DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 08/05/2024 and 06/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 07/02/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 07/02/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 16, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (US 20210391602 A1, hereinafter Kennedy), in view of Batson (US 20040212342 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a lead assembly of a battery (Kennedy, battery cell interconnect system for a battery module, [0002]) comprising
a plurality of battery cells (Kennedy, plurality of battery cells, [0033]),
the lead assembly comprising:
a plurality of leads, each lead having a first end, a second end opposite to the first end (Kennedy, the pads 115 are connected by leads 116 to connector pins 120, [0056], Figure 12; the Examiner notes that the connector pins correspond to the claimed first connector),
the first end comprising a first connector (Kennedy, connectors pins are arranged in a row or matrix that projects downward to form a female connector, which couples with a connector of the monitoring module, [0056]), and
a lead frame enclosing at least a portion of each of the leads of the plurality of leads (Kennedy, the lead frame is molded into the main portion, wherein an upper portion of the lead frame may be completely covered with polymer of the body, [0056]).
Kennedy is silent regarding the second end comprising a second connector, and the second connector of one or more leads being couplable to a corresponding battery cell of the plurality of battery cells.
Batson discloses a lead assembly of a battery (Batson, a battery cover assembly that provides means for measuring electrical current passing to and from a battery post, [0007]) comprising a second end comprising a second connector (Batson, the terminal assembly includes an electrically conductive collar having an inner surface for connecting to a battery post, [0007]; the Examiner notes that the electrically conductive collar corresponds to the second connector), and
the second connector of one or more leads being couplable to a corresponding battery cell of the plurality of battery cells (Batson, electrically conductive collar having an inner surface for connecting to a battery post, [0023]).
Batson teaches that the collar connects with the battery post to provides means for measuring electrical current passing to and from a battery post, means to measure the battery terminal voltage, and means to integrate electronic circuitry within the existing physical envelope of the battery (Batson, [0007]). Kennedy and Batson are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery lead assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an electrically conductive collar of Batson in the battery cell interconnect system of Kennedy, in order to provides means for measuring electrical current passing to and from a battery post, means to measure the battery terminal voltage, and means to integrate electronic circuitry within the existing physical envelope of the battery.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a lead assembly (Kennedy, battery cell interconnect system for a battery module, [0002]), wherein the second connector comprises a lead ring (Batson, electrically conductive collar having an inner surface for connecting to a battery post, [0023]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a lead assembly (Kennedy, battery cell interconnect system for a battery module, [0002]), wherein the second connector further comprises a post connector coupled to the lead ring, the post connector being couplable to one battery cell (Batson, electrically conductive collar having an inner surface for connecting to a battery post, [0023]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a lead assembly (Kennedy, battery cell interconnect system for a battery module, [0002]), wherein the first end of each lead protrudes from the lead frame and is couplable to a battery management system (Kennedy, the pads 115 are connected by leads 116 to connector pins 120, most of which are arranged in a row or matrix that projects downward into the first connector housing 114 to form a female connector 118, which couples with a connector 122 of the monitoring module 15, [0056]; the Examiner notes that the monitoring module corresponds to the claimed battery management system).
Kennedy discloses that the sensing contacts 100 enable various measurements (such as current, voltage and temperature) to be made by the monitoring module 15 of various portions of the circuit arrangement for the first battery module 10 (Kennedy, [0053], Figures 1 and 20)
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), the battery comprising:
a plurality of posts (Batson, positive and negative posts, [0038]);
a plurality of battery cells (Kennedy, plurality of battery cells, [0033]),
each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells being coupled to one post of the plurality of posts (Batson, an electrically conductive post connected to the storage cell, [0014]);
a case housing the plurality of battery cells (Kennedy, a battery module is provided and includes a housing with a cover attachable to a body, and a plurality of battery cells are disposed in the housing, [0005]);
a first cover sealed to the case (Kennedy, a battery module is provided and includes a housing with a cover attachable to a body, [0005]) and comprising
a first plurality of openings, each opening of the first plurality of openings receiving one post of the plurality of posts and coupling the one post to the first cover (Kennedy, the battery module comprises an upper interconnect panel that has a plurality of first panel openings extending therethrough and includes a plurality of first contacts that are secured to the terminals of the battery cells, [0005]);
a battery management system configured to determine one or more parameters associated with the battery (Kennedy, the sensing contacts enable various measurements (such as current, voltage and temperature) to be made by the monitoring module of various portions of the circuit arrangement for the first battery module, [0053]); and
a lead assembly comprising a plurality of leads, each lead of the plurality of leads having a first end, the first end comprising a first connector (Kennedy, the pads 115 are connected by leads 116 to connector pins 120, [0056], Figure 12; the Examiner notes that the connector pins correspond to the claimed first connector),
a second end opposite to the first end, the second end comprising a second connector (Batson, electrically conductive collar having an inner surface for connecting to a battery post, [0023]; the Examiner notes that the electrically conductive collar corresponds to the claimed second connector),
