Optical Measurement System
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/30/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“launch stage” in at least claims 1, 7-10, 12-13, 15, 17 and 21-22.
“local oscillator stage” in at least claims 1-2, 12-13, 15, 21-22.
“first detector stage” in at least claims 1, 4, 11-13, 15 and 20-22.
“second detector stage in at least claims 11, 13, 20 and 22.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolognini (IT P120090108; “Bolognini”).
Regarding claim 13, Bolognini discloses, in figures 1-2, an optical measurement system (1) comprising: a coherent light source (10) configured to generate a light signal; a launch stage (11, 12) configured to receive the light signal from the light source (10) and generate a pulsed test signal (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 3 “send pulses of limited time duration in optical fiber, by direct modulation of the current, for example by means of the current pulse generator 10b, or by means of an external optical modulator, such as for example the modulator 11”) and launch the test signal (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 3, “pulses are sent into the optical fibre 27”) along an optical path (27); a local oscillator stage (23) configured generate a local oscillator signal (p. 5, ¶ 4, “electromagnetic radiation coming from an optical local oscillator (OLO) 23”); a first detector stage (22, 24) and a second detector stage (14, 18); and a wavelength splitter (12, 15, 19) configured to receive a scattered signal (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, “backscattering of optical radiation”) from the optical path (27), and split the scattered signal (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, examiner notes Bolognini’s optical filter separates Raman Stokes and Anti-Stokes components from backscattered radiation, and the separator optical filter separates the Rayleigh line from the Brillouin spectral component) into a first scattering component (see previous comment, also see fig. 1, (EM4) the Brillouin spectral component is construed to be the first scattering component) which is transmitted to the first detector stage (22, 24) and a Raman scattering component (see previous comment (EM2)) which is transmitted to the second detector stage (14, 18); wherein the first detector stage (22, 24) is configured to interfere the local oscillator signal (OLO) with the scattered signal (EM4) to produce an output signal having a frequency corresponding to a frequency difference (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 1, the beat produced is a “frequency equal to the difference in optical frequency between the local optical oscillator 23”) between the local oscillator signal (OLO) and the first scattering component (EM4); wherein the second detector stage (14, 18) is configured to split the Raman scattering component into a Stokes component and an Anti-Stokes component (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, Raman Stokes and Anti-Stokes components of the back scattered radiation is processed by the first adapter), and to detect an amplitude of each of the Stokes component and the Anti-Stokes component (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, examiner construes Bolognini’s first receiver’s conversion of power into current to mean the amplitude of the Raman spectral lines is measured, further an ordinary skilled artisan would infer the receiver is a photodetector).
Bolognini fails to explicitly disclose detecting the amplitude of the Stokes and Anti-Stokes components of the Raman scattering components.
The Examiner takes official notice that converting an optical signal to an electrical signal through the use of a photodetector to determine the amplitude of the signal is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known technique of determining amplitude when converting an optical signal to an electrical signal to convert Bolognini’s Raman spectra Stokes and Anti-Stokes components from optical signals to electrical signals. Doing so provides a reliable process for signal conversion and representation.
Regarding claim 14, Bolognini discloses, in figures 1-2, the first scattering component is a Rayleigh scattering component or a Brillouin scattering component (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, examiner notes Bolognini’s separator optical filter separates the Rayleigh line from the Brillouin spectral component, also see fig. 1, (EM4) the Brillouin spectral component is construed to be the first scattering component).
Regarding claim 22, Bolognini discloses, in figures 1-2, a method (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 3, ¶ 8, “measurement method”) for operating an optical measurement system (1), the method comprising: generating, using a coherent light source (10), a light signal (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 3, “laser”), and conveying the light signal (see fig. 1) to a launch stage (11, 12); generating, at the launch stage (11, 12), a pulsed test signal (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 3 “send pulses of limited time duration in optical fiber, by direct modulation of the current, for example by means of the current pulse generator 10b, or by means of an external optical modulator, such as for example the modulator 11”) and launching the test signal (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 3, “pulses are sent into the optical fibre 27”) along an optical path (27); generating, at a local oscillator stage (23), a local oscillator signal (p. 5, ¶ 4, “electromagnetic radiation coming from an optical local oscillator (OLO) 23”); receiving (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, examiner notes Bolognini’s optical filter separates Raman Stokes and Anti-Stokes components from backscattered radiation, and the separator optical filter separates the Rayleigh line from the Brillouin spectral component), at a wavelength splitter (12, 15, 19), a scattered signal (EM1) from the optical path (27), and splitting the scattered signal into a first scattering component (see previous comment, also see fig. 1, (EM4) the Brillouin spectral component is construed to be the first scattering component) which is transmitted to a first detector stage (22, 24) and a Raman scattering component (see previous comment (EM2)) which is transmitted to a second detector stage (14, 18); interfering, at the first detector stage (22, 24), the local oscillator signal (OLO) with the scattered signal (EM4) to produce an output signal (EM5) having a frequency corresponding to a frequency difference (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 6, ¶ 1, the beat produced is a “frequency equal to the difference in optical frequency between the local optical oscillator 23”) between the local oscillator signal (OLO) and the first scattering component (EM4); and splitting, at the second detector stage (14, 18), the Raman scattering component into a Stokes component and an Anti-Stokes component (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, Raman Stokes and Anti-Stokes components of the back scattered radiation is processed by the first adapter), and detecting an amplitude of each of the Stokes component and the Anti-Stokes component (see Bolognini’s translation, p. 5, ¶ 4, examiner construes Bolognini’s first receiver’s conversion of power into current to mean the amplitude of the Raman spectral lines is measured, further an ordinary skilled artisan would infer the receiver is a photodetector).
Bolognini fails to explicitly disclose detecting the amplitude of the Stokes and Anti-Stokes components of the Raman scattering components.
