DETAILED ACTION
This listing of the claims will replace all prior versions of the claims in the application:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 13-14, 16-17, 20-21, 41 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou [US 2023/0422231] in view of Hu [US 2021/0328700] and Hu [US 2021/0209520].
As claims 1 and 41, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses a data transmission method, comprising: monitoring, by a terminal device, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first bandwidth part (BWP) [Fig 2, PDCCH is monitored in first BWP,], and receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a second BWP based on the first PDCCH [Fig 2, PDSCH in second BWP] wherein a bandwidth of the first PDCCH is located in a receiving bandwidth of the terminal device [Fig 2, bandwidth of PDCCH is in the received bandwidth of UE, Par. 0074, 0087, 0094], the first PDCCH is used for scheduling the PDSCH [Fig 2, PDCCH includes a scheduled of PDSCH¸ Par. 0074, 0087, 0094]. However, Hou [US 2023/0422231] fails to disclose during an initial access to a network device [Par. 0039-0040], monitoring, by a terminal device, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first bandwidth part (BWP), and receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a second BWP based on the first PDCCH, a bandwidth of the second BWP is greater than the receiving bandwidth of the terminal device, the second BWP corresponds to a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) 0 and eredcap terminal. In the same field of endeavor, Hu [US 2021/0328700] discloses during an initial access to a network device [Par. 0039-0040], monitoring, by a terminal device, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first bandwidth part (BWP) [Fig 4-5, PDCCH is monitored in first BWP, Par. 0045-0056], and receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a second BWP based on the first PDCCH [Fig 4-5 PDCCH scheduled PDSCH in second BWP, Par. 0045-0056], a bandwidth of the second BWP is greater than the receiving bandwidth of the terminal device [Par. 0016 discloses BWP of PDSCH is greater than receiving bandwidth of UE], the second BWP corresponds to a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) 0 [Fig 4-5, Par. 0045-0056 discloses PDSCH is corresponded to coreset zero]. However, Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0328700] fail to fully disclose eredcap. In the same field of endeavor, However, Hu [US 2021/0209520] discloses and wherein the terminal device is an enhanced reduced capability (eRedCap) terminal device [Fig 5, eredcap UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising eredcap as disclosed by Hu [US 2021/0209520] into the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700] such as during an initial access to a network device monitoring, by a terminal device, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first bandwidth part (BWP), and receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a second BWP based on the first PDCCH, a bandwidth of the second BWP is greater than the receiving bandwidth of the terminal device, the second BWP corresponds to a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) 0 into the teaching of Hou [US 2023/0422231]. The motivation would have been to extend the communication system.
As claim 2, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses in response to the first PDCCH
having been monitored by the terminal device in the first bandwidth part, parsing, by the
terminal device, the first PDCCH [Fig 2, UE parses PDCCH, Par. 0087, 0092] and
obtaining control information contents comprised in the first PDCCH based on
configuration information of the second band width part [Fig 2, UE extracts
information in the PDCCH in order to receive PDSCH based on configuration
information of BWP 2, Par. 0087, 0092].
As claims 3 and 16, Hu [US 2021/0328700] discloses wherein the PDSCH carries a system message [Fig 4-5 disclose PDSCH includes SIB].
As claims 4 and 17, Hu [US 2021/0328700]/Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses comprising a bandwidth of the first BWP being less than the receiving bandwidth of the terminal device [Fig 4-5 and Par. 0045-0056 discloses PDCCH within the first BWP for Hu and Hou at Par. 0074, 0082].
As claim 7, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses in response to the first PDCCH
having been monitored by the terminal device in the first band width part, switching, by
the terminal device, from the first band width part to the second band width part, and
receiving the PDSCH in the second band width part [Par. 0087, 0115 and Fig 2
discloses detecting PDCCH with switching from BWP 1 to BWP 2 for receiving
PDSCH].
As claim 13, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses a data transmission method, comprising: configuring, by a network device, a first bandwidth part(BWP) and a second bandwidth part (BWP) for a first-type terminal device [Fig 2 discloses UE is
configured with BWP 1 and BWP 2]. wherein the first BWP is used for sending the first PDCCH to the first-type terminal device [Fig 2 discloses PDCCH send via BWP 1], the second BWP is used for sending the first PDSCH to the first-type terminal device [Fig 2, PDSCH send via BWP 2], the first PDCCH is used for scheduling the PDSCH [Fig 2], a bandwidth of the first PDCCH is located in a receiving bandwidth of the first-type terminal device, [Fig 2, bandwidth of PDCCH is in the received bandwidth of UE, Par. 0074, 0087, 0094]. However, Hou [US 2023/0422231] fails to fully disclose so as to enable the first-type terminal device to receive a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the first BWP and receive a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the second BWP during an initial access to the network device, a bandwidth of the second BWP is greater than the receiving bandwidth of the first-type terminal device, the second BWP corresponds to a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) 0, and wherein the first-type terminal device is an enhanced reduced capability (eRedCap) terminal device. In the same field of endeavor, Hu [US 2021/0328700] so as to enable the first-type terminal device to receive a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the first BWP and receive a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the second BWP during an initial access to the network device [Par. 0039-0040], a bandwidth of the second BWP is greater than the receiving bandwidth of the first-type terminal device [Par. 0016 discloses BWP of PDSCH is greater than receiving bandwidth of UE], the second BWP corresponds to a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) 0 [Fig 4-5, Par. 0045-0056 discloses PDSCH is corresponded to coreset zero]. However, Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0328700] fail to fully disclose eredcap. In the same field of endeavor, However, Hu [US 2021/0209520] discloses and wherein the terminal device is an enhanced reduced capability (eRedCap) terminal device [Fig 5, eredcap UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising eredcap as disclosed by Hu [US 2021/0209520] into the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700] such as during an initial access to a network device monitoring, by a terminal device, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a first bandwidth part (BWP), and receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in a second BWP based on the first PDCCH, a bandwidth of the second BWP is greater than the receiving bandwidth of the terminal device, the second BWP corresponds to a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) 0 into the teaching of Hou [US 2023/0422231]. The motivation would have been to extend the communication system.
