DETAILED ACTION
The following is final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 08/13/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 05/14/2026. Independent claims 16, 21, 26 and 32 are amended. Claim 29 is cancelled. Therefore, claims 16-28 and 30-36 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 21-23, 26-28 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (2024/0314804), Liu hereinafter. Liu teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claims 16 and 26, Liu teaches a method (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0047-¶0049/¶0071/¶0078) performed by a terminal (Fig.1/Fig. 6, UE) in a communication system (Fig. 1/Fig. 6), and a terminal (Fig.1/Fig. 6, UE ) in a communication system (Fig. 1/Fig. 6), the terminal comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 6,UE, transceiver); and a controller (Fig. 6, UE, Processor) configured to: receive, from a base station, configuration information including a plurality of unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0047 - the network explicitly indicates that the UE supports common beam (common TCI state) for all DL channels. The indication can be made by a RRC parameter. For example, a higher layer parameter enableCommonBeamForDL or enableCommonTCIStateForDL can be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate the UE that common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception is configured. In particular, the UE receives from the network (e.g. gNB) the higher layer parameter enableCommonBeamForDL or enableCommonTCIStateForDL set as ‘enabled’ to enable common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a carrier. Since a cell (serving cell) uses a carrier, ‘common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a carrier’ equals to ‘common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a serving cell’, where the carrier is used by the serving cell. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET; Fig. 1-6 & ¶0093 - The method 400 may include 402 receiving a higher layer parameter to enable common TCI state for DL reception for a serving cell),receive, from the base station, a parameter indicating a first unified TCI state or a second unified TCI state for a control resource set (CORESET) to be applied by a higher layer signaling (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET, while when the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘disabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is not contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - at least for one CORESET, tci-PresentInDCI should be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-1 transmitted from the one CORESET: or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 should be configured to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-2 transmitted from the one CORESET. For other CORESETs, tci-PresentInDCI can be set as ‘disabled’, or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 can be not configured. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0093 - The method 400 may include 402 receiving a higher layer parameter to enable common TCI state for DL reception for a serving cell), receive, from the base station, control information indicating the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state among the plurality of unified TCI states included in downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET, while when the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘disabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is not contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - at least for one CORESET, tci-PresentInDCI should be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-1 transmitted from the one CORESET: or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 should be configured to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-2 transmitted from the one CORESET. For other CORESETs, tci-PresentInDCI can be set as ‘disabled’, or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 can be not configured), identify which unified TCI state is applied to the CORESET based on the control information and the parameter (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET, while when the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘disabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is not contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - at least for one CORESET, tci-PresentInDCI should be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-1 transmitted from the one CORESET: or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 should be configured to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-2 transmitted from the one CORESET. For other CORESETs, tci-PresentInDCI can be set as ‘disabled’, or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 can be not configured)), and receive, from the base station, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on the CORESET based on the identified unified TCI state (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0071 – when the UE receives a DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or 1_2) containing the TCI field indicating a TCI codepoint, the UE determines the TCI state(s) for DL reception, … when the TCI codepoint points to one TCI state (which means that the DCI schedules a PDSCH transmission from only one TRP), the UE determines the common TCI state for DL reception … When the TCI codepoint points to two TCI states (which means that the DCI schedules a PDSCH transmission from two TRPs such as TRP #1 and TRP #2), the UE determines the common beam for DL reception from TRP #1 by taking the beam determined by the QCL-TypeD RS included in the first TCI state pointed to by the TCI codepoint as the new beam (i.e. determines the common TCI state for DL reception from TRP #1 by taking the first TCI state pointed to by the TCI codepoint as the new TCI state), and determines the common beam for DL reception from TRP #2 by taking the beam determined by the QCL-TypeD RS included in the second TCI state pointed to by the TCI codepoint as the new beam …when the TCI codepoint points to two TCI states, the two TCI states (that determine two new beams) only apply to dynamic scheduled PDSCH transmission (i.e. PDSCH transmission scheduled by DCI) and SPS-PDSCH transmission, while only the first indicated TCI state (or the TCI state with lower TCI stateId among the two indicated TCI states) applies to PDCCH transmission from CORESET(s) other than CORESET #0. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0078 - PDCCH transmitted from CORESET(s) configured with the same CORESETPoolIndex configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 containing TCI field indicating the common TCI state.)
