CTNF 18/726,301 CTNF 85244 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/02/24 has been considered by the examiner. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7, 9-10, 17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 7, 9-10, 17 and 19-20 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited by claims 9-10 and 19-20 in combination with the all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims from which claims 9-10 and 19-20 are dependent upon. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6, 8, 11-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0167835 herein after referenced as Wang) in view of Li et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0421866 herein after referenced as Li) . Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses: A method, comprising: receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a reference signal transmitted by a network side including at least one network node; (Wang, Fig. 3 & [0151] discloses the method 300 further includes operation 320: The network device (i.e. reads on by a network side including at least one network node) sends (i.e. reads on transmitted) a reference signal. Correspondingly, the terminal device (i.e. reads on an apparatus) receives the reference signal (i.e. reads on receiving a reference signal); Wang, Fig. 8 & [0479] discloses the terminal device 500 further includes a memory 603. The processor 601, the transceiver 602, and the memory 603 communicate with each other through an internal connection path, to transfer at least a control signal or a data signal. The memory 603 is configured to store a computer program. The processor 601 is configured to invoke the computer program from the memory 603 and run the computer program, to control the transceiver 602 to receive/send a signal). obtaining, by the processor, at least one selected basis; (Wang, Fig. 3 & [0170] discloses When K is configured by the network device, in one embodiment, the method 300 further includes: Step 330: The network device sends first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate a value of K (i.e. reads on at least one selected basis). Correspondingly, the terminal device receives (i.e. reads on obtaining) the first indication information; Wang, [0225] discloses The terminal device may select K column vectors from the N.sub.sb column vectors as the K selected basis vectors in frequency domain, that is, the K frequency domain basis vectors. Applicant’s Specification, Page 13, Lines 16-17 discloses “… the selected basis may comprise at least one of a frequency domain basis and a spatial domain basis. … ” ). deriving, by the processor, a channel response information observed by a receiving domain of the apparatus according to the reference signal; (Wang, [0153] discloses The terminal device (i.e. reads on observed by the apparatus) may first estimate channel matrices (i.e. reads on deriving a channel response information) of the wideband and each subband based on the received reference signal (i.e. reads on according to the reference signal), and the terminal device may determine the ideal precoding matrix of the wideband based on the channel matrix of the wideband, and may determine the ideal precoding matrix of each subband based on the channel matrix of each subband; Wang, [0150] discloses the terminal device may perform channel measurement based on a received reference signal such as a CSI-RS, and determine the PMI based on the ideal precoding matrix of the wideband and the ideal precoding matrix of each subband that are obtained through measurement . Applicant’s Specification, Page 5, Lines 44-45 discloses “… The channel response information … is equivalent to the channel information matrices …” ). decomposing, by the processor, the channel response information into a preferred domain; (Wang, [0186] discloses The ideal precoding matrix (i.e. reads on into a preferred domain) of the wideband may be obtained by performing SVD (i.e. reads on decomposing) on a sum of the covariance matrices of the channel matrices (i.e. reads on the channel response information) of all the subbands; Wang, [0118] discloses after obtaining a channel matrix H of each subband through measurement based on the reference signal, the receiving device may determine an ideal precoding matrix of each subband by performing singular value decomposition SVD on the channel matrix H of each subband or a covariance matrix HH.sup.H of the channel matrix; Wang, [0305] discloses the terminal device may arrange the ideal precoding vectors that are of the subbands at the r.sup.th transmission layer and that are determined in operation i from left to right in an order from 1 to N.sub.sb, to obtain a P×N.sub.tx×N.sub.sb-dimensional matrix, for example, denoted as W. The matrix W is an example of the space-frequency matrix described above; Wang, [0161] discloses the space domain vector is a P×N.sub.tx×1-dimensional column vector, the frequency domain vector is an N.sub.sb×1-dimensional column vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of the space domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a conjugate of the frequency domain vector and the space domain vector, where N.sub.tx is a quantity of antenna ports in each polarization direction, N.sub.sb is a quantity of subbands, 1≤L≤N.sub.tx, 1≤K≤N.sub.sb, and both N.sub.tx and N.sub.sb are positive integers; Wang, [0061] discloses N.sub.tx is a quantity of transmit antenna ports in each polarization direction; Wang, [0152] discloses the network device may send the reference signal through a plurality of transmit antennas; Wang, [0163] discloses the space domain vector is a 1×P×N.sub.tx-dimensional row vector, the frequency domain vector is a 1×N.sub.sb-dimensional row vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector and the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a transpose of the frequency domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector. Applicant’s Specification, Page 6, Lines 3-7 discloses “… Then, the UE may decompose / project the channel information matrices … into a two-dimensional domain or a preferred domain. The two-dimensional domain may comprise a first domain related to the network node spatial domain transformation (e.g., the antenna ports of the network node) and a second domain related to a frequency domain transformation …” ). determining, by the processor, a linear combination coefficient representation of the channel response information in the preferred domain according to the selected basis; (Wang, [0360] discloses the terminal device may represent column vectors in the ideal precoding matrices (i.e. reads on of the channel response information in the