the first connector of each lead being coupled to the battery management system (Kennedy, connectors pins are arranged in a row or matrix that projects downward to form a female connector, which couples with a connector of the monitoring module, [0056]),
the second connector of each lead being coupled to one post (Batson, electrically conductive collar having an inner surface for connecting to a battery post, [0023]),
each lead of the plurality of leads establishing an electrical connection between one battery cell and the battery management system (Kennedy, connectors pins are arranged in a row or matrix that projects downward to form a female connector, which couples with a connector of the monitoring module, [0056]) to determine the one or more parameters (Kennedy, the sensing contacts enable various measurements (such as current, voltage and temperature) to be made by the monitoring module of various portions of the circuit arrangement for the first battery module, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the battery further comprises:
a plurality of straps, each strap of the plurality of straps having a first side and a second side (Batson, a positive lead strap connects the positive plates while a negative lead strap connects the negative plates, [0005]),
the first side being coupled to one post of the plurality of posts (Batson, lead posts are connected to each strap, [0005]),
the second side being coupled to one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells (Batson, a positive lead strap connects the positive plates while a negative lead strap connects the negative plates, [0005]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the first cover further comprises: a plurality of bushings (Batson, the cover further includes a first surface having a terminal port, a second surface having a post port, wherein the collar positioned in the post port for receiving a battery post, [0009]),
each bushing of the plurality of bushings being coupled to the first cover and one corresponding post (Batson, the collar positioned in the post port for receiving a battery post, [0009]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the battery further comprises a case internal space defined by the first cover, the case, and the coupling of each bushing to the first cover and to the one corresponding post (Batson, a two-piece cover may be used for the battery cover assembly 12 for ease in manufacture, with the terminal assemblies 14 insert molded to an inner portion 56 of the cover, [0043], Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the coupling of the second connector (Batson, the cover includes the terminal assembly discussed above and further includes a first surface having a terminal port, a second surface having a post port, and wherein the cover defines a closed chamber, [0009]) further comprises:
coupling the second connector to one corresponding bushing (Batson, the collar positioned in the post port for receiving a battery post, [0009]),
the coupling of the second connector being external to the case internal space (Batson, a two-piece cover may be used for the battery cover assembly 12 for ease in manufacture, with the terminal assemblies 14 insert molded to an inner portion 56 of the cover, [0043], Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), the lead assembly further comprises a lead frame enclosing (Kennedy, the body is formed by overmolding the lead frame with a thermoplastic resin, [0054]) at least a portion of each of the leads of the plurality of leads (Kennedy, an upper portion of the lead frame may be completely covered with polymer, [0056]).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the plurality of battery cells includes a first cell and a second cell, and the one of more parameters determined by the battery management system includes one or both of:
a first voltage of the first cell and a second voltage of the second cell (Kennedy, the monitoring circuitry may monitor the voltage across each battery cell and/or each group of battery cells, [0063]); and
a first temperature of the first cell and a second temperature of the second cell (Kennedy, the monitoring circuitry may monitor temperatures at various locations within the first battery module, [0063]),
the first voltage, the second voltage, the first temperature, and the second temperature being determined using the established electrical connection (Kennedy, the sensing contacts 100 enable various measurements (such as current, voltage and temperature) to be made by the monitoring module 15 of various portions of the circuit arrangement for the first battery module 10, [0053], Figures 1 and 20)
Regarding Claim 22, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), the battery management system is further configured to one or more of: receive a vehicle parameter; determine the vehicle parameter based on the one or more parameters associated with the battery; cause transmission of the determined vehicle parameter; and cause transmission of the one or more parameters associated with the battery (Kennedy, the monitoring circuitry may generate an alarm to notify the master controller for the vehicle battery system, and values for the monitored voltages, currents and temperatures, as well as any generated alarms may be transmitted to the master controller over a Controller Area Network (CAN) bus connected between the monitoring module and the master controller, [0063]).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (US 20210391602 A1, hereinafter Kennedy), in view of Batson (US 20040212342 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Jeon (US 20190288265 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a lead assembly (Kennedy, battery cell interconnect system for a battery module, [0002]), wherein the plurality of leads (Kennedy, the pads 115 are connected by leads 116 to connector pins 120, [0056], Figure 12) comprises one lead couplable to a terminal (Kennedy, the connector portion for the positive contact is bent downward, over the carrier 170, the lower interconnect panel and the lower insulating layer to place the pad portion 174a of the positive contact in physical contact with the positive terminal 52, where they are secured together, [0082], Figure 21),
the lead frame comprises a first portion (Kennedy, the body 104 of the carrier 62 is generally T-shaped and includes a bar-shaped main portion, [0055]), a second portion (Kennedy, a bar-shaped main portion 108 joined to a pair of outwardly-extending first and second arm portions, [0055]), and
an arm coupled to the first and second portions, the first portion comprising the one lead (Kennedy, a bar-shaped main portion 108 joined to a pair of outwardly-extending first and second arm portions, [0055]).
