DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed on April 1st, 2026. Claims 1, 4-5, and 14-15 have been amended. Claims 2-3 and 16 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4-15, and 17-18 are pending. Claims 1, 4-15, and 17-18 remain rejected in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed January 7th, 2026.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, and similarly claims 14 and 15, filed on 4/1/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments are directed against the prior art of Yan et al. (WO-2022/051977-A1) and Lee et al. (NPL: "Fusion of coregistered cross-modality images using a temporally alternating display method," Med. Biol. Eng. Comput., vol. 38, no. 2, pp. 127–132, Mar. 2000.).
3. Regarding applicant’s arguments that: “Yan does not teach or suggest an adjustment of a repetition rate of the repeated execution of acts b) to d) and/or the first display duration and/or the second display duration in coordination with the repeated acquisition of the further second image” (Applicant’s remarks page 8, ¶ 3-page 9, ¶ 1) and “Yan does not disclose or suggest any adjustment in the repetition rate for the acts of the method that includes acquiring a further second image and subsequently displaying the further acquired second image” Applicant’s remarks page 9, ¶ 2), Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, referring to applicant’s claim 5 and specification ¶ [0032], “The first and/or the second display duration may be adjusted based on the first user input.” Similarly, Yan discloses on page 22, ¶ 6, [0226], “The drop-down list shows multiple options for the selectable image output interval time, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the preset time interval is determined, and the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.” Thus, Yan discloses that an operator is able to adjust the display duration of both a first and second medical image. This matches a user adjusting the display duration from applicant’s claim 5 and specification ¶ [0032]. Also, Yan discloses on page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time by an image acquisition device, or one of the first and second medical images can be acquired by an image acquisition device …” Thus, Yan discloses that new (“further”) first and second medical images can be acquired in real-time and will be displayed accordingly with the user adjusted display duration. Specifically, “after the operator selects the interval time … the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.” (Yan, page 22, ¶ 6, [0226])
4. Regarding applicant’s arguments that: “Yan does not explicitly disclose a repetition rate in which the displaying of the images in acts c) and d) are not temporally separable for a human user.” (Applicant’s remarks page 9, ¶ 3) and “Lee does not teach or suggest an adjustment of a repetition rate of the repeated execution of acts b) to d) and/or the first display duration and/or the second display duration in coordination with the repeated acquisition of the further second image.” (Applicant’s remarks page 9, ¶ 4-page 10, ¶ 1) and “… there is no discussion or suggestion within Lee that takes into account the reacquiring of a new, further second image that is subsequently used in the alternating displaying process …” (Applicant’s remarks page 10, ¶ 2), these arguments are against the Yan and Lee references individually. For instance, it is Lee, not Yan, that is relied upon to disclose the limitation “not temporally separable for a human user.” In addition, page 10, ¶ 2 of applicant’s remarks acknowledges: “… Lee discloses a process of rapidly alternating a display of two images which allows for a fusion of images in the human visual perception system …” Likewise, for arguments against Lee, it is Yan that discloses “an adjustment of a repetition rate” (Yan, page 22, ¶ 6, [0226]) and “reacquiring of a new, further second image” (Yan, page 14, ¶ 2, [0158]). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.
5. Regarding arguments to claims 4-13 and 17-18, they are dependent on independent claim 1. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent claim 1, and similarly claims 14 and 15. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with their combination, has previously been established and explained.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, lines 16, "representations the first image" should read "representations of the first image".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO-2022/051977-A1, hereinafter "Yan") in view of Lee et al. (NPL: "Fusion of coregistered cross-modality images using a temporally alternating display method," Med. Biol. Eng. Comput., vol. 38, no. 2, pp. 127–132, Mar. 2000., hereinafter "Lee").
9. As per claim 1, Yan discloses: A method for alternately displaying graphical representations, the method comprising: (See Yan, page 2, ¶ 1-4, [0007]-[0010] below.)
a) providing a first image that has a mapping of an anatomical structure of an object under examination; (Yan, page 2, ¶ 1-4, [0007]-[0010] “On the one hand, this application provides an image registration method, the image registration method comprising: Acquire the first and second medical images of the target object to be registered; A first target observation image is output to a display device based on the first medical image and the second medical image, so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device; Based on the first target observation image, image registration is performed on the target object.” and page 19, ¶ 9, [0157], “Specifically, both the first and second medical images can be two-dimensional or three-dimensional in terms of dimension, and can be CBCT images, CT images, ultrasound images (B-mode or color Doppler ultrasound images), MRI images, etc., without any specific limitations here.” and page 13, ¶ 8, [0156], “In step 201, the target object can be a tissue or organ of the human body, such as the head, or organs such as the lungs or liver. The first medical image and the second medical image are both medical images of the target object, that is, medical images of the same tissue or organ, such as medical images of the user's brain.”)
