DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldemair et al. (Baldemair) US 2023/0155731 in view of Rosenblum et al. (Rosenblum) US 2020/0334104
In regard to claim 1, Baldemair disclose A method performed by a first node in a communication system, the method comprising: ([0005]-[0009] communication between transmitting and receiving nodes in a communication system)
transmitting one or more synchronization signals to a second node; ([0040]-[0050] transmit the synchronization signaling to the receiving node from the transmitting node)
transmitting system information to the second node; ([0005]-[0009] [0040]-[0050] transmit control information to the receiving node from the transmitting node)
transmitting, to the second node, a request message of information of the second node for an error correction; ([0032]-[0036] [0052][0079]-[0082] transmit a request of information to the receiving node from the transmitting node, such as control information or schedule information, measurement information, etc.)
receiving, from the second node, a report message; ([0040]-[0045] [0077]-[0082] [0096] receive from the receiving node, a response message with the required measurement information)
transmitting, to the second node, an error correction configuration message including the type of the error correction and information of the resource; ([0024]-[0026] [0032]-[0036] transmitting, to the receiving node, the error correction message including the type (error detection coding, CRC or FEC, etc. and the information of the resource) and receiving an error correction confirmation message from the second node. ([0017] [0024]-[0026] [0032]-[0036] [0079]-[0087] receive an acknowledgement information from the receiving node)
But Baldemair fail to explicitly disclose “decoherence information of the second node for an error correction; the report message including the decoherence information including a second relaxation time and a second dephasing time of the second node; determining a type of the error correction to be performed and a necessary resource for the error correction based on a first relaxation time and a first dephasing time of the first node and the second relaxation time and the second dephasing time of the second node;”
Rosenblum disclose decoherence information of the second node for an error correction; ([0062]-[0065] [0080]-[0088] dephasing and relaxation times of the qubit for error correction)
the report message including the decoherence information including a second relaxation time and a second dephasing time of the second node; ([0062]-[0065] [0080]-[0088] measurement of dephasing and relaxation times of the qubit for error correction)
determining a type of the error correction to be performed and a necessary resource for the error correction based on a first relaxation time and a first dephasing time of the first node and the second relaxation time and the second dephasing time of the second node; ([0055]-[0066] [0080]-[0088][0146] determine the type of error correction and resource for error correction such as multilevel ancilla transmon is used, etc. based on relaxation and dephasing times of the qubits for error correction)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation of the qubits into Baldemair’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of data processing. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation with error correction would help to provide method of data communication into Baldemair’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing data communication with error correction would facilitate information processing.
In regard to claim 2, Baldemair and Rosenblum disclose The method of claim 1,
But Baldemair fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the type of the error correction is related to one of a bit flip error correction, a phase flip error correction, and a bit-phase flip error correction.”
Rosenblum disclose wherein the type of the error correction is related to one of a bit flip error correction, a phase flip error correction, and a bit-phase flip error correction. ([0055]-[0064] the type of error correction is related to bit flip error , X or Z flip error, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation of the qubits into Baldemair’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of data processing. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation with error correction would help to provide method of data communication into Baldemair’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing data communication with error correction would facilitate information processing.
In regard to claim 3, Baldemair and Rosenblum disclose The method of claim 2,
But Baldemair fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the type of the error correction is adaptively determined based on a bit flip error rate, a phase flip error rate, and a bit-phase flip error rate.”
Rosenblum disclose wherein the type of the error correction is adaptively determined based on a bit flip error rate, a phase flip error rate, and a bit-phase flip error rate. ([0055]-[0065] [0080]-[0088] [0146] the type of error correction is determined based on the bit flip error, X or Z flip error, and bit-flip and phase error (one error has both bit and phase errors X and Z flip error), etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation of the qubits into Baldemair’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of data processing. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation with error correction would help to provide method of data communication into Baldemair’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing data communication with error correction would facilitate information processing.
In regard to claim 4, Baldemair and Rosenblum disclose The method of claim 3,
But Baldemair fail to explicitly disclose “wherein determining the type of the error correction to be performed and the necessary resource for the error correction comprises determining the bit flip error rate, the phase flip error rate, and the bit-phase flip error rate based on the first relaxation time and the first dephasing time of the first node and the second relaxation time and the second dephasing time of the second node, and wherein the resource is determined based on the bit flip error rate, the phase flip error rate, and the bit-phase flip error rate.”