Modified Kennedy is silent regarding an adjustable arm.
Jeon discloses an adjustable arm (Jeon, a bus bar cover covering the bus bar to insulate the bus bar, wherein the bus bar cover includes first and second portions covering the first and second portions of the bus bar and a hinge portion providing pivotable connection between the first and second portions, Abstract).
Jeon teaches that the pivotable hinge allows for the first and second portions 110 and 120 of the bus bar cover 100 may be closely and firmly adhered onto the first and second portions 210 and 220 of the bus bar 200 even when the first portion 210 of the bus bar 200 and the second portion 220 of the bus bar 200 are not arranged on the same plane but on different planes, that is, planes inclined with respect to each other (Jeon, [0051], Figure 3).
Modified Kennedy and Jeon are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery module comprising a battery interconnecting system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the arms of modified Kennedy to be adjustable, as taught by Jeon, in order to allow for the close and firm adherence between two portions that are arranged on different planes.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a lead assembly (Kennedy, battery cell interconnect system for a battery module, [0002]), wherein the adjustable (Jeon, a hinge portion providing pivotable connection between the first and second portions, Abstract) arm (Kennedy, a bar-shaped main portion 108 joined to a pair of outwardly-extending first and second arm portions, [0055]) is arranged to adjust a position of the first portion, the adjusted position causing the first portion and the second portion to be in different planes (Jeon, the pivotable hinge allows for the first and second portions 110 and 120 of the bus bar cover 100 may be closely and firmly adhered onto the first and second portions 210 and 220 of the bus bar 200 even when the first portion 210 of the bus bar 200 and the second portion 220 of the bus bar 200 are not arranged on the same plane but on different planes, [0051], Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the lead frame comprises a first portion (Kennedy, the body 104 of the carrier 62 is generally T-shaped and includes a bar-shaped main portion, [0055]),
a second portion (Kennedy, a bar-shaped main portion 108 joined to a pair of outwardly-extending first and second arm portions, [0055]), and
an adjustable (Jeon, a bus bar cover covering the bus bar to insulate the bus bar, wherein the bus bar cover includes first and second portions covering the first and second portions of the bus bar and a hinge portion providing pivotable connection between the first and second portions, Abstract) arm coupled to the first and second portions (Kennedy, a bar-shaped main portion 108 joined to a pair of outwardly-extending first and second arm portions, [0055]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the adjustable arm is arranged to adjust a position of the first portion, the adjusted position causing the first portion and the second portion to be in different planes (Jeon, the pivotable hinge allows for the first and second portions 110 and 120 of the bus bar cover 100 may be closely and firmly adhered onto the first and second portions 210 and 220 of the bus bar 200 even when the first portion 210 of the bus bar 200 and the second portion 220 of the bus bar 200 are not arranged on the same plane but on different planes, [0051], Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the battery comprises a first terminal, the first portion being coupled to the first terminal and further establishing the electrical connection between the first terminal and the battery management system (Kennedy, the pads 115 are connected by leads 116 to connector pins 120, most of which are arranged in a row or matrix that projects downward into the first connector housing 114 to form a female connector 118, which couples with a connector 122 of the monitoring module 15, [0056]; the Examiner notes that the monitoring module corresponds to the claimed battery management system).
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (US 20210391602 A1, hereinafter Kennedy), in view of Batson (US 20040212342 A1), as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Francisco (US 5278003 A) and Partington et al. (US 20130302656 A1, hereinafter Partington).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]).
