DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2024 and 08/26/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The acronym FR is not clearly defined in the specification (e.g., Frequency Range (FR)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 26-27, 34-35 and 38 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 26 “determining the frequency information” should read “determining a frequency information”.
Claim 27 “to the timing and frequency information” should read “to the timing and the frequency information”.
Claim 34 “apply the same half frame” should read “apply a same half frame”.
Claim 35 “adopt per-UE MG” should read “adopt per-UE measurement gap (MG)”.
Claim 38 “configured to UE for MG” should read “configured to a user equipment (UE) for MG”
Claim 38 “muted on one FR” should read “muted on one frequency range (FR)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 21-40, the words first and second are interpreted as labels to differentiate between components and do not impart any additional structural limitations.
Regarding claim 38, “FR” is not explicitly defined in the claim nor the instant specification ([0025] a RedCap UE configured to operate in a first band (e.g., FR1) may be positioned within a cell operating in another band (e.g., FR2)). Using the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “FR”, the examiner is interpreting “FR” as an acronym for frequency range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 25-33 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEI et al. (US 20230074775 A1, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application Ser. No. 63/234,674, filed on Aug. 18, 2021 hereinafter, LEI).
Regarding claim 21, LEI discloses:
A method of operating a reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE) in a network ([0008] In an aspect of the disclosure, a method, a computer-readable medium, and an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) having a first capability associated with a lower maximum UE bandwidth than a second capability; [0103] FIG. 9 illustrates an example communication flow 900 between a reduced capability UE 902 and a base station 904 based on an initial DL BWP and UL BWP that are shared between reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 and/or FIG. 8), comprising:
Receiving (Fig. 9 – 906, 910, 914, 916), at the Redcap UE ([0103] FIG. 9 illustrates an example communication flow 900 between a reduced capability UE 902 and a base station 904), a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) ([0110] During initial access, the different capability UEs (e.g., the reduced capability UEs and non-reduced capability UEs) may share a common CD-SSB 1010, CORESET0 (e.g., initial DL BWP 1004); [0104] The UE 902 may transmit the random access messages at 910, such as a Msg 1, in a random access occasion based on an SSB-to-RO mapping for reduced capability UEs. The SSB-to-RO mapping may be based on a CD-SSB received in the shared initial DL BWP. The SSB-to-RO mapping and the SSB-to-preamble mapping may be based on a mapping pattern that is separately configured for the reduced capability UEs. The separate configuration may be received in the system information 906 in the shared initial DL BWP) transmitted at a first periodicity (Fig. 9: 906 – 914; [0093] The UEs may monitor the resources of CORESET 0 to receive system information that enable the UEs to perform initial access, for example. A cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) may be transmitted within a maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced capability UEs; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc);
Determining, from the CD-SSB ([0110] During initial access, the different capability UEs (e.g., the reduced capability UEs and non-reduced capability UEs) may share a common CD-SSB 1010, CORESET0 (e.g., initial DL BWP 1004).... the reduced capability UE may switch to a pair of separately configured initial DL BWP 1013 and initial UL BWP 1011 that are configured for reduced capability UEs to finish an initial access procedure), timing information corresponding to a non-cell- defining synchronization block (NCD-SSB) ([0118] a non-CD-SSB in the dedicated initial DL BWP 1013 for the reduced capability UEs may be the reference SSB for the SSB-to-RO mapping and/or the SSB-to-preamble mapping. One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc... The configuration for the non-CD SSB may be selected to help ensure the measurement accuracy of a reduced capability UE having reduced reception branches and/or reduced antenna efficiency), the NCD-SSB transmitted at a second periodicity (Fig. 9: 922; [0094] FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc); and
monitoring, at the Redcap UE, at the second periodicity ([0108] the UE 902 may monitor for and/or receive PDSCH, PDCCH, a TRS, a CSI-RS, a PRS, or a non-CD SSB in the active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs), and after determining the timing information ([0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc), for NCD-SSBs (SSBs are transmitted in repeating burst set) transmitted according to the timing information (Fig. 6: Active DL BWP of lower capability UEs 606; [0094] FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE; [0105] the UE 902 may determine or identify the configuration of the dedicated, active DL BWP and the active UL BWP based on a rule, based on a look up table, or based on previously known information without explicit signaling of the configuration from the base station 904. The use of a look up table or rule may reduce signaling overhead while enabling reduced capability UEs to communicate based on an active DL/UL BWP supported by the UE's bandwidth capabilities).
