DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on July 2, 2024. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 4-5, 8, 10, 12, 14-18, 40-41, 44, 48, 51, and 53-54 have been amended, claim(s) 19-36, 42-43, 45-47, 50 and 52 have been cancelled, and no claim(s) have been added. Thus, claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention details a system and method (Step 1) directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In accordance with MPEP 2106.04, each of Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1 per MPEP 2106.04(a)
Each of Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 recites at least one step or instruction for monitoring an efficacy of a treatment for a cardiac condition, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) or a certain method of organizing human activity in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) or mathematical concept in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I). Accordingly, each of Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 recites an abstract idea.
Specifically, Claim 1 recites
A method for monitoring an efficacy of a treatment for a cardiac condition, the method comprising:
a. obtaining a first set of subject health parameters of the subject, wherein the first set of subject health parameters comprises a first set of ambulatory monitoring parameters; (additional element)
b. determining a first cardiac health status by applying one or more decision engines with one or more ambulatory monitoring parameters of the first set of ambulatory monitoring parameters to determine i) a severity of a cardiac condition in the subject, and/or ii) a risk score for developing the cardiac condition by the subject; (Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I) and/or a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
c. detecting a cardiac health status (CHS) change in the severity and/or risk score based on a previous cardiac health status (CHS); and (a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
d. identifying the efficacy of the treatment based on the detected CHS change, wherein i) an increase in the severity and/or an increase in the risk score correlates with a low efficacy treatment, and ii) a decrease in the severity and/or an decrease in the risk score correlates with a high efficacy treatment. (Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I) and/or a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
Additionally, Claim 37 recites
A system for monitoring an efficacy of a treatment for a cardiac condition, the system comprising:
One or more processors; and (additional element)
One or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations including: (additional element)
a. obtaining a first set of subject health parameters of the subject, wherein the first set of subject health parameters comprises a first set of ambulatory monitoring parameters; (additional element)
b. determining a first cardiac health status by applying one or more decision engines with one or more ambulatory monitoring parameters of the first set of ambulatory monitoring parameters to determine i) a severity of a cardiac condition in the subject, and/or ii) a risk score for developing the cardiac condition by the subject; (Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I) and/or a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
c. detecting a cardiac health status (CHS) change in the severity and/or risk score based on a previous cardiac health status (CHS); and (a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
d. identifying the efficacy of the treatment based on the detected CHS change, wherein i) an increase in the severity and/or an increase in the risk score correlates with a low efficacy treatment, and ii) a decrease in the severity and/or an decrease in the risk score correlates with a high efficacy treatment. (Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I) and/or a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
Step 2A, Prong 2 per MPEP 2106.04(d)
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claims 1 and 37 (and their respective dependent 2-18, 38-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d) because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claims 1), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use according to MPEP 2106.05(h) or represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g). More specifically, the additional elements of: processors and memories, and subject health parameters are generic and used for data gathering adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception in independent Claims 1 and 37 (and their respective dependent claims) which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a). Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine according to MPEP 2106.05(b), effect a transformation according to MPEP 2106.05(c), provide a particular treatment or prophylaxis according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer in accordance with MPEP 2106.05(f). For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 37 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d).
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., external programming device or computer as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Accordingly, independent Claims 1 and 37 (and their respective dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea according to MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B per MPEP 2106.05
None of Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea in accordance with MPEP 2106.05 for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: processors, memories, and subject health parameters. The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) along with Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per Applicant’s instant specification, [0125] the processor can be embodied in a computer and the computer can be a personal computer, microcomputer or workstation and in [0133] can be a single or multiple computers which are generic computers that are commercially available. Additionally, [00130] details a memory which can be a hard drive, compact disk read-only memory (CD-ROM), DVD, or a solid-state memory device which are all generic and commercially available. Lastly in the instant specification, [0063] details that subject health parameters can be obtained by an ECG data module, clinical biomarker module, imaging data module and/or clinical data module which are various sensors such as an ECG that is well known in the art as detailed in [0064], or the clinical biomarker modules utilizes a blood sample from a health care provider as detailed in [0071], or imaging data such as an MRI as detailed in [0072] which are all generic and commercially available.
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed term processor is reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available technology, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for computers. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)(2) and 2106.07(a)(III)). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies] previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications along with MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1 and 37 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f) along with Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(a) along with McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, per MPEP 2106.05(a), the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the system of Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 are directed to applying an abstract idea as identified above on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself or providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field according to MPEP 2106.05(a), or (ii) providing meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e).
