Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 15-16 recite "an extrudable sealing material". It is unclear whether this sealing material is the same or different than the sealing material recited in step b. For the purpose of examination, claim 1, lines 15-16 read on "the extrudable sealing material". Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim 11, line 1 recites "the stacked structure". The term is not previously used in this claim or its parent claims(s), and does not have proper antecedent basis, making it unclear what structure is being referenced. For the purpose of examination, claim 11, line 1 reads on "the bipolar battery stack".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosaka (US PG Pub 2013/0065097) in view of Wu (CN 102867974A, including citations to attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Hosaka teaches a method of manufacturing a bipolar battery stack (abstract, Fig. 2) comprising:
a) providing a first bipolar electrode (21 in Fig. 2), comprising an electrically conductive carrier foil with a carrier foil central region coated on both sides with electrode material and a carrier foil edge region that completely surrounds the carrier foil central region and is free of electrode material (para. 0042),
b) applying a first sealing bead of an extrudable sealing material to the carrier foil edge region in the form of a ring encircling the carrier foil central region (bead 40A in Fig. 12 and paras. 0088-0089),
c) placing, onto said first sealing bead, an electrically insulating ion permeable, planar separator (SP in para. 0089) that projects completely beyond the carrier foil central region in a lateral direction (as shown in Figs. 12A-12B) for the lower first sealing bead 40A),
d) applying, to an edge region of the separator projecting beyond the carrier foil central region, a second sealing bead of the extrudable sealing material in the form of a ring encircling the carrier foil central region (as shown for upper second sealing bead 40A in Fig. 12B),
e) placing, by its carrier foil edge region, a further, equally constructed and aligned bipolar electrode onto said second sealing bead (as shown in Fig. 2), and
f) repeating steps b to e until a predetermined number of such bipolar electrodes stacked in said manner is reached (as shown in Fig. 2),
wherein each separator, when placed onto the respectively assigned first sealing bead, projects, along an entire circumference thereof, laterally beyond the carrier foil edge region of the bipolar electrode immediately adjacent to the respective bipolar electrode (as shown in Fig. 12B).
Hosaka does not teach each second sealing bead is applied laterally outwardly offset from the respective corresponding first sealing bead, instead teaching that it is applied with no lateral offset.
However, Wu teaches a method of manufacturing a bipolar battery stack similar to Hosaka (Fig. 4) wherein each second sealing bead is applied laterally outwardly offset from the respective corresponding first sealing bead (second bead 5 furthest to the right in Figs. 2-3 is offset in this manner from first sealing bead 6; see also para. 0016) forming a groove in between the two upper beads for the lower bead to apply a pre-tightening force when sealing together (last sentence in para. 0016) and providing a larger total seal area above and below the bipolar electrode as shown in Figs. 2-3.
In view of Wu’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hosaka’s method with Wu’s manner of applied the second bead with a lateral offset relative to the first bead to predictably obtain the benefits taught by Wu and cited above.
Regarding claim 2, Hosaka teaches the separators consist of a flexible material that at least under an influence of a pressure applied in the stacking direction or in the opposite direction thereto - undulates between the sealing beads adjacent to the respective separator in accordance with their contours (paras. 0038-0042).
Regarding claim 3, Hosaka teaches, after step f, a pressure acting in the stacking direction or in a direction opposite the stacking direction is exerted on a stacked structure produced by the stacking (para. 0039).
Regarding claim 4, Hosaka teaches the stacked structure is heated to a temperature between 50C and 180C after step f (80C of para. 0093).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches, between steps b and e, a further sealing bead in the form of a ring surrounding the second sealing bead is applied to the edge region of each separator (18) projecting beyond the carrier foil central region (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Hosaka teaches, after step f, a pressure acting in the stacking direction or in a direction opposite the stacking direction is exerted on a stacked structure produced by the stacking (para. 0039).
Regarding claim 11, Hosaka teaches the stacked structure is heated to a temperature between 50C and 180C after step f (80C of para. 0093).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches, wherein between steps b and e, a further sealing bead in the form of a ring surrounding the second sealing bead is applied to the edge region of each separator projecting beyond the carrier foil central region (Figs. 2-3).
Conclusion
/JIMMY R SMITH JR./Examiner, Art Unit 1745