Regarding claim 25, LEI further discloses:
wherein the first periodicity is at least half the second periodicity ([0128] One or more parameter for the non-CD SSB (second periodicity) may be the same parameter as for a CD-SSB (first periodicity), the one or more parameters including at least one of: a periodicity, a block index, a spatial reference for a random access procedure, a power offset, a center frequency, or a numerology).
Regarding claim 26, LEI further discloses:
wherein determining the frequency information from the CD-SSB ([0110] During initial access, the different capability UEs (e.g., the reduced capability UEs and non-reduced capability UEs) may share a common CD-SSB 1010, CORESET0 (e.g., initial DL BWP 1004).... the reduced capability UE may switch to a pair of separately configured initial DL BWP 1013 and initial UL BWP 1011 that are configured for reduced capability UEs to finish an initial access procedure) comprises accessing a lookup table by the UE ([0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc. The shared parameters may be configured in connection with the CD-SSB... The UE 1102 may determine one or more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB based on a rule, or a look-up table or based on information known to the UE).
Regarding claim 27, LEI further discloses:
determining, from the CD-SSB ([0110] During initial access, the different capability UEs (e.g., the reduced capability UEs and non-reduced capability UEs) may share a common CD-SSB 1010, CORESET0 (e.g., initial DL BWP 1004).... the reduced capability UE may switch to a pair of separately configured initial DL BWP 1013 and initial UL BWP 1011 that are configured for reduced capability UEs to finish an initial access procedure), frequency information corresponding to the NCD- SSB ([0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc. The shared parameters may be configured in connection with the CD-SSB... The UE 1102 may determine one or more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB based on a rule, or a look-up table or based on information known to the UE); wherein,
the monitoring is performed for NCD-SSBs ([0094] The UE may use the NCD-SSB (SSBs are transmitted in repeating burst set), received in the BWP configured for the reduced capability UEs, for L1 and L3 measurements; [0095] A UE continues to measure an SSS or a TRS of the serving cell after an initial access for synchronization purposes, e.g., to maintain synchronization with the serving cell. To support cell level mobility, the UE may measure the SSB of the serving cell and one or more neighbor cells... the UE may be configured with an intra-frequency L3 measurement gap to enable the UE to switch from the active DL BWP without SSB 606 or 608 to the initial DL BWP 610 in order to measure the SSB(s), e.g., if an SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP (hence the UE continues to measure the NCD-SSBs if the SSBs are transmitted on the active downlink BWP)) transmitted according to the timing and frequency information ([0108] the UE 902 may monitor for and/or receive PDSCH, PDCCH, a TRS, a CSI-RS, a PRS, or a non-CD SSB in the active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs; [0094] FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP; [0105] the UE 902 may determine or identify the configuration of the dedicated, active DL BWP and the active UL BWP based on a rule, based on a look up table, or based on previously known information; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc).
Regarding claim 28, LEI further discloses:
determining the timing information from the CD-SSB comprises applying a quasi-co- location (QCL) restriction to each received NCD-SSB;
a measurement gap (MG) specific ([0092] FIG. 5B... a guard period 518 or gap in time may be provided to allow the UE to switch between the BWPs) to the UE is used when CD-SSB measurement or NCD-SSB measurement ([0119] If the non-CD SSB is configured in the dedicated initial DL BWP (e.g., 1013) or the dedicated active DL BWP (e.g., 1014), the UE 1102, as well as higher capability UEs, may use the SSB for L1 and/or L3 measurements) needs a MG ([0095] If a reduced capability UE operates in an active DL BWP within an SSB, such as illustrated in FIG. 6, where the SSB resources are in the initial DL BWP 604 and not the active DL BWPs 606 and 608, the UE may be configured with an intra-frequency L3 measurement gap to enable the UE to switch from the active DL BWP without SSB 606 or 608 to the initial DL BWP 610 in order to measure the SSB(s), e.g., if an SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP as shown in FIG. 6. The network may configure the periodic measurement gaps for the UE via RRC signaling, for example. When a measurement gap starts, the reduced capability UE may suspend reception of downlink control and/or data in the active DL BWP 606 and may switch to another BWP configured with the DL RS, e.g., such as the initial DL BWP. A periodic or semi-static TRS/CSI-RS/PRS may be transmitted within the active DL BWP 606, and may be used for time/frequency tracking, L1 measurements for link maintenance, or as a QCL source for paging, wake up signal (WUS) monitoring and reception, etc) or
the measurement based on the CD-SSB is prioritized when both CD-SSB measurement and NCD-SSB measurement needs MG ([0095] A UE continues to measure an SSS or a TRS of the serving cell after an initial access for synchronization purposes, e.g., to maintain synchronization with the serving cell. To support cell level mobility, the UE may measure the SSB of the serving cell and one or more neighbor cells. If a reduced capability UE operates in an active DL BWP within an SSB (NCD-SSB configured in active DL BWP according to [0119]; [0094];), such as illustrated in FIG. 6, where the SSB resources are in the initial DL BWP 604 and not the active DL BWPs 606 and 608, the UE may be configured with an intra-frequency L3 measurement gap to enable the UE to switch from the active DL BWP without SSB 606 or 608 to the initial DL BWP 610 (NCD-SSB configured in initial DL BWP according to [0110];[0093];) in order to measure the SSB(s), (hence, CD-SSB is prioritized) e.g., if an SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP as shown in FIG. 6. The network may configure the periodic measurement gaps for the UE... When a measurement gap starts, the reduced capability UE may suspend reception of downlink control and/or data in the active DL BWP 606 and may switch to another BWP configured with the DL RS, e.g., such as the initial DL BWP).
