Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on July 29, 2026.
Claims 1, 7, and 17 are amended.
Claims 2-3, 8-9 and 19-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-12, 17-18 and 21-24 are currently pending in this application
Response to Arguments
The objection to the specification has been withdrawn for the reasons stated in
applicant’s response (see remarks Pg. 7).
The amendments to claim 3 now part of claim 1 has overcome the Claim Interpretation in accordance with MPEP §2111.04(II), conditional limitations (see remarks Pg. 14).
The applicant’s arguments, directed towards the 35 USC §103 rejections of Claims 1-12
and 17-24 as set forth in the previous Office Action, have been fully considered, but are not
persuasive (see remarks Pg. 1-8).
Applicant submits that Cheng fails to disclose key aspects of these sequences, specifically the explicit instructing step and the conditional execution logic tied to the determined sensing sounding type. In Cheng, different measurement scenarios are described as separate, pre-configured instances rather than as alternative operations dynamically selected by the STA based on a determined sensing sounding type. Moreover, Cheng does not teach that the STA, after sending the UL NDP frame, actively instructs the AP to perform DL sensing sounding and provide feedback. Instead, in Cheng the AP autonomously transmits the R2I NDP and feedback based on a prior role setup, without any explicit instruction from the STA at the time of measurement. The amended claim 1 requires a specific sequential interaction where the STA, having already determined the sensing sounding type from the ID information, conditionally executes one of three precisely defined procedures, each including an explicit instructing step. This dynamic, instruction-based approach is absent from Cheng.
Third, for the unidirectional DL sensing scenario, Cheng describes that the STA sends the sensing NDPA and an I2R NDP (with minimum possible length), and the AP then sends an R2I NDP. Again, there is no explicit instructing step by the STA. The AP's transmission of the R2I NDP appears to be a default behavior rather than a response to an instruction issued during the measurement procedure. The amended claim 1 requires that the STA instruct the AP to perform the DL sensing sounding, which represents a clear departure from Cheng's implicit, pre- configured operation.
Zhou does not remedy the deficiencies of Cheng because it does not teach any interactive measurement procedures at all, let alone the specific instructing steps claimed. Zhou merely provides a mechanism for signaling which type of measurement is to be performed, but it does not disclose how the STA dynamically instructs the AP to execute particular sounding operations after the UL NDP frame has been sent.
The examiner has considered all the arguments but disagrees. Cheng teaches Non-TB sensing measurement wherein a non-AP STA is the initiator and sensing occurs in an on-demand manner between the non-AP STA initiator and the AP responder clearly disclosing a dynamic behavior rather than a default behavior (see Pg. 2, Non-TB sensing measurement instance).
The claim language requires only one scenario and other two scenarios are alternate claim limitations. Cheng teaches the sensing NDPA frame will include the Measurement Setup ID, which corresponds to the sensing setup where STA1 and AP understand their roles, The sensing NDPA configures the parameters for both the I2R NDP and R2I NDP. So if the I2R or R2I NDP is transmitted with minimal possible length, it will be indicated in the Sensing NDPA frame. Therefore, carrying instructions for dynamically determining which sounding whether UL or DL will be performed and not based on a pre-defined default behavior (see Pg. 5-9).
For Third scenario regarding Non-TB unidirectional DL sensing Cheng teaches the sensing NDPA should configure the I2R NDP to be transmitted with minimal possible length indicating the AP to perform DL sounding (see Pg. 9, 3)).
Teachings of ZHOU are further incorporated to explicitly indicate determining a sensing sounding type corresponding to the ID information via the NOP sequence field of the NDPA frame, wherein a certain measurement instance only performs uplink sensing measurement or downlink sensing measurement or bidirectional sensing measurement (see Pg. 10, Paragraph 5-12). Hence Cheng as improved by ZHOU clearly discloses a dynamic sensing measurement and clear indication on the sensing sounding type involved.
As result, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the 35 USC §103 rejections of
claims 1, 7 and 17 are maintained.
The 35 USC §103 rejection of dependent claims 4-6, 18, 10-12, 24 and 21-23 respectively are maintained for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-12, 17-18 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al., IEEE 802.11-21/1433r2 - Non-TB sensing measurement (hereinafter Cheng) in view of ZHOU et al., CN 117480807 B (see the English translated copy), (hereinafter ZHOU).
