DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 08/21/2026. Claims 1-8 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/01/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 08/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 are amended; Claims 1-8 remain pending for evaluation. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 05/22/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pgs. 8-10 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, Abotabl fails to teach or suggest at least “wherein the terminal performs only one of uplink transmission and downlink reception at a same time” in the amended Claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Abotabl Fig. 9 expressly provides at step 916 that the UE configures “at least one of uplink transmissions or downlink transmissions based on the indication of the interleaved configuration 912” and step 918 provides the corresponding configuration at the base station. Para. [0120-0122] further explain that the UE separately schedules UL transmission using UL resources and DL receptions using DL resources and performs communication according to those respective interlace patterns at step 920.
Thus, Abotabl’s interleaved configuration encompasses a communication instance in which the terminal performs the configured UL transmission or the configured DL reception – i.e., only one of the two at that time. This interpretation is further consistent with Figs. 7A-7B and 8A-8C and Para. [0101 – 0114], which separately identify and configure UL and DL resources and their associated gap durations within the interleaved scheme.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Ye and Abdelghaffar are moot with respect to the amended limitation because Abotabl itself teaches the terminal performing only one of the uplink transmission or downlink reception at a given time. Accordingly, those arguments do not overcome the rejection.
In conclusion, Abotabl teaches “wherein the terminal performs only one of uplink transmission and downlink reception at a same time” as shown above. Accordingly, Abotabl anticipates the claimed subject matter, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to independent Claim(s) 5 and 6 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claim 1. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claim 1 are equally applicable to independent Claim(s) 5 and 6 and the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abotabl et al. (US 2022/0109549, previously presented), Abotabl hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Abotabl teaches a terminal comprising (Fig. 12, Para. [0140-0150]):
a communication unit (Fig. 12, Elements 1230 and 1234, Para. [0140-0150]; See Also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0077]) configured to perform communication with a base station that can perform transmission and reception using a same time and frequency resource based on configuration of an uplink resource and a downlink resource (Fig. 9, step 912; Para. [0115-0122] - [0117] The base station 902 may transmit an indication of the interleaved configuration 912 that is received by the UE 904. The indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include the independent uplink interlace pattern and downlink interlace pattern. For example, the indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include an uplink interlace pattern indication 930 and a downlink interlace pattern indication 932. The indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include the uplink interlace pattern and the offset. The indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include the joint interlaced pattern. For example, the indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include a joint interlaced pattern indication 934; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]);
and a control unit (Fig. 12, Element 12032, Para. [0140-0150]; See Also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0077]) configured to control an operation of the communication unit based on a gap between a timing of uplink transmission performed in the uplink resource and a timing of downlink reception performed in the downlink resource (Fig. 9, step 914; Para. [0115-0122] - [0119] In some examples, the interleaved configuration may include additional or alternative parameters. For example, the base station 902 may transmit a gaps configuration 914 that includes uplink gap durations 936 and/or downlink gap durations 938. In some examples, the base station 902 may transmit the interlace patterns (e.g., the uplink interlace pattern indication 930, the downlink interlace pattern indication 932, and/or the joint interlaced pattern indication 934) via RRC signaling and configure the downlink gap durations 938 and/or the uplink gap durations 936 using a MAC-CE and/or DCI; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]),
wherein the terminal performs only one of uplink transmission and downlink reception at a same time (Fig. 9, steps 916 and 920; Para. [0115-0122] - [0120] At 916, the UE 904 configures at least one of uplink transmissions or downlink transmissions based on the indication of the interleaved configuration 912, which may include the gaps configuration 914. For example, the indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include an independent uplink interlace pattern (e.g., the uplink interlace pattern indication 930) and downlink interlace pattern (e.g., the downlink interlace pattern indication 932) or may include a joint interlaced pattern (e.g., the joint interlaced pattern indication 934). In some examples, the indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include an uplink interlace pattern and an offset. In some such examples, the UE 904 may derive the downlink interlace pattern based on the uplink interlace pattern and the offset. The UE 904 may schedule uplink transmissions using uplink resources corresponding to the uplink interlace pattern and may schedule downlink transmissions using downlink resources corresponding to the downlink interlace pattern…………. [0122] The UE 904 and the base station 902 may transmit communications 920 via the interleaved configuration. For example, the UE 904 may use the downlink interlace pattern to receive downlink transmissions from the base station 902 and use the uplink interlace pattern to transmit uplink transmissions to the base station 902. In a similar manner, the base station may use the uplink interlace pattern to receive uplink transmissions form the UE 904 and use the downlink interlace pattern to transmit downlink transmissions to the UE 904. In some examples the communications 920 may be associated with unlicensed resources.; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]).
