DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wind direction control member,” “inlet side control portion,” “outlet side control portion,” and “drive member” used throughout the claims.
For the record:
“Wind direction control member,” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described in the specification as correlating with reference numeral 20, and equivalents thereof.
“Inlet side control portion,” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described in the specification as correlating with reference numeral 200, and equivalents thereof.
“Outlet side control portion,” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described in the specification as correlating with reference numeral 210, and equivalents thereof.
“Drive member” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described in the specification as correlating with reference numerals 30, 60, and 90, and equivalents thereof.
Note further that while “skin portion” is an unusual term, it has been interpreted in light of the disclosure according to corresponding structure associated with reference numeral 120 as described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 does not have a period at the end of the claim, rendering the claim indefinite since it is unclear whether further limitations are intended for the claim. Claims 2-15 are also rejected since they depend from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the front ends" in line 11 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim only previously referred to a singular “front end.” Claims 3-15 are also rejected since they depend from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (JPH06159784).
As per claim 1, Tanaka discloses an apparatus for discharging air, the apparatus comprising: a duct 5 having a path (21, 23) thereinside through which air flows in forward and backward directions, and having an inlet 11 formed at a rear end thereof and an outlet 13 formed at a front end thereof; and a wind direction control member 7 positioned inside the duct, and having at least a partial area provided to be movable in a vertical direction so as to control a direction of air discharged through the outlet (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.). Note for the record that while the system of Tanaka is designed for air to flow in the forward direction, the limitation “through which air flows in forward and backward directions” is considered functional language. Since air is capable of flowing backward within the apparatus of Tanaka (e.g., simply according to air currents when an associated fan is not blowing), the apparatus is considered to read on this limitation. (Note further that Applicant’s own invention is similarly designed for airflow to travel a forward direction from the inlet to the outlet, so is also interpreted according to simply being capable of having air flowing in a backward direction.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JPH06159784) in view of Freese et al. (US 2016/0361977 A1).
As per claim 2, Tanaka discloses wherein the duct includes: passage portions (21, 23) having a preset length in the forward and backward directions and provided to face each other at a preset distance apart in the vertical direction (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.), thereby forming a path through which the air flows; Tanaka does not teach skin portions positioned in a front end area of the duct in the forward and backward directions, having a preset length in the forward and backward directions, having areas facing each other at a preset distance apart in the vertical direction, thereby forming the outlet between the front ends, in which the areas facing each other are provided with skin surfaces protruding in a facing direction. Freese et al. teach an apparatus for discharging air comprising “skin portions” positioned in a front end area of the duct in the forward and backward directions (see for example converging portions at pathway sections 22 at the front end), having a preset length in the forward and backward directions (dimensions are fixed), having areas facing each other at a preset distance apart in the vertical direction (distance between the portions are fixed), thereby forming the outlet between the front ends (Figs. 3-5; etc.), in which the areas facing each other are provided with skin surfaces protruding in a facing direction (Figs. 3-5; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide “skin portions” within the apparatus of Tanaka for the purpose of concentrating and directing the discharged airflow (note how the casing of Tanaka already converges inward at the outlet; the use of “skin portions” being simply a structural alternative for such convergence).
As per claim 3, Tanaka discloses the walls of the duct converging toward the outlet (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.), although do not teach wherein the skin surfaces are gradually inclined in the facing direction as extending forward. Freese et al. teach wherein the skin surfaces are gradually inclined in the facing direction as extending forward (Figs. 3-5; etc.). Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide such arranged “skin portions” within the apparatus of Tanaka for the purpose of concentrating and directing the discharged airflow.
As per claim 4, Tanaka discloses the walls having an inclination angle (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.), although do not teach wherein the skin surfaces are inclined by a skin inclination angle in the forward and backward directions. Freese et al. teach wherein the skin surfaces are inclined by a skin inclination angle in the forward and backward directions (Figs. 3-5; etc.). Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide such arranged “skin portions” within the apparatus of Tanaka for the purpose of concentrating and directing the discharged airflow.
As per claim 5, Tanaka discloses wherein the wind direction control member includes an inlet-side control portion (rear end portion 703, 3703) positioned in a rear area of the wind direction control member, having a front end provided with a support shaft 49 having a length extending in a lateral direction, and rotatable in the vertical direction about the support shaft as an axis (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.).
