Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03 July 2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 2015/0248918 A1) (hereinafter Tang), in view of Walter et al. (US 2019/0370072 A1) (hereinafter Walter).
Regarding Claim 1, Tang discloses a method, comprising:
executing, using an artificial intelligence, a machine learning model on received televised content, the machine learning model configured to identify objects displayed on the received televised content; [0038-39: guidance application may use various learning systems (e.g., neural networks) to perform content recognition on some media asset to detect objects, people, etc. within the media]
displaying, through a mobile application interface, the identified objects for selection; [Fig. 6: 0097-100: screen 600 provides selectable list of objects/people in detected in the media presented in screen 500] and
for a selection of one or more objects from the identified objects and an overlay through the mobile application interface, modifying a display of the received televised content to display the overlay. [Figs. 6-7; 0102, 0121-123: once selected, system will highlight or otherwise mark the selected objected detected in the media utilizing various overlays to provide various information about the selected object, such as player statistics, etc.]
Tang further discloses wherein the system may be implemented utilizing any type of processing circuitry comprising one or more processors or ASICs. [0057]
Tang fails to explicitly disclose using an artificial intelligence System on Chip (AI SoC).
Walter, in analogous art, teaches an artificial intelligence System on Chip (AI SoC). [0010: platforms, such as a learning machine or STB, may be implemented as System on Chip (SOC)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Tang with the teachings of Walter to specify use of an AI SoC as it is understood that SoCs have the benefits of lower power consumption due to a higher level of integration. [Walter – 0010]
Regarding Claim 2, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses for the overlay being an information overlay, retrieving information associated with the selected one or more objects; and generating the overlay from the retrieved information. [Tang – Figs. 6-7; 0102, 0121-123: once selected, system will highlight or otherwise mark the selected objected detected in the media utilizing various overlays to retrieve and provide various information about the selected object, such as player statistics, etc.]
Regarding Claim 3, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses for the overlay being a visual overlay, the modifying the display of the received televised content to display the overlay comprises displaying the visual overlay on the selected one or more objects. [Tang – Figs. 6-7; 0102, 0121-123: once selected, system will highlight or otherwise mark the selected objected detected in the media utilizing various overlays to retrieve and provide various information about the selected object, such as player statistics, etc.]
Regarding Claim 4, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 3, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses wherein the modifying the display of the received televised content to display the overlay comprises: for the selection of one or more objects from the identified objects being a selection of a person and an object, displaying the visual overlay on the object when the object is associated with the person. [Tang – Figs. 6-7; 0102, 0121-123: once selected, system will highlight or otherwise mark the selected objected detected in the media utilizing various overlays to retrieve and provide various information about the selected object, such as player statistics, etc.]
Regarding Claim 5, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses for a selection of one or more users through the mobile application interface, modifying the display of the received televised content of the selected one or more users to display the overlay. [Tang – Figs. 6-7; 0102, 0121-123: once selected, system will highlight or otherwise mark the selected objected detected in the media utilizing various overlays to retrieve and provide various information about the selected object, such as player statistics, etc.]
Regarding Claim 6, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses retrieving information for display on the mobile application interface for the selected one or more objects. [Tang – Figs. 6-7; 0069: second screen device may be used to select information to be provided, where both the television equipment 402 and wireless user device 406 may show the same information and programming]
Regarding Claim 7, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang and Walter disclose wherein the AI SoC is disposed on one of a television a set top box, or an edge device connected to a set top box and a television, [Tang – Figs. 3-4; 0030: user device may be a STB or television, or any other receiver or computing equipment; Walter – 0010] wherein the method further comprises receiving, through the mobile application interface, a channel to obtain the received television content. [Tang – 0030, 0069, 0091-93: second screen device may be used to receive user inputs to select programming to be displayed on the user television equipment 402]
Regarding Claim 9, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses receiving, through the mobile application interface preferences and customizations of display is presented. [Tang – 0052, 0068-70: second screen may provide an interface for adjusting settings and display preferences of information on the first device; 0122, 0132: preferences of user may affect how the selected object is to be marked/highlighted]
Tang and Walter fail to explicitly disclose receiving, through the mobile application interface, a selection of a location on the selected one or more objects to provide the overlay; wherein the modifying the display of the received televised content to display the overlay comprises providing the overlay on the selected location on the selected one or more objects.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that selection of overlay location is a well-known and utilized presentation customization that users may manually set in order to ensure that any overlay information does not overly interfere with some underlying content or object in a video.
Regarding Claim 13, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tang and Walter fail to explicitly disclose receiving, through the mobile application interface, instructions to initiate a poll; wherein the poll is provided to mobile application interfaces of one or more users viewing the received television content.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that creating and providing polls to users viewing received television are a well-known and common means of user engagement and social interaction between viewers who are experiencing the same media at the same time.