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 1 and 37 (and their dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Moreover, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application as required by MPEP 2106.05.
Therefore, for at least the above reasons, none of the Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, Claims 1-18, 37-41, 44, 48-49, 51, and 53-54 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14-16, 37-39, 41, 44, 48 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narayan (US 2014/0194763 A1) (as listed on the IDS submitted on 7/2/2024)
Regarding claims 1 and 37, Narayan discloses a system and method for monitoring an efficacy of a treatment for a cardiac condition (e.g. abstract), the system comprising: one or more processors (e.g. [0108]-[0109] Fig 11:1170); and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (e.g. [0200]), cause the system to perform operations/method comprising: a. obtaining a first set of subject health parameters of the subject, wherein the first set of subject health parameters comprises a first set of ambulatory monitoring parameters (e.g. [0031]-[0032]; [0100]-[0101] Fig 12a:1200); b. determining a first cardiac health status by applying one or more decision engines with one or more ambulatory monitoring parameters of the first set of ambulatory monitoring parameters to determine i) a severity of a cardiac condition in the subject, and/or ii) a risk score for developing the cardiac condition by the subject (e.g. abstract [0082]; [0143]; [0185]; Fig 12a/b); c. detecting a cardiac health status (CHS) change in the severity and/or risk score based on a previous cardiac health status (CHS) (e.g. abstract [0046]; [0101]; [0108]-[0110]; [0144]-[0146]; [0195]); and d. identifying the efficacy of the treatment based on the detected CHS change, wherein i) an increase in the severity and/or an increase in the risk score correlates with a low efficacy treatment, and ii) a decrease in the severity and/or an decrease in the risk score correlates with a high efficacy treatment (e.g. abstract [0046]; [0061]; [0130] [0145]; [0195]).
Regarding claims 2 and 38, Narayan discloses further comprising wherein the operations include prescribing i) a treatment change to the treatment, and/or ii) a new treatment based on identifying low efficacy treatment (e.g. [0046]; [0144]-[0145] Fig 12B:1265/1270).
Regarding claims 3 and 39, Narayan discloses wherein prescribing the new treatment comprises identifying the new treatment based on the cardiac health status and the first subject health parameters (e.g. [0046]; [0144]-[0145] Fig 12B:1265/1270).
Regarding claim 5, Narayan discloses further comprising repeating steps (a) to (d) a plurality of times for a prescribed duration, thereby providing monitoring of the efficacy of the treatment for the prescribed duration (e.g. Narayan [0099]; [0191]).
Regarding claim 6, Narayan discloses wherein steps (a) to (d) are repeated according to a temporal frequency during the prescribed duration (e.g. Narayan [0099]; [0191]).
Regarding claims 8 and 44, Narayan discloses wherein the first set of ambulatory monitoring parameters comprises electrocardiogram (ECG) data and/or one or more clinical parameters (e.g. [0100] Fig 11:1130).
Regarding claim 10, Narayan discloses wherein the ECG data is obtained via ECG device, wherein the ECG device comprises a 12-lead device, a 6- lead device, a 1-lead device, or a 2-lead device (e.g. [0100]; [0108]-[0109] the electrodes can be in the heart on the body surface or elsewhere).
Regarding claim 11, Narayan discloses wherein the ECG device comprises a wearable device (e.g. Fig 11:).
Regarding claims 12 and 48, Narayan discloses wherein the first set of subject health parameters further comprises one or more clinical biomarker data, and/or one or more imaging data (e.g. [0182]).
Regarding claim 14, Narayan discloses wherein the one or more imaging data comprises one or both of an echocardiogram image and a cardiac MRI (e.g. [0182]).
Regarding claims 15 and 51, Narayan discloses wherein the cardiac condition comprises a cardiac disease (e.g. abstract [0185]).
Regarding claim 16, Narayan discloses wherein the cardiac condition comprises cardiomyopathy, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, pulmonary arterial hypertension, amyloid cardiomyopathy, reduced ejection fraction heart failure, arrhythmia (which can include atrial fibrillation), heart failure, heart attack, stroke, myocardial ischemia (including macrovascular and/or microvascular), left atrial enlargement (LAE), left atrial myopathy, diastolic dysfunction, or any combination thereof (e.g. abstract [0060]; [0153]; [0185]; [0196]).
Regarding claim 41, Narayan discloses wherein the operations further include repeating steps (a) to (d) a plurality of times for a prescribed duration, thereby providing monitoring of the efficacy of the treatment for a prescribed duration (e.g. Narayan [0099]; [0191]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayan
Regarding claim 7, Narayan is silent regarding wherein the temporal frequency is every hour, every 6 hours, every 12 hours, daily, every other day, weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, or bi- monthly.