b) acquiring a second image that maps a spatial change and/or time-related change in the object under examination; (Yan, page 30, ¶ 5-7, [0011]-[0013], “In some embodiments of this application, the step of outputting a first target observation image to a display device based on the first medical image and the second medical image, so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device, includes: Obtain the preset image output time interval; According to the image output time interval, the first medical image and the second medical image are sequentially used as the first target observation image and output to the display device so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device.” and page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and page 19, ¶ 9, [0157], “Specifically, both the first and second medical images can be two-dimensional or three-dimensional in terms of dimension, and can be CBCT images, CT images, ultrasound images (B-mode or color Doppler ultrasound images), MRI images, etc., without any specific limitations here.” and page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time by an image acquisition device, or one of the first and second medical images can be acquired by an image acquisition device, while the other is a historical medical image of the target object. Of course, both images can also be historical medical images. The specific choice can be made according to the actual scenario, and no restrictions are imposed here.” and page 19, ¶ 3, [0195], “In some embodiments of this application, during image registration, if the medical image does not meet the requirements, a new medical image can be acquired to replace the previous medical image for re-registration. For example, when it is necessary to replace the first medical image, specifically, the image registration method further includes: obtaining a replacement instruction for the first medical image; based on the replacement instruction, obtaining a sixth medical image of the target object, wherein the sixth medical image is a medical image of the same type as the first medical image ...”)
c) displaying a graphical representation of the first image or the second image on a display surface of a display unit with a first display duration; and (Yan, page 30, ¶ 5-7, [0011]-[0013], “In some embodiments of this application, the step of outputting a first target observation image to a display device based on the first medical image and the second medical image, so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device, includes: Obtain the preset image output time interval; According to the image output time interval, the first medical image and the second medical image are sequentially used as the first target observation image and output to the display device so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device.” and page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.”) and page 22, ¶ 6, [0226], “An "automatic switching" button can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list shows multiple options for the selectable image output interval time, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the preset time interval is determined, and the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.”; Examiner’s note: The time interval is the display duration.)
d) displaying a graphical representation of the respective other image of the first image or the second image on the display surface of the display unit with a second display duration, (See Yan, page 9, ¶ 13, [0124], page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], and page 22, ¶ 6, [0226] below.)
wherein acts c) and d) are carried out one after the other in terms of time, (See Yan, page 9, ¶ 13, [0124], page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], and page 22, ¶ 6, [0226] below.)
wherein acts b) to d) are repeated (Yan, page 9, ¶ 13, [0124], “The display module is used to display the image registration interface for target object registration. After receiving the target observation image input by the electronic device, the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered are alternately displayed on the image registration interface at a preset time interval. The target observation image is an image output by the electronic device based on the first medical image and the second medical image.” and page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and page 22, ¶ 6, [0226], “An "automatic switching" button can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list shows multiple options for the selectable image output interval time, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the preset time interval is determined, and the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.”; Examiner’s note: The time interval is the display duration.) in which a further second image is acquired at a later point in time than a previously acquired second image, and wherein the further second image is displayed in act c) or act d), and (Yan, page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time by an image acquisition device, or one of the first and second medical images can be acquired by an image acquisition device, while the other is a historical medical image of the target object. Of course, both images can also be historical medical images. The specific choice can be made according to the actual scenario, and no restrictions are imposed here.” and page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and page 22, ¶ 6, [0226], “An "automatic switching" button can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list shows multiple options for the selectable image output interval time, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the preset time interval is determined, and the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.”)
wherein a repetition rate of the repeated execution of acts b) to d) and/or the first display duration and/or the second display duration are adjusted in coordination with the repeated acquisition of the further second image such that the graphical representations displayed in acts c) and d) [[are not temporally separable for a human user.]] (Yan, page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time by an image acquisition device, or one of the first and second medical images can be acquired by an image acquisition device, while the other is a historical medical image of the target object. Of course, both images can also be historical medical images. The specific choice can be made according to the actual scenario, and no restrictions are imposed here.” and page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and page 22, ¶ 6, [0226], “An "automatic switching" button can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list shows multiple options for the selectable image output interval time, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the preset time interval is determined, and the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.” and page 15, ¶ 2-4, [0164]-[0166], “The image output time interval is the time interval between switching between the first medical image and the second medical image. The image output time interval can be preset as needed. The interval time can be 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds or 1 second, etc. It can also be left unset or set to a default value, such as 0.25 seconds. In one embodiment of setting the image output time interval in this application, an "automatic switching" button can be set on the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list displays multiple options for selectable image output interval times, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the first target observation image under that image output interval will start to be displayed in the image registration interface. In another approach, an "automatic switching" checkbox can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. Once checked, the first target observation image will begin to be displayed in the image registration interface. The image output time interval can be a default value or can be set by adjusting the progress bar of "Switch Time" or the "Switch Time Setting" button. It should be noted that in this embodiment, the interface display method for setting the image output time interval can be varied and is not limited.” and page 9, ¶ 13, [0124], “The display module is used to display the image registration interface for target object registration. After receiving the target observation image input by the electronic device, the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered are alternately displayed on the image registration interface at a preset time interval. The target observation image is an image output by the electronic device based on the first medical image and the second medical image.”; Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Yan, page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time” which indicates that images can be repeatedly acquired. Along with the ability for the operator to adjust an interval time, “the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.” (page 22, ¶ 6, [0226]) The repeated acquisition of first and second medical images in real-time provides new (“further”) images in coordination with the display duration of alternating images.)