Regarding claim 29, LEI discloses:
A user equipment (UE) ([0008] In an aspect of the disclosure, a method, a computer-readable medium, and an apparatus are provided for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) having a first capability associated with a lower maximum UE bandwidth than a second capability), comprising:
a transceiver ([0149] FIG. 15... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE... include a cellular baseband processor 1524 (also referred to as a modem) coupled to one or more transceivers 1522 (e.g., cellular RF transceiver)); and
a processor configured ([0149] FIG. 15... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE, a component of a UE, or may implement UE functionality... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE... The cellular baseband processor 1524 may include on-chip memory 1524) to:
receive via the transceiver (Fig. 15), from a base station associated with a network ([0055] The base station may include... a base transceiver station... The base station 102 provides an access point to the EPC 160 or core network 190 for a UE 104; [0103] FIG. 9 illustrates an example communication flow 900 between a reduced capability UE 902 and a base station 904), a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) ([0093] The UEs may monitor the resources of CORESET 0 to receive system information that enable the UEs to perform initial access, for example. A cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) may be transmitted within a maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced capability UEs) comprising a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) encoding a master information block (MIB) and corresponding system information blocks (SIBs) ([0072] The physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), may be logically grouped with the PSS and SSS to form a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block (also referred to as SS block (SSB)). The MIB provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN). The physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carries user data, broadcast system information not transmitted through the PBCH such as system information blocks (SIBs), and paging messages);
determine, from the MIB or SIB, timing information of non-cell-defining synchronization signal blocks (NCD-SSBs) (SSB are transmitted in repeating burst set) transmitted in a network comprising the base station (Fig. 9; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB (contains MIB according to [0072]), such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc; [0118] If the parameters (e.g., periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc.) of the non-CD SSB are configured separately from, or different than, the CD-SSB, the parameters may be indicated to the reduced capability UEs in various ways. As a first example, the parameters of the non-CD SSB that is the basis of the SSB-to-RO or SSB-to-preamble mapping may be configured in system information 1105 (e.g., in a separate SIB than for the higher capability UEs or in a same SIB but different IE than for the higher capability UEs). The parameters of the non-CD SSB may be configured in a broadcast PDCCH);
reconfigure the transceiver (Fig. 15; [0152] The apparatus 1504 may include means for receiving a configuration for a non-CD SSB in the active downlink BWP dedicated for the UEs having the first capability... TX Processor 368, the RX Processor 356, and the controller/processor 359 configured to perform the functions recited by the means) to monitor for NCD-SSBs ([0108] the UE 902 may monitor for and/or receive PDSCH, PDCCH, a TRS, a CSI-RS, a PRS, or a non-CD SSB in the active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs; [0094] FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE) based on the determined timing information ([0105] the UE 902 may determine or identify the configuration of the dedicated, active DL BWP and the active UL BWP based on a rule, based on a look up table, or based on previously known information without explicit signaling of the configuration from the base station 904; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc).
