DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 07/03/2024, 02/26/2025, 07/23/2025, and 10/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 07/03/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 07/03/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 20180047954 A1, hereinafter Yoo), in view of Lim (US 20120094156 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]) comprising:
a plurality of pouch-type battery cells (Yoo, stacking and packing one or more secondary batteries, wherein the secondary battery may be pouch-type secondary batteries, [0044-0045]);
a pack case accommodating the pouch-type battery cells in an internal space (Yoo, the battery module comprises a case for covering the secondary batteries [0071]); and
a cell cover including two unit covers at least partially spaced apart (Yoo, the secondary battery cell cover 10 may include a first unit cell cover 100 and a second unit cell cover 200, and the end portions of the covers are spaced apart, [0049, 0053], Figure 6, Annotated Figure 4 below), configured to at least partially surround at least some of the pouch-type battery cells among the plurality of pouch-type battery cells in the internal space of the pack case (Yoo, a cell cover for a secondary battery is used to prevent movement of a secondary battery by holding, or surrounding, the secondary battery, [0044], Figure 6, Annotated Figure 4 below).
Yoo is silent regarding a cell cover is configured to allow venting gas to be discharged into a separation space between the two unit covers.
Lim discloses a battery pack (Lim, battery module, [0023]) comprising a plurality of pouch-type battery cells (Lim, plurality of battery cells, [0023]), and a cell cover is configured to allow venting gas to be discharged into a separation space between the two unit covers (Lim, the cover 120 and the insulating member 130 may define a gas channel therebetween, and the cover 120 may include an outlet 121 connected with the gas channel to discharge gas released from the battery cells 10 to the outside, [0011, 0032], Figure 3B).
Lim teaches that the gas channel allows for the discharge of gas released from the battery cells (Lim, [0032]).
Yoo and Lim are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first unit cell cover and second unit cell cover of Yoo to be arranged to define a gas channel, as taught by Lim, in order to discharge gas released from the battery cells.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the cell cover is configured to support the plurality of pouch-type battery cells in an upright state (Yoo, cell cover for a secondary battery prevents movement of a secondary battery by holding the secondary battery, [0044], Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the cell cover partially surrounds the pouch-type battery cell so that at least one side of the wrapped pouch-type battery cell is exposed toward the pack case (Yoo, the secondary battery cell cover has an approximately rectangular parallelepiped shape in which a front surface and a back surface are open and an internal space is provided, [0047], Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0044]), wherein the pouch-type battery cell has a receiving portion in which an electrode assembly is accommodated and edge portions around the receiving portion, wherein the cell cover is configured to surround both sides of the receiving portion and a part of the edge portions of the wrapped pouch-type battery cell (Yoo, the secondary battery cell cover may include a first side plate and a second side plate that face each other to form opposite side surfaces of the internal space, top plates that form a top surface of the internal space and connect upper edges of the first side plate and the second side plate, respectively, and bottom plates that form a bottom surface of the internal space, [0047], Annotated Figure 4 above; the Examiner notes that the first and second side plates accommodate/surround both sides of the battery cell, and the upper and bottom plates surround the edge portions).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the cell cover is configured to cover both side surfaces of the receiving portion and an upper edge portion of the wrapped pouch-type battery cell (Yoo, top plate forming a top surface of the internal space and connecting upper edges of the first side plate and the second side plate, [0047], Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the two unit covers comprise a first cover configured to surround a left surface and one edge of the wrapped pouch-type battery cell, and a second cover configured to surround a right surface and the other edge of the wrapped pouch-type battery cell (Yoo, Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the first cover comprises a first upper cover portion configured to surround the top of an upper edge portion of the pouch-type battery cell, and a first side cover portion extending downward from one end of the first upper cover portion and surrounding the outside of one side receiving portion of the wrapped pouch-type battery cell (Yoo, first side plate, Annotated Figure 4 above), and
the second cover comprises a second upper cover portion configured to surround the top of an upper edge portion of the pouch-type battery cell, and a second side cover portion extending downward from one end of the second upper cover portion and surrounding the outside of the other side receiving portion of the wrapped pouch-type battery cell (Yoo, second side plate, Annotated Figure 4 above), wherein
the second upper cover portion is spaced apart from the first upper cover portion in the direction of the upper edge portion of the pouch-type battery cell (Yoo, first and second side plates are spaced apart, Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the first side cover portion and the pouch-type battery cell are bonded, and the second side cover portion and the pouch-type battery cell are bonded (Yoo, the secondary battery B may be disposed and fixed such that a surface of an outer casing contacts the first side plate 110 or the second side plate 210, [0052], Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the second side cover portion has a longer length in the vertical direction compared to the first side cover portion (Yoo, the first side plate 110 and the second side plate 210, are conceptually divided elements, and the bottom plates 130 and 230 are inclined downwardly at an angle with respect to the horizontal plane, and may be flexibly changed in shape, [0050, 0059]) (Lee, it is preferable that a width of the insulating member 130 along a second direction is larger than a width of the cover 120 along the second direction, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein venting gas moves