DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fron et al. (US 10077130 B1; hereinafter Fron).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Fron discloses a corrugated container with integrated top handle and blank for making comprising a bottom wall (formed by 120/122/124/126); a plurality of side walls (112/114/116/118), connected to the bottom wall (see Fig. 7); a top wall (128/130/132/134), connected to the side walls wherein the top wall includes a first top wall panel (128), a second top-wall panel (130), and a third top-wall panel (134); a locking feature (see Figures 9-10) that couples the first top-wall panel and the second top- wall panel to the third top-wall panel in a closed configuration and a handle (136/138), connected to the top wall and movable relative to the top wall between a retracted configuration (see Fig. 7) and a deployed configuration (see Fig. 6), wherein at least a portion of the top wall forms a planar surface (128); in the retracted configuration, the handle is in a coplanar relationship with the planar surface (see Fig. 7); and in the deployed configuration, the handle is in a non-coplanar relationship with the planar surface (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Fron discloses a container further comprising at least one opening (141) formed in at least one of the side walls (Examiner considers opening 141 to be at least partially located in an upper portion of side wall 112).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 19-21, and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cardoze et al. (US 10974865 B2; hereinafter Cardoze).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 19-20, and 23, Cardoze discloses a container with foldable carrying handles and a blank for making comprising a bottom wall (formed by 811/812/813/814); a plurality of side walls (821/822/823/824), connected to the bottom wall (see Fig. 8); a top wall (831/832/833/834), connected to the side walls wherein the top wall includes a first top wall panel (832), a second top-wall panel (834), and a third top-wall panel (833); a locking feature (locking ears 142 into apertures 835 and 836) that couples the first top-wall panel and the second top- wall panel to the third top-wall panel in a closed configuration and a handle (144), connected to the top wall and movable relative to the top wall between a retracted configuration (see Fig. 3) and a deployed configuration (see Fig. 2), wherein at least a portion of the top wall forms a planar surface (see Fig. 3); in the retracted configuration, the handle is in a coplanar relationship with the planar surface (see Fig. 3); and in the deployed configuration, the handle is in a non-coplanar relationship with the planar surface (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 2, 8-9, 21, and 24, Cardoze discloses a container and blank for making wherein the second top-wall panel is opposite the first top-wall panel; the first top-wall panel and the second top-wall panel are movable relative to the side walls between an open configuration and a the closed configuration; and in the closed configuration, a portion of the first top-wall panel overlaps a portion of the second top-wall panel (see Fig. 1; Examiner notes that the portions of each top wall panel that defines the handle opening overlap each other).
Regarding claims 4-7 and 25, Cardoze discloses a container and blank for making wherein the top wall further comprises a fourth top-wall panel (831), opposite the third top-wall panel (833); the third top-wall panel and the fourth top-wall panel are movable relative to the side walls between the open configuration and the closed configuration; in the closed configuration, a portion of the first top-wall panel and a portion of the second top-wall panel overlap a portion of the third top-wall panel; and in the closed configuration, a portion of the first top-wall panel and a portion of the second top-wall panel overlap a portion of the fourth top-wall panel (see Figures 1-3 and 8).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Cardoze discloses a container and blank for making further comprising at least one opening (835/836) formed in at least one of the side walls (Examiner considers openings 835 or 836 to be at least partially located in an upper portion of respective side walls 821 or 823).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardoze in view of Fron.
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Cardoze discloses the claimed invention except for handles defined by perforated lines in the top wall panels. Fron teaches a corrugated container with an integrated top handle wherein a first handle is connected to a first top-wall panel along a first-handle first fold line (50/64), a first-handle second fold line, and a first-handle perforated line; a second handle is connected to a second top-wall panel along a second handle first fold line, a second-handle second fold line, and a second-handle perforated line; the first handle is separable from the first top-wall panel along the first-handle perforated line to move the first handle from the retracted configuration to the deployed configuration; and the second handle is separable from the second top wall panel along the second handle perforated line to move the second handle from the retracted configuration to the deployed configuration (Col 3 lines 15-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Cardoze’s container to have handles defined by at least one respective perforated line, as taught by Fron, in order to ensure that said handles maintain a planar configuration prior to deploying said handles into the second configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-11, filed 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 19 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Lee have been fully considered and are persuasive. Lee lacks the top wall locking arrangement, as now claimed. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 102(a)(1)—Fron or Cardoze.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734