preferred domain) of subbands in frequency domain by using linear combinations of beam vectors in space domain, and describe (i.e. reads on determining), by using linear combinations of several frequency domain vectors (i.e. reads on according to the selected basis), weighting coefficients (i.e. reads on a linear combination coefficient representation) used in the linear combinations of the beam vectors. Each frequency domain basis vector may be used to represent a change rule on a plurality of subbands. Therefore, change rules of the combination coefficients of the space domain column vectors of the subbands may be described by performing different linear combinations on several frequency domain basis vectors). and reporting, by the processor, a compressed channel information to the network side based on the linear combination coefficient representation and the preferred domain (Wang, [0067] discloses the terminal device may determine, according to the preset rule based on at least the quantity or the positions of the to-be-reported subbands, the feedback mode used to feed back (i.e. reads on reporting) the PMI (i.e. reads on compressed channel information). After determining the feedback mode based on the preset rule, the network device (i.e. reads on to the network side) may restore a precoding matrix based on the feedback mode and the PMI; Wang, [0156] discloses The terminal device may determine the PMI based on the ideal precoding matrix of each subband. In this embodiment of this application, the precoding matrix of each subband may be determined based on R groups of space-frequency information corresponding to R transmission layers. Each group of space-frequency information in the R groups of space-frequency information (i.e. reads on and the preferred domain) may include space domain information, frequency domain information, and a coefficient (i.e. reads on based on the linear combination coefficient representation); Wang, [0360] discloses Because different change rules in frequency domain are described by using a plurality of frequency domain basis vectors, a relationship between the subbands is fully used, and change rules on all subbands may be described by using a relatively small quantity of frequency domain basis vectors according to frequency domain continuity, to compress feedback overheads. Compared with a conventional technology manner of per-subband feedbacks, feedback overheads caused by subband feedbacks can be greatly reduced, and approximation precision by using the type II codebook can also be ensured; Wang, [0240] discloses The terminal device may determine the PMI based on the foregoing determined space-frequency matrix, or may determine the PMI based on the P×L space domain column vectors at the r.sup.th transmission layer that are determined in operation ii, the K frequency domain basis vectors at the r.sup.th transmission layer that are determined in operation iv, and the P×L×K weighting coefficients that are determined in operation v; Wang, [0365] discloses It should be noted that the precoding matrix indication method provided above is particularly applicable to a case in which there are a large quantity of subbands and the subbands are continuous. In this method, a correlation between the subbands can be fully used, and feedback overheads can be compressed, thereby reducing huge overheads caused by a plurality of subband feedbacks). Wang discloses determining a channel matrix based on measurements from a received reference signal but fails to explicitly recite the use of an antenna receiving the reference signal and therefore fails to disclose “deriving, by the processor, a channel response information observed by a receiving domain of the apparatus according to the reference signal;”. In a related field of endeavor, Li discloses: deriving, by the processor, a channel response information observed by a receiving domain of the apparatus according to the reference signal; (Li, [0318] discloses the generated first indication information is specific to each receive port, that is, channel information of the receive port is fed back. The first apparatus (i.e. rads on of the apparatus) receives reference signals (i.e. reads on according to the reference signal) sent by at least two TRPs where one TRP corresponds to one port group, and sorts and rearranges information about channels used by the at least two TRPs to send the reference signals, to generate the first indication information (i.e. reads on deriving a channel response information observed) specific to each receive port (i.e. reads on by a receiving domain). For example, if the first indication information indicates two precoding submatrices; Li, [0245] discloses The precoding matrix indicator may indicate a precoding matrix or directly indicate a channel matrix. The precoding matrix may be, for example, a precoding matrix determined by the terminal device based on a channel matrix of each subband. The channel matrix may be determined by the terminal device through channel estimation; Li, [0290]-[0291] discloses reference signal, RS and precoded reference signal: The reference signal may also be referred to as a pilot, a reference sequence, or the like. In embodiments of this application, the reference signal may be a reference signal for channel measurement. For example, the reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal CSI-RS and discloses The precoded reference signal may be a reference signal obtained by precoding a reference signal. In embodiments of this application, the precoding may specifically include beamforming and/or phase rotation. The beamforming may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more angle vectors. The phase rotation may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more delay vectors; Li, [0459] discloses The first apparatus may receive the precoded reference signals of the plurality of for example, three or more, where the quantity may be a quantity of stations for joint transmission port groups. In this case, the first apparatus feeds back ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that can be used to determine a plurality of precoding submatrices; Li, [0265] discloses The port is a short name of an antenna port, and may be understood as a transmit antenna that can be identified by the receiving device or as a transmit antenna that can be spatially distinguished. One antenna port may be configured for each virtual antenna, each virtual antenna may be a weighted combination of a plurality of physical antennas, and each antenna port may correspond to one reference signal. Therefore, each antenna port may be referred to as a reference signal port, for example, a channel state information