This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendment and Arguments filed on 9/10/2026.
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-15 are pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the previous rejection of claims 1 - 2 and 3-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues
“Applicant submits that the cited references fail to teach or suggest all of the above limitations of claim 1 as amended. Claim 1 has been amended to recite, inter alia, that the controller is configured to "determine a first luminance level of a boundary of a remaining area of the display panel excluding the certain area, the boundary of the remaining area being adjacent to the certain area," "determine a compensation value corresponding to a difference between the first luminance level and a second luminance level of the certain area," and "adjust an intensity of light emitted from a block corresponding to the restricted area among the plurality of blocks based on the compensation value," "wherein the first luminance level and the second luminance level correspond to a luminance of a screen after the certain mode is set." Support for these features may be found, for example, in at least paragraphs [0352]-[0353] of the specification as originally filed.
Applicant submits that the cited references fail to teach or suggest the above features. As discussed, Byoun is limited to compensating for a decrease in brightness caused by turning a viewing-angle adjustment element on or off which includes adjusting a region toward a target brightness value based on stored brightness-change information. Thus, in Byoun, the reference luminance is the luminance of the same region before the viewing-angle restriction is applied, and compensation is applied to that same region based on the degree of luminance decrease at that same region. The reference is silent as to comparing or matching the luminance of two different regions of the display and thus cannot be argued as disclosing features related to determining a compensation value based on a difference between the luminance at the boundary of an adjacent unrestricted area and the luminance of a restricted area after a certain mode is set.
Murzyn is cited for disclosing driving different zones in a segmented fashion, however the reference fails to cure the deficiencies of Byoun. Murzyn discloses a display having a local- dimming backlight and an active privacy mode with independently controllable zones or segments. While Murzyn may permit a viewing-angle-restricted zone and an unrestricted zone to be arranged adjacent to one another, Murzyn does not teach or suggest using the luminance of the adjacent unrestricted area for determining a compensation value for compensating the restricted area, or determining the compensation value based on a difference in luminance between the two areas after the certain mode is set.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The combination of Byoun in view of Murzyn are relied upon to teach the limitations that applicant’s are arguing. Examiner does not rely on the references individually.
Applicant also argues:
“Furthermore, even if Byoun and Murzyn were combined as argued by the Office Action, the combination would at most result in performing local dimming of the restricted area based on the degree of luminance decrease within that same restricted area. The mere fact that Byoun sets the luminance of a region before viewing-angle restriction as a reference, and that Murzyn permits restricted and unrestricted regions to be arranged adjacently, provide no basis for concluding that the pre-restriction luminance of the restricted region in Byoun corresponds to the post-restriction luminance of an adjacent unrestricted region. Neither reference, alone or in combination, discloses comparing or matching luminance levels between two different regions of the screen having different viewing-angle-restriction conditions. It is further submitted that none of the remaining cited references cure the above deficiencies of Byoun and Murzyn with respect to the features of claim 1 as amended.”
Examiner disagrees. If Byoun had the local viewing-angle-restricting hardware and local dimming technology of Murzyn the area that there was viewing-angle-restriction would have a backlight increase separate for the area that does not in order to maintain consistent luminance just like Byoun is teaching in para [0145]. It would be simple for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the compensation of Byoun (which occurs across a temporal boundary where the display switches from unrestricted to restricted) to the spatial boundary of Murzyn as it is merely applying a simple backlighting value. It is well known that luminance consistency whether it be temporal or spatial is desirable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byoun et al. (US 20210063783 A1, hereinafter known as Byoun) in view of Murzyn et al. (US 20200319512 A1, hereinafter known as Murzyn).
Regarding Claim 1, Byoun teaches A vehicle display device comprising:
{Para [0002] “The disclosure relates to an electronic apparatus for controlling a passenger seat display in front of a passenger sitting on a passenger seat of a vehicle and a method of controlling the passenger seat display.”
}
a display panel;
{Para [0068] “the passenger seat display 150 may include a physical device including at least one of, for example, a liquid crystal display (LCD), a plasma display panel (PDP) display, an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display, a field emission display (FED), a vacuum fluorescent display (VFD), a digital light processing (DLP) display, a flat panel display, a three-dimensional (3D) display, or a transparent display, but is not limited thereto. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the passenger seat display 150 may include a touchscreen including a touch interface.”
}
a backlight unit comprising
{Para [0185] “Referring to FIG. 11, the BLU 1110 may include the light source 1112, the LGP 1114, the reflective member 1116, and the prism plate 1118. The light source 1112, the LGP 1114, and the prism plate 1118 are the same as those shown in FIG. 10, and thus, the description made with reference to FIG. 10 is not repeated herein.”
BLU stands for backlight unit.
}
a viewing angle adjustment panel comprising a plurality of liquid crystal layers comprised of liquid crystal; and
{Para [0075] “As shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, the passenger seat display 150 switches the wide viewing angle and the narrow viewing angle in each of the stop mode and the driving mode, and the switching may be implemented by arranging a viewing angle switching element between a backlight unit (BLU) and a display panel. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the viewing angle switching element may include a polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC). An electronic apparatus may switch the wide viewing angle mode and the narrow viewing angle mode by controlling a driving voltage applied to the viewing angle switching element. The switching of the wide viewing angle mode and the narrow viewing angle mode will be described in detail with reference to FIG. 3.”
