DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendments, filed July 02, 2024 are respectfully acknowledged and have been fully considered.
Claims 1-8 are amended.
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the gap" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 further recites the limitation “so as to obtain the same level of tightness at all times” in line 15. It is unclear, and not defined in the specification, where and relative to what a “level of tightness” is obtained, and once obtained, how that level remaining the same “at all times” is enabled versus any structure that enables a “level of tightness”. Examiner assumes any filling material filled between the upper and lower polymer parts obtain the same level of tightness at all times for examination purposes.
Further depending claims not mentioned inherit the deficiencies of their respective base claims and are rejected [objected to] under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutman et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20220157545 A1, hereinafter “Gutman”) in view of Solon (U.S. Patent Application 20110011642 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Gutman teaches an insulation structure (par 0013 Fig 1 device structure 1) for combining electrical connection zones (par 0022 Fig 1 combining electrical connection/mounting zones 38), by insulating them against external environmental conditions, in harsh outdoor working conditions (par 0013 Fig 1 the lower housing part 6 and the upper housing part 8 surround a housing volume 12, in which the electric components 2 are sealingly encased; par 0016 Fig 1 preventing any ingress of [external environmental] fluids into the housing 4 at an interface between upper housing part 8 and lower housing part 6 and therefore hermetically sealing [to protect it from external environmental conditions] the housing volume 12), the upper housing part 8 surround a housing volume 12, in which the electric components 2 are sealingly encased; par 0016 Fig 1 preventing any ingress of fluids into the housing 4 at an interface between upper housing part 8 and lower housing part 6 and therefore hermetically sealing [to protect it from external environmental conditions] the housing volume 12), the insulation structure comprising;
an upper polymer (par 0037 Fig 1 housing parts 6, 8 may be formed of a plastic [a subset of polymer] material) part (par 0013 Fig 1 upper housing part 8), which is connected to a lower polymer part by ultrasonic welding by closing the electrical element and the connection zone from the upper part (par 0013 Fig 1 a [par 0030 housing parts 6, 8 may be welded to one another via ultrasonic welding] weld 10 is formed between the lower housing part 6 and the upper housing part 8), in order to fix the electrical element (par 0013 Fig 1 the housing assembly on which at least one of the electric components 2 is supported/fixed) and to protect it from external environmental conditions (par 0013 Fig 1 the lower housing part 6 and the upper housing part 8 surround a housing volume 12, in which the electric components 2 are sealingly encased; par 0016 Fig 1 preventing any ingress of fluids into the housing 4 at an interface between upper housing part 8 and lower housing part 6 and therefore hermetically sealing [to protect it from external environmental conditions] the housing volume 12)
a lower polymer (par 0037 Fig 1 housing parts 6, 8 may be formed of a plastic [a subset of polymer] material) part (par 0013 Fig 1 lower housing part 6), which is connected to the upper polymer part by ultrasonic welding by closing the electrical element and the connection zone from the upper part (par 0013 Fig 1 a [par 0030 housing parts 6, 8 may be welded to one another via ultrasonic welding] weld 10 is formed between the lower housing part 6 and the upper housing part 8), in order to fix the electrical element (par 0013 Fig 1 on which at least one of the electric components 2 is supported/fixed) and to protect it from external environmental conditions (par 0013 Fig 1 the lower housing part 6 and the upper housing part 8 surround a housing volume 12, in which the electric components 2 are sealingly encased; par 0016 Fig 1 preventing any ingress of fluids into the housing 4 at an interface between upper housing part 8 and lower housing part 6 and therefore hermetically sealing [to protect it from external environmental conditions] the housing volume 12)
a filling material filled in the gap where the electrical element and the connection zone formed between the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part are located so as to obtain the same level of tightness at all times.
However, Gutman appears not to expressly teach the upper and lower polymer part to provide UV resistance; and
a filling material filled in the gap where the electrical element and the connection zone formed between the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part are located so as to obtain the same level of tightness at all times.
Solon teaches the upper and lower polymer part to provide UV resistance (par 0029 Fig 9E encasements/[upper and lower polymer parts] 50 are preferably polypropylene including UV stabilization/resistant agents); and
a filling material filled in the gap where the electrical element and the connection zone formed between the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part are located so as to obtain the same level of tightness at all times (par 0012 Fig 9E the section encompassing the exposed wire and weld is coated in a synthetic rubber sealant and allowed to cure).