10. Yan doesn't explicitly disclose but Lee discloses: [[wherein the further second image is displayed in act c) or act d), and wherein a repetition rate of the repeated execution of acts b) to d) and/or the first display duration and/or the second display duration are adjusted in coordination with the repeated acquisition of the further second image such that the graphical representations displayed in acts c) and d)]] are not temporally separable for a human user. (Lee, page 127, ¶ 4, “In this study, we propose a new method for the simultaneous display of coregistered CT/MR and PET images. The basic idea is simple: a rapidly alternating display of both images with independent colour scales allows the fusion of images in the human visual perception system. In addition, a particular aspect of the fused image can be emphasised by increasing the display time and/or the intensity of one image with respect to the other.” and page 129, ¶ 8-9, “In this study, we propose a new strategy where coregistered images can be simultaneously visualised. Rapid alternation of the screen on which each image is displayed with independent colour scales causes the fusion of both images but no loss of spatial resolution. Using Bloch's law, we can explain how the visual system accomplishes this temporal summation or fusion of two images (HALLETT, 1991).” and page 128, ¶ 9, “To induce optical fusion such that both images were overlaid, the method above was applied to rapid switching of the images. The procedure is demonstrated graphically in Fig. 1. ... The temporal modulation rate for the images was 87 Hz, as we synchronised the display of images with the vertical scanning.” and page 130, ¶ 1, “Temporal sensitivity of the human visual system therefore has a finite limitation. However, it is hard to define the frequency threshold above which the eye does not discern the flickering effect as temporal sensitivity of the human visual system is dependent on the mean background intensity. In this system, the highest detectable temporal frequency ranges from 30-40 Hz at low ambient light levels to 80 Hz at high ambient light levels (WANDELL, 1995; WATSON et al., 1986; FARREL, 1991).”)
11. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Yan to include the disclosure of adjusting the display duration of the first and second images so that they are not temporally separable for a human user, of Lee. The motivation for this modification could have been to adjust the alternating image frame rate so that the two images appear to be superimposed on each other by the human user. This can provide a user with useful additional information about the object under examination so that the user doesn’t have to look at two different displays. Such a technique also requires little computer processing power as it is dependent on the frame frequency of the hardware display.
12. As per claim 4, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein an image repetition rate of display of the graphical representations in acts c) and d) is at least 50 images per second. (Lee, page 128, ¶ 9, “To induce optical fusion such that both images were overlaid, the method above was applied to rapid switching of the images. The procedure is demonstrated graphically in Fig. 1. ... The temporal modulation rate for the images was 87 Hz, as we synchronised the display of images with the vertical scanning.”)
13. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 1 of Yan to include the disclosure of
displaying the alternating images at a repetition rate of at least 50 images per second, of Lee. The motivation for this modification could have been to not only make it appear that the images are not temporally separable, but any additional images per second will further make any spatial and/or time changes on the display appear smoother and reduce the appearance of display flicker.
14. As per claim 5, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein a first user input is recorded, and wherein the first display duration and/or the second display duration is adjusted based on the first user input. (Yan, page 15, ¶ 2-4, [0164]-[0166], “The image output time interval is the time interval between switching between the first medical image and the second medical image. The image output time interval can be preset as needed. The interval time can be 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds or 1 second, etc. It can also be left unset or set to a default value, such as 0.25 seconds. In one embodiment of setting the image output time interval in this application, an "automatic switching" button can be set on the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list displays multiple options for selectable image output interval times, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the first target observation image under that image output interval will start to be displayed in the image registration interface. In another approach, an "automatic switching" checkbox can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. Once checked, the first target observation image will begin to be displayed in the image registration interface. The image output time interval can be a default value or can be set by adjusting the progress bar of "Switch Time" or the "Switch Time Setting" button. It should be noted that in this embodiment, the interface display method for setting the image output time interval can be varied and is not limited.”)
15. As per claim 8, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the first image and the second image are registered with each other. (Yan, page 2, ¶ 1-4, [0007]-[0010], “On the one hand, this application provides an image registration method, the image registration method comprising: Acquire the first and second medical images of the target object to be registered; A first target observation image is output to a display device based on the first medical image and the second medical image, so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device; Based on the first target observation image, image registration is performed on the target object.”)
16. As per claim 9, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
recording a further user input, wherein the further user input determines how often act c) is executed during the repeated execution of acts b) to d). (Yan, page 15, ¶ 2-4, [0164]-[0166], “The image output time interval is the time interval between switching between the first medical image and the second medical image. The image output time interval can be preset as needed. The interval time can be 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds or 1 second, etc. It can also be left unset or set to a default value, such as 0.25 seconds. In one embodiment of setting the image output time interval in this application, an "automatic switching" button can be set on the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list displays multiple options for selectable image output interval times, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the first target observation image under that image output interval will start to be displayed in the image registration interface. In another approach, an "automatic switching" checkbox can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. Once checked, the first target observation image will begin to be displayed in the image registration interface. The image output time interval can be a default value or can be set by adjusting the progress bar of "Switch Time" or the "Switch Time Setting" button. It should be noted that in this embodiment, the interface display method for setting the image output time interval can be varied and is not limited.” and page 9, ¶ 13, [0124], “The display module is used to display the image registration interface for target object registration. After receiving the target observation image input by the electronic device, the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered are alternately displayed on the image registration interface at a preset time interval. The target observation image is an image output by the electronic device based on the first medical image and the second medical image.”)