reference signal CSI-RS port or a sounding reference signal SRS port; Li, [0244] discloses Precoding technology: When a channel state is known, the network device may process a to-be-sent signal by using a precoding matrix that matches a channel resource, so that a precoded to-be-sent signal adapts to a channel, to reduce complexity of eliminating inter-channel impact by a receiving device. Therefore, after the to-be-sent signal is precoded, received signal quality for example, a signal to interference plus noise ratio signal to interference plus noise ratio, SINR is improved. Therefore, by using the precoding technology, a sending device and a plurality of receiving devices may perform transmission on a same time- frequency resource; Li, [0273] discloses a process in which the network device performs the spatial domain precoding on the reference signal is implemented inside the device; Li, [0281] discloses to distinguish different delays, the network may precode a reference signal based on each of L delay vectors; Li, [0479] discloses when the fifth indication information is determined based on the received precoded reference signals of the port groups, and the port groups include the plurality of port groups for example, three or more port groups, where the quantity may be a quantity of TRPs in a coordinating set, the fifth indication information includes information about the selected ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that are used to determine the plurality of precoding submatrices; Li, [0041] discloses Based on the foregoing solution, the first indication information jointly indicates basis vectors and linear combination coefficients that correspond to different port groups, so that signaling overheads for feeding back channel state information can be reduced. In addition, the different port groups may correspond to different quantities of basis vectors including spatial domain basis vectors and frequency domain basis vectors and different quantities of linear combination coefficients. Such non-uniform overhead allocation manner can improve overall feedback precision of the precoding matrix. Applicant’s Specification, Page 5, Lines 40-41 discloses “… The receiving domain may comprise the antenna ports of the UE. …” ). Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Li for the purpose of providing the system with a means to improve overall feedback precision of the precoding matrix so that signaling overheads for feeding back channel state information can be reduced (Li, [0041]) by generating channel information specific to each receive port (Li, [0318]) and utilizing various techniques of transmitting regular reference signals and precoded reference signals (Li, [0290]-[0291]) in order to reduce complexity of eliminating inter-channel impact by a receiving device to improve signal quality (Li, [0244]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143 , that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of determining channel information based on received reference signals and utilizing domain basis vectors as taught by Wang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of determining channel information based on received reference signals and utilizing domain basis vectors, wherein the reference signals may be a regular or precoded reference signals and the domain basis vectors includes a plurality of spatial basis vectors and frequency basis vectors as taught by Li) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of determining channel information based on received reference signals and utilizing domain basis vectors (i.e. as taught by both Wang & Li) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04 . Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Li discloses: The method of Claim 1, (see claim 1). wherein the receiving domain comprises an antenna port of the apparatus, and wherein the preferred domain comprises a first domain related to a frequency domain transformation (Li, [0318] discloses the generated first indication information is specific to each receive port, that is, channel information of the receive port is fed back. The first apparatus receives reference signals sent by at least two TRPs where one TRP corresponds to one port group, and sorts and rearranges information about channels used by the at least two TRPs to send the reference signals, to generate the first indication information specific to each receive port; Wang, [0161] discloses the space domain vector is a P×N.sub.tx×1-dimensional column vector, the frequency domain vector is an N.sub.sb×1-dimensional column vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of the space domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a conjugate of the frequency domain vector and the space domain vector, where N.sub.tx is a quantity of antenna ports in each polarization direction, N.sub.sb is a quantity of subbands, 1≤L≤N.sub.tx, 1≤K≤N.sub.sb, and both N.sub.tx and N.sub.sb are positive integers; Wang, [0061] discloses N.sub.tx is a quantity of transmit antenna ports in each polarization direction; Wang, [0152] discloses the network device may send the reference signal through a plurality of transmit antennas; Wang, [0163] discloses the space domain vector is a 1×P×N.sub.tx-dimensional row vector, the frequency domain vector is a 1×N.sub.sb-dimensional row vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector and the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a transpose of the frequency domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector; Wang, [0186] discloses The ideal precoding matrix of the wideband may be obtained by performing SVD on a sum of the covariance matrices of the channel matrices of all the subbands). Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Li discloses: The method of Claim 1, (see claim 1). wherein the selected basis comprises at least one frequency domain basis (Wang, [0225] discloses The terminal device may select K column vectors from the N.sub.sb column vectors as the K selected basis vectors in frequency domain, that is, the K frequency domain basis vectors; Wang, [0167] discloses Frequency domain information of the r.sup.th transmission layer may be determined by selected frequency domain basis vectors that is, the foregoing frequency domain vectors, for example, K frequency domain vectors, where K≥1 and K is an integer at the r.sup.th transmission layer). Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Li discloses: The method of Claim 1, (see claim 1). wherein the reference signal comprises a pre-coded reference signal determined by the network side (Li, [0273] discloses a process in which the network device performs the spatial domain precoding on the reference signal is implemented inside the device; Li, [0281] discloses to distinguish different delays, the network may precode a reference signal based on each of L delay vectors). Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Li discloses: The method of Claim 1, (see claim 1). wherein the reference signal is pre-compensated to at least one selected frequency domain basis, and wherein the determining comprises determining the linear combination coefficient representation according to the selected frequency domain basis for at least one port transmitted by the network side (Li, [0479] discloses when the fifth indication information is determined based on the received precoded reference signals of the port groups, and the port groups include the plurality of port groups for example, three or more port groups, where the quantity may be a quantity of TRPs in a coordinating set, the fifth indication information includes information about the selected ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that are used to determine the plurality of precoding submatrices; Wang, [0360] discloses the terminal device may represent column vectors in the ideal precoding matrices of subbands in frequency domain by using linear combinations of beam vectors in space domain, and describe, by using linear combinations of several frequency domain vectors, weighting coefficients used in the linear combinations of the beam vectors. Each frequency domain basis vector may be used to represent a change rule on a plurality of subbands. Therefore, change rules of the combination coefficients of the space domain column vectors of the subbands may be described by performing different linear combinations on several frequency domain basis vectors). Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Li discloses: The method of Claim 5, (see claim 5). wherein a plurality of reference signals from a plurality of ports of the network side are pre-compensated to the same selected frequency domain basis (Li, [0479] discloses when the fifth indication information is determined based on the received precoded reference signals of the port groups, and the port groups include the plurality of port groups for example, three or more port groups, where the quantity may be a quantity of TRPs in a coordinating set, the fifth indication information includes information about the selected ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that are used to determine the plurality of precoding submatrices). Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Li discloses: The method of Claim 1, (see claim 1). wherein the reference signal comprises no pre-coded reference signal, wherein the preferred domain comprises a first domain related to the network side spatial domain and a second domain related to a frequency domain transformation, and wherein the decomposing comprises decomposing the channel response information into all frequency domain bases and spatial domain bases (Wang, [0118] discloses after obtaining a channel matrix H of each subband through measurement based on the reference signal, the receiving device may determine an ideal precoding matrix of each subband by performing singular value decomposition SVD on the channel matrix H of each subband or a covariance matrix HH.sup.H of the channel matri x; Wang, [0186] discloses The ideal precoding matrix of the wideband may be obtained by performing SVD on a sum of the covariance matrices of the channel matrices of all the subbands; Wang, [0305] discloses the terminal device may arrange the ideal precoding vectors that are of the subbands at the r.sup.th transmission layer and that are determined in operation i from left to right in an order from 1 to N.sub.sb, to obtain a P×N.sub.tx×N.sub.sb-dimensional matrix, for example, denoted as W. The matrix W is an example of the space-frequency matrix described above; Wang, [0161] discloses the space domain vector is a P×N.sub.tx×1-dimensional column vector, the frequency domain vector is an N.sub.sb×1-dimensional column vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of the space domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a conjugate of the frequency domain vector and the space domain vector, where N.sub.tx is a quantity of antenna ports in each polarization direction, N.sub.sb is a quantity of subbands, 1≤L≤N.sub.tx, 1≤K≤N.sub.sb, and both N.sub.tx and N.sub.sb are positive integers; Li, [0290]-[0291] discloses reference signal, RS and precoded reference signal: The reference signal may also be referred to as a pilot, a reference sequence, or the like. In embodiments of this application, the reference signal may be a reference signal for channel measurement. For example, the reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal CSI-RS and discloses The precoded reference signal may be a reference signal obtained by precoding a reference signal. In embodiments of this application, the precoding may specifically include beamforming and/or phase rotation. The beamforming may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more angle vectors. The phase rotation may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more delay vectors; Li, [0041] discloses Based on the foregoing solution, the first indication information jointly indicates basis vectors and linear combination coefficients that correspond to different port groups, so that signaling overheads for feeding back channel state information can be reduced. In addition, the different port groups may correspond to different quantities of basis vectors including spatial domain basis vectors and frequency domain basis vectors and different quantities of linear combination coefficients. Such non-uniform overhead allocation manner can improve overall feedback precision of the precoding matrix). Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses: An apparatus, comprising: a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one network node of a network side; and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising: (Wang, [0108] discloses The network device 110 (i.e. reads on at least one network node of a network side) and the terminal device 120 (i.e. reads on apparatus) may communicate (i.e. reads on communicates) with each other through a wireless link (i.e. reads on wirelessly); Wang, Fig. 8 & [0479] discloses the terminal device 500 further includes a memory 603. The processor 601, the transceiver 602, and the memory 603 communicate with each other through an internal connection path, to transfer at least a control signal or a data signal. The memory 603 is configured to store a computer program. The processor 601 is configured to invoke the computer program from the memory 603 and run the computer program, to control the transceiver 602 to receive/send a signal). receiving, via the transceiver, a reference signal from the network side; (Wang, Fig. 3 & [0151] discloses the method 300 further includes operation 320: The network device (i.e. reads on from the network side) sends a reference signal. Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the reference signal (i.e. reads on receiving a reference signal)). obtaining at least one selected basis; (Wang, Fig. 3 & [0170] discloses When K is configured by the network device, in one embodiment, the method 300 further includes: Step 330: The network device sends first indication information, where the first indication information is used to indicate a value of K (i.e. reads on at least one selected basis). Correspondingly, the terminal device receives (i.e. reads on obtaining) the first indication information; Wang, [0225] discloses The terminal device may select K column vectors from the N.sub.sb column vectors as the K selected basis vectors in frequency domain, that is, the K frequency domain basis vectors. Applicant’s Specification, Page 13, Lines 16-17 discloses “… the selected basis may comprise at least one of a frequency domain basis and a spatial domain basis. … ” ). deriving a channel response information observed by a receiving domain of the apparatus according to the reference signal; (Wang, [0153] discloses The terminal device (i.e. reads on observed by the apparatus) may first estimate channel matrices (i.e. reads on deriving a channel response information) of the wideband and each subband based on the received reference signal (i.e. reads on according to the reference signal), and the terminal device may determine the ideal precoding matrix of the wideband based on the channel matrix of the wideband, and may determine the ideal precoding matrix of each subband based on the channel matrix of each subband; Wang, [0150] discloses the terminal device may perform channel measurement based on a received reference signal such as a CSI-RS, and determine the PMI based on the ideal precoding matrix of the wideband and the ideal precoding matrix of each subband that are obtained through measurement . Applicant’s Specification, Page 5, Lines 44-45 discloses “… The channel response information … is equivalent to the channel information matrices …” ). decomposing the channel response information into a preferred domain; (Wang, [0186] discloses The ideal precoding matrix (i.e. reads on into a preferred domain) of the wideband may be obtained by performing SVD (i.e. reads on decomposing) on a sum of the covariance matrices of the channel matrices (i.e. reads on the channel response information) of all the subbands; Wang, [0118] discloses after obtaining a channel matrix H of each subband through measurement based on the reference signal, the receiving device may determine an ideal precoding matrix of each subband by performing singular value decomposition SVD on the channel matrix H of each subband or a covariance matrix HH.sup.H of the channel matrix; Wang, [0305] discloses the terminal device may arrange the ideal precoding vectors that are of the subbands at the r.sup.th transmission layer and that are determined in operation i from left to right in an order from 1 to N.sub.sb, to obtain a P×N.sub.tx×N.sub.sb-dimensional matrix, for example, denoted as W. The matrix W is an example of the space-frequency matrix described above; Wang, [0161] discloses the space domain vector is a P×N.sub.tx×1-dimensional column vector, the frequency domain vector is an N.sub.sb×1-dimensional column vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of the space domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a conjugate of the frequency domain vector and the space domain vector, where N.sub.tx is a quantity of antenna ports in each polarization direction, N.sub.sb is a quantity of subbands, 1≤L≤N.sub.tx, 1≤K≤N.sub.sb, and both N.sub.tx and N.sub.sb are positive integers; Wang, [0061] discloses N.sub.tx is a quantity of transmit antenna ports in each polarization direction; Wang, [0152] discloses the network device may send the reference signal through a plurality of transmit antennas; Wang, [0163] discloses the space domain vector is a 1×P×N.sub.tx-dimensional row vector, the frequency domain vector is a 1×N.sub.sb-dimensional row vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector and the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a transpose of the frequency domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector . Applicant’s Specification, Page 6, Lines 3-7 discloses “… Then, the UE may decompose / project the channel information matrices … into a two-dimensional domain or a preferred domain. The two- dimensional domain may comprise a first domain related to the network node spatial domain transformation (e.g., the antenna ports of the network node) and a second domain related to a frequency domain transformation …” ). determining a linear combination coefficient representation of the channel response information in the preferred domain according to the selected basis; (Wang, [0360] discloses the terminal device may represent column vectors in the ideal precoding matrices (i.e. reads on of the channel response information in the preferred domain) of subbands in frequency domain by using linear combinations of beam vectors in space domain, and describe (i.e. reads on determining), by using linear combinations of several frequency domain vectors (i.e. reads on according to the selected basis), weighting coefficients (i.e. reads on a linear combination coefficient representation) used in the linear combinations of the beam vectors. Each frequency domain basis vector may be used to represent a change rule on a plurality of subbands. Therefore, change rules of the combination coefficients of the space domain column vectors of the subbands may be described by performing different linear combinations on several frequency domain basis vectors). and reporting, via the transceiver, a compressed channel information to the network side based on the linear combination coefficient representation and the preferred domain (Wang, [0067] discloses the terminal device may determine, according to the preset rule based on at least the quantity or the positions of the to-be-reported subbands, the feedback mode used to feed back (i.e. reads on reporting) the PMI (i.e. reads on compressed channel information). After determining the feedback mode based on the preset rule, the network device (i.e. reads on to the network side) may restore a precoding matrix based on the feedback mode and the PMI; Wang, [0156] discloses The terminal device may determine