Regarding claim 1, 17 and 18, Cheng teaches a method for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement, performed by a station (STA) (see Pg. 2, e.g., wherein Non-TB sensing measurement instance is initiated by a non-AP STA. Non-TB sensing measurement includes scenario where sensing occurs in an on-demand manner between the non-AP STA initiator and the AP responder.), comprising:
sending a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame and carrying identification (ID) information in the NDPA frame, wherein the ID information comprises a sensing measurement setup ID (see Pg. 6. e.g., wherein whenever the non-AP STA obtains a TXOP it can directly go ahead and transmit the NDPA and the sensing NDPA frame will include the Measurement Setup ID); and
determining a sensing sounding type and performing a WLAN sensing measurement based on the sensing sounding type (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, wherein the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing.),
wherein the sensing sounding type comprises at least one of an uplink (UL) sensing sounding or a downlink (DL) sensing sounding (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, wherein the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing);
wherein performing the WLAN sensing measurement based on the sensing sounding type comprises one of:
in response to that the sensing sounding type comprises the UL sensing sounding and the DL sensing sounding, performing the UL sensing sounding and sending an UL NDP frame; and after sending the UL NDP frame, instructing an access point (AP) to perform the DL sensing sounding and feed back a sounding result;
in response to that the sensing sounding type comprises the UL sensing sounding, performing the UL sensing sounding and sending an UL NDP frame; and after sending the UL NDP frame, instructing an AP to perform the DL sensing sounding, send a DL NDP frame, and feed back a sounding result; or
in response to that the sensing sounding type comprises the DL sensing sounding, instructing an AP to perform the DL sensing sounding (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., wherein Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing. An STA sends a sensing NDPA to an AP comprising a measurement setup ID corresponding to sensing setup, and the STA and the AP know their roles in the sensing setup.
In the bidirectional sensing scenario, the STA sends the sensing NDPA which configures the parameters for both the I2R NDP and R2I NDP to be transmitted with minimal possible length, the AP sends R2I NDP Sensing feedback for the I2R sounding.
In the unidirectional UL sensing scenario, the STA sends the sensing NDPA which configures the parameters for the R2I NDP to be transmitted with minimal possible length, the AP sends R2I NDP and Sensing feedback for the I2R sounding.
In the unidirectional DL sensing scenario, the STA sends the sensing NDPA which configures the parameters for the I2R NDP to be transmitted with minimal possible length, and then sends the I2R NDP; and the AP sends the R2I NDP.),
however, it does not explicitly teach determining a sensing sounding type corresponding to the ID information.
ZHOU teaches determining a sensing sounding type corresponding to the ID information (see Pg. 10, Paragraph 5-12, e.g., wherein the NDP sequence field of the NDPA frame can flexibly indicate that a certain measurement instance only performs uplink sensing measurement or downlink sensing measurement or bidirectional sensing measurement and so on.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ID information of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of ZHOU to include sensing sounding type. Doing so would facilitate in achieving realizing non-TB sensing measurement, and improving the flexibility of sensing measurement as suggested by ZHOU (see Pg. 2, Paragraph 4, e.g., the invention claims a wireless communication method and a wireless communication device, which can realize non-TB sensing measurement, and improve the flexibility of sensing measurement under the premise of conforming to Pairwise sensing measurement.).
Regarding claim 4 and 21, Cheng as combined with ZHOU teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 17.
Cheng further teaches indication of sensing sounding type implicitly via length of NOP frames (see Pg. 6-9, e.g., wherein sensing sounding is depending on the roles of the STA and AP, I2R NDP or R2I NDP may be transmitted with the minimum possible length. The sensing NDPA frame will include the Measurement Setup ID, which corresponds to the sensing setup where STA1 and AP understand their roles. The sensing NDPA configures the parameters for both the I2R NDP and R2I NDP so if the I2R or R2I NDP is to be transmitted with minimal possible length, it will be indicated in the Sensing NDPA frame.),
However, it does not explicitly teach wherein the ID information further comprises a sensing sounding type ID.