Modified Kennedy is silent regarding the battery further comprises a second cover sealed to the first cover and defining a cover space between the first and second covers, the first cover further comprising a second plurality of openings establishing fluid communication between the cover space and the case internal space, wherein the second cover comprises a valve arranged to release, from the case internal space and the cover space, fluid having a pressure at or greater than a predetermined pressure threshold.
Francisco discloses a battery (Francisco, battery, Abstract) comprising a second cover sealed to the first cover (Francisco, a secondary cover which is fitted over the primary cover, Abstract) and
defining a cover space between the first and second covers, the first cover further comprising a second plurality of openings establishing fluid communication between the cover space and the case internal space (Francisco, a gas condensation chamber is secured to the primary cover and contains escaped gas received from the battery, Abstract).
Francisco teaches that a secondary cover that is fitted over the primary cover with a gas condensation chamber between the two covers allow for gases to escape from the battery (Francisco, Abstract).
Modified Kennedy and Francisco are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery comprising a cover.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the battery of modified Kennedy to have a secondary cover that is fitted over the primary cover and a gas condensation chamber between the two covers, in order to allow for gases to escape from the battery.
Partington discloses a battery (Partington, battery, Abstract) comprising
a cover comprises a valve arranged to release (Partington, a flame arrestor plug for controlled venting of gases from the battery through the vent hole, wherein the flame arrestor plug has a valve element for controlling the venting of gas from the vent hole, Abstract),
from the case internal space and the cover space, fluid having a pressure at or greater than a predetermined pressure threshold (Partington, as gas builds up in the battery during use, the pressure inside the battery increases until a point is reached at which the pressure is sufficient to cause the valve element of the flame arrestor plug to open, [0009]).
Partington teaches that the combination of a valve element for controlling the venting of the gas and a plug portion which, together with the battery casing, defines a flow path though which the gases can escape from the battery whilst at the same time preventing propagation of the flame back along the flow path, has the advantage that only one part (the flame arrestor plug) needs to be provided for each vent hole on the battery, thereby reducing the complexity of the assembly process and in many cases helping to reduce the overall cost of the battery (Partington, [0009]).
Modified Kennedy and Partington are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the flame arrestor plug of Partington in the secondary cover of modified Kennedy, in order to allow gases to escape from the battery whilst at the same time preventing propagation of the flame back along the flow path.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]), wherein the second cover (Francisco, secondary cover, Abstract) further comprises
a flame arrestor plug (Partington, flame arrestor plug, Abstract) in fluid communication with the valve (Partington, the flame arrestor plug has a valve element for controlling the venting of gas from the vent hole, Abstract),
the flame arrestor plug comprising a flame arrestor arranged to prevent a flame ignitable by the release of fluid by the valve (Partington, a portion of the flow path being of sufficiently narrow cross-section to prevent propagation of a flame along the flow path, Abstract).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kennedy et al. (US 20210391602 A1, hereinafter Kennedy), in view of Batson (US 20040212342 A1), Francisco (US 5278003 A), and Partington et al. (US 20130302656 A1, hereinafter Partington), as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20170194674 A1, hereinafter Lee)
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kennedy discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Kennedy discloses the limitations regarding a battery (Kennedy, a battery module, [0002]).
Modified Kennedy is silent regarding the battery further comprises a third cover, the second cover including an access opening and being coupled to the third cover to cover the access opening, the first, second, and third covers defining an access space, the access space being external to the cover space and comprising the battery management system and the lead assembly.
Lee discloses a battery (Lee, compact secondary battery, Abstract) further comprises a third cover (Lee, the sensing cover may be prepared to protect the BMS circuit board and the bus bar, [0046]),
the second cover including an access opening (Lee, the bus bar and the BMS circuit board are positioned on the sensing housing, [0045]) and being coupled to the third cover to cover the access opening (Lee, the sensing cover may include a plurality of cover hooks prepared on an edge thereof. Each of the cover 42 may be selectively inserted into housing slots respectively prepared on corresponding positions of the sensing housing, [0046]),
the first, second, and third covers defining an access space, the access space being external to the cover space and comprising the battery management system and the lead assembly (Lee, the bus bar and the BMS circuit board are positioned on the sensing housing, [0045]).
Lee teaches that the sensing cover, or claimed third cover, can protect the BMS circuit board and the bus bar, or claimed lead assembly (Lee, [0046]).
Modified Kennedy and Lee are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the sensing cover of Lee in the battery module of modified Kennedy, in order to protect the BMS circuit board and lead assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20020051906 A1 discloses the fastening portion has a split tubular fastening ring that is configured and dimensioned for sitting over the battery post [0023].
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752