17. As per claim 13, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the first image and the second image are acquired by a same medical imaging device. (Yan, page 12, ¶ 2, [0145], “In this embodiment, the image acquisition device 100 may be a CT device, a CBCT device, or other medical imaging devices, such as ultrasound devices (e.g., B-ultrasound devices or color Doppler ultrasound devices), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) devices, etc., and is not specifically limited here. In a specific application scenario, the first medical image is the image generated by CBCT in a radiotherapy device, and the second medical image can be the image generated by a CT device, CBCT device, or other medical imaging devices (such as ultrasound devices or MRI devices).” and page 12, ¶ 4, [0147], “For example, Figure 1 only shows one electronic device and one image acquisition device. It is understood that the image registration system may also include one or more other electronic devices, or/and one or more other image acquisition devices connected to the electronic devices via a network. Specifically, for example, one electronic device 200 may connect to multiple image acquisition devices 100, that is, one electronic device 200 may display medical images acquired by multiple image acquisition devices 100, or one image acquisition device 100 may connect to multiple electronic devices 200, that is, the image acquired by one image acquisition device 100 may be output to multiple electronic devices 200 for display. The specifics are not limited here.”)
18. As per claim 14, Yan in view of Lee discloses: A system comprising:
a medical imaging device; and (See Yan, page 11, ¶ 5-6, [0143]-[0144] below.)
a display unit having a display surface, wherein the medical imaging device is configured to: (Yan, page 11, ¶ 5-6, [0143]-[0144], “Please refer to Figure 1. Figure 1 is a schematic diagram of the image registration system provided in the embodiment of this application. ... As shown in Figure 1, the image acquisition device 100 can acquire medical images of the human body and output them to the access electronic device 200. In this embodiment, the electronic device 200 is mainly used to acquire a first medical image and a second medical image of the target object to be registered; output a target observation image to a display device based on the first medical image and the second medical image …”)
provide a first image that maps an anatomical structure of an object under examination; and (Yan, page 2, ¶ 1-4, [0007]-[0010] “On the one hand, this application provides an image registration method, the image registration method comprising: Acquire the first and second medical images of the target object to be registered; A first target observation image is output to a display device based on the first medical image and the second medical image, so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device; Based on the first target observation image, image registration is performed on the target object.” and Yan, page 19, ¶ 9, [0157], “Specifically, both the first and second medical images can be two-dimensional or three-dimensional in terms of dimension, and can be CBCT images, CT images, ultrasound images (B-mode or color Doppler ultrasound images), MRI images, etc., without any specific limitations here.” and Yan, page 13, ¶ 8, [0156], “In step 201, the target object can be a tissue or organ of the human body, such as the head, or organs such as the lungs or liver. The first medical image and the second medical image are both medical images of the target object, that is, medical images of the same tissue or organ, such as medical images of the user's brain.”)
repeatedly acquire a second image mapping a spatial change and/or time-related change in the object under examination, and (Yan, page 9, ¶ 13, [0124], “The display module is used to display the image registration interface for target object registration. After receiving the target observation image input by the electronic device, the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered are alternately displayed on the image registration interface at a preset time interval. The target observation image is an image output by the electronic device based on the first medical image and the second medical image.” and page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time by an image acquisition device, or one of the first and second medical images can be acquired by an image acquisition device, while the other is a historical medical image of the target object. Of course, both images can also be historical medical images. The specific choice can be made according to the actual scenario, and no restrictions are imposed here.”)
wherein the display unit is configured to repeatedly display a graphical representation of the first image with a first display duration and a graphical representation of a most recently acquired second image with a second display duration on the display surface in chronological order, (Yan, page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time by an image acquisition device, or one of the first and second medical images can be acquired by an image acquisition device, while the other is a historical medical image of the target object. Of course, both images can also be historical medical images. The specific choice can be made according to the actual scenario, and no restrictions are imposed here.” and page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and page 22, ¶ 6, [0226], “An "automatic switching" button can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list shows multiple options for the selectable image output interval time, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the preset time interval is determined, and the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.”; Examiner’s note: The time interval is the display duration.)
wherein a repetition rate of the repeated execution of the acquisition of the second image and/or the first display duration and/or the second display duration are adjusted in coordination with the repeated acquisition of the second image such that the graphical representations of the first image and the most recently acquired second image (Yan, page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time by an image acquisition device, or one of the first and second medical images can be acquired by an image acquisition device, while the other is a historical medical image of the target object. Of course, both images can also be historical medical images. The specific choice can be made according to the actual scenario, and no restrictions are imposed here.” and Yan, page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and Yan, page 22, ¶ 6, [0226], “An "automatic switching" button can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list shows multiple options for the selectable image output interval time, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the preset time interval is determined, and the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.” and Yan, page 15, ¶ 2-4, [0164]-[0166], “The image output time interval is the time interval between switching between the first medical image and the second medical image. The image output time interval can be preset as needed. The interval time can be 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds or 1 second, etc. It can also be left unset or set to a default value, such as 0.25 seconds. In one embodiment of setting the image output time interval in this application, an "automatic switching" button can be set on the image registration interface of the display device. For example, it can be set after the slider for adjusting the transparency of the medical image. When the "automatic switching" button is triggered, a drop-down list is displayed. The drop-down list displays multiple options for selectable image output interval times, such as 0.25 seconds, 0.5 seconds, or 1 second. For example, after the operator selects the interval time, the first target observation image under that image output interval will start to be displayed in the image registration interface. In another approach, an "automatic switching" checkbox can be set in the image registration interface of the display device. Once checked, the first target observation image will begin to be displayed in the image registration interface. The image output time interval can be a default value or can be set by adjusting the progress bar of "Switch Time" or the "Switch Time Setting" button. It should be noted that in this embodiment, the interface display method for setting the image output time interval can be varied and is not limited.” and Yan, page 9, ¶ 13, [0124], “The display module is used to display the image registration interface for target object registration. After receiving the target observation image input by the electronic device, the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered are alternately displayed on the image registration interface at a preset time interval. The target observation image is an image output by the electronic device based on the first medical image and the second medical image.”; Examiner’s note: As disclosed by Yan, page 14, ¶ 2, [0158], “Both the first and second medical images can be acquired in real time” which indicates that images are repeatedly being acquired. Along with the ability for the operator to adjust an interval time, “the first medical image and the second medical image of the target object to be registered will start to be displayed alternately in the image registration interface.” (page 22, ¶ 6, [0226]) The repeated acquisition of first and second medical images in real-time provides new (“further”) images in coordination with the display duration of alternating images.) are not temporally separable for a human user. (Lee, page 127, ¶ 4, “In this study, we propose a new method for the simultaneous display of coregistered CT/MR and PET images. The basic idea is simple: a rapidly alternating display of both images with independent colour scales allows the fusion of images in the human visual perception system. In addition, a particular aspect of the fused image can be emphasised by increasing the display time and/or the intensity of one image with respect to the other.” and Lee, page 129, ¶ 8-9, “In this study, we propose a new strategy where coregistered images can be simultaneously visualised. Rapid alternation of the screen on which each image is displayed with independent colour scales causes the fusion of both images but no loss of spatial resolution. Using Bloch's law, we can explain how the visual system accomplishes this temporal summation or fusion of two images (HALLETT, 1991).” and Lee, page 128, ¶ 9, “To induce optical fusion such that both images were overlaid, the method above was applied to rapid switching of the images. The procedure is demonstrated graphically in Fig. 1. ... The temporal modulation rate for the images was 87 Hz, as we synchronised the display of images with the vertical scanning.” and Lee, page 130, ¶ 1, “Temporal sensitivity of the human visual system therefore has a finite limitation. However, it is hard to define the frequency threshold above which the eye does not discern the flickering effect as temporal sensitivity of the human visual system is dependent on the mean background intensity. In this system, the highest detectable temporal frequency ranges from 30-40 Hz at low ambient light levels to 80 Hz at high ambient light levels (WANDELL, 1995; WATSON et al., 1986; FARREL, 1991).”)
The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 1.
19. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 14 except for additional limitations that Yan in view of Lee discloses: A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program configured to be loaded directly into a memory of a provision unit, wherein the computer program, when executed by the provision unit, is configured to: (Yan, page 30, ¶ 4-5, [0306]-[0307], “Therefore, embodiments of this application provide a computer-readable storage medium, which may include: read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), disk or optical disk, etc. It stores a computer program, which is loaded by a processor to execute the steps in any of the image registration methods provided in the embodiments of this application. For example, the computer program, when loaded by the processor, can perform the following steps: Acquire the first and second medical images of the target object to be registered ...”)
20. As per claim 18, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the first image and the second image are acquired by different medical imaging devices. (Yan, page 12, ¶ 2, [0145], “In this embodiment, the image acquisition device 100 may be a CT device, a CBCT device, or other medical imaging devices, such as ultrasound devices (e.g., B-ultrasound devices or color Doppler ultrasound devices), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) devices, etc., and is not specifically limited here. In a specific application scenario, the first medical image is the image generated by CBCT in a radiotherapy device, and the second medical image can be the image generated by a CT device, CBCT device, or other medical imaging devices (such as ultrasound devices or MRI devices).” and page 12, ¶ 4, [0147], “For example, Figure 1 only shows one electronic device and one image acquisition device. It is understood that the image registration system may also include one or more other electronic devices, or/and one or more other image acquisition devices connected to the electronic devices via a network. Specifically, for example, one electronic device 200 may connect to multiple image acquisition devices 100, that is, one electronic device 200 may display medical images acquired by multiple image acquisition devices 100, or one image acquisition device 100 may connect to multiple electronic devices 200, that is, the image acquired by one image acquisition device 100 may be output to multiple electronic devices 200 for display. The specifics are not limited here.”)
21. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO-2022/051977-A1, hereinafter "Yan") in view of Lee et al. (NPL: "Fusion of coregistered cross-modality images using a temporally alternating display method," Med. Biol. Eng. Comput., vol. 38, no. 2, pp. 127–132, Mar. 2000., hereinafter "Lee"), and further in view of Sato et al. (US-2022/0151474-A1, hereinafter "Sato").
22. As per claim 6, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the spatial change and/or the time-related change [[comprises a movement of a medical object and/or of a contrast agent in the object under examination.]] (See rejection for claim 1.)