}
a controller configured to: changes an arrangement of the liquid crystal disposed in a restricted area of the viewing angle adjustment panel corresponding to a certain area of the display panel, based on a setting of a certain mode for controlling a viewing angle, and
{Para [0087] “accordingly, the passenger vehicle display with the wider viewing angle in the stop mode, and the narrow viewing angle in the driving mode can occur applying the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element 1120 when the vehicle is determined to be in the driving mode. At least one processor can use a sensor input to determine whether the vehicle is in the driving mode or the stop mode. Accordingly, the at least one processor can control the power supply to selectively apply the driving voltage to the angle switching element 1120 based on the sensor input.”
Para [0089] “Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic apparatus 1000 may include the passenger seat display 1100, a sensor 1200, a DC power supply 1310, a DC-AC converter 1320, a processor 1400, a memory 1500, and a storage 1600. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the passenger seat display 1100, the DC power supply 1310, and the DC-AC converter 1320 may not be components of the electronic apparatus 1000 but be separate components. According to certain embodiments, the processor 1400 can use an input from the sensor 1200 to determine whether the vehicle is in the stop mode or the driving mode. When the processor 1400 determines that the vehicle is in the driving mode, the processor 1400 controls a DC power supply 1310 (in combination with the DC-AC converter) to apply a driving voltage to the passenger display device 110. When the processor 1400 determines that the vehicle is in the stop mode, the processor 1400 causes the driving voltage to not be applied to the passenger display device 110.”
}
determine a first luminance level of a temporal boundary of a remaining area of the display panel excluding the certain area, the temporal boundary of the remaining area being adjacent to the certain area,
{Para [0009] “According to certain embodiments, applying the driving voltage comprises: applying the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element when determining that the vehicle is in motion, and not applying the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element when determining that the vehicle is not in motion.”
Para [0011] “According to certain embodiments, the adjusting of the brightness or the color coordinates of the passenger seat display comprises adjusting the brightness of the passenger seat display to the target brightness value based on an amount of brightness decrease that occurs as a result of the application of the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element, by controlling a magnitude of a driving current applied to a light source of the passenger seat display.”
}
determine a compensation value corresponding to a difference between the first luminance level and a second luminance level of the certain area, and
adjusts an intensity of light emitted
wherein the first luminance level and the second luminance level correspond to a luminance of a screen
{ Para [0009] “According to certain embodiments, applying the driving voltage comprises: applying the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element when determining that the vehicle is in motion, and not applying the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element when determining that the vehicle is not in motion.”
Para [0011] “According to certain embodiments, the adjusting of the brightness or the color coordinates of the passenger seat display comprises adjusting the brightness of the passenger seat display to the target brightness value based on an amount of brightness decrease that occurs as a result of the application of the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element, by controlling a magnitude of a driving current applied to a light source of the passenger seat display.”
}
Byoun does not teach,
adjusts an intensity of light emitted from a block corresponding to the restricted area among the plurality of blocks based on the compensation value,
and
wherein the first luminance level and the second luminance level correspond to a luminance of a screen after the certain mode is set.
However, Murzyn teaches A vehicle display device comprising:
a display panel;
{abstract “A display with local dimming backlight and an active privacy mode. The display may include a backlight source, lenses, a passive diffuser, an active diffuser and a transmissive display. The backlight source may define a two-dimensional matrix of light sources configured to generate an initial light. The lenses may be mounted adjacent to the backlight source, aligned with the light sources, and configured to generate a collimated light. The passive diffuser may be mounted adjacent to the lenses and configured to spatially spread the collimated light. The active diffuser may be mounted adjacent to the passive diffuser, configured to generate an intermediate light in response to the collimated light, and configured to change a diffusive property of the intermediate light in response to a scattering signal. The transmissive display may be mounted adjacent to the active diffuser and configured to generate multiple visible images by modulating the intermediate light.”
}
a backlight unit comprising a plurality of blocks comprised of a light source;
{Para [0027] “Each defined zone may be adjusted to a different brightness level. Due to the collimation of the light produced by the backlight source, one or more of the zones may be operated in the private viewing mode and/or the public viewing mode at a user selectable brightness level. For example, zones of the backlight source corresponding to areas on the display that should be black may be switched off to create a high dynamic range in the visible images. In various embodiments, the display may provide for contrast ratios of up to 15,000:1.”
Para [0042] “The light sources 114 may implement a two-dimensional matrix (or array) of light sources. The light sources 114 may be mounted to the body 92. Each element of the light sources 114 may be implemented as a light emitting diode (LED). The light sources 114 are generally operational to generate (or emit) the initial light used to create the optical signal DSP. In various embodiments, the light sources 114 may be arranged in the multiple zones, where a brightness of each zone is independently controllable by the brightness signal B. In some embodiments, the light sources 114 may be arranged in a single zone, where the brightness across the area of the backlight source 108 is uniformly controllable by the brightness signal B. The initial light may be presented to the lenses 112.”
}
a viewing angle adjustment panel comprising a plurality of liquid crystal layers comprised of liquid crystal; and
{Para [0038] “The active diffuser 106 may implement a polymer-dispersed liquid-crystal (PDLC) display. The active diffuser 106 may be mounted adjacent to (or adjoining) the passive diffuser 110. The active diffuser 106 is generally operational to change the diffusion in each zone in response to the scatter control signal SC. While the active diffuser 106 is in an “off” state (or scattered state), incident light may be scattered thereby providing the intermediate light to the transmissive display 104 in the public viewing mode or public mode (e.g., wide viewing angle). While the active diffuser 106 is in an “on” state (or non-scattered state), the incident light may not be scattered thereby providing intermediate light to the transmissive display 104 in the private viewing mode or private mode (e.g., narrow viewing angle).”