through a gap between the first upper cover portion and the second side cover portion to a venting channel defined as a separation space between the first upper cover portion and the second upper cover portion, and is discharged through the gap between the second upper cover portion and the first side cover portion (Lim, the cover 120 and the insulating member 130 may define a gas channel therebetween, and the cover 120 may include an outlet 121 connected with the gas channel to discharge gas released from the battery cells 10 to the outside, [0011, 0032], Figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the venting channel (Lim, the cover 120 and the insulating member 130 may define a gas channel therebetween, and the cover 120 may include an outlet 121 connected with the gas channel to discharge gas released from the battery cells 10 to the outside, [0011, 0032], Figure 3B) is formed to be curved by including a bending portion in the first upper cover portion and the second upper cover portion (Yoo, first and second side plates are spaced apart and bent towards each other, Annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the two unit covers are configured such that one ends thereof are bent toward each other (Yoo, first and second side plates are bent towards each other, Annotated Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the two unit covers are configured to be laid over in the vertical direction with their bent ends at least partially spaced apart so that the venting gas may be discharged (Lim, the cover 120 and the insulating member 130 may define a gas channel therebetween, and the cover 120 may include an outlet 121 connected with the gas channel to discharge gas released from the battery cells 10 to the outside, [0011, 0032], Figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein each of the two unit covers is configured in a form of bending one plate (Yoo, the first side plate 110 and the second side plate 210, are conceptually divided elements, and the bottom plates 130 and 230 are inclined downwardly at an angle with respect to the horizontal plane, and may be flexibly changed in shape, [0050, 0059]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), wherein the cell cover is configured to form a bending portion on the two unit covers (Yoo, the first side plate 110 and the second side plate 210, are conceptually divided elements, and the bottom plates 130 and 230 are inclined downwardly at an angle with respect to the horizontal plane, and may be flexibly changed in shape, [0050, 0059]) so that the movement path of gas discharged into the separation space between the two unit covers is increased (Lee, the gas produced in the battery cells is discharged outside through the openings, and when the opening is small, the passage through which the gas is discharged is reduced, [0038]).
The Examiner notes that by increasing the width of the opening by bending the first and second side plates, the passage through which gas is discharged will increase, as taught by Lim.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), which further comprises a control module accommodated in the internal space of the pack case and configured to control charge/discharge of the pouch-type battery cells (Yoo, the battery module may further include various devices for controlling charging/discharging secondary batteries, such as a battery management system (BMS), [0071]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations a vehicle comprising a battery pack (Yoo, vehicle may include the battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0072]).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery module (Yoo, battery module, [0044]), one or more of which are accommodated in the internal space of a pack case (Yoo, a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009]), a plurality of pouch-type battery cells (Yoo, stacking and packing one or more secondary batteries, wherein the secondary battery may be pouch-type secondary batteries, [0044-0045]);
a module case accommodating the pouch-type battery cells in an internal space (Yoo, the battery module comprises a case for covering the secondary batteries [0071], Annotated Figure 4 above); and
a cell cover including two unit covers at least partially spaced apart (Yoo, the secondary battery cell cover 10 may include a first unit cell cover 100 and a second unit cell cover 200, and the end portions of the covers are spaced apart, [0049, 0053], Figure 6), configured to at least partially surround at least some of the pouch-type battery cells among the plurality of pouch-type battery cells in the internal space of the pack case (Yoo, a cell cover for a secondary battery is used to prevent movement of a secondary battery by holding, or surrounding, the secondary battery, [0044], Figure 6, Annotated Figure 4 above), and a cover is configured to allow venting gas to be discharged into a separation space between the two unit covers (Lim, the cover 120 and the insulating member 130 may define a gas channel therebetween, and the cover 120 may include an outlet 121 connected with the gas channel to discharge gas released from the battery cells 10 to the outside, [0011, 0032], Figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a vehicle comprising the battery module (Yoo, vehicle may include the battery module, [0072]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 20180047954 A1, hereinafter Yoo), in view of Lim (US 20120094156 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210288372 A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Yoo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Yoo discloses the limitations regarding a battery pack (Yoo, battery module, and a battery module included in a vehicle battery pack, [0009, 0044]), Modified Yoo is silent regarding the cell cover has a mesh structure in the separation space between the two unit covers.
Kim discloses a battery pack (Kim, energy storage system, [0012]), wherein the cell cover has a mesh structure (Kim, at least one blocking member provided in the flame passage, and the blocking member is formed of a metal mesh, which may allow gas to pass, [0085]) in the separation space between the two unit covers (Kim, the flame passage provided between the first cover and the third cover and the module stack, [0082]).
Kim teaches that the mesh net may allow gas to pass (Kim, [0085]).
Modified Yoo and Kim are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery module comprising covers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a block member formed of a metal mesh between the first and second covers of modified Yoo, as taught by Kim, in order to allow gas to pass.
Conclusion
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752