As claim 14, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses generating, by the network device, control information contents comprised in the first PDCCH based on configuration information of the second BWP [Fig 2, UE extracts information in the PDCCH in order to receive PDSCH based on configuration information of BWP 2, Par. 0087, 0092]..
As claim 20, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses indicating, by the network device, scheduling latency of the PDSCH [Par. 0090-0095], wherein the first PDCCH comprises the scheduling latency, and the scheduling latency is greater than or equal to switching latency of the first-type terminal device [Par. 0090-0095].
As claim 21, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses stopping by network device,
sending downlink information to the first-type terminal device within the switching
latency [Par. 0090-0095, Fig 2 discloses after send DCi the base station stop
sending another DCI and send PDSCH via BWP 2].
As claim 43, Hu [US 2021/0328700] discloses a SIB1 is carried in the PDSCH [Fig 4-5].
Claim(s) 8-11, 15 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520] as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Ang [US 2019/0090299].
As claim 8, Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520] fail to fully disclose what Ang [US 2019/0090299] discloses determining, by the terminal device, switching latency [Par. 0116 discloses gap period]; and stopping, by the terminal device, monitoring downlink information within the switching latency [Par. Fig 2, 13-16, 20 discloses during transition from BWP 1 to BWP 2, UE is not monitor PDCCH at BWP 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for stopping
monitoring PDCCH during switching delay as disclosed by Ang into the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520]. The motivation would have been to extend the communication system.
As claim 9, Hou [US 2023/0422231] discloses the first PDCCH further carries
scheduling latency of the PDSCH, and the scheduling latency is greater than or equal to
the switching latency [Fig 2, Par. 0090-0095].
As claim 10, Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520] fail to fully disclose what Ang [US 2019/0090299] in response to the terminal device performing a reception for the PDSCH in the second BWP [Fig 9, 13-16 discloses when UE receives data at BWP2, UE stops monitoring PDCCH at BWP 1] stopping, by the terminal device, monitoring the first PDCCH in the first BWP [Fig 9, 13-16 discloses when UE receives data at BWP2, UE stops monitoring PDCCH at BWP 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for stopping
monitoring PDCCH at BWP 1 during receiving data at BWP 2 as disclosed by Ang into
the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520]. The motivation would have been to extend the communication
system.
As claim 11, Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520] fail to fully disclose what Ang discloses further comprising: in response to completion of receiving the PDSCH in the second BWP [Fig 9, 13-16 and 20 discloses after receiving data at BWP 2] or in response to receiving the PDSCH on M time units in the second BWP [Par. 0088-0089], switching, by the terminal device, from the second BWP to the first BWP and continuing to monitor a PDCCH in the first BWP,
wherein the M is a positive integer [Fig 9, 13-16 and 20 discloses UE switching from
BWP 2 to BWP 1 for monitoring PDCCH].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for switching
back to BWP 1 for monitoring PDCCH after receiving data at BWP 2 as disclosed by
Ang into the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520]. The motivation would have been to extend the communication system.
As claim 15, Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520] fail to disclose what Ang [US2019/0090299] discloses sending, by the network device, a second PDCCH to a second-type terminal device in the second band width part [Fig 9, 13-16 discloses PDCCH with BWP 2], wherein the second PDCCH is used for scheduling the PDSCH [Fig 9, 13-16 and 20 PDCCH schedules PDSCH], and a capability of the second-type terminal device is different from a capability of the first-type terminal device [Fig 9, 13-16 and 20 includes a UE with two capability such as low power, small bandwidth and full power/bandwidth].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by
Ang into the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520]. The motivation would have been to extend the
communication system.
As claim 22, Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520] fail to disclose what Ang [US 2019/0090299] discloses in response to the first-type terminal device receiving the PDSCH in the second BWP, stopping, by the network device, sending a PDCCH to the first-type terminal device in the first BWP [Fig 9, 13-16 and 20 discloses UE is not monitoring for PDCCH at BWP 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for stopping
monitoring PDCCH at BWP 1 during receiving data at BWP 2 as disclosed by Ang into
the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520]. The motivation would have been to extend the communication
system.
As claim 23, Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520] fail to disclose what Ang [US 2019/0090299] discloses determining, by the network device, a timing at which the first-type terminal device switches from the second BWP to the first BWP [Fig 13-16 discloses determining a time to switch from BWP 2 to BWP 1]; and sending, by the network device after the timing, a PDCCH to the first-type terminal device in the first BWP [Fig 13-16, send PDCCH via BWP 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system as disclosed by
Ang into the teaching of Hu [US 2021/0328700], Hou [US 2023/0422231] and Hu [US 2021/0209520]. The motivation would have been to extend the
communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwak [US 2022/0322404] discloses eredcap.
Tuong Tran [US 2023/0156752] discloses coreset 0 and SIB1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414