scope of the term is vague and indefinite (i.e. the metes and bounds of the term are insufficiently defined such that persons of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the definitively precise scope of the term and claim as a whole). Furthermore, the term is not defined by the claim, and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Intended Use: The claim contains the following language that is vague and indefinite as it is unclear whether the scope of this language is intended to affirmatively require specific performance or whether this language is deliberately articulated as an expression of intended use:
“worker localization data for a worker wearing the wearable device”
“a memory to store program instructions”
“the smart cone device localization data to define a virtual geofence boundary for a safe area”
Accordingly, this language does not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference. See In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641; In re Yanush, 177 USPQ 705; In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530; In re Casey, 512 USPQ 235; In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458; Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2nd 1647.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"A system comprising:
a plurality of smart cone devices, individual ones of the plurality of smart cone devices being configured to transmit smart cone device localization data;
a wearable device comprising a processor configured to transmit worker localization data of a worker wearing the wearable device and to receive alerts; and
a vehicle-to-everything base station comprising:
a computing system comprising at least one hardware processor and a memory storing program instructions executable by the at least one hardware processor that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to:
of a safe area by processing the smart cone device localization data;
process the worker localization data;
broadcast a location of the worker wearing the wearable device; and
in response to a vehicle or the worker moving closer to a the virtual geofence boundary, provide an alert to at least one of: the worker wearing the wearable device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV)."
Claims 2-19 are further rejected as depending on this claim.
Claim 7 recites: "The system of claim 1, wherein the wearable device further comprises a human-machine interface output to alert the worker wearing the wearable device of a collision threat or a geofence boundary crossing by at least one of: auditory feedback, visual feedback, or tactile feedback."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The system of claim 1, wherein the wearable device further comprises a human-machine interface output [intended to alert the worker wearing the wearable device of a collision threat or a geofence boundary crossing by at least one of: auditory feedback, visual feedback, or tactile feedback]."
Claim 11 recites: "The system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to communicate with a vehicle in response to determining that the vehicle is approaching the safe area."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to communicate with a vehicle in response to determining that the vehicle is moving closer to the safe area."
Claim 12 recites: "The system of claim1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to alert a worker wearing the wearable device in response to at least one of: determining that the worker is approaching a boundary of the safe area, or determining that a vehicle is approaching or is near the boundary of the safe area."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The system of claim1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to alert a worker wearing the wearable device in response to at least one of: determining that the worker is moving closer to a boundary of the safe area, or determining that a vehicle is moving closer to or is within a predetermined distance of the boundary of the safe area."
Claim 13 recites: "The system of claim wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to use Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) and Real-Time Kinematic (RTK) technology to compute a precise worker localization inside the safe area and to generate a virtual geofence using the smart cone devices."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The system of claim wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to compute a precise worker localization inside the safe area and generate a virtual geofence using the smart cone devices, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) and Real-Time Kinematic (RTK) technology
Claim 14 recites: "The system of claim1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured with a cellular communications link to an off-site data center, to upload vehicle information, worker information, and work zone information or to retrieve vehicle information, worker information, and work zone information."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The system of claim1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured with a cellular communications link to an off-site data center, [intended to upload vehicle information, worker information, and work zone information or [intended to retrieve vehicle information, worker information, and work zone information]]."
Claim 17 recites: "The system of claim1, wherein the alert to the worker wearing the wearable device is in response to:
determining that the worker approaching or crossing the virtual geofence boundary defined as the safe area, or
determining that the CAV is on a trajectory to collide with the worker wearing the wearable device and that a minimum time-to-collision threshold between the CAV and the worker has been reached."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The system of claim1, wherein the alert to the worker wearing the wearable device is in response to:
determining that the worker moving closer to or crossing the virtual geofence boundary defined as the safe area, or
determining that the CAV is on a trajectory to collide with the worker wearing the wearable device and that a minimum time-to-collision threshold between the CAV and the worker has been reached."