Examiner’s Note: Abotabl teaches that the UE/base station perform full-duplex/interleaved communication using configured uplink and downlink resources. In particular, Abotabl’s in-band full- duplex disclosure teaches that uplink and downlink transmissions may share the same time and frequency resource, as illustrated by overlapping UL/DL resources in Fig. 5A-5B and described in Para. [ 0083-0084]. Abotabl further teaches that the base station determines and transmits an interleaved configuration to the UE, including uplink and downlink interlace patterns, which the UE uses to perform interleaved configuration communication in Fig. 9, step 920 and Para. [0122].
Abotabl also teaches that the interleaved configuration includes gap configuration information, including uplink gap durations and downlink gap durations, which may be the same, different, or set to zero, as shown in Fig, 7A-7B and described in Para. [0109-0114]. Thus, Abotabl’s gap configuration controls how the UE performs the interleaved UL/DL communication, and corresponds to controlling operation based on a gap between the timing of uplink transmission in the uplink resource and the timing of downlink reception in the downlink resource.
Regarding Claim 5, Abotabl teaches a communication system comprising: (Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0078]):
a terminal comprising (Fig. 3, element 350, Para. [0067-0078]):
a communication unit (Fig. 12, Elements 1230 and 1234, Para. [0140-0150]; See Also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0077]) configured to perform communication with a base station that can perform transmission and reception using a same time and frequency resource based on configuration of an uplink resource and a downlink resource (Fig. 9, step 912; Para. [0115-0122]; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]);
and a control unit (Fig. 12, Element 12032, Para. [0140-0150]; See Also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0077]) configured to control an operation of the communication unit based on a gap between a timing of uplink transmission performed in the uplink resource and a timing of downlink reception performed in the downlink resource (Fig. 9, step 914; Para. [0115-0122]; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]),
wherein the terminal performs only one of uplink transmission and downlink reception at a same time (Fig. 9, steps 916 and 920; Para. [0115-0122]; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]).
and the base station comprising (Fig. 3, element 310, Para. [0067-0078])): a transmission unit configured to transmit, to the terminal, configuration information of the uplink resource and the downlink resource (Fig. 15, elements 1530 and 1534, Para. [0168-0178]).
Regarding Claim 6, Abotabl teaches a communication method executed by a terminal, the communication method comprising (Fig. 9, step 914; Para. [0115-0122]):
performing communication with a base station that can perform transmission and reception using a same time and frequency resource based on configuration of an uplink resource and a downlink resource (Fig. 9, step 912; Para. [0115-0122] - [0117] The base station 902 may transmit an indication of the interleaved configuration 912 that is received by the UE 904. The indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include the independent uplink interlace pattern and downlink interlace pattern. For example, the indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include an uplink interlace pattern indication 930 and a downlink interlace pattern indication 932. The indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include the uplink interlace pattern and the offset. The indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include the joint interlaced pattern. For example, the indication of the interleaved configuration 912 may include a joint interlaced pattern indication 934; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]);
performing only one of uplink transmission and downlink reception at a same time (Fig. 9, steps 916 and 920; Para. [0115-0122]; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]).
controlling an operation of the communication unit based on a gap between a timing of uplink transmission performed in the uplink resource and a timing of downlink reception performed in the downlink resource (Fig. 9, step 914; Para. [0115-0122]; See Also: Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5A-C, Para. [0083-0088]; Fig. 6A-C, Para. [0089-0100]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0101-0111]; Fig. 8A-C, Para. [0112-0114]; Fig. 9, Para. [0115-0122]; Fig. 10, Para. [0123-0128]; Fig. 11, Para. [0129-0139]; Fig. 13, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 14, Para. [0157-0167]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Ye et al. (US 2025/0337554, previously presented), Ye hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Abotabl teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Abotabl does not expressly teach wherein the communication unit performs the uplink transmission and the downlink reception when the gap is greater than an allowable gap that is configured or defined, and does not perform either one of the uplink transmission and the downlink reception when the gap is smaller than the allowable gap.