ZHOU teaches ID information further comprises a sensing sounding type ID (see Pg. 10, Paragraph 5-12, e.g., The NDP order field occupies 2 bits, specifically, NDP order = 00: one-way sending NDP, the device sending NDPA sends NDP, the device receiving NDPA does not send NDP; the NDP sequence = 01:bidirectional sending NDP, the device for sending NDPA firstly sends NDP, the device for receiving NDPA then sends NDP; NDP order = 10: bidirectional sending NDP, the device receiving NDPA firstly sends NDP, the device sending NDPA then sends NDP; or NDP sequence = 10 is reserved value(reserved); NDP sequence = 11: one-way sending NDP, the device sending NDPA does not send NDP, the device receiving NDPA sends NDP. For example, when the Sensing Setup is set, if one device can only be a Sensing Transmitter, and the other device can only be a Sensing Receiver, Then, the NDP can only be transmitted in one direction, and at this time, the NDP sequence field is set as 00. … the NDP sequence field of the NDPA frame can flexibly indicate that a certain measurement instance only performs uplink sensing measurement or downlink sensing measurement or bidirectional sensing measurement and so on.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ID information of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of ZHOU to include sensing sounding type. Doing so would facilitate in achieving realizing non-TB sensing measurement, and improving the flexibility of sensing measurement as suggested by ZHOU (see Pg. 2, Paragraph 4, e.g., the invention claims a wireless communication method and a wireless communication device, which can realize non-TB sensing measurement, and improve the flexibility of sensing measurement under the premise of conforming to Pairwise sensing measurement.).
Regarding claim 5 and 22, Cheng as combined with ZHOU teaches the limitations of Claim 4 and 21.
Cheng further teaches wherein determining the sensing sounding type corresponding to the ID information comprises one of:
determining a sensing sounding type in the WLAN sensing measurement corresponding to the sensing measurement setup ID (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, wherein the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing. An STA sends a sensing NDPA to an AP comprising a measurement setup ID corresponding to sensing setup, and the STA and the AP know their roles in the sensing setup.); or
determining a sensing sounding type indicated by the sensing sounding type ID.
Regarding claim 6 and 23, Cheng as combined with ZHOU teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 17.
Cheng further teaches wherein the sensing measurement setup ID is determined by an initiator of the WLAN sensing measurement during a WLAN sensing measurement setup procedure (see Pg. 4, e.g., We assume the non-AP STA and the AP has already finished the Session Setup and Sensing Measurement Setup; see Pg. 6, e.g., wherein whenever the non-AP STA obtains a TXOP it can directly go ahead and transmit the NDPA and the sensing NDPA frame will include the Measurement Setup ID.).
Regarding claim 7 and 24, Cheng teaches a method for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement, performed by an access point (AP) (see Pg. 2, e.g., wherein Non-TB sensing measurement instance is initiated by a non-AP STA. Non-TB sensing measurement includes scenario where sensing occurs in an on-demand manner between the non-AP STA initiator and the AP responder.), comprising:
receiving a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame and obtaining ID information carried in the NDPA frame, wherein the ID information comprises a sensing measurement setup ID (see Pg. 6. e.g., wherein whenever the non-AP STA obtains a TXOP it can directly go ahead and transmit the NDPA and the sensing NDPA frame will include the Measurement Setup ID); and
determining a sensing sounding type and performing a WLAN sensing measurement based on the sensing sounding type (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, wherein the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing.),
wherein the sensing sounding type comprises at least one of an uplink (UL) sensing sounding or a downlink (DL) sensing sounding (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, wherein the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing);
wherein performing the WLAN sensing measurement based on the sensing sounding type comprises one of:
in response to that the sensing sounding type comprises the UL sensing sounding and the DL sensing sounding, performing the UL sensing sounding and sending an UL NDP frame; and after sending the UL NDP frame, instructing an access point (AP) to perform the DL sensing sounding and feedback a sounding result;
in response to that the sensing sounding type comprises the UL sensing sounding, performing the UL sensing sounding and sending an UL NDP frame; and after sending the UL NDP frame, instructing an AP to perform the DL sensing sounding, send a DL NDP frame, and feedback a sounding result; or
in response to that the sensing sounding type comprises the DL sensing sounding, instructing an AP to perform the DL sensing sounding (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., wherein Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing. An STA sends a sensing NDPA to an AP comprising a measurement setup ID corresponding to sensing setup, and the STA and the AP know their roles in the sensing setup.
In the bidirectional sensing scenario, the STA sends the sensing NDPA which configures the parameters for both the I2R NDP and R2I NDP to be transmitted with minimal possible length, the AP sends R2I NDP Sensing feedback for the I2R sounding.
In the unidirectional UL sensing scenario, the STA sends the sensing NDPA which configures the parameters for the R2I NDP to be transmitted with minimal possible length, the AP sends R2I NDP and Sensing feedback for the I2R sounding.
