DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that a person having ordinary skill in the art would not look to the field of interferometers to create an optical coupler for image-bearing light because the interferometer creates a phase difference in the optical path to produce interference. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses a virtual image display apparatus as claimed including an optical coupler (40) configured to (i) receive the image-bearing light beams along the projection axis, (ii) reorient the projection axis to an acute angle of incidence with respect to the waveguide, (iii) rotate the image-bearing light beams from a first orientation to a second orientation with respect to the projection axis, and (iv) direct the rotated image-bearing light beams along the reoriented projection axis to the in-coupling diffractive optic (An optical coupler is configured to receive the image-bearing light beams along the projection axis, to reorient the projection axis with respect to the waveguide, to rotate the image-bearing light beams about the projection axis, and to direct the rotated image-bearing beams along the reoriented projection axis through the input aperture of the waveguide; see at least abstract). The examiner merely relies on Lavi et al. (figure 14) for the teaching of wherein the optical coupler comprises a prism having at least four non-parallel surfaces (22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupler as taught by Lavi et al. in order to ensure that the coupled or decoupled light beam perpendicularly emerges in a lossless fashion from one of the surfaces of the reversing prisms. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a single prism, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwzn v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. In addition, the court stated that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in Lavi et al. would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). In addition, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize combining Lavi et al. with Schultz et al., in order to ensure that the coupled or decoupled light beam perpendicularly emerges in a lossless fashion from one of the surfaces of the reversing prisms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. (US 2019/0212563) in view of Lavi et al. (US 2020/0409162).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses a virtual image display apparatus, comprising:
a projector operable to direct image-bearing light beams along a projection axis (A3; figure 1);
a waveguide (20) having an in-coupling diffractive optic and an out-coupling diffractive optic, wherein the waveguide is oriented at an obtuse angle with respect to the projection axis (22 and 24; figures 2A-2C); and
an optical coupler (40) configured to (i) receive the image-bearing light beams along the projection axis, (ii) reorient the projection axis to an acute angle of incidence with respect to the waveguide, (iii) rotate the image-bearing light beams from a first orientation to a second orientation with respect to the projection axis, and (iv) direct the rotated image-bearing light beams along the reoriented projection axis to the in-coupling diffractive optic (An optical coupler is configured to receive the image-bearing light beams along the projection axis, to reorient the projection axis with respect to the waveguide, to rotate the image-bearing light beams about the projection axis, and to direct the rotated image-bearing beams along the reoriented projection axis through the input aperture of the waveguide; see at least abstract).
Schultz et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Schultz et al. is silent regarding wherein the optical coupler comprises a prism having at least four non-parallel surfaces. Lavi et al. (figure 14) teaches wherein the optical coupler comprises a prism having at least four non-parallel surfaces (22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupler as taught by Lavi et al. in order to ensure that the coupled or decoupled light beam perpendicularly emerges in a lossless fashion from one of the surfaces of the reversing prisms.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a single prism, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwzn v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. In addition, the court stated that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in Lavi et al. would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Claim 1 is therefore unpatentable.
Regarding claim 2, Schultz et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Schultz et al. is silent regarding a fourth surface. Lavi et al. (figure 14) teaches wherein the optical coupler further comprises a first surface (14) configured to receive the image-bearing light along the projection axis, a second surface (24) configured to redirect the projection axis toward a third surface, the third surface (28) configured to redirect the projection axis toward a fourth surface, the fourth surface (26) configured to redirect the projection axis toward the second surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupler as taught by Lavi et al. in order to ensure that the coupled or decoupled light beam perpendicularly emerges in a lossless fashion from one of the surfaces of the reversing prisms.
Regarding claim 3, Lavi et al. (figure 7) teaches wherein the third surface and the fourth surface comprise optical mirrors (see at least paragraphs 0184-0186 and figure 14).
Regarding claim 4, Lavi et al. (figure 7) teaches wherein the first surface and the second surface comprise an anti-reflection coating (14 and 26; an anti-reflection coating applied to the first surface of the first prism and the first surface of the second prism; see at least paragraphs 0025 and 0078).
Regarding claim 5, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the waveguide is configured to output the expanded image-bearing light beams through the out-coupling diffractive optic along a central output axis, and the redirected projection axis intersects the central output axis (see at least claim 4).
Regarding claim 7, Lavi et al. (figure 7) teaches wherein the second surface is configured to redirect the projection axis toward the third surface via total internal reflection (24 and 28).