}
a controller configured to: changes an arrangement of the liquid crystal disposed in a restricted area of the viewing angle adjustment panel corresponding to a certain area of the display panel, based on a setting of a certain mode for controlling a viewing angle, and
{Para [0025] “The display may utilize a highly collimated backlight source to provide illumination for a transmissive display. An electrically switchable active diffuser may be situated between the backlight source and the transmissive display. The active diffuser may introduce a switchable diffusion layer that provides variable degrees of scattering between an active scattering state to a non-scattering state of the collimated light produced by the backlight source. The active diffuser may be divided into multiple independently defined zones (or segments). Each zone may be independently controllable between the public viewing mode and the private viewing mode. For each zone in the public viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide active scattering of the collimated light used for public (e.g., wide angle) viewing of the transmissive display. For each zone in the private viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide little to no scattering of the collimated light resulting in a private (e.g., narrow angle) viewing of the transmissive display.”
Para [0038] “The active diffuser 106 may implement a polymer-dispersed liquid-crystal (PDLC) display. The active diffuser 106 may be mounted adjacent to (or adjoining) the passive diffuser 110. The active diffuser 106 is generally operational to change the diffusion in each zone in response to the scatter control signal SC. While the active diffuser 106 is in an “off” state (or scattered state), incident light may be scattered thereby providing the intermediate light to the transmissive display 104 in the public viewing mode or public mode (e.g., wide viewing angle). While the active diffuser 106 is in an “on” state (or non-scattered state), the incident light may not be scattered thereby providing intermediate light to the transmissive display 104 in the private viewing mode or private mode (e.g., narrow viewing angle).”
}
a first luminance level of a boundary of a remaining area of the display panel excluding the certain area, the boundary of the remaining area being adjacent to the certain area,
{para [0053-0056] “Since the active diffuser 106 may be divided into independent zones, the different zones may be designed and driven in a segmented fashion. As an example, the left size of the display 100c may be configured in the public viewing mode while the right side of the display 100c may be configured in the private viewing mode. Given a wide (e.g., 8:3) aspect ratio of some implementations of the display 100c that may be used as the passenger display, a 16:9 video may occupy a portion of an active area of the display 100c. The video may be shown to the passenger in the private viewing mode. The other portion of the display 100c may be made public as so visible to the driver. Likewise, different zones of the display 100a may be configured differently. For example, a portion of the display 100a may be operated in the public viewing mode so that the passenger may see some information. A remainder of the display 100a may be operated in the private viewing mode for the sake of the driver. Where implemented with the active privacy mode, the display 100b may have some portions (zones) in the private viewing mode and other portions (zones) in the public viewing mode.
FIG. 6 illustrates a graph 130 of a normalized luminance versus a viewing angle of the display 100 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the platform 90. The luminance axis (e.g., y axis) of the graph 130 may show a visible luminance normalized to a maximum luminance along the normal line N. The viewing angle axis (e.g., x axis) generally shows the viewing angle in degrees.
A curve 134 generally illustrates the normalized luminance in the private viewing mode. At a zero-degree viewing angle (e.g., along the normal line N perpendicular to the surface 116 of the display 100), the luminance may be unity. The curve 134 may decline as the viewing angle increases. At an approximately 20 degrees to 25 degrees viewing angle, the normalized luminance may drop below 0.04 (e.g., 4 percent) of unity. At higher viewing angles, the attenuation may increase from approximately 96 percent to nearly 100 percent.
A curve 132 generally illustrates the normalized luminance in the public viewing mode. As the zero-degree viewing angle, the luminance may be unity. The curve 132 may decline gradually as the viewing angle increases. At an approximately 60 degrees to 65 degrees viewing angle, the normalized luminance may drop to approximately 0.1 (e.g., 10 percent) of unity. At higher viewing angles, the attenuation may increase from approximately 90 percent to 96 percent and greater.”
}
adjusts an intensity of light emitted from a block corresponding to the restricted area among the plurality of blocks based on the compensation value,
{ Para [0027] “Each defined zone may be adjusted to a different brightness level. Due to the collimation of the light produced by the backlight source, one or more of the zones may be operated in the private viewing mode and/or the public viewing mode at a user selectable brightness level. For example, zones of the backlight source corresponding to areas on the display that should be black may be switched off to create a high dynamic range in the visible images. In various embodiments, the display may provide for contrast ratios of up to 15,000:1.”
Para [0031] “A display signal (e.g., D) may be generated by the controller circuit 102 and received by the transmissive display 104. The display signal D may carry information used by the transmissive display 104 to modulate the optical signal DSP. A scatter control signal (e.g., SC) may be generated by the controller circuit 102 and presented to the active diffuser 106. The scatter control signal SC may carry control information used by the active diffuser 106 to scatter/not scatter light in the various zones. The controller circuit 102 may also generate a brightness signal (e.g., B) received by the light sources 114. The brightness signal B may convey brightness information used to control the luminance of the light sources 114 in the various zones.”
