DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41, 44-45, 47-52, 55-56, 58-59 and 61-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li [US 2022/0322202] in view of Fu [US 2024/0205866].
As claims 41, 52 and 59, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses an apparatus for a user equipment (UE), the apparatus [Fig 7, Ref remote UE] comprising: processing circuitry configured to: receive, from a policy control function (PCF), a UE route selection policy (URSP) that includes URSP rules, at least one of the URSP rules indicating Proximity-
Based Service (ProSe) multi-path preference in a Route Selection Descriptor [Par. 0056, 0082-83, 0150, 0267-0283 discloses UE with 5GC prose receives the message includes URSP rules from PCF wherein at least one of rules indicating multi-path reference for send traffic via multiple paths such layer-3 UE relay and UU in route selection descriptor, Par. 0232, 0235]; determine, based on the at least one of the URSP rules, that traffic of a matching application is preferred to be routed via multi-path [Par. Par. 0056, 0082-83, 0150, 0267-0283, 0331-0332 discloses matching application ID with multi-path reference]; and route the traffic of the matching application for transmission via a packet data unit (PDU) Session over a Uu reference point and via a ProSe Layer-3 UE- to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session, wherein the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless the UE supports a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE. [Par. 0056, 0097, 0232, 0267-0283, 0297, discloses traffic is sent via both path such as UU and PC5 which is Layer-3 UE-to- Network Relay, Fig 19, RSD uses for a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE then it valid for a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE]. However, Li [US 2022/0322202] fails to discloses route the traffic of the matching application for transmission via a packet data unit (PDU) Session over a Uu reference point and via a ProSe Layer-3 UE- to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session. In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic of the matching application for transmission via a packet data unit (PDU) Session over a Uu reference point and via a ProSe Layer-3 UE- to-Network Relay without a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) outside of the PDU Session [Par. 0137, 0139, 0171 discloses traffic routes without N3IWF], wherein the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless the UE supports a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE [Par. 054, 0066, 0128, 0134-0140, 0155 discloses RSD used to route traffic of a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE. So it is valid for a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Li [US 2022/0322202]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claims 44 and 55, Li [US 2022/0322202]/Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor further comprises an Access Type preference parameter that indicates an Access Type on which the PDU Session for the matching application is to be established, the Access Type being one of 3GPP, non-3GPP, or Multi-Access [Li discloses Par. 0082, 0095, 0318 discloses access type preference for 3GPP, non-3GPP or PC5 and UU and Fu discloses at Par. 0139, 0169].
As claims 45 and 56, Li [US 2022/0322202]/Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor lacks a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay Offload indication parameter [Li at Par. 0082, Fu at Par. 0139-0140, 0169, no offload parameter].
As claims 47 and 58, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses evaluate the URSP rules to determine whether the at least one of the URSP rules is applicable for traffic of the matching application [Par. 0082]; determine whether an existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point matches other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules [Par. 0171, 0172, 0187, 0191 discloses determining existing PDU]; and in response to a determination that the existing PDU Session matches the other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules, route the traffic of the matching application via the existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point and via the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay the existing PDU Session [Par. 0171, 0172, 0187, 0191 discloses if PDU exists then route the PDU based the URSP rule]. However, Li [US 2022/0322202] fails to discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point and via the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay the existing PDU Session. In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point and via the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay the existing PDU Session [0137, 0139, 0171 discloses traffic routes without N3IWF].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Li [US 2022/0322202]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 48, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses evaluate the URSP rules to determine whether the at least one of the URSP rules is applicable for traffic of the matching application [Par. 0082]; determine whether an existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point matches other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules [Par. 0171, 0172, 0187, 0191 discloses determining existing PDU]; and in response to a determination that no existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point matches the other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules, establish a new PDU Session over the Uu reference point using parameters specified by the Route Selection Descriptor and route the traffic of the matching application via the new PDU Session and [Par. 0082, 0148, 0187, 0191-0192, 0295, 0323 discloses no existing PDU then establishing a new PDU and route traffic without N3IWF]. However, Li [US 2022/0322202] fails to discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the new PDU Session and In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the new PDU Session and .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Li [US 2022/0322202]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 49, Li [US 2022/0322202]/ Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses indicate, during registration, support for the (ProSe) Capability of a 5G ProSe Layer-3 remote UE [Li at Par. 0141-0142, 0276, 0287 or Fu at Par. 0051-0059, 0152-0156 discloses registering its capability].