23. Yan in view of Lee doesn't explicitly disclose but Sato discloses: [[The method of claim 1, wherein the spatial change and/or the time-related change]] comprises a movement of a medical object and/or of a contrast agent in the object under examination. (Sato, Figure 5; [0050], “Further, the image sensor 522 performs imaging every first and second periods, which are alternately repeated, in synchronization with light emission timings of the light source device 3 under the control of the control device 9. Hereinafter, for convenience of the description, an image generated by capturing the subject image (normal light) during the first period by the image sensor 522 will be referred to as a normal light image, and an image generated by capturing the fluorescent image (fluorescence) during the second period by the image sensor 522 will be referred to as a fluorescence image. In addition, the normal light image and the fluorescence image are collectively referred to as a captured image.” and [0083], “After Step S1, the imaging controller 942 causes the image sensor 522 to capture a subject image and a fluorescent image in the first and second periods in synchronization with light emission timings of the first and second light sources 31 and 32 based on the synchronization signal (Steps S2 to S4). That is, during the first period (Step S2: Yes), in other words, when the inside of a living body is irradiated with normal light (white light), the image sensor 522 captures the subject image (normal light) to generate a normal light image (Step S3). On the other hand, during the second period (Step S2: No), in other words, when the inside of the living body is irradiated with near-infrared excitation light, the image sensor 522 captures a fluorescent image (fluorescence) to generate a fluorescence image (Step S4).” and [0072]-[0074], “The first superimposition process is a process of replacing an area at the same pixel position as a fluorescence area in a normal light image with an image of the fluorescence area in a fluorescence image. The second superimposition process is a process (so-called alpha blend process) of changing brightness of a color indicating fluorescence applied to each pixel in an area at the same pixel position as a fluorescence area in a normal light image according to a luminance value at each pixel position in the fluorescence area of a fluorescence image. The display controller 935 generates a video signal for displaying the superimposed image generated by the superimposed image generation unit 934 under the control of the control unit 94. Further, the display controller 935 outputs the video signal to the display device 7 via the second transmission cable 8.” and [0027], “The camera head 5 corresponds to an imaging device according to the present disclosure.” and [0104], “For example, a configuration may be adopted in which picture-in-picture processing or the like is executed, and the normal light image and the fluorescence image are simultaneously displayed on the display device 7.”; Examiner’s note: Although not explicitly stated, fluorescent images are generated through the use of a contrast agent. In addition, the configuration of adopting a “picture-in-picture” to simultaneously display both a normal light image and fluorescent image includes alternately displaying the images, as it is a subset of displaying all images.)
24. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 1 of Yan in view of Lee to include the disclosure of the spatial and/or time changes in the images consist of either the movement of a medical object and/or a contrast agent, of Sato. The motivation for this modification could have been to ensure that the alternating image display method is focused on the medical object and/or contrast agent for the benefit of the user.
25. As per claim 7, Yan in view of Lee, and further in view of Sato discloses: The method of claim 6, wherein the anatomical structure comprises a hollow organ, and wherein the second image maps the spatial change and/or the time-related change in the hollow organ. (Yan, page 13, ¶ 8, [0156], “In step 201, the target object can be a tissue or organ of the human body, such as the head, or organs such as the lungs or liver. The first medical image and the second medical image are both medical images of the target object, that is, medical images of the same tissue or organ, such as medical images of the user's brain.” and Yan, page 14, ¶ 7, [0163], “The first medical image and the second medical image are displayed alternately according to the image output time interval. The operator can adjust the position of the first medical image and/or the second medical image while observing the displayed alternating images (adjustment and display are almost real-time) until the first medical image and the second medical image are completely aligned.” and Yan, page 2, ¶ 1-4, [0007]-[0010], “On the one hand, this application provides an image registration method, the image registration method comprising: Acquire the first and second medical images of the target object to be registered; A first target observation image is output to a display device based on the first medical image and the second medical image, so as to alternately display the first medical image and the second medical image on the display device; Based on the first target observation image, image registration is performed on the target object.” and Sato, Figure 5; [0083], “After Step S1, the imaging controller 942 causes the image sensor 522 to capture a subject image and a fluorescent image in the first and second periods in synchronization with light emission timings of the first and second light sources 31 and 32 based on the synchronization signal (Steps S2 to S4). That is, during the first period (Step S2: Yes), in other words, when the inside of a living body is irradiated with normal light (white light), the image sensor 522 captures the subject image (normal light) to generate a normal light image (Step S3). On the other hand, during the second period (Step S2: No), in other words, when the inside of the living body is irradiated with near-infrared excitation light, the image sensor 522 captures a fluorescent image (fluorescence) to generate a fluorescence image (Step S4).” and Sato, [0072]-[0074], “The first superimposition process is a process of replacing an area at the same pixel position as a fluorescence area in a normal light image with an image of the fluorescence area in a fluorescence image. The second superimposition process is a process (so-called alpha blend process) of changing brightness of a color indicating fluorescence applied to each pixel in an area at the same pixel position as a fluorescence area in a normal light image according to a luminance value at each pixel position in the fluorescence area of a fluorescence image. The display controller 935 generates a video signal for displaying the superimposed image generated by the superimposed image generation unit 934 under the control of the control unit 94. Further, the display controller 935 outputs the video signal to the display device 7 via the second transmission cable 8.” and Sato, [0027], “The camera head 5 corresponds to an imaging device according to the present disclosure.”)
26. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 6 of Yan in view of Lee to include the disclosure of the second image mapping the spatial and/or time change within the anatomical structure of a hollow organ, of Sato. The motivation for this modification could have been to assist a user in viewing the changes within a hollow organ while under examination.
27. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO-2022/051977-A1, hereinafter "Yan") in view of Lee et al. (NPL: "Fusion of coregistered cross-modality images using a temporally alternating display method," Med. Biol. Eng. Comput., vol. 38, no. 2, pp. 127–132, Mar. 2000., hereinafter "Lee"), and further in view of Novak (US-2006/0171578-A1).
28. As per claim 10, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the providing of the first image [[comprises acquisition of a first mask image and a first fill image, and wherein the first image is generated from the first mask image and the first fill image as a difference image.]] (See rejection for claim 1.)