Rosenblum disclose wherein determining the type of the error correction to be performed and the necessary resource for the error correction comprises determining the bit flip error rate, the phase flip error rate, and the bit-phase flip error rate based on the first relaxation time and the first dephasing time of the first node and the second relaxation time and the second dephasing time of the second node, ([0055]-[0065] [0080]-[0088] [0092]-[0098] [0146] determining based on the bit flip error, X or Z flip error, and bit-flip and phase error (one error has both bit and phase errors), etc. based on the relaxation time and the first dephasing of the qubits) and wherein the resource is determined based on the bit flip error rate, the phase flip error rate, and the bit-phase flip error rate. ([0055]-[0065] [0080]-[0088] [0092]-[0098] [0146] the resource is determined based on the bit flip error, X or Z flip error, and bit-flip and phase error (one error has both bit and phase errors) etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation of the qubits into Baldemair’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of data processing. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation with error correction would help to provide method of data communication into Baldemair’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing data communication with error correction would facilitate information processing.
In regard to claim 7, Baldemair and Rosenblum disclose The method of claim 2,
But Baldemair fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the information of the resource included in the error correction configuration message includes at least one of a number of parities to be used for the bit flip error correction, a number of parities to be used for the phase flip error correction, or refined entanglement pair resource index information between the first node and the second node to be used for the error correction.”
Rosenblum disclose wherein the information of the resource included in the error correction configuration message includes at least one of a number of parities to be used for the bit flip error correction, a number of parities to be used for the phase flip error correction, or refined entanglement pair resource index information between the first node and the second node to be used for the error correction. ([0055]-[0065] [0077]-[0088] [0092]-[0098] [0146] the resource information include the number of photon parity serves as an error correction for bit flip or phase flip error correction)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation of the qubits into Baldemair’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of data processing. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation with error correction would help to provide method of data communication into Baldemair’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing data communication with error correction would facilitate information processing.
In regard to claim 8, A method performed by a third node in a communication system, the method comprising: ([0005]-[0009] communication between transmitting and receiving nodes in a communication system)
transmitting one or more synchronization signals to a first node and a second node; ([0040]-[0050] transmit the synchronization signaling to the receiving nodes from the transmitting node)
transmitting system information to the first node and the second node; ([0005]-[0009] [0040]-[0050] transmit control information to the receiving nodes from the transmitting node)
transmitting, to the first node, a request message of first information of the first node for an error correction; ([0032]-[0036] [0052][0079]-[0082] transmit a request of information to the receiving node from the transmitting node, such as control information or schedule information, measurement information, etc.)
transmitting, to the second node, a request message of second information of the second node for the error correction; ([0032]-[0036] [0052][0079]-[0082] transmit a request of information to the another receiving node from the transmitting node, such as control information or schedule information, measurement information, etc.)
receiving, from the first node, a report message; ([0040]-[0045] [0077]-[0082] [0096] receive from the receiving node, a response message with the required measurement information)
receiving, from the second node, a report message; ([0040]-[0045] [0077]-[0082] [0096] receive from the another receiving node, a response message with the required measurement information)
transmitting, to the first node, a first error correction configuration message including the type of the error correction and information of the resource; ([0024]-[0026] [0032]-[0036] transmitting, to the receiving node, the error correction message including the type (error detection coding, CRC or FEC, etc. and the information of the resource)
transmitting, to the second node, a second error correction configuration message including the type of the error correction and information of the resource; ([0024]-[0026] [0032]-[0036] transmitting, to the receiving node, the error correction message including the type (error detection coding, CRC or FEC, etc. and the information of the resource) and
receiving a first error correction confirmation message from the first node; ([0017] [0024]-[0026] [0032]-[0036] [0079]-[0087] receive an acknowledgement information from the receiving node)
receiving a second error correction confirmation message from the second node. ([0017] [0024]-[0026] [0032]-[0036] [0079]-[0087] receive an acknowledgement information from the another receiving node)
But Baldemair fail to explicitly disclose “first decoherence information of the first node for an error correction; second decoherence information of the second node for the error correction; the report message including the first decoherence information including a first relaxation time and a first dephasing time of the first node; the report message including the second decoherence information including a second relaxation time and a second dephasing time of the second node; determining a type of the error correction to be performed and a necessary resource for the error correction based on the first relaxation time and the first dephasing time of the first node and the second relaxation time and the second dephasing time of the second node;”
Rosenblum disclose first decoherence information of the first node for an error correction; second decoherence information of the second node for the error correction;
([0062]-[0065] [0080]-[0088] dephasing and relaxation times of the qubits for error correction)
the report message including the first decoherence information including a first relaxation time and a first dephasing time of the first node; the report message including the second decoherence information including a second relaxation time and a second dephasing time of the second node; ([0062]-[0065] [0080]-[0088] measurement of dephasing and relaxation times of the qubits for error correction)
determining a type of the error correction to be performed and a necessary resource for the error correction based on a first relaxation time and a first dephasing time of the first node and the second relaxation time and the second dephasing time of the second node; ([0055]-[0066] [0080]-[0088][0146] determine the type of error correction and resource for error correction such as multilevel ancilla transmon is used, etc. based on relaxation and dephasing times of the qubits for error correction)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation of the qubits into Baldemair’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of data processing. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Rosenblum’s fault-tolerant operation with error correction would help to provide method of data communication into Baldemair’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that providing data communication with error correction would facilitate information processing.