However, Ye teaches
wherein the communication unit performs the uplink transmission and the downlink reception when the gap is greater than an allowable gap that is configured or defined, and does not perform either one of the uplink transmission and the downlink reception when the gap is smaller than the allowable gap (Fig. 6, element 602; Para. [0089-0092] - [0089] FIG. 6 shows a frame structure 600 in which a switching gap 602 is present. For XDD operation, the UE can have DL to UL switching between any two consecutive slots. In some implementations, the UE has DL to UL switching within one slot. The switching gap 602 enables UE switching from DL reception to UL transmission. The gap 602 allows signal propagation from the base station to arrive at the UE before the UE shuts off the receiver to prepare for transmission of data back to the base station. The location and length in time of the switching gap 602 can be configured by the base station (such as during UL scheduling) and communicated to the UE. In some implementations, the UE determines the configuration of the switching gap 602…[0092] In a third scenario, the gap 602 is small (e.g., fewer than 5 symbols). The gap 602 is determined by the UL or DL scheduling process (e.g., by the base station). If the switching gap 602 is less than a threshold value, the UE drops either the DL reception or the UL transmission based on a predefined priority hierarchy; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0062-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066]; Fig. 5A-5C, Para. [0067-0088]; Fig. 6, Para. [0089-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0093]; Fig. 8, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 9, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 10, Para. [0104-0114]; Para. [0115-0177])
Examiner’s Note: Ye’s Fig. 3 and Para. [0062-0065] describe an XDD frame structure in which a switching gap is provided to enable the UE to switch from DL reception to UL transmission, including between consecutive slots or within a slot. In view of Abotabl’s teaching of full-duplex/interleaved UL/DL communication using configured uplink and downlink resources, Ye further explains in Fig. 6, Para. [0089-0092] that when the switching gap is smaller than a configured/threshold value, the UE drops either the DL reception or UL transmission, thereby teaching the claimed gap-based performance/non-performance of the UL transmission and DL reception.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abotabl’s invention of methods for “an interleaved configuration of uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions in a full-duplex manner that improves spectral efficiency” (Abotabl Para. [0041]) with Ye’s invention of “how the UE handles collisions when there is a DL to UL switching gap for XDD and a collision between DL reception and UL transmission” (Ye Para. [0004]) because Ye’s invention provides techniques for collision handling which support “cross-link interference mitigation to support flexible resource adaptation” (Ye Para. [0007]).
Regarding Claim 3, Abotabl in view of Ye teaches Claim 2.
Yet, Abotabl does not expressly teach wherein the communication unit does not perform one of having a lower priority between the uplink transmission and the downlink reception when the gap is smaller than the allowable gap.