Re. claims 21 and 32, Liu teaches a method (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0047-¶0049/¶0071/¶0078) performed by a base station (Fig.1/Fig. 6, gNB) in a communication system (Fig. 1/Fig. 6), and a base station (Fig.1/Fig. 6, gNB) in a communication system (Fig. 1/Fig. 6), the base station comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 6, gNB, transceiver); and a controller (Fig. 6, gNB, Processor) configured to: transmit, to a terminal, configuration information including a plurality of unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0047 - the network explicitly indicates that the UE supports common beam (common TCI state) for all DL channels. The indication can be made by a RRC parameter. For example, a higher layer parameter enableCommonBeamForDL or enableCommonTCIStateForDL can be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate the UE that common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception is configured. In particular, the UE receives from the network (e.g. gNB) the higher layer parameter enableCommonBeamForDL or enableCommonTCIStateForDL set as ‘enabled’ to enable common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a carrier. Since a cell (serving cell) uses a carrier, ‘common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a carrier’ equals to ‘common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a serving cell’, where the carrier is used by the serving cell. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET; Fig. 1-6 & ¶0093 - The method 400 may include 402 receiving a higher layer parameter to enable common TCI state for DL reception for a serving cell), transmit, to the terminal, a parameter indicating a first unified TCI state or a second unified TCI state for a control resource set (CORESET) to be applied higher layer signaling (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET, while when the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘disabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is not contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - at least for one CORESET, tci-PresentInDCI should be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-1 transmitted from the one CORESET: or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 should be configured to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-2 transmitted from the one CORESET. For other CORESETs, tci-PresentInDCI can be set as ‘disabled’, or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 can be not configured. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0093 - The method 400 may include 402 receiving a higher layer parameter to enable common TCI state for DL reception for a serving cell), and transmit, to the terminal, control information indicating the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state among the plurality of unified TCI states included in downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET, while when the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘disabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is not contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - at least for one CORESET, tci-PresentInDCI should be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-1 transmitted from the one CORESET: or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 should be configured to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-2 transmitted from the one CORESET. For other CORESETs, tci-PresentInDCI can be set as ‘disabled’, or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 can be not configured), wherein a unified TCI state between for the CORESET is indicated based on the control information and the parameter (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET, while when the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘disabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is not contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - at least for one CORESET, tci-PresentInDCI should be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-1 transmitted from the one CORESET: or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 should be configured to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-2 transmitted from the one CORESET. For other CORESETs, tci-PresentInDCI can be set as ‘disabled’, or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 can be not configured), and wherein the indicated unified TCI state is applied to the CORESET (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET, while when the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘disabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is not contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - at least for one CORESET, tci-PresentInDCI should be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-1 transmitted from the one CORESET: or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 should be configured to indicate that TCI field is contained in the DCI format 1-2 transmitted from the one CORESET. For other CORESETs, tci-PresentInDCI can be set as ‘disabled’, or tci-PresentDCI-1-2-r16 can be not configured. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0078 - PDCCH transmitted from CORESET(s) configured with the same CORESETPoolIndex configured for the CORESET transmitting the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 containing TCI field indicating the common TCI state. Also, see ¶0071).
Re. Claims 17, 22, 27 and 33, Liu teaches claims 16, 21, 26 and 32.
Liu further teaches wherein the plurality of unified TCI states correspond to downlink TCI states or joint TCI states (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0047 - the network explicitly indicates that the UE supports common beam (common TCI state) for all DL channels. The indication can be made by a RRC parameter. For example, a higher layer parameter enableCommonBeamForDL or enableCommonTCIStateForDL can be set as ‘enabled’ to indicate the UE that common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception is configured. In particular, the UE receives from the network (e.g. gNB) the higher layer parameter enableCommonBeamForDL or enableCommonTCIStateForDL set as ‘enabled’ to enable common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a carrier. Since a cell (serving cell) uses a carrier, ‘common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a carrier’ equals to ‘common beam (common TCI state) for DL reception for a serving cell’, where the carrier is used by the serving cell. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET; Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation.).
Re. Claims 18, 23, 28 and 34, Liu teaches claims 16, 21, 26 and 32.
Liu further teaches wherein the parameter is configured per CORESET. (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0048 - the common TCI state for all DL channels is indicated to the UE by a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field contained in DCI (e.g. DCI format 1_1 or format 1_2). In particular, the common beam for all DL channels is determined by the QCL-TypeD RS configured in the TCI state indicated by the TCI field. In other words, the TCI state indicated by the TCI field is the common TCI state. The TCI field is optionally contained in DL DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. A higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI configures whether the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 for a CORESET. When the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ for a CORESET, the TCI field is contained in DCI format 1_1 transmitted from the CORESET;)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 24,30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Ling et al. (2024/0405947), Ling hereinafter.
Re. Claims 19, 24, 30 and 35, Liu teaches claims 16, 21, 26 and 32.