Claim 19 recites: "The system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to communicate with cloud server applications via a cellular data interface to upload respective locations of a plurality of workers wearing respective wearable device, respective locations of the plurality of smart cone devices, and respective locations of one or more CAV-equipped vehicles near the safe area."
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim
above. Moreover, this language is further rejected as vague and indefinite for at least the following reasons:
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"The system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to communicate with cloud server applications via a cellular data interface [intended to upload respective locations of a plurality of workers wearing respective wearable device, respective locations of the plurality of smart cone devices, and respective locations of one or more CAV-equipped vehicles near the safe area]."
Claim 20 recites: "A method, comprising:
transmitting, by a plurality of smart cone devices, smart cone device localization data;
transmitting, by a wearable device, worker localization data for a worker wearing the wearable device;
processing, by a vehicle-to-everything base station, the smart cone device localization data to define a virtual geofence boundary for a safe area;
processing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, the worker localization data;
broadcasting, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, a location of the worker wearing the wearable device; and
in response to a vehicle or the worker approaching the virtual geofence boundary, providing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, an alert to at least one of: the worker wearing the wearable device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV).”
This language is also rejected as vague and indefinite for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
"A method, comprising:
transmitting, by a plurality of smart cone devices, smart cone device localization data;
transmitting, by a wearable device, worker localization data of a worker wearing the wearable device;
defining a virtual geofence boundary of a safe area by processing, via a vehicle-to-everything base station, the smart cone device localization data;
processing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, the worker localization data;
broadcasting, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, a location of the worker wearing the wearable device; and
in response to a vehicle or the worker moving closer to the virtual geofence boundary, providing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, an alert to at least one of: the worker wearing the wearable device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ong (US 2022/0046381 A1) in view of Long (CN 112802342 A. For purposes of this examination, Examiner will refer to the English language translation of this reference provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Ong discloses a system (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1, and related text) comprising:
a plurality of smart cone devices (e.g. at least roadside unit (RSU) 195, traffic lights 124-B, cameras 122-B, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 18, 30, Fig. 1, and related text), individual ones of the plurality of smart cone devices being configured to transmit smart cone device localization data (see e.g. at least ¶ 69, 101, Fig. 1, 3-4, and related text);
a mobile device comprising a processor configured to transmit pedestrian localization data of a pedestrian associated with the mobile device and to receive alerts (e.g. at least mobile communication devices 120, see e.g. at least ¶ 30, Fig. 1, and related text); and
a vehicle-to-everything base station (e.g. at least base station 135, multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) device 145, device 200, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 30, 52, Fig. 1-2, and related text) comprising:
a computing system comprising at least one hardware processor (e.g. at least processor 220, see e.g. at least ¶ 52, Fig. 2, and related text) and a memory storing program instructions executable by the at least one hardware processor (e.g. at least memory 230, id.) that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to:
define a virtual geofence boundary of a safe area by processing the smart cone device localization data (see e.g. at least ¶ 68-69, 73, Fig. 3-4A, and related text);
process the pedestrian localization data (see e.g. at least ¶ 28, 63, 68, 74, 78, 89, 101-102, 113, Fig. 4A-5, 10, and related text);
broadcast a location of the pedestrian associated with the mobile device (id.); and
in response to a vehicle or the pedestrian moving closer to a the virtual geofence boundary, provide an alert to at least one of: the pedestrian associated with the mobile device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV) (id.).
