Non-Final Rejection
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on July 3rd, 2024, has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 2 recite that each “unit” comprises one or more processors. Applicant’s specification only describes there being one processor (Paragraph 0045 and Fig. 11). Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected as being dependent on at least one of the aforementioned claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6 multiple services, a monitored service, and a plurality of services. The relationship between these services is unclear. Examiner interprets the limitations as any combination of multiple services and subservices. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites the limitations “response time” and “each time.” It is unclear if “each time” is a response time itself, or a response time measured at a given time. Examiner interprets “each time” as a time separate from the response time, for example, a collection time at which the response time is taken. Appropriate correction is required.
All dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to being dependent on at least one of the aforementioned claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“estimation device configured to estimate…” in Claim 1
“abnormality score calculation unit … configured to calculate… to input …” in Claims 1, 2, and 4
“failure occurrence service estimation unit … configured to estimate…” in Claims 1 and 5
“root-cause estimation unit … configured to estimate …” in Claims 1 and 5
“processing unit … configured to convert … to remove…, extract …, and interpolate …” in Claims 2 and 3
The “estimation device” of Claim 1 is given structure by Paragraphs 0012-0013 and Paragraph 0044-0045, being described as the combined use of all of the units upon the computer.
The “abnormality score calculation unit” of Claims 1, 2, and 4 is given structure by the algorithm of Paragraphs 0020-0021 and the computer system of Paragraph 0045.
The “failure occurrence service estimation unit” of Claims 1 and 5 is given structure by the algorithm of Paragraph 0022 and the computer system of Paragraph 0045.
The “root-cause estimation unit” of Claims 1 and 5 is given structure by the algorithm of Paragraph 0023 and the computer system of Paragraph 0045.
The “processing unit” of Claims 2 and 3 is given structure by the algorithm of Paragraphs 0016-0019 and the computer system of Paragraph 0045.
Since each of the above units are described as instructions on a singular processor as cited above, Examiner interprets the claimed invention as software running on one processor. The “units” of software are not described as anything other than a set of instructions to complete a certain function, and thus are being interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. The claims recite mathematics and mental processes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims generally link abstract ideas to a generic computer and perform mere data gathering in relation to the mathematics and mental processes. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they include mere instructions to perform the abstract ideas on a generic computer.
The claimed invention performs math on a computer, in which the operands of the math are metrics related to the performance of a computer. Certain aspects of the invention leave calculations to a multivariate time-series model with describing how a solution is achieved.
Claim 1
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
Claim 1 recites:
… estimate/estimate … based on the abnormality score (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships, formulas/equations, and calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes) …
… calculate (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process) …
Step 2A Prong 2: Identification of Additional Elements
Claim 1 recites:
An estimation device configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) … a service in which a failure has occurred in a monitored service configured by combining a plurality of services and … a root-cause of the failure (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity), the estimation device comprising:
an abnormality score calculation unit, comprising one or more processors, configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) … an abnormality score indicating a degree of deviation from a normal time from a metric obtained by quantifying an activity of each of the plurality of services and a trace in which time information and a call order of processing of each of the plurality of services are recorded (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity);
a failure occurrence service estimation unit, comprising one or more processors, configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) …
and a root-cause estimation unit, comprising one or more processors, configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) … a root-cause based on an abnormality score of a metric of the service in which the failure has occurred (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
The additional elements of the claim do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application. The claims simply state mental processes and mathematics with mere instructions to perform these abstract ideas on a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)(3)). The computer is cited at such a high level of generality that it cannot be determined to be a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)) and is simply linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Claim 2
Claim 2 recites:
a processing unit, comprising one or more processors, configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) convert (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes) the trace into a response time of each of the plurality of services for each time (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity), wherein the abnormality score calculation unit is configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) calculate (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process) an abnormality score from a metric and a trace for each time (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
Claim 3
Claim 3 recites:
wherein the processing unit is configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) remove processing with low importance in failure detection from the trace (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes), extract a response time of each of the plurality of services (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations” are mental processes), and interpolate the response time for a service whose response time cannot be extracted (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes).
Claim 4
Claim 4 recites:
wherein the abnormality score calculation unit is configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) input metrics and traces at a normal time (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) to a multivariate time-series model to learn behavior at a normal time, and input the metrics and the traces to the multivariate time-series model at a time of estimation (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) to calculate (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical calculations are abstract ideas) the abnormality score (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
Claim 5
Claim 5 recites:
wherein the failure occurrence service estimation unit is configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) estimate a service in which the abnormality score exceeds a predetermined threshold as a service in which a failure occurs (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships, formulas/equations, and calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes), and the root-cause estimation unit is configured to (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) obtain an average of abnormality scores (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), formulas/equations and calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process) of metrics in a time period of failure occurrence in the service in which the failure has occurred (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity), and estimate the root-cause based on the obtained average value (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships, formulas/equations, and calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes).
Claim 6
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
Claim 6 recites:
An estimation method for estimating … and estimating … the estimation method comprising (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I), mathematical relationships, formulas/equations, and calculations are abstract ideas; MPEP 2106.04(a), math that could be practically performed in the human mind is considered a mental process; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes) …
All remaining limitations identified as abstract ideas have been analyzed above with respect to Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2: Identification of Additional Elements
Claim 6 recites:
… a service in which a failure has occurred in a monitored service configured by combining a plurality of services … a root-cause of the failure occurrence (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity)
… by a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application):
All remaining limitations identified as additional elements have been analyzed above with respect to Claim 1.