Regarding claim 30, LEI further discloses:
wherein the UE is a reduced capability (RedCap) UE ([0103] FIG. 9 illustrates an example communication flow 900 between a reduced capability UE 902 and a base station 904 based on an initial DL BWP and UL BWP that are shared between reduced capability UEs and higher capability UEs, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 7 and/or FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 31, LEI further discloses:
wherein the timing information ([0105] the UE 902 may determine or identify the configuration of the dedicated, active DL BWP and the active UL BWP based on a rule, based on a look up table, or based on previously known information without explicit signaling of the configuration from the base station 904; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc) is based on a fixed delay relative ([0092] FIG. 5B... a guard period 518 or gap in time may be provided to allow the UE to switch between the BWPs) to a time at which the CD-SSB is received ([0103] The UE 902 may operate based on TDD in which the UE monitors for downlink communication or transmits uplink communication and does not transmit and receive at overlapping times; [0093] The UEs may monitor the resources of CORESET 0 to receive system information that enable the UEs to perform initial access, for example. A cell-defining SSB (CS-SSB) may be transmitted within a maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced capability UEs; [0110] During initial access, the different capability UEs (e.g., the reduced capability UEs and non-reduced capability UEs) may share a common CD-SSB 1010, CORESET0 (e.g., initial DL BWP 1004).... the reduced capability UE may switch to a pair of separately configured initial DL BWP 1013 and initial UL BWP 1011 that are configured for reduced capability UEs to finish an initial access procedure).
Regarding claim 32, LEI further discloses:
the processor is further configured ([0149] FIG. 15... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE, a component of a UE, or may implement UE functionality... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE... The cellular baseband processor 1524 may include on-chip memory 1524) to,
determine, from the MIB or SIB, frequency information of the NCD-SSBs (SSBs are transmitted in repeating burst set) transmitted in the network comprising the base station (Fig. 9; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB (contains MIB according to [0072]), such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc; [0118] If the parameters (e.g., periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc.) of the non-CD SSB are configured separately from, or different than, the CD-SSB, the parameters may be indicated to the reduced capability UEs in various ways. As a first example, the parameters of the non-CD SSB that is the basis of the SSB-to-RO or SSB-to-preamble mapping may be configured in system information 1105 (e.g., in a separate SIB than for the higher capability UEs or in a same SIB but different IE than for the higher capability UEs). The parameters of the non-CD SSB may be configured in a broadcast PDCCH); and
the frequency information is determined from a physical resource block in which the CD-SSB is received or from the SIB of the cell transmitting this CD-SSB (Fig. 9; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc... the parameters of the non-CD SSB... may be configured in system information 1105 (e.g., in a separate SIB than for the higher capability UEs or in a same SIB but different IE than for the higher capability UEs)).
Regarding claim 33, LEI further discloses:
a position in burst index of the CD-SSB is equal to a position in burst index of a received NCD-SSB ([0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc (sharing the same periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency and numerology will occupy the same position in the burst index)); or
a burst index of the NCD-SSB is an index of SSB-PositionslnBurst or SSB- ToMeasure.
Regarding claim 35, LEI further discloses:
after reconfiguring the transceiver (Fig. 15; [0152] The apparatus 1504 may include means for receiving a configuration for a non-CD SSB in the active downlink BWP dedicated for the UEs having the first capability... TX Processor 368, the RX Processor 356, and the controller/processor 359 configured to perform the functions recited by the means) to monitor for NCD-SSBs ([0108] the UE 902 may monitor for and/or receive PDSCH, PDCCH, a TRS, a CSI-RS, a PRS, or a non-CD SSB in the active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs; [0094] FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE), the processor is configured to operate the transceiver (Fig. 15; [0149];) at a periodicity specific ([0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc; [0105] the UE 902 may determine or identify the configuration of the dedicated, active DL BWP and the active UL BWP based on a rule, based on a look up table, or based on previously known information) to the NCD-SSBs ([0108] the UE 902 may monitor for and/or receive PDSCH, PDCCH, a TRS, a CSI-RS, a PRS, or a non-CD SSB in the active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs; [0094] FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE); or
the processor is configured ([0149] FIG. 15... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE, a component of a UE, or may implement UE functionality... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE... The cellular baseband processor 1524 may include on-chip memory 1524) to:
apply identical PCI (physical cell ID) assumptions for PSS/SSS sequence assumption for CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB;
apply different PCI assumptions for the PSS/SSS sequence assumption for CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB, and PCI of NCD-SSB is indicated by the network; or
adopt per-UE MG ([0092] FIG. 5B... a guard period 518 or gap in time may be provided to allow the UE to switch between the BWPs) when CD-SSB measurement or NCD-SSB measurement ([0119] If the non-CD SSB is configured in the dedicated initial DL BWP (e.g., 1013) or the dedicated active DL BWP (e.g., 1014), the UE 1102, as well as higher capability UEs, may use the SSB for L1 and/or L3 measurements) requires MG ([0095] If a reduced capability UE operates in an active DL BWP within an SSB, such as illustrated in FIG. 6, where the SSB resources are in the initial DL BWP 604 and not the active DL BWPs 606 and 608, the UE may be configured with an intra-frequency L3 measurement gap to enable the UE to switch from the active DL BWP without SSB 606 or 608 to the initial DL BWP 610 in order to measure the SSB(s), e.g., if an SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP as shown in FIG. 6. The network may configure the periodic measurement gaps for the UE via RRC signaling, for example. When a measurement gap starts, the reduced capability UE may suspend reception of downlink control and/or data in the active DL BWP 606 and may switch to another BWP configured with the DL RS, e.g., such as the initial DL BWP. A periodic or semi-static TRS/CSI-RS/PRS may be transmitted within the active DL BWP 606, and may be used for time/frequency tracking, L1 measurements for link maintenance, or as a QCL source for paging, wake up signal (WUS) monitoring and reception, etc); or
prioritize measurement based on CD-SSB when both CD-SSB measurement and NCD-SSB measurement require MG ([0095] A UE continues to measure an SSS or a TRS of the serving cell after an initial access for synchronization purposes, e.g., to maintain synchronization with the serving cell. To support cell level mobility, the UE may measure the SSB of the serving cell and one or more neighbor cells. If a reduced capability UE operates in an active DL BWP within an SSB (NCD-SSB configured in active DL BWP according to [0119]; [0094];), such as illustrated in FIG. 6, where the SSB resources are in the initial DL BWP 604 and not the active DL BWPs 606 and 608, the UE may be configured with an intra-frequency L3 measurement gap to enable the UE to switch from the active DL BWP without SSB 606 or 608 to the initial DL BWP 610 (NCD-SSB configured in initial DL BWP according to [0110];[0093];) in order to measure the SSB(s), (hence, CD-SSB is prioritized) e.g., if an SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP as shown in FIG. 6. The network may configure the periodic measurement gaps for the UE... When a measurement gap starts, the reduced capability UE may suspend reception of downlink control and/or data in the active DL BWP 606 and may switch to another BWP configured with the DL RS, e.g., such as the initial DL BWP).
Regarding claim 36, LEI discloses:
A method of operating a base station ([0153] The method may be performed by a network entity, such as a base station or a component of a base station (e.g., the base station 102/180, 310, 904, 1104; the network entity 1802). The method may provide a configuration of BWPs for and after initial access that provides reduced bandwidths supported by the reduced capability UEs while maintaining flexibility in configuring bandwidth for higher capability UEs), comprising:
transmitting a first burst set of cell-defining synchronization signal blocks (CD-SSBs) (SSBs are transmitted in repeating burst set) at a first periodicity (Fig. 9: 906 – 914; [0093] The UEs may monitor the resources of CORESET 0 to receive system information that enable the UEs to perform initial access, for example. A cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) may be transmitted within a maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced capability UEs; ([0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc) and a first timing (Fig. 9: 912; ([0103] The UE 902 may operate based on TDD in which the UE monitors for downlink communication or transmits uplink communication and does not transmit and receive at overlapping times); and
transmitting a second burst set of non-cell-defining synchronization signal blocks (NCD-SSBs) (SSBs are transmitted in repeating burst set) at a second periodicity (Fig. 9: 922; [0094] FIG. 6. In such examples, a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc) and a second timing (Fig. 9: 922; [0103];).
Regarding claim 37, LEI further discloses:
wherein the second periodicity is different from the first periodicity ([0118] If the parameters (e.g., periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc.) of the non-CD SSB are configured separately from, or different than, the CD-SSB, the parameters may be indicated to the reduced capability UEs in various ways. As a first example, the parameters of the non-CD SSB that is the basis of the SSB-to-RO or SSB-to-preamble mapping may be configured in system information 1105 (e.g., in a separate SIB than for the higher capability UEs or in a same SIB but different IE than for the higher capability UEs). The parameters of the non-CD SSB may be configured in a broadcast PDCCH).