The Examiner takes official notice that converting an optical signal to an electrical signal through the use of a photodetector to determine the amplitude of the signal is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a well-known technique of determining amplitude when converting an optical signal to an electrical signal to convert Bolognini’s Raman spectra Stokes and Anti-Stokes components from optical signals to electrical signals. Doing so provides a reliable process for signal conversion and representation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12, 15, 17-18 and 20-21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, examiner notes a search has revealed prior art Cao (CN 110470327). Although Cao discloses a light time domain analyzer including a 1550nm laser source, a 1455nM Raman fiber laser, a first bridge combiner, acousto-optic modulator and wave division multiplexer, the 1550 laser configured to generate a 1550 nm split signal used as a local oscillator and as an input to a sensing fiber and the 1455nm fiber laser signal input to the sensing fiber, Rayleigh scattering and Brillouin scattering signals are generated, the Brillouin signal is beat with two orthogonal local oscillator light signals and the resulting signal is received by a second bridge combiner coupled to a spectrometer and processor; Cao does not disclose an output with first and second components, the first component being the difference between the local oscillator and Rayleigh scattering component and the second component being the difference between a second local oscillator and the Brillouin scattering component. Furthermore, no other prior art can be found to motivate or teach applicant’s system including producing an output signal having a first component at a first frequency corresponding to a frequency difference between the first local oscillator component and the Rayleigh scattering component, and a second component at a second frequency corresponding to a frequency difference between the second local oscillator component and the Brillouin scattering component, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Dependent claims 2-11 are allowed for at least the same reasons as above.
Regarding claim 12, examiner notes a search has revealed prior art Cao (CN 110470327). Although Cao discloses a light time domain analyzer including a 1550nm laser source, a 1455nM Raman fiber laser, a first bridge combiner, acousto-optic modulator and wave division multiplexer, the 1550 laser configured to generate a 1550 nm split signal used as a local oscillator and as an input to a sensing fiber and the 1455nm fiber laser signal input to the sensing fiber, Rayleigh scattering and Brillouin scattering signals are generated, the Brillouin signal is beat with two orthogonal local oscillator light signals and the resulting signal is received by a second bridge combiner coupled to a spectrometer and processor; Cao does not disclose a Rayleigh scattering component resulting from a first test signal component and a Brillouin scattering component resulting from a second test signal component that is frequency shifted relative to the first test signal component. Furthermore, no other prior art can be found to motivate or teach applicant’s system including receiving a first test signal component and a second test signal component which is frequency-shifted relative to the first test signal component and receiving a scattered signal comprises a Rayleigh scattering component resulting from scattering of the first test signal component and a Brillouin scattering component resulting from scattering of the second test signal component, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 15, examiner notes a search has revealed prior art Cao (CN 110470327). Although Cao discloses a light time domain analyzing method including producing light from a 1550nm laser source and a 1455nM Raman fiber laser, generating a 1550 nm split signal used as a local oscillator and as an input to a sensing fiber and a 1455nm fiber laser signal input to the sensing fiber with a first bridge combiner, acousto-optic modulator and wave division multiplexer, generating Rayleigh scattering and Brillouin scattering signals, where the Brillouin signal is beat with two orthogonal local oscillator light signals and the resulting signal is received by a second bridge combiner coupled to a spectrometer and processor; Cao does not disclose outputting a signal with first and second components, the first component being the difference between the local oscillator and Rayleigh scattering component and the second component being the difference between a second local oscillator and the Brillouin scattering component. Furthermore, no other prior art can be found to motivate or teach applicant’s method including producing an output signal having a first component at a first frequency corresponding to a frequency difference between the first local oscillator component and the Rayleigh scattering component, and a second component at a second frequency corresponding to a frequency difference between the second local oscillator component and the Brillouin scattering component, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Dependent claims 17-18 and 20 are allowed for at least the same reasons as above.
Regarding claim 21, examiner notes a search has revealed prior art Cao (CN 110470327). Although Cao discloses a light time domain analyzing method including producing light from a 1550nm laser source and a 1455nM Raman fiber laser, generating a 1550 nm split signal used as a local oscillator and as an input to a sensing fiber and a 1455nm fiber laser signal input to the sensing fiber with a first bridge combiner, acousto-optic modulator and wave division multiplexer, generating Rayleigh scattering and Brillouin scattering signals, where the Brillouin signal is beat with two orthogonal local oscillator light signals and the resulting signal is received by a second bridge combiner coupled to a spectrometer and processor; Cao does not disclose a Rayleigh scattering component resulting from a first test signal component and a Brillouin scattering component resulting from a second test signal component that is frequency shifted relative to the first test signal component. Furthermore, no other prior art can be found to motivate or teach applicant’s method including generating a first test signal component and a second test signal component which is frequency-shifted relative to first test signal component and generating a Rayleigh scattering component resulting from scattering of the first test signal component and a Brillouin scattering component resulting from scattering of the second test signal component, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cui (CN 112285983) discloses an optical signal processing device and method based on optical fiber Brillouin scattering.
Peng (Photonic Sensor, "A hybrid Φ/B-OTDR for simultaneous vibration and strain measurement", 2016) discloses a distributed optical sensor that detects Rayleigh and Brillouin spectrum components.
Muanenda ("Application of Raman and Brillouin Scattering…", 2019) discloses a distributed optical sensor that detects Raman and Brillouin spectrum components.
Watley (US 20070171402) discloses a distributed optical sensor that directly measures Brillouin frequency.
Coscetta (Optics Express, "Hybrid Brillouin/Rayleigh sensor… in optical fibers", 2021) discloses a hybrid Brillouin/Rayleigh sensor for sensing optical fibers.
/TIMOTHY P GRAVES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855