}
wherein the first luminance level and the second luminance level correspond to a luminance of a screen after the certain mode is set.
{Para [0053] “Since the active diffuser 106 may be divided into independent zones, the different zones may be designed and driven in a segmented fashion. As an example, the left size of the display 100c may be configured in the public viewing mode while the right side of the display 100c may be configured in the private viewing mode. Given a wide (e.g., 8:3) aspect ratio of some implementations of the display 100c that may be used as the passenger display, a 16:9 video may occupy a portion of an active area of the display 100c. The video may be shown to the passenger in the private viewing mode. The other portion of the display 100c may be made public as so visible to the driver. Likewise, different zones of the display 100a may be configured differently. For example, a portion of the display 100a may be operated in the public viewing mode so that the passenger may see some information. A remainder of the display 100a may be operated in the private viewing mode for the sake of the driver. Where implemented with the active privacy mode, the display 100b may have some portions (zones) in the private viewing mode and other portions (zones) in the public viewing mode.”
Para [0054-0056] “FIG. 6 illustrates a graph 130 of a normalized luminance versus a viewing angle of the display 100 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the platform 90. The luminance axis (e.g., y axis) of the graph 130 may show a visible luminance normalized to a maximum luminance along the normal line N. The viewing angle axis (e.g., x axis) generally shows the viewing angle in degrees.
A curve 134 generally illustrates the normalized luminance in the private viewing mode. At a zero-degree viewing angle (e.g., along the normal line N perpendicular to the surface 116 of the display 100), the luminance may be unity. The curve 134 may decline as the viewing angle increases. At an approximately 20 degrees to 25 degrees viewing angle, the normalized luminance may drop below 0.04 (e.g., 4 percent) of unity. At higher viewing angles, the attenuation may increase from approximately 96 percent to nearly 100 percent.
A curve 132 generally illustrates the normalized luminance in the public viewing mode. As the zero-degree viewing angle, the luminance may be unity. The curve 132 may decline gradually as the viewing angle increases. At an approximately 60 degrees to 65 degrees viewing angle, the normalized luminance may drop to approximately 0.1 (e.g., 10 percent) of unity. At higher viewing angles, the attenuation may increase from approximately 90 percent to 96 percent and greater.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Byoun to incorporate the teachings of Murzyn to use a plurality of backlights and have a restricted area that doesn’t encompass the whole screen because it allows local dimming to be implemented allowing for independent control of brightness across the screen Murzyn para 0026 “The collimated backlight source is generally based on a two-dimensional matrix (or array) of light sources and a corresponding two-dimensional matrix (or array) of lenses that provide zones with sharp luminance cut-off. The sharp luminance cut-off allows for implementing local dimming. Luminance of the matrix of light sources within the backlight source are generally controllable in multiple independently defined zones (or segments). In various embodiments, each zone of the collimated backlight source may be spatially aligned with a corresponding zone in the active diffuser. Other relationships of zones in the collimated backlight source to the zones in the active diffuser may be implemented to meet the design criteria of a particular application.” And it allows for the display content of the driver and passenger not to bother each other para [0003] “Console-based displays are becoming more popular in automobiles. The displays are commonly intended for use by a driver of the automobile and a passenger sitting next to the driver. With an availability of video sources and Internet content within the automobiles, conflicts have been created between the drivers and the passengers for what content to present on the displays.”
Regarding Claim 2, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1. Byoun further teaches wherein the intensity of the light emitted from the block corresponding to the restricted area corresponds to a voltage applied to the block corresponding to the restricted area, and as the difference between the first luminance level and the second luminance level increases, the voltage applied to the block corresponding to the restricted area increases.
{Para [0011] “According to certain embodiments, the adjusting of the brightness or the color coordinates of the passenger seat display comprises adjusting the brightness of the passenger seat display to the target brightness value based on an amount of brightness decrease that occurs as a result of the application of the driving voltage to the viewing angle switching element, by controlling a magnitude of a driving current applied to a light source of the passenger seat display.”
Para [0022] “According to certain embodiments, the plurality of operations further comprise controlling the power supply to change a magnitude of a driving current applied to a light source of the BLU by the power supply, thereby adjusting the brightness of the passenger seat display.”
Where increase current to a light source will increase the voltage drop across it.
}
Regarding Claim 5, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1. Byoun further teaches wherein the controller is configured to adjust an intensity of light emitted from the plurality of blocks in response to a change in ambient illuminance of vehicle, wherein the first luminance level increases in proportion to an increase in the ambient illuminance.
{Para [0069] “The viewing angle of a passenger seat display 150 can be adjusted based on whether the vehicle is in motion. In certain embodiments, the viewing angle of the passenger seat display 150 can be adjusted to be wide enough for the driver to be able to view the content on the passenger seat display 150 when the vehicle is not in motion. However, when the vehicle is in motion, the viewing angle of the passenger seat dislay 150 is narrowed to prevent viewing by the driver. Additionally, pixels of the passenger seat display are adjusted based on whether the vehicle is in motion so that the passenger does not perceive differences in color or brightness due to ambient light differences between when the vehicle is in motion and when the vehicle is not in motion. Additionally, the passenger seat display 150 includes a backlight unit for increasing light-gathering power to improve brightness of the passenger seat display.”
}
Regarding Claim 7, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1. Byoun further teaches wherein each of the first luminance level and the second luminance level varies depending on a position of a user riding in a passenger seat, wherein, in a state where the certain mode is set, the controller is configured to determine the compensation value according to the position of the user riding in the passenger seat.