Regarding claim 38, LEI further discloses:
per-UE measurement gap (MG) is configured to UE ([0092] FIG. 5B... a guard period 518 or gap in time may be provided to allow the UE to switch between the BWPs) for MG based measurement ([0095] If a reduced capability UE operates in an active DL BWP within an SSB, such as illustrated in FIG. 6, where the SSB resources are in the initial DL BWP 604 and not the active DL BWPs 606 and 608, the UE may be configured with an intra-frequency L3 measurement gap to enable the UE to switch from the active DL BWP without SSB 606 or 608 to the initial DL BWP 610 in order to measure the SSB(s), e.g., if an SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP as shown in FIG. 6. The network may configure the periodic measurement gaps for the UE via RRC signaling, for example. When a measurement gap starts, the reduced capability UE may suspend reception of downlink control and/or data in the active DL BWP 606 and may switch to another BWP configured with the DL RS, e.g., such as the initial DL BWP. A periodic or semi-static TRS/CSI-RS/PRS may be transmitted within the active DL BWP 606, and may be used for time/frequency tracking, L1 measurements for link maintenance, or as a QCL source for paging, wake up signal (WUS) monitoring and reception, etc);
data/control channel scheduling is muted on one FR when measurement is configured on other FR within same symbols (Fig. 6; [0095] When a measurement gap starts, the reduced capability UE may suspend reception of downlink control and/or data in the active DL BWP 606 and may switch to another BWP configured with the DL RS, e.g., such as the initial DL BWP); or
measurement configuration is muted on one FR when data/control channel is scheduled on other FR within same symbols.
Regarding claim 39, LEI further discloses:
wherein each CD-SSB (SSBs are transmitted in repeating burst set) is transmitted in a first half frame ([0099] During initial access, the different capability UEs (e.g., the reduced capability UEs and non-reduced capability UEs) may share a common CD-SSB 710, CORESET 0 (e.g., in an initial DL BWP 704); [0093];) and each NCD-SSB is transmitted in a second half frame (Fig. 7 - 714; [0107] The active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs, e.g., 714 or 814... The active DL BWP may include a configured non-CD SSB; [0094];) different from the first half frame (Annotated Fig. 7; [0089] A carrier bandwidth may span a contiguous set of PRBs... for a given numerology on a given carrier... FIG. 4 illustrates a resource diagram 400 showing multiple BWPs (e.g., BWP 1, BWP 2, and BWP 3) configured within a frequency span of the carrier bandwidth (hence the BWPs are configured in the same radio frame)).
Regarding claim 40, LEI further discloses:
each NCD-SSB is broadcast after a fixed delay relative to a respective one CD-SSB; or
measurement configuration for the UE based on CD-SSB is prioritized when both CD-SSB measurement and NCD-SSB measurement needs MG ([0095] A UE continues to measure an SSS or a TRS of the serving cell after an initial access for synchronization purposes, e.g., to maintain synchronization with the serving cell. To support cell level mobility, the UE may measure the SSB of the serving cell and one or more neighbor cells. If a reduced capability UE operates in an active DL BWP within an SSB (NCD-SSB configured in active DL BWP according to [0119]; [0094];), such as illustrated in FIG. 6, where the SSB resources are in the initial DL BWP 604 and not the active DL BWPs 606 and 608, the UE may be configured with an intra-frequency L3 measurement gap to enable the UE to switch from the active DL BWP without SSB 606 or 608 to the initial DL BWP 610 (NCD-SSB configured in initial DL BWP according to [0110];[0093];) in order to measure the SSB(s) , (hence, CD-SSB is prioritized) e.g., if an SSB is not transmitted in the active downlink BWP as shown in FIG. 6. The network may configure the periodic measurement gaps for the UE... When a measurement gap starts, the reduced capability UE may suspend reception of downlink control and/or data in the active DL BWP 606 and may switch to another BWP configured with the DL RS, e.g., such as the initial DL BWP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-24 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20230140232 A1, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application Nos. 202111295500.9 filed on Nov. 3, 2021 hereinafter, ZHANG).
Regarding claim 22, LEI further discloses:
wherein the CD-SSB ([0099] During initial access, the different capability UEs (e.g., the reduced capability UEs and non-reduced capability UEs) may share a common CD-SSB 710, CORESET 0 (e.g., in an initial DL BWP 704)) and the NCD-SSB (Fig. 7 - 714; [0107] The active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs, e.g., 714 or 814... The active DL BWP may include a configured non-CD SSB) are transmitted ([0093]; [0094];) in a system frame number (SFN) (Fig. 2B; Fig. 6; [0072] The PSS is used by a UE 104 to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity. A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame... The physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), may be logically grouped with the PSS and SSS to form a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block (also referred to as SS block (SSB)). The MIB provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN)).
LEI does not explicitly disclose the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB are transmitted in the same frame.