However, Narayan does disclose that the system and method could analyze the disease index continuously during the day or at specific times including after the treatment (e.g. [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and method of Narayan to utilize specific times to analyze the disease index based on the desired monitoring of the user and their health conditions (e.g. Narayan [0099]; [0191]).
Claim(s) 4 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayan in view of Elbadry (US 2019/0358387 A1)
Regarding claims 4 and 40, Narayan is silent regarding wherein the operations further include outputting an alert based on identifying low efficacy treatment.
However, Elbadry details a sensor monitoring system wherein the operations further include outputting an alert based on identifying low efficacy treatment (e.g. [0383]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and method of Narayan to incorporate the teachings of Elbadry wherein the operations further include outputting an alert based on identifying low efficacy treatment for the purpose of being able to know when a treatment needs to be adjusted (e.g. Elbadry [0383]).
Claim(s) 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayan in view of Masuda (US 2022/0028060 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Narayan is silent regarding wherein the one or more clinical parameters comprises, the subject's age, sex, weight, body mass index, height, physiological data, exercise testing results, heart rate, activity levels, velocity, sleep data, or a combination thereof.
However, Masuda discloses a system and method for monitoring cardiac disease wherein the one or more clinical parameters comprises, the subject's age, sex, weight, body mass index, height, physiological data, exercise testing results, heart rate, activity levels, velocity, sleep data, or a combination thereof (e.g. [0089]; [0132]; [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Narayan to incorporate the teachings of Masuda wherein the one or more clinical parameters comprises, the subject's age, sex, weight, body mass index, height, physiological data, exercise testing results, heart rate, activity levels, velocity, sleep data, or a combination thereof for the purpose of aiding in the classification of determining the patient’s state (e.g. Masuda [0089]; [0132]; [0168]).
Claim(s) 13, 17, 49 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayan in view of Ng (US 2006/0155200 A1)
Regarding claims 13 and 49, Narayan is silent regarding wherein the one or more clinical biomarker data comprise data for one or more of B-type natriuretic peptide (BNP), N-terminal(NT)-pro hormone BNP (NT-proBNP), and cardiac troponin.
However, Ng discloses a method for predicting cardiac disease wherein the one or more clinical biomarker data comprise data for one or more of B-type natriuretic peptide (BNP), N-terminal(NT)-pro hormone BNP (NT-proBNP), and cardiac troponin (e.g. abstract [0019]-[0024]; [0051]-[0052] claims 10-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and method of Narayan to incorporate the teachings of Ng wherein the one or more clinical biomarker data comprise data for one or more of B-type natriuretic peptide (BNP), N-terminal(NT)-pro hormone BNP (NT-proBNP), and cardiac troponin for the purpose of increased screening of cardiac disease (e.g. Ng abstract [0019]-[0024];).
Regarding claims 17 and 53, Narayan is silent regarding wherein the one or more decision engines comprise a trained model, a decision tree, an analytical expression, or a combination thereof. Narayan does disclose the use of various modules to determine cardiac health (e.g. [0101] Fig 11:1135/1145/1175/1180/1185/1190).
However, Ng discloses a method for predicting cardiac disease wherein the one or more decision engines comprise a trained model, a decision tree, an analytical expression, or a combination thereof (e.g. abstract [0001] the invention utilizes an algorithm in combination with the ECG data to obtain a likelihood of a patient’s cardiac status).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and method of Narayan to incorporate the teachings of Ng wherein the one or more decision engines comprise a trained model, a decision tree, an analytical expression, or a combination thereof for the purpose of obtaining an improved indication of a patient’s cardiac status (e.g. Ng abstract [0001]).
Claim(s) 18 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayan in view of Carlson (US 2023/0158027 A1) (PCT filed on 11/10/2020)
Regarding claims 18 and 54, Narayan is silent regarding wherein the treatment comprises reducing ventricular filling pressures.
However, Carlson discloses a method and system of treating cardiac diseases (e.g. [0123]) wherein the treatment comprises reducing ventricular filling pressures (e.g. [0581]-[0584]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system and method of Narayan to incorporate the teachings of Carlson wherein the treatment comprises reducing ventricular filling pressures for the purpose of utilizing a known treatment that favorable impact on cardiac diseases (e.g. Carlson abstract [0581]-[0584]).
Conclusion
Jessandra Hough June 12, 2026
/J.F.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796