the PMI based on the ideal precoding matrix of each subband. In this embodiment of this application, the precoding matrix of each subband may be determined based on R groups of space-frequency information corresponding to R transmission layers. Each group of space-frequency information in the R groups of space-frequency information (i.e. reads on and the preferred domain) may include space domain information, frequency domain information, and a coefficient (i.e. reads on based on the linear combination coefficient representation); Wang, [0360] discloses Because different change rules in frequency domain are described by using a plurality of frequency domain basis vectors, a relationship between the subbands is fully used, and change rules on all subbands may be described by using a relatively small quantity of frequency domain basis vectors according to frequency domain continuity, to compress feedback overheads. Compared with a conventional technology manner of per-subband feedbacks, feedback overheads caused by subband feedbacks can be greatly reduced, and approximation precision by using the type II codebook can also be ensured; Wang, [0240] discloses The terminal device may determine the PMI based on the foregoing determined space-frequency matrix, or may determine the PMI based on the P×L space domain column vectors at the r.sup.th transmission layer that are determined in operation ii, the K frequency domain basis vectors at the r.sup.th transmission layer that are determined in operation iv, and the P×L×K weighting coefficients that are determined in operation v; Wang, [0365] discloses It should be noted that the precoding matrix indication method provided above is particularly applicable to a case in which there are a large quantity of subbands and the subbands are continuous. In this method, a correlation between the subbands can be fully used, and feedback overheads can be compressed, thereby reducing huge overheads caused by a plurality of subband feedbacks). Wang discloses determining a channel matrix based on measurements from a received reference signal but fails to explicitly recite the use of an antenna receiving the reference signal and therefore fails to disclose “deriving a channel response information observed by a receiving domain of the apparatus according to the reference signal;”. In a related field of endeavor, Li discloses: deriving a channel response information observed by a receiving domain of the apparatus according to the reference signal; (Li, [0318] discloses the generated first indication information is specific to each receive port, that is, channel information of the receive port is fed back. The first apparatus (i.e. rads on of the apparatus) receives reference signals (i.e. reads on according to the reference signal) sent by at least two TRPs where one TRP corresponds to one port group, and sorts and rearranges information about channels used by the at least two TRPs to send the reference signals, to generate the first indication information (i.e. reads on deriving a channel response information observed) specific to each receive port (i.e. reads on by a receiving domain). For example, if the first indication information indicates two precoding submatrices; Li, [0245] discloses The precoding matrix indicator may indicate a precoding matrix or directly indicate a channel matrix. The precoding matrix may be, for example, a precoding matrix determined by the terminal device based on a channel matrix of each subband. The channel matrix may be determined by the terminal device through channel estimation; Li, [0290]-[0291] discloses reference signal, RS and precoded reference signal: The reference signal may also be referred to as a pilot, a reference sequence, or the like. In embodiments of this application, the reference signal may be a reference signal for channel measurement. For example, the reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal CSI-RS and discloses The precoded reference signal may be a reference signal obtained by precoding a reference signal. In embodiments of this application, the precoding may specifically include beamforming and/or phase rotation. The beamforming may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more angle vectors. The phase rotation may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more delay vectors; Li, [0459] discloses The first apparatus may receive the precoded reference signals of the plurality of for example, three or more, where the quantity may be a quantity of stations for joint transmission port groups. In this case, the first apparatus feeds back ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that can be used to determine a plurality of precoding submatrices; Li, [0265] discloses The port is a short name of an antenna port, and may be understood as a transmit antenna that can be identified by the receiving device or as a transmit antenna that can be spatially distinguished. One antenna port may be configured for each virtual antenna, each virtual antenna may be a weighted combination of a plurality of physical antennas, and each antenna port may correspond to one reference signal. Therefore, each antenna port may be referred to as a reference signal port, for example, a channel state information reference signal CSI-RS port or a sounding reference signal SRS port; Li, [0244] discloses Precoding technology: When a channel state is known, the network device may process a to-be-sent signal by using a precoding matrix that matches a channel resource, so that a precoded to-be-sent signal adapts to a channel, to reduce complexity of eliminating inter-channel impact by a receiving device. Therefore, after the to-be-sent signal is precoded, received signal quality for example, a signal to interference plus noise ratio signal to interference plus noise ratio, SINR is improved. Therefore, by using the precoding technology, a sending device and a plurality of receiving devices may perform transmission on a same time-frequency resource; Li, [0273] discloses a process in which the network device performs the spatial domain precoding on the reference signal is implemented inside the device; Li, [0281] discloses to distinguish different delays, the network may precode a reference signal based on each of L delay vectors; Li, [0479] discloses when the fifth indication information is determined based on the received precoded reference signals of the port groups, and the port groups include the plurality of port groups for example, three or more port groups, where the quantity may be a quantity of TRPs in a coordinating set, the fifth indication information includes information about the selected ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that are used to determine the plurality of precoding submatrices; Li, [0041] discloses Based on the foregoing solution, the first indication information jointly indicates basis vectors and linear combination coefficients that correspond to different port groups, so that signaling overheads for feeding back channel state information can be reduced. In addition, the different port groups may correspond to different quantities of basis vectors including spatial domain basis vectors and frequency domain basis vectors and different quantities of linear combination coefficients. Such non-uniform overhead allocation manner can improve overall feedback precision of the precoding matrix. Applicant’s Specification, Page 5, Lines 40-41 discloses “… The receiving domain may comprise the antenna ports of the UE. …” ). Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Li for the purpose of providing the system with a means to improve overall feedback precision of the precoding matrix so that signaling overheads for feeding back channel state information can be reduced (Li, [0041]) by generating channel information specific to each receive port ( Li, [0318]) and utilizing various techniques of transmitting regular reference signals and precoded reference signals (Li, [0290]-[0291]) in order to reduce complexity of eliminating inter-channel impact by a receiving device to improve signal quality (Li, [0244]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143 , that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of determining channel information based on received reference signals and utilizing domain basis vectors as taught by Wang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of determining channel information based on received reference signals and utilizing domain basis vectors, wherein the reference signals may be a regular or precoded reference signals and the domain basis vectors includes a plurality of spatial basis vectors and frequency basis vectors as taught by Li) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of determining channel information based on received reference signals and utilizing domain basis vectors (i.e. as taught by both Wang & Li) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04 . Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Li discloses: The apparatus of Claim 11, (see claim 11). wherein the receiving domain comprises an antenna port of the apparatus, and wherein the preferred domain comprises a first domain related to a frequency domain transformation (Li, [0318] discloses the generated first indication information is specific to each receive port, that is, channel information of the receive port is fed back. The first apparatus receives reference signals sent by at least two TRPs where one TRP corresponds to one port group, and sorts and rearranges information about channels used by the at least two TRPs to send the reference signals, to generate the first indication information specific to each receive port; Wang, [0161] discloses the space domain vector is a P×N.sub.tx×1-dimensional column vector, the frequency domain vector is an N.sub.sb×1-dimensional column vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of the space domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a conjugate of the frequency domain vector and the space domain vector, where N.sub.tx is a quantity of antenna ports in each polarization direction, N.sub.sb is a quantity of subbands, 1≤L≤N.sub.tx, 1≤K≤N.sub.sb, and both N.sub.tx and N.sub.sb are positive integers; Wang, [0061] discloses N.sub.tx is a quantity of transmit antenna ports in each polarization direction; Wang, [0152] discloses the network device may send the reference signal through a plurality of transmit antennas; Wang, [0163] discloses the space domain vector is a 1×P×N.sub.tx-dimensional row vector, the frequency domain vector is a 1×N.sub.sb-dimensional row vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector and the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a transpose of the frequency domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the space domain vector ; Wang, [0186] discloses The ideal precoding matrix of the wideband may be obtained by performing SVD on a sum of the covariance matrices of the channel matrices of all the subbands). Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Li discloses: The apparatus of Claim 11, (see claim 11). wherein the selected basis comprises at least one frequency domain basis (Wang, [0225] discloses The terminal device may select K column vectors from the N.sub.sb column vectors as the K selected basis vectors in frequency domain, that is, the K frequency domain basis vectors; Wang, [0167] discloses Frequency domain information of the r.sup.th transmission layer may be determined by selected frequency domain basis vectors that is, the foregoing frequency domain vectors, for example, K frequency domain vectors, where K≥1 and K is an integer at the r.sup.th transmission layer). Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Li discloses: The apparatus of Claim 11, (see claim 11). wherein the reference signal comprises a pre-coded reference signal determined by the network side (Li, [0273] discloses a process in which the network device performs the spatial domain precoding on the reference signal is implemented inside the device; Li, [0281] discloses to distinguish different delays, the network may precode a reference signal based on each of L delay vectors). Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Li discloses: The apparatus of Claim 11, (see claim 11). wherein the reference signal is pre-compensated to at least one selected frequency domain basis, and wherein, in determining the linear combination coefficient representation, the processor determines the linear combination coefficient representation according to the selected frequency domain basis for at least one port transmitted by the network side (Li, [0479] discloses when the fifth indication information is determined based on the received precoded reference signals of the port groups, and the port groups include the plurality of port groups for example, three or more port groups, where the quantity may be a quantity of TRPs in a coordinating set, the fifth indication information includes information about the selected ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that are used to determine the plurality of precoding submatrices; Wang, [0360] discloses the terminal device may represent column vectors in the ideal precoding matrices of subbands in frequency domain by using linear combinations of beam vectors in space domain, and describe, by using linear combinations of several frequency