However, ZHANG discloses a first SSB and a second SSB are transmitted in a same frame ([0138] the terminal receiving the signal set includes the terminal receiving a SSB (first SSB) or signal set in the same half frame, in which the position of the first symbol of the candidate SSB (second SSB) or signal set is determined by the subcarrier spacing of the SSB or signal set; [0144] Since the SSB (first SSB) and the signal set (SSB according to [0121]; second SSB) overlaps in time domain (hence the same frame) when the period is 5 ms... a configuration message may also be added for indicating whether the time domain half frame of the configuration for the signal set (second SSB) overlaps with that of the configuration for the current SSB (first SSB). In the generation of a PBCH DMRS sequence, the parameter of half frame index for the signal set is 1 when the PBCH is transmitted in the first half frame of a frame, and 0 when the PBCH is transmitted in the second half frame of the frame (first half and second half of the same frame)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the SFN of the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB of LEI to include being transmitted on the same frame, wherein the SFN is just associated the same way as the frame, and the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB are just associated the same way as the first SSB and the second SSB, respectively, as taught by ZHANG in order to provide more flexibility to assign time slots and resources (ZHANG - [0138] the terminal receiving the signal set includes the terminal receiving a SSB or signal set in the same half frame, in which the position of the first symbol of the candidate SSB or signal set is determined by the subcarrier spacing of the SSB or signal set; [0139] the signal set and SSB are frequency division multiplexed, which is beneficial for the system to perform configuration for time slots in time domain more flexibly. In one implementation, according to frequency point of cell, subcarrier spacing, etc. the base station transmits SSB at a corresponding symbol position, and the terminal receives SSB at an appointed position) and prevent overlapping in transmission by explicitly indicating whether the NCD-SSB is transmitted on the first half-frame or the second half-frame (ZHANG - [0144] Since the SSB and the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps in time domain when the period is 5 ms... a configuration message may also be added for indicating whether the time domain half frame of the configuration for the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps with that of the configuration for the current SSB. In the generation of a PBCH DMRS sequence, the parameter of half frame index for the signal set is 1 when the PBCH is transmitted in the first half frame of a frame, and 0 when the PBCH is transmitted in the second half frame of the frame).
Regarding claim 23, LEI further discloses:
the CD-SSB is transmitted in a first part of the SFN (Fig. 7 - 704; [0093] A cell-defining SSB (CS-SSB) may be transmitted within a maximum bandwidth supported by the reduced capability UEs; [0072] The PSS is used by a UE 104 to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity... The physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), may be logically grouped with the PSS and SSS to form a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block (also referred to as SS block (SSB)). The MIB provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN))) and the NCD-SSB is transmitted in a second part of the SFN (Fig. 7 - 714; [0094] a non-cell-defining SSB (NCD-SSB) may be transmitted within the initial BWP that is configured for the reduced capability UE; [0100] After initial access, a reduced capability UE may operate in an active DL BWP 714 and an active UL BWP 712 for reduced capability UEs; [0107] The active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs, e.g., 714 or 814... The active DL BWP may include a configured non-CD SSB; [0127] The UE may perform the initial access
based partially on a first initial downlink BWP shared among the UEs having the first capability and the UEs having the second capability and partially based on a second initial downlink BWP that is dedicated for the UEs having the first capability. BWP switching of the reduced capability UEs may be configured for a TDD mode, a full-duplex frequency division duplex (FD-FDD) mode, or a half-duplex frequency division duplex (HD-FDD) mode); or
the CD-SSB is transmitted in the second half frame of the SFN and the NCD-SSB is transmitted in the first half frame of the SFN.
LEI does not explicitly disclose the first part is a first half frame and the second part is a second half frame.
However, ZHANG discloses a first half frame and a second half frame ([0143] the terminal receiving the signal set includes the terminal receiving the signal set (e.g., SSB according to [0121]) in a half frame different from the SSB, and the position of the first symbol of the candidate SSB or signal set in the half frame is determined by the subcarrier spacing of the SSB or signal set, respectively; [0121] The embodiments of the present application provide a method of transmitting/receiving a signal block/set (hereinafter referred to as a signal set) in which a terminal receives a configuration for the signal set; [0144] the signal set may be configured to be transmitted in a half frame different from the SS burst set (an SS burst set are tied to the same radio frame), as shown in FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first part and second part of LEI to include the first half frame and the second half frame as taught by ZHANG in order to prevent overlapping in transmission and maintain the TDD configuration (LEI - [0114] The reduced capability of the UE 1102 may include a reduced operating bandwidth, or a lower maximum UE bandwidth, that is less than for higher capability UEs. The UE 1102 may operate based on TDD in which the UE monitors for downlink communication or transmits uplink communication and does not transmit and receive at overlapping times; ZHANG - [0144] Since the SSB and the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps in time domain when the period is 5 ms... a configuration message may also be added for indicating whether the time domain half frame of the configuration for the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps with that of the configuration for the current SSB. In the generation of a PBCH DMRS sequence, the parameter of half frame index for the signal set is 1 when the PBCH is transmitted in the first half frame of a frame, and 0 when the PBCH is transmitted in the second half frame of the frame).
