DETAILED ACTION
This is response to amendment, filed on 1/28/2026, in which claims 3 and 18 are cancelled and claims 1-2, 4-17 and 19-20 are pending. The applicant’s amendments have been fully considered but they are moot based on the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JACOBSSON et al (US 20250056556 A1) in view of Levetsky et al (US 20210376898 A1).
As per claim 1, JACOBSSON et al teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see fig.7 element 110 and para [0121] for….As illustrated, wireless device 110 includes antenna 111) ,the method comprising: receiving a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) configuration with a plurality of DMRS ports, the plurality of DMRS ports comprising a first port group with a first set of DMRS ports and a second port group with a second set of DMRS ports (see fig.1 and para [0011] for….. There are multiple DMRS ports per CDM group, and para [0026] for…… The UE receives signaling from the gNB indicating that a larger number of (i.e., more than in current NR specification) orthogonal DMRS ports (e.g., more than 2 DMRS ports per CDM group for single-symbol DMRS) is configured) determining, a DMRS resource comprising a first part of the DMRS resource for the first port group and a second part of the DMRS resource for the second port group (see fig.4 and para [0017] for… DMRS ports are mapped to resource elements within one CDM group and para [0027] for…. signaling includes RRC (radio resource control) configuration to enable use of more orthogonal DMRS ports, including the configured number of orthogonal DMRS ports per CDM group. and para [0038] for….. DMRS ports in different CDM groups are separated by different offsets and DMRS ports within the same CDM group are separated through coding); and receiving a DMRS mapped to the first part and the second part of the DMRS resource (see para [0017] for… DMRS ports are mapped to resource elements within one CDM group. DMRS ports that belong to the same CDM group are separated by a length-2 FD-OCC and para [0019] for…. The DMRS port mapping is signaled to the UE from the gNB via DCI).
However JACOBSSON et al does not explicitly teach wherein each DMRS port of the second set in the second port group is distinguished from a corresponding DMRS port of the first set in the first port group by a distinguishing parameter.
Levetsky et al teaches wherein each DMRS port of the second set in the second port group is distinguished from a corresponding DMRS port of the first set in the first port group by a distinguishing parameter (see para [0146] for…. the transmitting device may apply a two-dimensional OCC to schedule four DMRS ports in a single resource element. In some examples, a “plus/minus” pattern may be multiplied on top of the resource elements including DMRS based on the two-dimensional OCC pattern associated with each DMRS port…… the transmitting device may multiplex port 1000, port 1001, port 1004, and port 1005 over the same resources based on the different OCC patterns associated with each DMRS port. The transmitting device may similarly multiplex port 1002, port 1003, port 1006, and port 1007 based on the different OCC patterns associated with each DMRS port. And para [0153] for… the first TB may use a first CDM group associated with a first group of DMRS ports (e.g., a first group of layers). For example, the first group of DMRS ports may include port 1000, port 1001, port 1004, and port 1005. Similarly, the second TB may use a second CDM group associated with a second group of DMRS ports (e.g., a second group of layers). For example, the second group of DMRS ports may include port 1002, port 1003, port 1006, and port 1007.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JACOBSSON to include each DMRS port of the second set in the second port group is distinguished from a corresponding DMRS port of the first set in the first port group in order to indicate a configuration of a RS to be transmitted to a terminal device via one or more RS ports. In addition carrier frequency range and/or number of RS ports would be configured with different value associated with scrambling ID and allow the user equipment UE to select a different demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration for each of the set of groups of layers based on maximizing a communication efficiency metric for each group of layers. Such modification would enhance the user equipment to achieve flexibility of RS configuration, while no extra signaling overhead is increased.
As per claims 2 and 17, JACOBSSON et al and Levetsky in combination would teach wherein the plurality of DMRS ports comprises more than 4 DMRS for Type 1 DMRS configured with maxLength = 1 (see JACOBSSON para [0015] for…. the maximum number of adjacent DMRS symbols (1 or 2) is configured by the RRC parameter maxLength and para [0021] for…. For example, in current NR specifications, a maximum of 8 or 12 orthogonal DMRS ports are supported for type 1 and type 2 DMRS, respectively } in order to indicate a configuration of a RS to be transmitted to a terminal device via one or more RS ports. In addition carrier frequency range and/or number of RS ports would be configured with different value associated with scrambling ID. Such modification would enhance the user equipment to achieve flexibility of RS configuration, while no extra signaling overhead is increased.
As per claims 4 and 19, JACOBSSON et al and Levetsky in combination would teach wherein the distinguishing parameter is configured separately (see Levetsky para [0146] for…. the transmitting device may apply a two-dimensional OCC to schedule four DMRS ports in a single resource element. In some examples, a “plus/minus” pattern may be multiplied on top of the resource elements including DMRS based on the two-dimensional OCC pattern associated with each DMRS port…… the transmitting device may multiplex port 1000, port 1001, port 1004, and port 1005 over the same resources based on the different OCC patterns associated with each DMRS port. The transmitting device may similarly multiplex port 1002, port 1003, port 1006, and port 1007 based on the different OCC patterns associated with each DMRS port. And para [0153] for… the first TB may use a first CDM group associated with a first group of DMRS ports (e.g., a first group of layers). For example, the first group of DMRS ports may include port 1000, port 1001, port 1004, and port 1005. Similarly, the second TB may use a second CDM group associated with a second group of DMRS ports (e.g., a second group of layers). For example, the second group of DMRS ports may include port 1002, port 1003, port 1006, and port 1007.)in order to indicate a configuration of a RS to be transmitted to a terminal device via one or more RS ports. In addition carrier frequency range and/or number of RS ports would be configured with different value associated with scrambling ID. Such modification would enhance the user equipment to achieve flexibility of RS configuration, while no extra signaling overhead is increased.
