Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/02/24 has been considered by the examiner
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-8 and 15-20) in the reply filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Therefore, Invention II (claims 9-14) has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the presence”. Examiner notes this should read “a presence”
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the device”. Examiner notes this should read “the sample-collection device”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over McCord (US 2020/0015791)
Regarding claim 15, McCord teaches a sample-collection device to detect various medicines and their metabolites from a urine stream of a patient [par. 8], the device comprising: a device carrier [fig. 1, element 100] having at least one reagent-infused strip [fig. 2, element 212; par. 63] to collect at least a portion of the urine stream [par. 48, 63]; and a camera [fig. 2, element 220] to collect an image from each of the at least one reagent-infused strips and produce information therefrom [par. 49]
Regarding claim 17, McCord further teaches a signaling device comprising a combination transponder and signaler to transmit the information received from the camera to a storage device for later analysis of the various medicines and their metabolites [par. 49, 54]
Regarding claim 18, McCord further teaches the camera comprises a color camera configured to collect one or more color changes on each of the at least one reagent-infused strips [par. 56].
Regarding claim 20, McCord further teaches a biometric- identification device to identify a user of the device, the biometric-identification device comprising a device selected from a fingerprint scanner, a facial scanner, and a retinal scanner [par. 14].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCord
Regarding claim 1, McCord teaches an apparatus that can be attached to a toilet to detect various medicines and their metabolites from a urine stream of a patient [par. 8], the apparatus comprising: a device carrier [fig. 1, element 100] having at least one reagent-infused strip [fig. 2, element 212; par. 63], an absorbent pad [fig. 2, 7, element 212; par. 48, 63 “A test matrix may have multiple layers, including for example a backing, one or more layers for reagents, and a top laminate layer. Materials may be selected to absorb sufficient urine sample volume to perform the tests”, Examiner notes the reagent-infused strip comprises an absorbent portion]; a camera [fig. 2, element 220] to collect an image from each of the at least one reagent-infused strips and produce information therefrom [par. 49]; and a signaling device comprising a combination transponder and signaler to transmit information received from the camera to a storage device for later analysis of the various medicines and their metabolites [par. 49, 54]
An alternate embodiment of McCord teaches a transfer tube [figs. 5A-C, element 501] to direct at least portions of the urine stream from the absorbent pad to the at least one reagent- infused strip [par. 57]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by McCord, to incorporate a transfer tube to direct at least portions of the urine stream from the absorbent pad to the at least one reagent- infused strip, for filtering the urine, as evidence by McCord [par. 57]
Regarding claim 2, McCord further teaches the information received from the camera is configured to be transmitted wirelessly to a storage device [par. 49, 54]
Regarding claim 3, McCord further teaches the camera comprises a color camera configured to collect one or more color changes on each of the at least one reagent-infused strips [par. 56]
Regarding claim 5, McCord further teaches a biometric-identification device to identify a user of the apparatus, the biometric-identification device comprising a fingerprint scanner [par. 14]
Regarding claim 7, McCord further teaches a urination-detection device, the urination-detection device to detect the presence of the urine stream of the patient [par. 53, 54]
Regarding claim 8, McCord further teaches the camera is mounted to an underside of a toilet ring mounted on the toilet [par. 16, 41]
Regarding claim 16, McCord further teaches an absorbent pad [fig. 2, 7, element 212; par. 48, 63 “A test matrix may have multiple layers, including for example a backing, one or more layers for reagents, and a top laminate layer. Materials may be selected to absorb sufficient urine sample volume to perform the tests”, Examiner notes the reagent-infused strip comprises an absorbent portion]
Another embodiment of McCord teaches a transfer tube [figs. 5A-C, element 501] hydraulically coupled to the at least one reagent-infused strip to direct the at least portions of the urine stream from the absorbent pad to the at least one reagent-infused strip [par. 57].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by McCord, to incorporate an absorbent pad and a transfer tube hydraulically coupled to the at least one reagent-infused strip to direct the at least portions of the urine stream from the absorbent pad to the at least one reagent-infused strip, for filtering the urine, as evidence by McCord [par. 57]
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCord and in further view of Murray (US 2022/0390379)
Regarding claims 4 and 19, McCord teaches an apparatus that can be attached to a toilet to detect various medicines and their metabolites from a urine stream of a patient, as disclosed above, and mount the device carrier to a toilet ring [fig. 1; par. 41]; and a driving component configured to adjust the device carrier from a stored position to a position that is at least partially into the urine stream [par. 12, 41]
However, McCord does not teach a bracket to mount the device
Murray teaches a bracket to mount the device [fig. 2, 3, element 192; par. 43]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by McCord, to incorporate a bracket to mount the device, for allowing the extension of the device, as evidence by Murray [par. 43]
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCord and in further view of Tan (US 2019/0369085)
Regarding claim 6, McCord teaches an apparatus that can be attached to a toilet to detect various medicines and their metabolites from a urine stream of a patient, as disclosed above.
However, McCord does not teach a biometric-identification device to identify a user of the apparatus, the biometric-identification device comprising at least one device selected from a facial scanner and a retinal scanner
Tan teaches a biometric-identification device to identify a user of the apparatus, the biometric-identification device comprising at least one device selected from a facial scanner and a retinal scanner [par. 70]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art when the invention was filed to modify the method as taught by McCord, to incorporate a biometric-identification device to identify a user of the apparatus, the biometric-identification device comprising at least one device selected from a facial scanner and a retinal scanner, for determining the identification of the user to further personalize the configuration of the device for the user, as evidence by Tan [par. 70, 78]
Conclusion
/GRACE L ROZANSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791