domain vectors, weighting coefficients used in the linear combinations of the beam vectors. Each frequency domain basis vector may be used to represent a change rule on a plurality of subbands. Therefore, change rules of the combination coefficients of the space domain column vectors of the subbands may be described by performing different linear combinations on several frequency domain basis vectors). Regarding claim 16, Wang in view of Li discloses: The apparatus of Claim 15, (see claim 15). wherein a plurality of reference signals from a plurality of ports of the network side are pre-compensated to the same selected frequency domain basis (Li, [0479] discloses when the fifth indication information is determined based on the received precoded reference signals of the port groups, and the port groups include the plurality of port groups for example, three or more port groups, where the quantity may be a quantity of TRPs in a coordinating set, the fifth indication information includes information about the selected ports, frequency domain basis vectors, and angle-delay pair coefficients that are used to determine the plurality of precoding submatrices). Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Li discloses: The apparatus of Claim 11, (see claim 11). wherein the reference signal comprises no pre-coded reference signal, wherein the preferred domain comprises a first domain related to the network side spatial domain and a second domain related to a frequency domain transformation, and wherein, in decomposing the channel response information, the processor decomposes the channel response information into all frequency domain bases and spatial domain bases (Wang, [0118] discloses after obtaining a channel matrix H of each subband through measurement based on the reference signal, the receiving device may determine an ideal precoding matrix of each subband by performing singular value decomposition SVD on the channel matrix H of each subband or a covariance matrix HH.sup.H of the channel matri x; Wang, [0186] discloses The ideal precoding matrix of the wideband may be obtained by performing SVD on a sum of the covariance matrices of the channel matrices of all the subbands; Wang, [0305] discloses the terminal device may arrange the ideal precoding vectors that are of the subbands at the r.sup.th transmission layer and that are determined in operation i from left to right in an order from 1 to N.sub.sb, to obtain a P×N.sub.tx×N.sub.sb-dimensional matrix, for example, denoted as W. The matrix W is an example of the space-frequency matrix described above; Wang, [0161] discloses the space domain vector is a P×N.sub.tx×1-dimensional column vector, the frequency domain vector is an N.sub.sb×1-dimensional column vector, and the vector operation result includes: a product of the space domain vector and a conjugate transpose of the frequency domain vector, or a Kronecker product of a conjugate of the frequency domain vector and the space domain vector, where N.sub.tx is a quantity of antenna ports in each polarization direction, N.sub.sb is a quantity of subbands, 1≤L≤N.sub.tx, 1≤K≤N.sub.sb, and both N.sub.tx and N.sub.sb are positive integers; Li, [0290]-[0291] discloses reference signal, RS and precoded reference signal: The reference signal may also be referred to as a pilot, a reference sequence, or the like. In embodiments of this application, the reference signal may be a reference signal for channel measurement. For example, the reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal CSI-RS and discloses The precoded reference signal may be a reference signal obtained by precoding a reference signal. In embodiments of this application, the precoding may specifically include beamforming and/or phase rotation. The beamforming may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more angle vectors. The phase rotation may be implemented, for example, by precoding a reference signal based on one or more delay vectors; Li, [0041] discloses Based on the foregoing solution, the first indication information jointly indicates basis vectors and linear combination coefficients that correspond to different port groups, so that signaling overheads for feeding back channel state information can be reduced. In addition, the different port groups may correspond to different quantities of basis vectors including spatial domain basis vectors and frequency domain basis vectors and different quantities of linear combination coefficients. Such non-uniform overhead allocation manner can improve overall feedback precision of the precoding matrix ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL Y MAPA whose telephone number is (571)270-5540. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Addy can be reached at (571) 272 - 7795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 2 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 3 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 4 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 5 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 6 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 7 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 8 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 9 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 10 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 11 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 12 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 13 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 14 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 15 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 16 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 17 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 18 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 19 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 20 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 21 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 22 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 23 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 24 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 25 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 26 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 27 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 28 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 29 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 30 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 31 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 32 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 33 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 34 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/726,301 Page 35 Art Unit: 2645