Regarding Claim 14, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses that the overlay may comprise a variety of different manners of marking or highlighting an object, including changing coloring, bordering, shape, rhythm, or any other manner of visually marking an object. [0102, 0106-108, 0119-120
Tang and Walter fail to explicitly disclose wherein the overlay comprises animations.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that overlaying animations is a well-known and common means of visually marking or annotating video data.
Regarding Claim 15, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses wherein the overlay comprises statistics associated with the selected one or more objects. . [Tang – Figs. 6-7; 0102, 0121-123: once selected, system will highlight or otherwise mark the selected objected detected in the media utilizing various overlays to retrieve and provide various information about the selected object, such as player statistics, etc.]
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang and Walter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0329306 A1) (hereinafter Liu)
Regarding Claim 8, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses receiving, through the mobile application interface, a selection of preferences and customizations of the system. [Tang – 0052, 0068-70: second screen may provide an interface for adjusting settings and preferences of information on the first device]
Tang and Walter fail to explicitly disclose receiving, through the mobile application interface, a selection of the machine learning model; wherein the AI SoC is configured to execute the selected machine learning model in response to the selection.
Liu, in analogous art, teaches receiving, through the mobile application interface, a selection of the machine learning model; wherein the AI SoC is configured to execute the selected machine learning model in response to the selection. [0596-0599: a plurality of pre-trained AI models may exist, where a user may select a machine learning model to be used in specific applications (such as the AI of Tang and Walter above)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Tang and Walter with the teaches of Liu to all selection of the machine learning model to execute as is understood that users may select specific machine learning models from a plurality of models to be used in specific applications. [Liu – 0599]
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang and Walter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ortiz et al. (US 2012/0167001 A1) (hereinafter Ortiz)
Regarding Claim 10, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses wherein the system may provide chat sessions between users. [0027, 0043]
Tang and Walter fail to explicitly disclose wherein the overlay comprises text messages; wherein the modifying the display of the received televised content to display the overlay comprises modifying the display of a plurality of users to display the text messages.
Ortiz, in analogous art, teaches wherein the overlay comprises text messages; wherein the modifying the display of the received televised content to display the overlay comprises modifying the display of a plurality of users to display the text messages. [Fig. 5; 0082-83: facial recognition application (such as the AI SoC of Tang and Walter above) may identify persons within a video content, wherein selecting one of the identified persons in the image (such as selection of objects in Tang and Walter above) may open a communication window on the display device, wherein communications may be video chat, text messages, etc.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Tang and Walters with the teachings of Ortiz to specify overlaying text messages as it is understood that video systems may allow users to communicate with other users through overlaid text messaging. [Ortiz – 0082-83]
Regarding Claim 12, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Tang discloses wherein the system may provide chat sessions between users. [0027, 0043]
Tang and Walter fail to explicitly disclose for the selection of the one or more objects being a person, generating a chat application in the mobile application interface to facilitate chat with the person.
Ortiz, in analogous art, teaches for the selection of the one or more objects being a person, generating a chat application in the mobile application interface to facilitate chat with the person. [Fig. 5; 0082-83: facial recognition application (such as the AI SoC of Tang and Walter above) may identify persons within a video content, wherein selecting one of the identified persons in the image (such as selection of objects in Tang and Walter above) may open a communication window on the display device, wherein communications may be video chat, text messages, etc.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Tang and Walters with the teachings of Ortiz to specify overlaying text messages as it is understood that video systems may allow users to communicate with other users by selecting a detected person in a group video. [Ortiz – 0082-83]
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang and Walter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morrison (US 2019/0288972 A1) (hereinafter Morrison).
Regarding Claim 11, Tang and Walter disclose all of the limitations of Claim 1, which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Tang and Walter fail to explicitly disclose wherein, for the selection of the one or more objects being a first person having a first face and a second person having a second face, the overlay comprises an overlay of the second face on the first person and an overlay of the first face on the second person.
Morrison, in analogous art, teaches wherein, for the selection of the one or more objects being a first person having a first face and a second person having a second face, the overlay comprises an overlay of the second face on the first person and an overlay of the first face on the second person. [0020: video content items may allow graphic overlay options that may create a modified version of an image, such as AR software for swapping peoples’ heads or faces (which implicitly suggests selection of the faces to swap)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Tang and Walters with the teachings of Morrison to provide features to allow overlay of two peoples’ faces on the other’s respective bodies as it is a known form of entertainment to generate a distorted version an image. [Morrison – 0020]
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409