{Para [0069] “The viewing angle of a passenger seat display 150 can be adjusted based on whether the vehicle is in motion. In certain embodiments, the viewing angle of the passenger seat display 150 can be adjusted to be wide enough for the driver to be able to view the content on the passenger seat display 150 when the vehicle is not in motion. However, when the vehicle is in motion, the viewing angle of the passenger seat dislay 150 is narrowed to prevent viewing by the driver. Additionally, pixels of the passenger seat display are adjusted based on whether the vehicle is in motion so that the passenger does not perceive differences in color or brightness due to ambient light differences between when the vehicle is in motion and when the vehicle is not in motion. Additionally, the passenger seat display 150 includes a backlight unit for increasing light-gathering power to improve brightness of the passenger seat display.”
}
Regarding Claim 8, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1. Murzyn further teaches wherein the viewing angle adjustment panel comprises a plurality of substrates respectively disposed in both sides of the liquid crystal layer, the arrangement of the liquid crystal is changed in a certain direction that restricts emission of light toward driver's seat, based on a voltage being applied to the plurality of substrates, and
{Para [0044] “The first plate 122 and the second plate 124 may each implement a transparent and electrically conductive layer (or film). The first plate 122 may be parallel to the second plate 124 with a slight separation. The scatter control signal SC may convey a voltage applied across the first plate 122 and the second plate 124. An electrical field may be created between the first plate 122 and the second plate 124 in response to the applied voltage received from the controller circuit 102.”
}
as a distance between the restricted area of the viewing angle adjustment panel and the driver's seat decreases, a voltage applied to the restricted area of the viewing angle adjustment panel increases.
{para [0025] “The display may utilize a highly collimated backlight source to provide illumination for a transmissive display. An electrically switchable active diffuser may be situated between the backlight source and the transmissive display. The active diffuser may introduce a switchable diffusion layer that provides variable degrees of scattering between an active scattering state to a non-scattering state of the collimated light produced by the backlight source. The active diffuser may be divided into multiple independently defined zones (or segments). Each zone may be independently controllable between the public viewing mode and the private viewing mode. For each zone in the public viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide active scattering of the collimated light used for public (e.g., wide angle) viewing of the transmissive display. For each zone in the private viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide little to no scattering of the collimated light resulting in a private (e.g., narrow angle) viewing of the transmissive display.”
Para [0053] “Since the active diffuser 106 may be divided into independent zones, the different zones may be designed and driven in a segmented fashion. As an example, the left size of the display 100c may be configured in the public viewing mode while the right side of the display 100c may be configured in the private viewing mode. Given a wide (e.g., 8:3) aspect ratio of some implementations of the display 100c that may be used as the passenger display, a 16:9 video may occupy a portion of an active area of the display 100c. The video may be shown to the passenger in the private viewing mode. The other portion of the display 100c may be made public as so visible to the driver. Likewise, different zones of the display 100a may be configured differently. For example, a portion of the display 100a may be operated in the public viewing mode so that the passenger may see some information. A remainder of the display 100a may be operated in the private viewing mode for the sake of the driver. Where implemented with the active privacy mode, the display 100b may have some portions (zones) in the private viewing mode and other portions (zones) in the public viewing mode.”
Where as the displays only have two side being operated in private mode is conceivable.
}
Regarding Claim 9, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1. Murzyn further teaches wherein the viewing angle adjustment panel is comprised of a plurality of subunits disposed side by side so that the arrangement of the liquid crystal is independently controlled, wherein the plurality of subunits respectively correspond to a plurality of areas forming the display panel.
{Para [0025] “The display may utilize a highly collimated backlight source to provide illumination for a transmissive display. An electrically switchable active diffuser may be situated between the backlight source and the transmissive display. The active diffuser may introduce a switchable diffusion layer that provides variable degrees of scattering between an active scattering state to a non-scattering state of the collimated light produced by the backlight source. The active diffuser may be divided into multiple independently defined zones (or segments). Each zone may be independently controllable between the public viewing mode and the private viewing mode. For each zone in the public viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide active scattering of the collimated light used for public (e.g., wide angle) viewing of the transmissive display. For each zone in the private viewing mode of operation, the active diffuser may provide little to no scattering of the collimated light resulting in a private (e.g., narrow angle) viewing of the transmissive display.”
Para [0053] “Since the active diffuser 106 may be divided into independent zones, the different zones may be designed and driven in a segmented fashion. As an example, the left size of the display 100c may be configured in the public viewing mode while the right side of the display 100c may be configured in the private viewing mode. Given a wide (e.g., 8:3) aspect ratio of some implementations of the display 100c that may be used as the passenger display, a 16:9 video may occupy a portion of an active area of the display 100c. The video may be shown to the passenger in the private viewing mode. The other portion of the display 100c may be made public as so visible to the driver. Likewise, different zones of the display 100a may be configured differently. For example, a portion of the display 100a may be operated in the public viewing mode so that the passenger may see some information. A remainder of the display 100a may be operated in the private viewing mode for the sake of the driver. Where implemented with the active privacy mode, the display 100b may have some portions (zones) in the private viewing mode and other portions (zones) in the public viewing mode.”