Regarding claim 8, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the optical coupler comprises an index of refraction of 1.8 or above (each optical prism element has an index of refraction above 1.6; see at least claim 7).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize utilizing a value close to applicant's claimed range, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap by are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of “having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium” as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the waveguide accepts and outputs the image-bearing light from a surface on an observer side of the waveguide (26, 28; figures 2A-2C; see at least paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 10, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein an optical stop of the projector is disposed substantially at the in-coupling diffractive optic of the waveguide (an optical stop of the projector is disposed substantially at the input aperture of the planar waveguide; see at least claim 12).
Regarding claim 11, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the second orientation corresponds to a ninety degree rotation of the image-bearing light beams with respect to the first orientation (The HMD can be made more compact by rotating the projector 30 about the projection axis A3 by 90 degrees so that the range of angles of the image-bearing beams encoding the width dimension of the image is oriented normal to the view of FIG. 1; see at least paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 12, Lavi et al. (figure 7) teaches wherein the optical coupler comprises an irregular octahedron.
Regarding claim 13, Lavi et al. (figure 7) teaches wherein all edges and vertices of the optical coupler are convex.
Regarding claim 14, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the projector forms a pupil within the optical coupler (see at least paragraphs 0010-0011 and 0047).
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 15, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the waveguide comprises a first planar surface and an opposing second planar surface (figures 2A-2C).
Regarding claim 16, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses a virtual image display apparatus, comprising:
a projector operable to direct image-bearing light beams along a projection axis (A3; figure 1);
a waveguide (20) having an in-coupling diffractive optic and an out-coupling diffractive optic, wherein the waveguide is oriented at an obtuse angle with respect to the projection axis (22 and 24; figures 2A-2C); and
an optical coupler (40) configured to (i) receive the image-bearing light beams along the projection axis, (ii) reorient the projection axis to an acute angle of incidence with respect to the waveguide, (iii) rotate the image-bearing light beams from a first orientation to a second orientation with respect to the projection axis, and (iv) direct the rotated image-bearing light beams along the reoriented projection axis to the in-coupling diffractive optic (An optical coupler is configured to receive the image-bearing light beams along the projection axis, to reorient the projection axis with respect to the waveguide, to rotate the image-bearing light beams about the projection axis, and to direct the rotated image-bearing beams along the reoriented projection axis through the input aperture of the waveguide; see at least abstract).
Schultz et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 16 above. However, Schultz et al. is silent regarding wherein the optical coupler comprises an irregular octahedron, and all edges and vertices of the optical coupler are convex. Lavi et al. (figure 14) teaches wherein the optical coupler comprises an irregular octahedron, and all edges and vertices of the optical coupler are convex (22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupler as taught by Lavi et al. in order to ensure that the coupled or decoupled light beam perpendicularly emerges in a lossless fashion from one of the surfaces of the reversing prisms.
Regarding claim 17, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the optical coupler is configured to overlap an optical path of the image-bearing light beams within the optical coupler (the image-bearing light reflects from a reflecting surface M1 of prism PM1 toward intermediate prism PM2, thereby folding the projection axis A3 as the internally folded projection axis labeled axis A3′. A reflecting surface M2 of prism PM2 further reflects the image-bearing light toward the prism PM3, thereby further folding the internally folded projection axis A3′. A reflective surface M3 of prism PM3 yet further reflects the image-bearing light out of the optical coupler 40, thereby yet further folding the internally folded projection axis A3′, which exits the optical coupler 40 as an offset projection axis labeled A3″; see at least paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 18, Schultz et al. (figures 1-8) as modified by Lavi et al. teaches wherein the image-bearing light beams are output through a surface of the optical coupler from which the image-bearing light beams are first totally-internally-reflected.
The limitation, “wherein the image-bearing light beams are output through a surface of the optical coupler from which the image-bearing light beams are first totally-internally-reflected” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Schultz et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al. in view of Lavi et al.; further in view of Beeson et al. (US 2004/0232812).
Regarding claim 6, Schultz et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Schultz et al. is silent regarding a fourth surface. Beeson et al. (figure 9B) teaches wherein the first surface comprises an input aperture configured to receive the image-bearing light along the projection axis, and the second surface comprises an output aperture configured to output the image-bearing light along the redirected projection axis (the aperture where 316 is inserted and 304). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical coupler as taught by Beeson et al. in order to enhance the output radiance of the light exiting the illumination system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871