Yet, Kim does not expressly teach wherein a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for the PDCCH on the CORESRT is quasi co-located with a reference signal indicated by the indicated unified TCI state.
However, in the analogous art, Ling explicitly discloses wherein a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for the PDCCH on the CORESRT is quasi co-located with a reference signal indicated by the indicated unified TCI state. (Fig.1-7& ¶0006 - receive an indication indicating a joint or DL common beam mechanism is applied for a set of CORESETs configured for a user equipment (UE) in a cell; and for a CORESET of the set of CORESETs, in the case that there are two joint or DL common TCI states indicated by a TCI codepoint in a TCI field in a DCI are applicable in a slot, monitor PDCCH in the CORESET in the slot, wherein: in the case that the CORESET is able to be configured with two TCI states, a demodulation-reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port of the PDCCH is quasi co-located (QCL) with a set of RSs in the two joint or DL common TCI states with respect to a set of QCL parameters; and in the case that the CORESET is only able to be configured with one TCI state, the DM-RS antenna port of the PDCCH is quasi co-located with a set of RSs in one joint or DL common TCI state of the two joint or DL common TCI states, wherein the one joint or DL common TCI state is determined for the CORESET based on default configuration information or signaled configuration information. Fig.1-7& ¶0064 - When the parameter commonBeamSelection is configured as ‘0,’ it indicates that the first joint or DL common TCI state will be determined for the CORESET in a slot in the case that there are two joint or DL common TCI states indicated by a TCI codepoint in a TCI field in a DCI applicable in the slot. When the parameter commonBeamSelection is configured as ‘1,’ it indicates that the second joint or DL common TCI state will be determined for the CORESET in a slot in the case that there are two joint or DL common TCI states indicated by a TCI codepoint in a TCI field in a DCI applicable in the slot. When the parameter commonBeamSelection is not configured for the CORESET, the default one determined based on the default configuration information, e.g., the first or second joint or DL common TCI state will be determined for the CORESET in the slot. Also, see table below. Also, claims 1, 13 & 15.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of a system and a method for dynamic common beam (or common TCI state) switching for DL reception in a wireless communication system to include Ling’s invention of a system and a method for beam determination in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for enhancement on multi-beam operation in millimeter‑wave band frequency range to identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) downlink/uplink (DL/UL) beam management in order to support higher intra-band and L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, including common beam for data and control transmission/reception for DL and UL, especially for intra-band carrier aggregation (CA) for communication devices operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Ling)
Claims 20, 25, 31 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of LIOU et al. (2022/0061117), LIOU hereinafter.
Re. Claims 20, 25, 31 and 36, Liu teaches claims 16, 21, 26 and 32.
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein the parameter is configured in case that different values of CORESET pool index are not configured.
However, in the analogous art, LIOU explicitly discloses wherein the parameter is configured in case that different values of CORESET pool index are not configured. (Fig. 1-12 & ¶0732 - CORESET Pool ID: This field indicates that mapping between the activated TCI states and the codepoint of the DCI Transmission Configuration Indication set by field Ti is specific to the ControlResourceSetId configured with CORESET Pool ID as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.331. This field set to 1 indicates that this MAC CE shall be applied for the DL transmission scheduled by CORESET with the CORESET pool ID equal to 1, otherwise, this MAC CE shall be applied for the DL transmission scheduled by CORESET pool ID equal to 0. If the coresetPoolIndex is not configured for any CORESET, MAC entity shall ignore the CORESET Pool ID field in this MAC CE when receiving the MAC CE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of a system and a method for dynamic common beam (or common TCI state) switching for DL reception in a wireless communication system to include LIOU’s invention of a system and a method for updating beam and parameters operating in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in achieving high power penetration in beamforming technology with beam management and beam failure recovery procedure with user equipments (UEs) updating control beams automatically for a successful beam failure recovery without causing signaling overhead while operating in Frequency Range 2 (FR2) in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0039-¶0040, LIOU)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §102/§103 rejection filed on 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Earlier claim objections for claims 21, 24, 32 and 35 have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 08/13/2026.
Regarding remarks on pages 7-9 for independent claims 16, 21, 26 and 32, applicant argues that Kim et al. (2023/0096196 [Wingdings font/0xF3] Old reference, not used in the instant office action) fails to teach the amended independent claims 16, 21, 26 and 32 <similar in claimed languages for respective independent claims > as submitted on 08/13/2026.
Examiner agrees with the applicant, however, in the analogous art, Liu et al. (2024/0314804 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference, see PTO-892) discloses the limitation as mapped in §102 rejection.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 16, 21, 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (2024/0314804[Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference)
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from independent claims 16, 21, 26 and 32, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467