}
Regarding Claim 10, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 9. Byoun further teaches wherein, based on a fact that a speed of vehicle is a preset speed limit or higher, the controller is configured to determine one area of the display panel adjacent to a passenger seat as the certain area, and an area of the certain area increases as the speed of vehicle increases.
{Para [0005-0007] “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, a method of controlling a passenger seat display of a vehicle, comprises: determining whether the vehicle is in motion; applying a driving voltage to a viewing angle switching element of the passenger seat display, when the vehicle is determined to be in motion, wherein the viewing angle switching element comprises a polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC); and adjusting brightness or color coordinates of the passenger seat display to a predetermined target brightness value or a predetermined target color coordinate value, respectively, when the driving voltage is applied to the viewing angle switching element.
According to certain embodiments, detecting whether the vehicle is in motion comprises detecting at least one of a velocity of the vehicle, pressure applied to an accelerator of the vehicle, or an operation of a steering wheel of the vehicle.
According to certain embodiments, determining whether the vehicle is in motion comprises determining that the vehicle is in motion when detecting that a velocity of the vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold velocity and determining that the vehicle is not in motion when detecting that the velocity of the vehicle is the predetermined threshold velocity or less.”
}
Regarding Claim 11, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 9. Murzyn further teaches wherein, based on an output of certain content related to driving of vehicle, the controller is configured to determine the certain area from among remaining area of the display panel excluding an area from which the certain content is output.
{Para [0049] “FIG. 5 illustrates a schematic diagram of a side view of the display 100 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the platform 90. While the display 100 is operated in the private viewing mode, the optical signal DSP may be presented in a narrow field of view about a normal line (e.g., N) perpendicular to the surface 116 of the display 100. The narrow field of view may provide a person with optimal picture quality and luminance. The narrow field of view may be within a narrow angle (e.g., ϕA). In various embodiments, the narrow angle ϕA may be approximately 25 degrees from the normal line N. The private viewing mode on the display 100c may be useful for displaying information such as videos and Internet content to the person (e.g., the passenger). The private viewing mode on the display 100a may be useful for displaying information such as speed, fuel levels, engine temperature and the like to a person (e.g., the driver).”
Para [0052] “While the display 100 is operated in the public viewing mode, the optical signal DSP may be presented in a wide field of view about the normal line N perpendicular to the surface 116 of the display 100. The wide field of view may be within a wide angle (e.g., ϕC). In various embodiments, the wide angle ϕC may be approximately 60 degrees from the normal line N. The wide angle ϕC generally allows both people (e.g., the driver and the passenger) to clearly see the optical signal DSP. The public viewing mode may be useful for displaying information such as climate control, radio and similar automotive content to both people. The wide angle ϕC may provide a sharp contrast ratio (e.g., >800:1) making the visual images suitable for reading.”
}
Regarding Claim 12, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 9. Murzyn further teaches wherein, based on an output of certain content corresponding to a passenger seat, the controller is configured to determine an area of the display panel from which the certain content is output as the certain area.
{Para [0049] “FIG. 5 illustrates a schematic diagram of a side view of the display 100 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the platform 90. While the display 100 is operated in the private viewing mode, the optical signal DSP may be presented in a narrow field of view about a normal line (e.g., N) perpendicular to the surface 116 of the display 100. The narrow field of view may provide a person with optimal picture quality and luminance. The narrow field of view may be within a narrow angle (e.g., ϕA). In various embodiments, the narrow angle ϕA may be approximately 25 degrees from the normal line N. The private viewing mode on the display 100c may be useful for displaying information such as videos and Internet content to the person (e.g., the passenger). The private viewing mode on the display 100a may be useful for displaying information such as speed, fuel levels, engine temperature and the like to a person (e.g., the driver).”
Para [0053] “Since the active diffuser 106 may be divided into independent zones, the different zones may be designed and driven in a segmented fashion. As an example, the left size of the display 100c may be configured in the public viewing mode while the right side of the display 100c may be configured in the private viewing mode. Given a wide (e.g., 8:3) aspect ratio of some implementations of the display 100c that may be used as the passenger display, a 16:9 video may occupy a portion of an active area of the display 100c. The video may be shown to the passenger in the private viewing mode. The other portion of the display 100c may be made public as so visible to the driver. Likewise, different zones of the display 100a may be configured differently. For example, a portion of the display 100a may be operated in the public viewing mode so that the passenger may see some information. A remainder of the display 100a may be operated in the private viewing mode for the sake of the driver. Where implemented with the active privacy mode, the display 100b may have some portions (zones) in the private viewing mode and other portions (zones) in the public viewing mode.”
}
Regarding Claim 13, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1. Byoun further teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the certain mode, based on whether a state of transmission of the vehicle corresponds to drive, reverse, or neutral, and cancels the certain mode, based on the state of transmission of the vehicle corresponding to parking.
{Para [0069] “The viewing angle of a passenger seat display 150 can be adjusted based on whether the vehicle is in motion. In certain embodiments, the viewing angle of the passenger seat display 150 can be adjusted to be wide enough for the driver to be able to view the content on the passenger seat display 150 when the vehicle is not in motion. However, when the vehicle is in motion, the viewing angle of the passenger seat dislay 150 is narrowed to prevent viewing by the driver. Additionally, pixels of the passenger seat display are adjusted based on whether the vehicle is in motion so that the passenger does not perceive differences in color or brightness due to ambient light differences between when the vehicle is in motion and when the vehicle is not in motion. Additionally, the passenger seat display 150 includes a backlight unit for increasing light-gathering power to improve brightness of the passenger seat display.”