As claim 50, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses determine that one of the PDU Session over the Uu reference point or the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session is not available and that the other is available [Par. 0097]; and in response to a determination that the one of the PDU Session over the Uu reference point or the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session is not available [Par. 0284], route the traffic of the matching application the one of the PDU Session over the Uu reference point or the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session [Par. 0284].
However, Li [US 2022/0322202] fails to discloses route the traffic In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic [0137, 0139, 0171 discloses traffic routes without N3IWF].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Li [US 2022/0322202]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 51, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses determine that both a ProSe multi-path preference and a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to- Network Relay are absent from another of the URSP rules; and in response to a determination that each of both a ProSe multi-path preference and a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay are absent in from another of the URSP rules, route traffic matching the at least one other of the URSP rule via a PDU Session over the Uu reference point and not via a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of a PDU Session [Par. 0082 and 0232 discloses when only UU is available then send traffic via UU only]. However, Li [US 2022/0322202] fails to fully disclose RSD descriptor is not includes offload. In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 20220322202] discloses RSD descriptor is not includes offload [Par. 0139-0140, 0169].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising RSD without offload as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Li [US 2022/0322202]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 61, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses the UE, in response to determining that a PC5 connection with the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay is unavailable, initiate discovery of and connection establishment with a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to- Network Relay under control of a ProSe Policy configured on the UE [Par. 0147, 0328-0330].
As claim 62, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor further comprises a Time Window, and the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless a current time is within the Time Window [Par. 0227, 0421].
As claim 63, Li [US 2022/0322202] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor further comprises a Location Criteria, and the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless a location of the UE matches the Location Criteria [Par. 0181, 0275-0279, 0232].
Claim(s) 41, 44-45, 47-52, 55-56, 58-59 and 61-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim [US 2024/0348534] in view of Fu [US 2024/0205866].
As claims 41, 52 and 59, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses an apparatus for a user equipment (UE), the apparatus [Fig 7, Ref remote UE] comprising: processing circuitry configured to: receive, from a policy control function (PCF), a UE route selection policy (URSP) that includes URSP rules, at least one of the URSP rules indicating Proximity-Based Service (ProSe) multi-path preference in a Route Selection Descriptor [Fig 1, Ref PCF provides URSP rules to UE wherein URSP indicates multi-path for prose in RSD, Table 2-3]; determine, based on the at least one of the URSP rules, that traffic of a matching application is preferred to be routed via multi-path [Par. 0306-0311, 0479-0485 discloses matching application ID with multi-path reference]; and route the traffic of the matching application for transmission via a packet data unit (PDU) Session over a Uu reference point and via a ProSe Layer-3 UE- to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session, [Par. 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485 discloses traffic is sent via both path such as UU and PC5 which is Layer-3 UE-to- Network Relay, RSD uses for a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE then it valid for a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE]; wherein the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless the UE supports a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE [Par. 0700 discloses UE registers with 5G network. So URSP is valid for UE]. However, Kim [US 2024/0348534] fails to discloses route the traffic of the matching application for transmission via a packet data unit (PDU) Session over a Uu reference point and via a ProSe Layer-3 UE- to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session. In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic of the matching application for transmission via a packet data unit (PDU) Session over a Uu reference point and via a ProSe Layer-3 UE- to-Network Relay without a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF) outside of the PDU Session [Par. 0137, 0139, 0171 discloses traffic routes without N3IWF], wherein the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless the UE supports a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE [Par. 054, 0066, 0128, 0134-0140, 0155 discloses RSD used to route traffic of a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE. So it is valid for a ProSe capability of 5G ProSe Layer-3 Remote UE]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Kim [US 2024/0348534]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claims 44 and 55, Kim [US 2024/0348534]/Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor further comprises an Access Type preference parameter that indicates an Access Type on which the PDU Session for the matching application is to be established, the Access Type being one of 3GPP, non-3GPP, or Multi-Access [Kim discloses Table 2-3 access type preference and Fu discloses at Par. 0139, 0169].