However, Ye teaches
wherein the communication unit does not perform one having a lower priority between the uplink transmission and the downlink reception when the gap is smaller than the allowable gap (Fig. 6, element 602; Para. [0089-0092] - [0092] In a third scenario, the gap 602 is small (e.g., fewer than 5 symbols). The gap 602 is determined by the UL or DL scheduling process (e.g., by the base station). If the switching gap 602 is less than a threshold value, the UE drops either the DL reception or the UL transmission based on a predefined priority hierarchy; Fig. 7, Para. [0093] - [0093] The predefined priority hierarchy for dropping either UL transmission or DL reception by the UE is now described for several examples of the third scenario. In a first example, there is a PDCCH monitoring occasion 704 collision with DG or CG PUSCH, PUCCH, or PRACH. In this example, if a PDCCH COREST is configured a DL slot (e.g., using DL PRBs), as shown by PRBs 704a-b of frame structure 700 of FIG. 7. For a PDCCH monitoring occasion colliding with CG PUSCH (including repetitions), the PUSCH is dropped. For a PDCCH monitoring occasion colliding with DG PUSCH (including repetitions), a priority rule is defined by the base station during UL or DL scheduling. For example, the PDCCH monitoring occasion is prioritized over DG PUSCH. In another example, the priority rule indicates that a high priority DG PUSCH is prioritized over PDCCH monitoring. The base station can indicate high or low priority in a priority bit during scheduling (e.g., in the DCI), as previously described. In another example, for PDCCH colliding with PUCCH, PUCCH has priority. In this example, the UE is configured to ignore the PDCCH monitoring occasion and instead transmit the PUCCH. In another example, when PDCCH collides with a UE-specific PRACH, a priority rule is pre-defined by the base station during scheduling, as previously described; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0062-0065]; Fig. 4, Para. [0066]; Fig. 5A-5C, Para. [0067-0088]; Fig. 6, Para. [0089-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0093]; Fig. 8, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 9, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 10, Para. [0104-0114]; Para. [0115-0177])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abotabl’s invention of methods for “an interleaved configuration of uplink transmissions and downlink transmissions in a full-duplex manner that improves spectral efficiency” (Abotabl Para. [0041]) with Ye’s invention of “how the UE handles collisions when there is a DL to UL switching gap for XDD and a collision between DL reception and UL transmission” (Ye Para. [0004]) because Ye’s invention provides techniques for collision handling which support “cross-link interference mitigation to support flexible resource adaptation” (Ye Para. [0007]).
Claim(s) 4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abotabl in view of Ye, and in further view of Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2021/0176626, previously presented), Abdelghaffar hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 4, 7, and 8, Abotabl teaches Claim 1 and Abotabl in view of Ye teaches Claims 2 and 3.
Yet, Abotabl nor Ye expressly teach wherein the communication unit reports, to the base station, capability information on configuration of the uplink transmission and the downlink reception or capability information on the gap.
However, Abdelghaffar teaches
wherein the communication unit reports, to the base station, capability information on configuration of the uplink transmission and the downlink reception or capability information on the gap (Fig. 8, Para. [0139-0140] - [0139] FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a spectrum configuration 800 that supports dual-mode half duplex TDD and full duplex FDD capable UE in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, spectrum configuration 800 may implement aspects of wireless communication system 100, 201, 202, 600, and 700. Another capability that a UE 115 may declare and indicate to a base station 105 is a guard time capability. The guard time capability may be the time that the UE 115 may use to switch between a TDD mode and an FDD mode. The guard time may be represented by a number of symbols, depending on the numerology for the CC in μs. The guard time may also be a fixed time (e.g., in units of μs) that the UE 115 may use to switch between TDD mode and FDD mode; See Also Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0111-0115]; Fig. 3, Para. [0116-0121]; Fig. 4, Para. [0122-0128]; Fig. 5, Para. [0129-0131]; Fig. 6, Para. [0132-0135]; Fig. 7, Para. [0136-0138]; Fig. 8, Para. [0139-0140]; Fig. 9, Para. [0141-0148]; Fig. 18, Para. [0219-0222]; Fig. 19, Para. [0223-0228]; Fig. 20, Para. [0229-0232]; Fig. 21, Para. [0233-0237]; Para. [02238-0247])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the communication unit reports, to the base station, capability information on configuration of the uplink transmission and the downlink reception or capability information on the gap as taught by Abdelghaffar, in the combined system of Abotabl/Ye, so that it would provide methods whereby, after the base station receives the capability information, the base station “may determine an appropriate slot format or frame format to be used by the UE” (Abdelghaffar Para. [0065]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cheng et al. (US 20130194984) teaches in Para. [0045] teaches a site device performing full-duplex transmission with multiple UEs may allow UEs with a high level of interference to transmit uplink and downlink signals on different time and frequency resources.
Kim et al. (US 20240373425) teaches in Fig. 8 a method for a terminal to either perform uplink transmission or downlink reception. Fig. 8, S830 and Para. [0174] states “the UE may perform uplink transmission or downlink reception in at least one TO (S830);” Para. [0175] also further clarifies “TO may mean time (e.g., symbol, slot, etc.)/frequency (e.g., subcarrier, RB, etc.)/space (e.g., layer, beam, etc.) resource unit for performing transmission/reception operations.”
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468