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Please see the rejection of Claim 1 for the Step 2B analysis.
Claim 7
Claim 7 recites:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program, wherein execution of the program causes a computer to operate as each unit of the estimation device according to claim 1 (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2) as being anticipated by Callot et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,265,446 B1), hereinafter referred to as Callot.
With regards to Claim 1, Callot teaches:
An estimation device (Fig. 11) configured to estimate a service in which a failure has occurred in a monitored service configured by combining a plurality of services (Col. 6, Lines 37-50, multiple applications with micro-services) and estimate a root-cause of the failure (Col. 4, Lines 50-63, root-cause analysis), the estimation device comprising:
an abnormality score calculation unit, *, configured to calculate an abnormality score indicating a degree of deviation (Col. 4, Lines 4-16) from a normal time (Col. 6, Lines 46-60, metrics can be various rates/times) from a metric obtained by quantifying an activity of each of the plurality of services and a trace in which time information and a call order of processing of each of the plurality of services are recorded (Col. 3, Lines 38-56); Note the trace is being interpreted based off of the description in Paragraph 0007 of Applicant’s specification.
a failure occurrence service estimation unit, *, configured to estimate a service in which a failure has occurred based on the abnormality score (Col. 12, Lines 19-54);
and a root-cause estimation unit, *, configured to estimate a root-cause based on an abnormality score of a metric of the service in which the failure has occurred (Col. 4, Lines 50-63, root-cause analysis).
* = comprising one or more processors (Col. 20, Lines 32-46),
With regards to Claim 2, Callot teaches the device of Claim 1 as referenced above. Callot further teaches:
a processing unit, *, configured to convert the trace into a response time of each of the plurality of services for each time (Col. 6, Line 46 – Col. 7, Line 11, metrics such as response time can be extracted from timestamped logs; Col.7, Lines 30-39, analysis is restricted to certain metrics and times), wherein the abnormality score calculation unit is configured to calculate an abnormality score from a metric and a trace for each time (Col. 11, Lines 58-63, scores for different times for the metrics).
With regards to Claim 4, Callot teaches the device of Claim 1 as referenced above. Callot further teaches:
wherein the abnormality score calculation unit is configured to input metrics and traces at a normal time to a multivariate time-series model to learn behavior at a normal time (Col. 8, Line 50 - Col. 9, Line 6, the model; Col. 10, Lines 24-38, the model indicating normal behavior), and input the metrics and the traces to the multivariate time-series model at a time of estimation to calculate the abnormality score (Col. 11, Lines 5-29; Col. 11, Lines 32-47, the model can be multivariate).
With regards to Claim 5, Callot teaches the device of Claim 1 as referenced above. Callot further teaches:
wherein the failure occurrence service estimation unit is configured to estimate a service in which the abnormality score exceeds a predetermined threshold as a service in which a failure occurs (Col. 12, Lines 19-54), and the root-cause estimation unit is configured to obtain an average of abnormality scores of metrics in a time period of failure occurrence in the service in which the failure has occurred (Col. 2, Lines 52-62, average), and estimate the root-cause based on the obtained average value (Col. 4, Lines 50-63, root-cause analysis).
With regards to Claim 6, Callot teaches:
… by a computer (Col. 20, Lines 20-31) …
Callot further teaches the remaining limitations of Claim 6, as cited above with respect to Claim 1.
With regards to Claim 7, Callot teaches the device of Claim 1 as referenced above. Callot further teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program, wherein execution of the program causes a computer to operate as each unit of the estimation device according to claim 1 (Col. 21, Line 39 – Col. 22, Line 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callot in view of McKinney et al. (pandas: powerful Python data analysis toolkit Release 1.2.0), hereinafter referred to as McKinney.
With regards to Claim 3, Callot teaches the device of Claim 1 as referenced above. Callot further teaches:
wherein the processing unit is configured to remove processing with low importance in failure detection from the trace (Col.7, Lines 30-39, analysis is restricted to certain metrics and times),
extract a response time (Col. 6, Line 46 – Col. 7, Line 11, metrics such as response time can be extracted from timestamped logs) of each of the plurality of services (Col. 12, Lines 19-40, analyzing multiple services),
the response time for a service (Col. 6, Line 46 – Col. 7, Line 11, metrics such as response time can be extracted from timestamped logs)
Callot does not explicitly teach:
and interpolate … whose response time cannot be extracted.
However, McKinney teaches:
and interpolate … whose response time cannot be extracted (Section 2.10.9 Interpolation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, add the ability to interpolate data, as taught by McKinney, to the data processing device of Callot in order to handle any missing data, such as missing response times, for better analysis (McKinney, Page 529).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fourati et al. (“DOCKERANALYZER : Towards Fine Grained Resource Elasticity for Microservices-Based Applications Deployed with Docker," 2019 20th International Conference on Parallel and Distributed Computing, Applications and Technologies (PDCAT), Australia, 2019, pp. 220-225): teaches using thresholds to analyze anomalies in applications with microservices
Matsuo et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0372009 A1): teaches error analysis using a variety of calculations and units
/G.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2113 /BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113