Gutman and Solon are analogous art as they each pertain to insulation structures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulation structure of Gutman with the inclusion of the UV resistance and filling material arrangement of Solon. The motivation would have been in order to provide low leakage electrical joints and wire harnesses for simplifying the electrical infrastructure associated with solar energy utilities (Solon par 0002).
Regarding Claim 3 (Currently Amended), Gutman as modified teaches the insulation structure according to claim 1. However, Gutman as modified appears not to expressly teach further comprising
at least one first notch located in the electrical element placement region in the middle part of the upper polymer part so as to ensure the continuity, durability and sealing of the electrical element in the fastening of the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part.
Gutman teaches further comprising at least one fixing notch located in the electrical element placement area in the middle part of the lower polymer part so as to ensure the continuity, durability and sealing of the electrical element to the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part (Gutman par 0035 Fig 2 at least one slot-like pocket/ fixing notch 46 in the middle of the lower polymer housing sidewall 36; particles which arise during welding should be prevented from coming into contact with and damaging the electric components 2, therefore the inner gap 62 may open into the slot-like pocket 46. Thus, the inner wall 44 may act as a further barrier forming a maze-like pathway for the particles to come into contact with the electric components).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulation structure with lower housing notches for sonic welding of Gutman by reversing upper and lower housing structures to arrive at an insulation structure with upper housing notches for sonic welding because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended), Gutman as modified teaches the insulation structure according to claim 3. However, Gutman as modified appears not to expressly teach further comprising
a second notch positioned around the first notch in order to fully join the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part by ultrasonic welding.
Gutman teaches further comprising a second notch positioned around the first notch in order to fully join the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part by ultrasonic welding (Gutman par 0034 Fig 2 around the at least one fixing notch 46 resides a welding notch 52 in the middle of the lower polymer housing sidewall 36, par 0031).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulation structure with lower housing notches for sonic welding of Gutman by reversing upper and lower housing structures to arrive at an insulation structure with upper housing notches for sonic welding because such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended), Gutman as modified teaches the insulation structure according to claim 1, further comprising
at least one fixing notch located in the electrical element placement area in the middle part of the lower polymer part so as to ensure the continuity, durability and sealing of the electrical element to the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part (Gutman par 0035 Fig 2 at least one slot-like pocket/ fixing notch 46 in the middle of the lower polymer housing sidewall 36; particles which arise during welding should be prevented from coming into contact with and damaging the electric components 2, therefore the inner gap 62 may open into the slot-like pocket 46. Thus, the inner wall 44 may act as a further barrier forming a maze-like pathway for the particles to come into contact with the electric components).
Regarding Claim 6 (Currently Amended), Gutman as modified teaches the insulation structure according to claim 5, further comprising
a welding notch positioned around the at least one fixing notch in order to fully join the lower polymer part and the upper polymer part by ultrasonic welding (Gutman par 0034 Fig 2 around the at least one fixing notch 46 resides a welding notch 52 in the middle of the lower polymer housing sidewall 36, par 0031).
Regarding Claim 7 (Currently Amended), Gutman as modified teaches the insulation structure according to claim 1, further comprising
a polymer cap placed on the upper polymer part to protect the connection zones of the electrical elements from external environmental conditions and to provide UV resistance (Solon par 0029 Fig 9E teaches over molding/capping the solar connector assembly with preferably polypropylene including UV stabilization/resistant agents to provide UV resistance; such over molding solar connectors is similarly taught at US 20150005423 par 0107).
Gutman and Solon are analogous art as they each pertain to insulation structures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulation structure of Gutman with the inclusion of the provide UV resistant polymer capping of Solon. The motivation would have been in order to provide UV resistance to the connector (Solon par 0029).
Regarding Claim 8 (Currently Amended), Gutman as modified teaches the insulation structure according to claim 1, wherein
the filling material is fluid (par 0029 Fig 9D Solon suggests use of Plasti-Dip sealing coating, a coating fluid).
Gutman and Solon are analogous art as they each pertain to insulation structures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulation structure of Gutman with the inclusion of the fluid sealant of Solon. The motivation would have been in order to provide low leakage electrical joints and wire harnesses for simplifying the electrical infrastructure associated with solar energy utilities (Solon par 0002).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of, and overcoming any rejections to, the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 2:
While closest prior art Gutman (20220157545 A1) and Solon (20110011642 A1) teaches a portion of the limitations of Claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the particular limitations of Claim 2, namely "a notch positioned inside a polymer cap for full engagement with the upper polymer part by ultrasonic welding" in combination with all other limitations of the claim and of claims on which the claim depends.
Conclusion
/MARK EDWARDS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624