Additionally, Long teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Ong including namely: a wearable [device comprising a processor configured to transmit] worker [localization data of a] worker wearing the wearable [device and to receive alerts] (e.g. at least smart vest device (a.k.a. intelligence vest device, wearable intelligent waistcoat device) 2, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 31, Fig. 1-2, 4, and related text);
[broadcast a location of the] worker wearing the wearable [device] (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 39-40, 113, Fig. 10, and related text);
[in response to a vehicle or the] worker [moving closer to a the virtual geofence boundary, provide an alert to at least one of: the] worker wearing the wearable device, [a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV)] (id.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Ong by configuring a wearable device comprising a processor configured to transmit worker localization data of a worker wearing the wearable device and to receive alerts; broadcast a location of the worker wearing the wearable device; and in response to a vehicle or the worker moving closer to a the virtual geofence boundary, provide an alert to at least one of: the worker wearing the wearable device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV) as taught by Long in order to ensure the safety of road maintenance personnel using simple, compact, comfortable, and unobtrusive wearable equipment that is highly intelligent (Long: ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station supports Cellular Vehicle-to-Everything (C-V2X/PC5) communications and packet exchange for Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) J2735 Basic Safety Messages (BSMs) and Personal Safety Message (PSMs) between CAVs and the worker wearing the wearable device (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 19; Long: see e.g. at least Fig. 1, and related text).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station further comprises a cellular communications link to transmit data including Basic Safety Messages (BSMs) and Personal Safety Messages (PSMs) to a cloud work zone information system (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 25; Long: see e.g. at least Fig. 1, and related text).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Ong teaches that the computing system is further configured to receive locations of at least one CAV that is out of range of the vehicle-to-everything base station (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 17-21; Long: see e.g. at least Fig. 1, and related text).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Ong teaches that the computing system is further configured to broadcast information about at least one of:
a work zone geometry (Ong: see e.g. at least Fig. 10, and related text),
a reduced speed limit (Ong: id.), or
a hazard to passing vehicles within range (Ong: id.).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Ong teaches that the processor of the wearable device is further configured to predict a potential collision between the worker wearing the wearable device and the passing motorist (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 16, 29, 81, 109; Long: see e.g. at least ¶ 31-32, Fig. 1, and related text).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Ong teaches that the wearable device further comprises a human-machine interface output [intended to alert the worker wearing the wearable device of a collision threat or a geofence boundary crossing by at least one of: auditory feedback, visual feedback, or tactile feedback] (Ong: see e.g. at least Fig. 1, and related text; Long: see e.g. at least ¶ 10, 31-32, Fig. 1-4, and related text).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Ong teaches that the individual ones of the plurality of smart cone devices comprise a respective add-on hardware component configured to be attached to a work zone drum or a work zone cone (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 34, 52, 62, 85, Fig. 2, 4A, 5, and related text).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Ong teaches that a boundary of the safe area is dynamically adjusted based at least in part on a work zone configuration (Ong: see e.g. at least 59, 67, 74, 83, 93, Fig. 10, and related text).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Ong teaches that one or more of the plurality of smart cone devices are configured to act as a repeater or a router on a wireless mesh network (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 38).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to communicate with a vehicle in response to determining that the vehicle is moving closer to the safe area (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 113, Fig. 10, and related text).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to alert a worker wearing the wearable device in response to at least one of: determining that the worker is moving closer to a boundary of the safe area, or determining that a vehicle is moving closer to or is within a predetermined distance of the boundary of the safe area (Ong: see e.g. at least ¶ 31, 39-40, 103, 113, Fig. 1-2, 4, 10, and related text).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to compute a precise worker localization inside the safe area and generate a virtual geofence using the smart cone devices, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) and Real-Time Kinematic (RTK) technology (see e.g. at least ¶ 31, 91, 101).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured with a cellular communications link to an off-site data center, [intended to upload vehicle information, worker information, and work zone information or [intended to retrieve vehicle information, worker information, and work zone information]] (see e.g. at least ¶ 19-21, 33, Fig. 1, 10, and related text).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to provide one or more alerts to work zone workers and passing motorists including connected and automated vehicles (CAVs) in response to determining that a potential collision is imminent, or in response to determining that the worker is about to cross the virtual geofence boundary (see e.g. at least ¶ 47, 64, 80, 100, 113, Fig. 10, and related text).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Ong teaches that the wearable device comprises a safety vest device or a safety helmet device (Long: see e.g. at least Fig. 1, and related text).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Ong teaches that the alert to the worker wearing the wearable device is in response to:
determining that the worker moving closer to or crossing the virtual geofence boundary defined as the safe area (Long: see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 31, 39-40, 103, 113, Fig. 1-2, 4, 10, and related text), or
determining that the CAV is on a trajectory to collide with the worker wearing the wearable device and that a minimum time-to-collision threshold between the CAV and the worker has been reached (Long: see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 31, 39-40, 103, 113, Fig. 1-2, 4, 10, and related text).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to broadcast respective locations of a plurality of workers wearing respective wearable devices to one or more CAV within range of the vehicle-to-everything base station (Ong: see also e.g. at least ¶ 39-40, 113, Fig. 10, and related text; Long: see e.g. at least Fig. 1, 4, and related text).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Ong teaches that the vehicle-to-everything base station is further configured to communicate with cloud server applications via a cellular data interface [intended to upload respective locations of a plurality of workers wearing respective wearable device, respective locations of the plurality of smart cone devices, and respective locations of one or more CAV-equipped vehicles near the safe area] (Ong: see also e.g. at least ¶ 39-40, 113, Fig. 1, 10, and related text; Long: see e.g. at least Fig. 1, 4, and related text)..
Regarding claim 20, Long discloses a method (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 6, and related text), comprising:
transmitting, by a plurality of smart cone devices (e.g. at least roadside unit (RSU) 195, traffic lights 124-B, cameras 122-B, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 18, 30, Fig. 1, and related text), smart cone device localization data (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 69, 101, Fig. 1, 3-4, and related text);
transmitting, by a mobile device (e.g. at least mobile communication devices 120, see e.g. at least ¶ 30, Fig. 1, and related text), pedestrian localization data of a pedestrian associated with the mobile device (id.);
defining a virtual geofence boundary of a safe area by processing, via a vehicle-to-everything base station (e.g. at least base station 135, multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) device 145, device 200, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 30, 52, Fig. 1-2, and related text), the smart cone device localization data (see e.g. at least ¶ 68-69, 73, Fig. 3-4A, and related text);
processing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, the pedestrian localization data (see e.g. at least ¶ 28, 63, 68, 74, 78, 89, 101-102, 113, Fig. 4A-5, 10, and related text);
broadcasting, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, a location of the pedestrian associated with the mobile device (id.); and
in response to a vehicle or the pedestrian moving closer to the virtual geofence boundary, providing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, an alert to at least one of: the pedestrian associated with the mobile device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV) (id.).
Additionally, Long teaches limitations not expressly disclosed by Ong including namely: [transmitting, by a] wearable device, worker [localization data of a] worker wearing the wearable [device] (e.g. at least smart vest device (a.k.a. intelligence vest device, wearable intelligent waistcoat device) 2, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 31, Fig. 1-2, 4, and related text);
[processing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, the] worker [localization data] (id.);
[broadcasting, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, a location of the] worker wearing the wearable [device] (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 39-40); and
[in response to a vehicle or the] worker [moving closer to the virtual geofence boundary, providing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, an alert to at least one of: the] worker wearing the wearable [device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV)] (id.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Ong by transmitting, by a wearable device, worker localization data of a worker wearing the wearable device; processing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, the worker localization data; broadcasting, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, a location of the worker wearing the wearable device; and in response to a vehicle or the worker moving closer to the virtual geofence boundary, providing, by the vehicle-to-everything base station, an alert to at least one of: the worker wearing the wearable device, a passing motorist, or a connected and automated vehicle (CAV) as taught by Long in order to ensure the safety of road maintenance personnel using simple, compact, comfortable, and unobtrusive wearable equipment that is highly intelligent (Long: ¶ 8).
Conclusion
/CHARLES J HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662