29. Yan in view of Lee doesn't explicitly disclose but Novak discloses: [[The method of claim 1, wherein the providing of the first image]] comprises acquisition of a first mask image and a first fill image, and wherein the first image is generated from the first mask image and the first fill image as a difference image. (Novak, Figure 5; [0010]-[0011], “In one embodiment of the present invention, a method for splicing medical image datasets comprises: segmenting first and second medical image datasets comprising an organ of interest and a nearby area to create a mask for points in the first and second medical image datasets, wherein the mask identifies points in the organ of interest and nearby area; and creating a spliced image of the first and second medical image datasets by using the points in the organ of interest and nearby area identified by the mask. The first and second medical image datasets are segmented by an automatic or semi-automatic segmentation technique. The first and second medical image datasets are acquired simultaneously or at different times.” and [0058]-[0060], “Once the segmentation of the image data has been completed, a mask specifying each point in the image dataset of the image data is created. In other words, a mask that identifies which pixels or voxels of the acquired image datasets are part of the organ or organs of interest is generated by the segmentation. In more detail, once an organ of interest has been segmented, a mask m is provided such that:
m[i,j] = 1 for pixels within the organ
m[i,j] = 0 for all other pixels [1]
where i and j specify indices in the image. … Given the mask, a new composite or spliced image is created by using the pixels from the image datasets (230). This is accomplished by first assuming (in this example) that there are two datasets for a body part of interest, which may contain two or more organs of interest. In other words, the image data of the body part includes a first CT image dataset and a second CT image dataset. The datasets are defined as, D1[i,j] and D2[i,j], where D1 is a dataset intended for viewing the organ of interest and D2[i,j] is a dataset intended for viewing a different organ that falls within the same region of the body. For example, D1 may be intended for viewing the lungs, whereas D2 may be intended for viewing the soft tissues of the chest. In this case, the spliced image S will be given as:
S[i,j] = D1[i,j] * m[i,j] + D2[i,j] * (1−m[i,j]) [2]
As shown by equation [2], since m takes on only values of 0 or 1, either the first half of the equation will have a value of zero, in which case the pixels from the second dataset are spliced into the image S, or the second half of the equation will have a value of zero, in which case the pixels from the first dataset will be spliced into the image S.” and [0061]-[0062], “If multiple organs of interest have been extracted, a mask for each organ may be provided. For example, if multiple organs have been extracted from a CT scan of a patient's chest, there will be a mask specifying the location of the lungs and a mask specifying a location of the ribs. ... In addition, there may be a default mask mn, which, for example, is intended to view all structures outside the extracted organ or organs ...”)
30. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 1 of Yan in view of Lee to include the disclosure of generating the first image as a difference image from a first mask image and a first fill image, of Novak. The motivation for this modification could have been to use the mask and fill images to focus on a region(s) or area(s) of interest and filter out any unnecessary noise or objects in the images. This will provide for clearer images, making it easier for a user to focus on a region while under examination.
31. As per claim 11, Yan in view of Lee, and further in view of Novak discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein the providing of the second image comprises acquisition of a second fill image, and wherein the second image is generated from the first mask image and the second fill image as a difference image. (Novak, Figure 5; [0010]-[0011], “In one embodiment of the present invention, a method for splicing medical image datasets comprises: segmenting first and second medical image datasets comprising an organ of interest and a nearby area to create a mask for points in the first and second medical image datasets, wherein the mask identifies points in the organ of interest and nearby area; and creating a spliced image of the first and second medical image datasets by using the points in the organ of interest and nearby area identified by the mask. The first and second medical image datasets are segmented by an automatic or semi-automatic segmentation technique. The first and second medical image datasets are acquired simultaneously or at different times.” and [0058]-[0060], “Once the segmentation of the image data has been completed, a mask specifying each point in the image dataset of the image data is created. In other words, a mask that identifies which pixels or voxels of the acquired image datasets are part of the organ or organs of interest is generated by the segmentation. In more detail, once an organ of interest has been segmented, a mask m is provided such that:
m[i,j] = 1 for pixels within the organ
m[i,j] = 0 for all other pixels [1]
where i and j specify indices in the image. … Given the mask, a new composite or spliced image is created by using the pixels from the image datasets (230). This is accomplished by first assuming (in this example) that there are two datasets for a body part of interest, which may contain two or more organs of interest. In other words, the image data of the body part includes a first CT image dataset and a second CT image dataset. The datasets are defined as, D1[i,j] and D2[i,j], where D1 is a dataset intended for viewing the organ of interest and D2[i,j] is a dataset intended for viewing a different organ that falls within the same region of the body. For example, D1 may be intended for viewing the lungs, whereas D2 may be intended for viewing the soft tissues of the chest. In this case, the spliced image S will be given as:
S[i,j] = D1[i,j] * m[i,j] + D2[i,j] * (1−m[i,j]) [2]
As shown by equation [2], since m takes on only values of 0 or 1, either the first half of the equation will have a value of zero, in which case the pixels from the second dataset are spliced into the image S, or the second half of the equation will have a value of zero, in which case the pixels from the first dataset will be spliced into the image S.” and [0061]-[0062], “If multiple organs of interest have been extracted, a mask for each organ may be provided. For example, if multiple organs have been extracted from a CT scan of a patient's chest, there will be a mask specifying the location of the lungs and a mask specifying a location of the ribs. ... In addition, there may be a default mask mn, which, for example, is intended to view all structures outside the extracted organ or organs ...”)
32. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 10 of Yan in view of Lee to include the disclosure of generating the second image as a difference image from the first mask image and the second fill image, of Novak. The motivation for this modification could have been to use the mask and fill images to focus on a region(s) or area(s) of interest and filter out any unnecessary noise or objects in the images. This will provide for clearer images, making it easier for a user to focus on a region while under examination.