Para [0071] “Referring to FIG. 2A, when the vehicle is not in motion (which includes and can be considered and includes a Stop Mode), the passenger seat display 150 may display image content at a wide viewing angle. The stop mode or “not in motion” indicates that the vehicle is not driven by a driver (such as when an internal combustion engine (ICE) is not in ignition, or when the ICE is in ignition and the gear is in park), or is running at a reference speed or less. “Not in motion” or stop mode indicates a case in which a vehicle completely stops after motion, such as at a traffic light or a stop sign, but is not limited thereto. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, “not in motion” or the stop mode may indicate a speed of 0 to 5 miles/hour.”
}
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byoun et al. (US 20210063783 A1, hereinafter known as Byoun) in view of Murzyn et al. (US 20200319512 A1, hereinafter known as Murzyn) and Yoon et al. (US 20160150472 A1, hereinafter known as Yoon).
Regarding Claim 6, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1.
Byoun in view of Murzyn does not teach, wherein, in a state where the certain mode is set, the controller is configured to minimize the intensity of the light emitted from the block corresponding to the restricted area, based on a user not being located in a passenger seat.
However, Yoon teaches wherein, in a state where the certain mode is set, the controller is configured to minimize the intensity of the light emitted from the block corresponding to the restricted area, based on a user not being located in a passenger seat.
{Para [0156] “On the other hand, if the mode of the user terminal 100 is changed to the sleep mode 820 and it is determined that a user is not present in a space, such as a home or an office, in which the display device 200 is located for the predetermined threshold time, the mode of the user terminal 100 may be changed to the deep sleep mode 825.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Byoun in view of Murzyn to incorporate the teachings of Yoon to put the display to sleep with there is no passenger because it saves energy.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byoun et al. (US 20210063783 A1, hereinafter known as Byoun) in view of Murzyn et al. (US 20200319512 A1, hereinafter known as Murzyn) and Lottes et al. (US 20240367521 A1, hereinafter known as Lottes).
Regarding Claim 14, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1.
Byoun in view of Murzyn does not teach, wherein the controller is configured to set the certain mode, based on the vehicle being set to manual mode, and cancels the certain mode, based on the vehicle being set to autonomous driving mode.
However, Lottes teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the certain mode, based on the vehicle being set to manual mode, and cancels the certain mode, based on the vehicle being set to autonomous driving mode.
{Para [0017-0019] “In a further embodiment, provision is made for the display device to be designed to determine whether the motor vehicle is operated in a manual or an autonomous driving mode and to adjust the screens on the basis of the determined driving mode. Thus, the motor vehicle can be designed to be driven manually by a driver or autonomously or in a piloted manner. For example, when the motor vehicle is operated in the autonomous driving mode, the display device can receive a control signal from the motor vehicle, such that the display device adjusts the screens for the autonomous driving mode. In particular, position and/or safety settings for the screens may depend on the driving mode. The advantage of this embodiment is that, in particular, safety-relevant adjustment options can be activated automatically depending on the driving mode.
Provision is made for the display device to be designed to block at least the first screen in the separated adjustment position for entertainment displays whether the motor vehicle is operated in the manual driving mode. This means that, in the manual driving mode, the driver is not provided with any entertainment displays at least on the first screen when the separated adjustment position has been selected. Provision is made for the driver to not be provided with any entertainment displays on the second screen either when he is alone in the vehicle, which can be determined in particular by the previously described determination of the seat occupancy. Entertainment displays are used to mean, for example, movies and/or games and/or moving displays that can distract the driver from a vehicle environment during the manual driving mode. This can improve safety in the operation of the display device in the motor vehicle.
In a further advantageous embodiment, provision is made for the display device to be designed, in the separated adjustment position, to position the first screen in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle to the driver's position such that a viewing angle of the second screen from the driver's position is substantially obscured by the first screen when an entertainment display is displayed on the second screen and the motor vehicle is operated in the manual driving mode. In this embodiment, provision may be made in particular for a driver and a passenger to be located in the motor vehicle and for the screens to be arranged in the separated adjustment position. For example, the passenger may see an entertainment display on the second screen that could distract the driver from the vehicle environment. In order to avoid this, provision may be made for the adjustment element of the first screen to position the screen to the driver's position in such a way that a viewing angle of the second screen from the driver's position is at least partially obscured by the first screen. This will give the driver no or an impaired view of the second screen with the entertainment display. In order to obscure the viewing angle, provision may be made for the first screen to be moved at least in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle, that is out of the dashboard, to the driver's position in order to obscure the viewing angle. This embodiment makes it possible to improve safety in the operation of the display device.”
Byoun and Murzyn teach restricting viewing through the certain mode
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Byoun in view of Murzyn to incorporate the teachings of Lottes to restrict screen viewing for the driver during manual mode because it improves safety as discussed in para [0018] of Lottes “Provision is made for the display device to be designed to block at least the first screen in the separated adjustment position for entertainment displays whether the motor vehicle is operated in the manual driving mode. This means that, in the manual driving mode, the driver is not provided with any entertainment displays at least on the first screen when the separated adjustment position has been selected. Provision is made for the driver to not be provided with any entertainment displays on the second screen either when he is alone in the vehicle, which can be determined in particular by the previously described determination of the seat occupancy. Entertainment displays are used to mean, for example, movies and/or games and/or moving displays that can distract the driver from a vehicle environment during the manual driving mode. This can improve safety in the operation of the display device in the motor vehicle.”