As per claim 6, Tanaka discloses wherein the wind direction control member further includes an outlet-side control portion (7, 47) positioned in a front area of the wind direction control member and fixed inside the duct (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.).
As per claim 7, Tanaka discloses portion 7, 47 being positioned between the converging outlet walls, but does not teach wherein the outlet-side control portion has at least a partial area positioned between the skin portions. Freese et al. teach the outlet walls having skin portions as already discussed (see claim 2; etc.). In performing the modification of claim 2, portions 7, 47 would naturally be positioned between the skin portions. Further, such positioning would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the already existing purpose of directing airflow toward the outlet.
As per claim 8, Tanaka discloses wherein the outlet-side control portion 7, 47 is positioned in a central area in the vertical direction in an internal space of the duct (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.).
As per claim 11, Tanaka disclose wherein the wind direction control member includes: an inlet-side control portion 3703 positioned in a rear area of the wind direction control member based on a rotation shaft 49 provided in a lateral direction; and an outlet-side control portion 3701positioned in a front area of the wind direction control member based on the rotation shaft.
As per claim 12, Tanaka discloses wherein the wind direction control member is formed in a central area in the vertical direction thereof (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.), but does not teach a flow hole formed through in the forward and backward directions. Freese et al. teach a flow hole (flow duct 44) formed through in the forward and backward directions of the wind direction control member (Fig. 4; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide a flow hole within the wind direction member of Tanaka for the purpose of further directing air flow from the inlet to the outlet as desired.
As per claim 14, Tanaka discloses wherein the wind direction control member is provided to be movable in the vertical direction (Figs. 2A & 2B; Figs. 4A & 4B; etc.).
Claim(s) 9-10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JPH06159784) in view of Freese et al. (US 2016/0361977 A1), and further in view of Kim (KR20030025411A).
As per claim 9, Tanaka does not teach the assembly further comprising: a drive cam connected to a connection shaft coupled to the inlet-side control portion to provide a power for rotating the inlet-side control portion. Kim teaches an air flow assembly wherein an airflow control portion 66 is controlled by a drive cam 68c through a connection shaft 68s. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply the drive arrangement of Kim to the air flow assembly of Tanaka for the similar purpose of effectively driving to positioning of the wind direction control member.
As per claim 10, Tanaka as modified by Freese et al. and Kim does not teach wherein the drive cam is provided as a sphere. However, such is considered a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application as an alternative drive arrangement to the motor/cam arrangement of Kim. More particularly, one of ordinary skill in the art could easily replace the motor drive of Kim with a manually driven cam, the replacement of an automatic arrangement with a manual arrangement in itself not being patently significant. Further, official notice is taken that the use of spherical knobs for manual operation of a drive shaft is generally known in the art. Accordingly, again, replacing the motor arrangement of Kim with such a manually driven spherical cam arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the purpose of allowing for manual operation of the wind direction control member.
As per claim 13, Tanaka does not disclose the assembly further comprising a drive member connected to the rotation shaft to provide a power for rotating the rotation shaft. Kim further teaches the drive arrangement comprising a drive member (motor 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to provide a drive motor as part of the drive assembly of Tanaka as modified by Kim for the purpose of providing the force necessary to move the wind direction control member as desired.
As per claim 15, Tanaka does not disclose the assembly further comprising: a drive cam to which a connection shaft, which has an outer end coupled to a side surface of the wind direction control member in a lateral direction and extends outward in the lateral direction, is inserted and connected, thereby providing a power for vertically moving the wind direction control member. Kim teaches a drive cam 68c to which a connection shaft 67, which has an outer end coupled to a wind direction control member 66 in a lateral direction and extends outward in the lateral direction, is inserted and connected (Figs. 4-5; etc.). t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide such a drive arrangement coupled to a side surface of the wind direction member of Tanaka for the same purpose of providing the drive controls to move the wind direction control member as desired.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Jovick et al. (US 11280517 B1) teach an air flow control arrangement (see Figs. 3B, 3E, 3G, 3I; etc.).
Uhlenbusch et al. (US 2019/0126726 A1) teach an air vent with a device for controlling air flow.
Londiche et al. (US 2014/0357179 A1) teach a cam-based air flow control.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763