As claims 45 and 56, Kim [US 2024/0348534]/Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor lacks a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay Offload indication parameter [Kim at table 2-3 for offload/non-offload, Fu at Par. 0139-0140, 0169, no offload parameter].
As claims 47 and 58, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses evaluate the URSP rules to determine whether the at least one of the URSP rules is applicable for traffic of the matching application [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485]; determine whether an existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point matches other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485 discloses determining existing PDU]; and in response to a determination that the existing PDU Session matches the other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules, route the traffic of the matching application via the existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point and via the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay the existing PDU Session [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485 discloses if PDU exists then route the PDU based the URSP rule]. However, Kim [US 2024/0348534] fails to discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point and via the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay the existing PDU Session. In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point and via the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay the existing PDU Session [0137, 0139, 0171 discloses traffic routes without N3IWF].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Kim [US 2024/0348534]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 48, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses evaluate the URSP rules to determine whether the at least one of the URSP rules is applicable for traffic of the matching application [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485]; determine whether an existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point matches other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485discloses determining existing PDU]; and in response to a determination that no existing PDU Session over the Uu reference point matches the other route selection components, if any, of the Route Selection Descriptor of the at least one of the URSP rules, establish a new PDU Session over the Uu reference point using parameters specified by the Route Selection Descriptor and route the traffic of the matching application via the new PDU Session and [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485 discloses no existing PDU then establishing a new PDU and route traffic without N3IWF]. However, Kim [US 2024/0348534] fails to discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the new PDU Session and In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic of the matching application via the new PDU Session and .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Kim [US 2024/0348534]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 49, Kim [US 2024/0348534]/Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses indicate, during registration, support for the (ProSe) Capability of a 5G ProSe Layer-3 remote UE [Kim at Par. 0700 or Fu at Par. 0051-0059, 0152-0156 discloses registering its capability].
As claim 50, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses determine that one of the PDU Session over the Uu reference point or the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session is not available and that the other is available [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485]; and in response to a determination that the one of the PDU Session over the Uu reference point or the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session is not available [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485], route the traffic of the matching application the one of the PDU Session over the Uu reference point or the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of the PDU Session [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485]. However, Kim [US 2024/0348534] fails to discloses route the traffic In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 2024/0205866] discloses route the traffic [0137, 0139, 0171 discloses traffic routes without N3IWF].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for routing traffic without N3IWF as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Kim [US 2024/0348534]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 51, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses determine that both a ProSe multi-path preference and a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to- Network Relay are absent from another of the URSP rules; and in response to a determination that each of both a ProSe multi-path preference and a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay are absent in from another of the URSP rules, route traffic matching the at least one other of the URSP rule via a PDU Session over the Uu reference point and not via a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay outside of a PDU Session [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485]. However, Kim [US 2024/0348534] fails to fully disclose RSD descriptor is not includes offload. In the same field of endeavor, Fu [US 20220322202] discloses RSD descriptor is not includes offload [Par. 0139-0140, 0169].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising RSD without offload as disclosed by Fu [US 2024/0205866] into the teaching of Kim [US 2024/0348534]. The motivation would have been to improve throughput.
As claim 61, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses the UE to, in response to determining that a PC5 connection with the ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay is unavailable, initiate discovery of and connection establishment with a ProSe Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay under control of a ProSe Policy configured on the UE [Par. 0188-0195, 0248-0253, 0298, 0301, 0306-0311, 0479-0485].
As claim 62, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor further comprises a Time Window, and the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless a current time is within the Time Window [Table 3].
As claim 63, Kim [US 2024/0348534] discloses the Route Selection Descriptor further comprises a Location Criteria, and the Route Selection Descriptor is not considered valid unless a location of the UE matches the Location Criteria [Table 3].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414