33. As per claim 12, Yan in view of Lee, and further in view of Novak discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein the providing of the second image comprises acquisition of a second mask image and a second fill image, and wherein the second image is generated from the second mask image and the second fill image as a difference image. (Novak, Figure 5; [0010]-[0011], “In one embodiment of the present invention, a method for splicing medical image datasets comprises: segmenting first and second medical image datasets comprising an organ of interest and a nearby area to create a mask for points in the first and second medical image datasets, wherein the mask identifies points in the organ of interest and nearby area; and creating a spliced image of the first and second medical image datasets by using the points in the organ of interest and nearby area identified by the mask. The first and second medical image datasets are segmented by an automatic or semi-automatic segmentation technique. The first and second medical image datasets are acquired simultaneously or at different times.” and [0058]-[0060], “Once the segmentation of the image data has been completed, a mask specifying each point in the image dataset of the image data is created. In other words, a mask that identifies which pixels or voxels of the acquired image datasets are part of the organ or organs of interest is generated by the segmentation. In more detail, once an organ of interest has been segmented, a mask m is provided such that:
m[i,j] = 1 for pixels within the organ
m[i,j] = 0 for all other pixels [1]
where i and j specify indices in the image. … Given the mask, a new composite or spliced image is created by using the pixels from the image datasets (230). This is accomplished by first assuming (in this example) that there are two datasets for a body part of interest, which may contain two or more organs of interest. In other words, the image data of the body part includes a first CT image dataset and a second CT image dataset. The datasets are defined as, D1[i,j] and D2[i,j], where D1 is a dataset intended for viewing the organ of interest and D2[i,j] is a dataset intended for viewing a different organ that falls within the same region of the body. For example, D1 may be intended for viewing the lungs, whereas D2 may be intended for viewing the soft tissues of the chest. In this case, the spliced image S will be given as:
S[i,j] = D1[i,j] * m[i,j] + D2[i,j] * (1−m[i,j]) [2]
As shown by equation [2], since m takes on only values of 0 or 1, either the first half of the equation will have a value of zero, in which case the pixels from the second dataset are spliced into the image S, or the second half of the equation will have a value of zero, in which case the pixels from the first dataset will be spliced into the image S.” and [0061]-[0062], “If multiple organs of interest have been extracted, a mask for each organ may be provided. For example, if multiple organs have been extracted from a CT scan of a patient's chest, there will be a mask specifying the location of the lungs and a mask specifying a location of the ribs. ... In addition, there may be a default mask mn, which, for example, is intended to view all structures outside the extracted organ or organs ...”)
34. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 10 of Yan in view of Lee to include the disclosure of generating the second image as a difference image from the second mask image and the second fill image, of Novak. The motivation for this modification could have been to use the mask and fill images to focus on a region(s) or area(s) of interest and filter out any unnecessary noise or objects in the images. This will provide for clearer images, making it easier for a user to focus on a region while under examination.
35. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO-2022/051977-A1, hereinafter "Yan") in view of Lee et al. (NPL: "Fusion of coregistered cross-modality images using a temporally alternating display method," Med. Biol. Eng. Comput., vol. 38, no. 2, pp. 127–132, Mar. 2000., hereinafter "Lee"), and further in view of Patriarche et al. (US-2019/0206036-A1, hereinafter "Patriarche").
36. As per claim 17, Yan in view of Lee discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the first image and the second image are [[repeatedly]] registered with each other. (See rejection for claim 8.)
37. Yan in view of Lee doesn't explicitly disclose but Patriarche discloses: [[The method of claim 8, wherein the first image and the second image are]] repeatedly [[registered with each other.]] (Patriarche, [0013], “The flicker technique for detecting differences between images leverages the ability of the human visual system to detect motion ... Thus, to compare two images using the flicker technique, those images must be spatially registered, in order to ensure that the subregion that is actually changing, occupies the same region of the viewer's visual field in both images and to ensure that regions that aren't actually changing don't appear as abrupt intensity changes due simply to misalignment of the images being compared.” and [0034], “Some structures that might be desirable to compare using flicker have the capacity to spatially deform nonlinearly between acquisitions. Two examples include inflation or deflation of the lung and bending of the elbow. If two images of lungs that were differently inflated in the two images are rigidly registered and flickered, virtually every region of the image appears to be changing, due to the difference in inflation. However, detection of difference in inflation is not typically task-relevant. Thus, non-linear spatial registration (i.e. "warping") can be applied to the lungs, so that structures changing only due to normal biological function would be de-deformed, while structures changing due to an underlying disease process (e.g., the evolution of a tumor) are left alone. Thus, under flicker viewing mode, normal structures do not appear to change, while changing abnormal structures appear to change.” and [0035], “Another approach to flickering such deformable structures is to derive multiple rigid body spatial registrations, so that, for each location in image 1, there exists a rigid body registration transformation that is "most optimal" for aligning that local neighborhood to the corresponding local neighborhood in image 2.”)
38. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of claim 8 of Yan in view of Lee to include the disclosure of repeatedly registering the first image and the second image with each other, of Patriarche. The motivation for this modification could have been to ensure that during an examination process that any spatial and/or time changes that occur in the images continue to align the images with each other. This would help prevent image drift or changes where the images would become misaligned over time.
Conclusion
39. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gopinath (US-2021/0085275-A1).
40. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW CLOTHIER/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614