In the unidirectional DL sensing scenario, the STA sends the sensing NDPA which configures the parameters for the I2R NDP to be transmitted with minimal possible length, and then sends the I2R NDP; and the AP sends the R2I NDP.),
however, it does not explicitly teach determining a sensing sounding type corresponding to the ID information.
ZHOU teaches determining a sensing sounding type corresponding to the ID information (see Pg. 10, Paragraph 5-12, e.g., wherein the NDP sequence field of the NDPA frame can flexibly indicate that a certain measurement instance only performs uplink sensing measurement or downlink sensing measurement or bidirectional sensing measurement and so on.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ID information of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of ZHOU to include sensing sounding type. Doing so would facilitate in achieving realizing non-TB sensing measurement, and improving the flexibility of sensing measurement as suggested by ZHOU (see Pg. 2, Paragraph 4, e.g., the invention claims a wireless communication method and a wireless communication device, which can realize non-TB sensing measurement, and improve the flexibility of sensing measurement under the premise of conforming to Pairwise sensing measurement.).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng as combined with ZHOU teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
Cheng further teaches indication of sensing sounding type implicitly via length of NOP frames (see Pg. 6-9, e.g., wherein sensing sounding is depending on the roles of the STA and AP, I2R NDP or R2I NDP may be transmitted with the minimum possible length. The sensing NDPA frame will include the Measurement Setup ID, which corresponds to the sensing setup where STA1 and AP understand their roles. The sensing NDPA configures the parameters for both the I2R NDP and R2I NDP so if the I2R or R2I NDP is to be transmitted with minimal possible length, it will be indicated in the Sensing NDPA frame.),
However, it does not explicitly teach wherein the ID information further comprises a sensing sounding type ID.
ZHOU teaches ID information further comprises a sensing sounding type ID (see Pg. 10, Paragraph 5-12, e.g., The NDP order field occupies 2 bits, specifically, NDP order = 00: one-way sending NDP, the device sending NDPA sends NDP, the device receiving NDPA does not send NDP; the NDP sequence = 01:bidirectional sending NDP, the device for sending NDPA firstly sends NDP, the device for receiving NDPA then sends NDP; NDP order = 10: bidirectional sending NDP, the device receiving NDPA firstly sends NDP, the device sending NDPA then sends NDP; or NDP sequence = 10 is reserved value(reserved); NDP sequence = 11: one-way sending NDP, the device sending NDPA does not send NDP, the device receiving NDPA sends NDP. For example, when the Sensing Setup is set, if one device can only be a Sensing Transmitter, and the other device can only be a Sensing Receiver, Then, the NDP can only be transmitted in one direction, and at this time, the NDP sequence field is set as 00. … the NDP sequence field of the NDPA frame can flexibly indicate that a certain measurement instance only performs uplink sensing measurement or downlink sensing measurement or bidirectional sensing measurement and so on.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ID information of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of ZHOU to include sensing sounding type. Doing so would facilitate in achieving realizing non-TB sensing measurement, and improving the flexibility of sensing measurement as suggested by ZHOU (see Pg. 2, Paragraph 4, e.g., the invention claims a wireless communication method and a wireless communication device, which can realize non-TB sensing measurement, and improve the flexibility of sensing measurement under the premise of conforming to Pairwise sensing measurement.).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng as combined with ZHOU teaches the limitations of Claim 4 and 10.
Cheng further teaches wherein determining the sensing sounding type corresponding to the ID information comprises one of:
determining a sensing sounding type in the WLAN sensing measurement corresponding to the sensing measurement setup ID (see Pg. 5-9, e.g., Unified flow to cover all 3 scenarios, wherein the three scenarios include bidirectional UL/DL sensing, unidirectional UL sensing, and unidirectional DL sensing. An STA sends a sensing NDPA to an AP comprising a measurement setup ID corresponding to sensing setup, and the STA and the AP know their roles in the sensing setup.); or
determining a sensing sounding type indicated by the sensing sounding type ID.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng as combined with ZHOU teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
Cheng further teaches wherein the sensing measurement setup ID is determined by an initiator of the WLAN sensing measurement during a WLAN sensing measurement setup procedure (see Pg. 4, e.g., We assume the non-AP STA and the AP has already finished the Session Setup and Sensing Measurement Setup; see Pg. 6, e.g., wherein whenever the non-AP STA obtains a TXOP it can directly go ahead and transmit the NDPA and the sensing NDPA frame will include the Measurement Setup ID.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472