As per claim 9, JACOBSSON et al and Levetsky in combination would teach wherein the distinguishing parameter is Resource Element (RE) group indicating a different group of REs (Letvetsky para [0161] for…. the first CDM group may be associated with a first DMRS density equal to three DMRS resource elements per resource block per DMRS port. In other words, the first CDM group may have DMRS at 12 resource elements per resource block for CDM group and over four of its DMRS ports per single DMRS location in accordance with the first DMRS configuration. The second CDM group may be associated with the second DMRS configuration having a second density (e.g., a second DMRS density). For instance, the second CDM group may be associated with a second DMRS density equal to 1.5 DMRS resource elements per resource block per DMRS port.) in order to indicate a configuration of a RS to be transmitted to a terminal device via one or more RS ports. In addition carrier frequency range and/or number of RS ports would be configured with different value associated with scrambling ID. Such modification would enhance the user equipment to achieve flexibility of RS configuration, while no extra signaling overhead is increased.
As per claims 16 and 20, JACOBSSON et al teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (see fig.8 elements 201 and 215 and para [0139] for…. UE 200 includes processing circuitry 201 that is operatively coupled to input/output interface 205, radio frequency (RF) interface 209, network connection interface 211, memory 215…….Further, certain UEs may contain multiple instances of a component, such as multiple processors, memories, transceivers, transmitters, receivers, etc) and they (claims 16 and 20) are also rejected under the same rational as described in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JACOBSSON et al (US 20250056556 A1) in view of Levetsky et al (US 20210376898 A1) and in further JIAO et al (US 20210344462 A1).
As per claim 15, JACOBSSSON et al and Levetsky et al in combination do not explicitly teach wherein parameters, dmrs-Type and maxLength, for the first part and the second part of the DMRS resource are configured identically.
Jiao et al teaches wherein parameters, dmrs-Type and maxLength, for the first part and the second part of the DMRS resource are configured identically (see para [0077] for…. the terminal device by using a combination of higher-layer parameters dmrs-Type and maxLength, the DMRS ports used for measurement. The network device may send higher-layer parameters “dmrs-Type=1, and maxLength=1” to the terminal device, and the terminal device determines that the currently configured Q DMRS ports used for measurement are {1000, 1001, 1002, 1003}).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify JACOBSON and Levetsky to include parameters, dmrs-Type and maxLength, for the first part and the second part of the DMRS resource are configured identically in order to determine, based on channel quality and communication delay caused by switching of the DMRS port, whether a DMRS port that currently carries the downlink data needs to be switched. The terminal device could obtain through distinguishing, based on the frequency-domain orthogonal code, the DMRSs on the two ports that belong to a same CDM group, to separately obtain data transmitted on the two ports. Furthermore the parameter dmrs-Type would indicate the DMRS configuration type, and the parameter maxLength would indicate a maximum quantity of front-loaded DMRS symbols. Such modification would enhance the terminal device capability to choose the best DMRS port for carrying downlink data for communication with the network device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein the distinguishing parameter is an orthogonal cover code (OCC) OCC sequence group indicating different frequency domain OCC sequences w f (k'), as recited in claim 5.
Wherein each DMRS port of the second set in the second port group and its corresponding DMRS port of the first set in the first port group are configured with identical code division multiplexing (CDM) CDM group X,subcarrier offset between CDM group A, time domain OCC sequence w t (1'), scrambling ID, and frequency domain OCC sequence w f (k'), as recited in claim 10.
Wherein, for Type 1 DMRS, a first RE group and a second RE group are selected in pairs from a code division multiplexing (CDM)CDM group of a first PRB and a second PRB in a PRB bundle, respectively, in a non-overlapping manner in frequency domain; or for Type 2 DMRS, a first RE group and a second RE group are selected in pairs from a CDM group of a PRB in a non- overlapping manner in frequency domain, as recited in claim 11.
Wherein RE group 0 of CDM group 0 consists REs from carrier {0 2 8 10} in a first bundled physical resource block (PRB) and carrier {4 6} in a second bundled PRB; and RE group 1 of CDM group 0 consists of REsfrom carrier {4 6} in the first bundled PRB and carrier {0 2 8 10} in the second bundled PRB, as recited in claim 12.
Wherein RE group 0 of code division multiplexing (CDM) CDM group 0 consists REs from carrier {0 6} or {0, 1} in a PRB; and RE group 1 of CDM group 0 consists of REs from carrier {1 7} or {6 7} in a PRB, as recited in claim 13.
Wherein the distinguishing parameter is Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol group indicating different group of OFDM symbols; and OFDM symbols in an OFDM symbol group of the second port group are symbols {2, 3} or symbols {x, x+1}, where x is derivable from an OFDM symbol index defined for a double-symbol DMRS, as recited in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190260429 A1.
/EMMANUEL BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633