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byoun et al. (US 20210063783 A1, hereinafter known as Byoun) in view of Murzyn et al. (US 20200319512 A1, hereinafter known as Murzyn) and Heber et al. (US 20210223583 A1, hereinafter known as Heber).
Regarding Claim 15, Byoun in view of Murzyn teaches The vehicle display device of claim 1.
Byoun in view of Murzyn does not teach, a plurality of first substrates respectively disposed in both sides of a first liquid crystal layer; and a plurality of second substrates respectively disposed in both sides of a second liquid crystal layer, wherein a liquid crystal included in the first liquid crystal layer changes its arrangement in a first direction that restricts emission of light toward driver's seat, based on a voltage being applied to the plurality of first substrates, and wherein a liquid crystal included in the second liquid crystal layer changes its arrangement in a second direction that restricts emission of light toward passenger seat, based on a voltage being applied to the plurality of second substrates.
However, Heber teaches a plurality of first substrates respectively disposed in both sides of a first liquid crystal layer; and a plurality of second substrates respectively disposed in both sides of a second liquid crystal layer, wherein a liquid crystal included in the first liquid crystal layer changes its arrangement in a first direction that restricts emission of light toward driver's seat, based on a voltage being applied to the plurality of first substrates, and wherein a liquid crystal included in the second liquid crystal layer changes its arrangement in a second direction that restricts emission of light toward passenger seat, based on a voltage being applied to the plurality of second substrates.
{Para [0084-0092] “FIG. 7 is a schematic representation of the invented method in an extended embodiment, in which different image contents are radiated into different angular ranges W1 and W2. This is a modification of a method for presenting two different image contents I1 and I2 into different viewing angle W1 and W2, comprising the following steps:
Provision of a first image generator 1, which radiates the image content I1 into the viewing angle W1,
provision of a second image generator 2, which radiates the image content I2 into the viewing angle W2, wherein the second image generator 2 is arranged in front of the first image generator 1 (as seen in the viewing direction) and is at least partially transparent to light originating from the first image generator 1, wherein the second image generator 2 is adapted to deflect, on at least 50% of its surface, at least 90% of the light passed by it, by maximally 10°,
wherein, due to its limited scattering properties, the second image generator 2 scatters only a negligible portion of the light originating from the first image generator (1) when it passes the second image generator (2), so that the viewing angle W1 for the image content I1 is retained.
Here, the viewing angles W1 and W2, which can also be denoted as viewing angle ranges, should be partially or completely different. Overlapping is possible nevertheless, depending on the application. “Different” in this context is meant to include also that, without loss of generality, in a viewing angle W1 a trifle of residual light is released to the same geometric angular range as the viewing angle W2, whereas in the angular range W2 the same geometric angular range receives markedly more light than residual light only.
The image contents I1 and I2 can be radiated into the viewing angles W1 and W2 simultaneously or, if necessary, sequentially. Here again, the second image generator 2 is favorably adapted to deflect, on at least 80% of its surface or on its total image display surface, at least 90% or preferably more than 95% of the light passed by it, by maximally 10°.
The term “negligible” with regard to scattering means, for example, that in an angle of, e.g., horizontally 40° from the surface normal, scattering adds maximally 1% of the luminance, which the first image generator radiates into an angle of 0°.
In a special configuration, this version of the method makes it possible to define the viewing angles W1 and W2 so that they furnish, either simultaneously or sequentially, both eyes of one and the same viewer with different image contents I1 and I2, so that a spatial impression is achieved.
The aforementioned invented methods and the invented display screen 5 can be used, e.g., inside a motor vehicle. There, for example, the viewer 3 would correspond to a front-seat passenger, and the viewer 4 would correspond to the driver, so that, as the need arises, contents are invisible to the driver. In the last-mentioned method version, the driver can see image content different from that seen by the front-seat passenger.”
Byoun in view of Murzyn already teach layers being liquid crystal layers with substrates as restricting light emission at certain angles as discussed in the above claim rejections.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Byoun in view of Murzyn to incorporate the teachings of Heber to use two layers instead of one because it allows the driver to see different content than the passenger as discussed in para [0092] of Heber “The aforementioned invented methods and the invented display screen 5 can be used, e.g., inside a motor vehicle. There, for example, the viewer 3 would correspond to a front-seat passenger, and the viewer 4 would correspond to the driver, so that, as the need arises, contents are invisible to the driver. In the last-mentioned method version, the driver can see image content different from that seen by the front-seat passenger.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Xie (US 20200344865 A1) teaches in the abstract “In determining luminance, a location of human presence is referred. An infrared sensor detects the human presence in its proximity. The infrared sensor's effective detecting region includes a first region and a second region. The first region is farer from the infrared sensor than the second region is. And the first region surrounds the second region. Second, a first luminance is set for human presence within the first region; a second luminance is set for human presence within the second region; and a third luminance is set for nonoccurrence of human presence within both the first region and the second region. In addition, the second luminance is higher than the first illuminance, and the first illuminance is higher than the third illuminance. Third, an illuminating device is activated by applying the first luminance, the second luminance, or the third luminance, in response to a location of the detected human presence.”
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668