In regard to claims 9-11, 14, claims 9-11, 14 are method claims corresponding to the method claims 2-4, 7 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 2-4, 7.
In regard to claim 15, claim 15 is a first node claim corresponding to the method claim 1 above and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 and 8, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Lucarelli (US 2020/0119748) disclose A quantum computing system and associated methods. An exemplary method includes generating a specification from a binary matrix and at least one quantum check operator. The binary matrix is based at least in part on a classical error correcting code and the quantum check operator(s) is/are based on at least one multiple-qubit Pauli operator. The specification indicates which ancilla qubits are to be coupled to which data qubits. The data qubits are prepared as a plurality of multiple-qubit entangled states. The exemplary method also includes directing quantum hardware components of the quantum computing system to couple each of selected ones of the data qubits to one or more of the ancilla qubits in accordance with the couplings indicated in the specification. Each of the plurality of multiple-qubit entangled states is coupled to a plurality of the ancilla qubits…. See abstract.
But Lucarelli fail to explicitly disclosed claims 5 and 12 of “wherein determining the type of the error correction to be performed and the necessary resource for the error correction further comprises: based on the bit-phase flip error rate being greater than or equal to a critical bit-phase flip error rate, determining the type of the error correction as a bit-phase flip error and determining a resource for the bit-phase flip error correction; based on the bit-phase flip error rate being less than the critical bit-phase flip error rate, and the bit flip error rate being greater than or equal to a critical bit flip error rate, determining the type of the error correction as a bit flip error and determining a resource for the bit flip error correction; and based on the bit flip error rate being less than the critical bit flip error rate, and the phase flip error rate being greater than or equal to a critical phase flip error rate, determining the type of the error correction as a phase flip error and determining a resource for the phase flip error correction.” ([0042]-[0050], etc.)
Putterman et al. (US 12093785) disclose High-fidelity measurements of qubits are achieved by increasing a number of measurements taken by use of a swap operation and a readout qubit, deflating a bosonic qubit for which measurement outcomes are affected by single photon/phonon loss events, deflating a bosonic qubit enabling readout in other basis, and evolving the qubit under a Hamiltonian that couples a mode to be measured to another mode where the Hamiltonian is selected from a three wave mixing interaction, and/or a combination of these techniques…. See abstract. (col. 30, line 7-col. 31, line 18, etc.)
But Putterman et al. fail to explicitly disclosed claim 5 and 12 of “wherein determining the type of the error correction to be performed and the necessary resource for the error correction further comprises: based on the bit-phase flip error rate being greater than or equal to a critical bit-phase flip error rate, determining the type of the error correction as a bit-phase flip error and determining a resource for the bit-phase flip error correction; based on the bit-phase flip error rate being less than the critical bit-phase flip error rate, and the bit flip error rate being greater than or equal to a critical bit flip error rate, determining the type of the error correction as a bit flip error and determining a resource for the bit flip error correction; and based on the bit flip error rate being less than the critical bit flip error rate, and the phase flip error rate being greater than or equal to a critical phase flip error rate, determining the type of the error correction as a phase flip error and determining a resource for the phase flip error correction.”
Conclusion
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143