Regarding claim 24, LEI further discloses:
the CD-SSB is transmitted in a same half-frame as the NCD-SSB; or
the network (Fig. 9 – System information; [0103] the UE 902 may receive system information 906. The system information may be for wireless communication with the base station 904 in a carrier bandwidth) indicates parameters which the NCD-SSB is transmitted on ([0118] The parameters of the non-CD SSB may be configured in a broadcast PDCCH. The UE 1102 may determine one or more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB based on a rule, or a look-up table or based on information known to the UE. The parameters of the non-CD SSB may be indicated to the UE, or determined by the UE, based on any combination of system information, PDCCH, a look up table, or a rule).
LEI does not explicitly disclose the parameters include an indication which half-frame to be transmitted on.
However, ZHANG discloses an indication which half-frame to be transmitted on ([0144] Since the SSB and the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps in time domain when the period is 5 ms... a configuration message may also be added for indicating whether the time domain half frame of the configuration for the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps with that of the configuration for the current SSB. In the generation of a PBCH DMRS sequence, the parameter of half frame index for the signal set is 1 when the PBCH is transmitted in the first half frame of a frame, and 0 when the PBCH is transmitted in the second half frame of the frame).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the parameters of LEI to include indication which half-frame to be transmitted on as taught by ZHANG in order to prevent overlapping in transmission by explicitly indicating whether the NCD-SSB is transmitted on the first half-frame or the second half-frame (ZHANG - [0144] Since the SSB and the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps in time domain when the period is 5 ms... a configuration message may also be added for indicating whether the time domain half frame of the configuration for the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps with that of the configuration for the current SSB. In the generation of a PBCH DMRS sequence, the parameter of half frame index for the signal set is 1 when the PBCH is transmitted in the first half frame of a frame, and 0 when the PBCH is transmitted in the second half frame of the frame).
Regarding claim 34, LEI further discloses:
the processor is configured ([0149] FIG. 15... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE, a component of a UE, or may implement UE functionality... The apparatus 1504 may be a UE... The cellular baseband processor 1524 may include on-chip memory 1524) to apply the same frame assumptions for the CD-SSB and the NCD-SSB ([0108] the UE 902 may monitor for and/or receive PDSCH, PDCCH, a TRS, a CSI-RS, a PRS, or a non-CD SSB in the active DL BWP that is dedicated for the reduced capability UEs; [0105] the UE 902 may determine or identify the configuration of the dedicated, active DL BWP and the active UL BWP based on a rule, based on a look up table, or based on previously known information without explicit signaling of the configuration from the base station 904; [0118] One of more of the parameters of the non-CD SSB may be the same as for the CD-SSB, such as a periodicity, block indexes, power offsets, center frequency, numerology, etc (hence the same frame)).
LEI does not explicitly disclose the same frame is a half frame.
However, ZHANG discloses a frame is a half frame ([0138] the terminal receiving the signal set includes the terminal receiving a SSB or signal set in the same half frame, in which the position of the first symbol of the candidate SSB or signal set is determined by the subcarrier spacing of the SSB or signal set. [0144] Since the SSB and the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps in time domain when the period is 5 ms... a configuration message may also be added for indicating whether the time domain half frame of the configuration for the signal set (SSB according to [0121]) overlaps with that of the configuration for the current SSB. In the generation of a PBCH DMRS sequence, the parameter of half frame index for the signal set is 1 when the PBCH is transmitted in the first half frame of a frame, and 0 when the PBCH is transmitted in the second half frame of the frame).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the same frame of LEI to include the half frame as taught by ZHANG in order to provide more flexibility to assign time slots and resources (ZHANG - [0139] the signal set and SSB are frequency division multiplexed, which is beneficial for the system to perform configuration for time slots in time domain more flexibly. In one implementation, according to frequency point of cell, subcarrier spacing, etc. the base station transmits SSB at a corresponding symbol position, and the terminal receives SSB at an appointed position).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
NAGANO et al. (US 20240284366 A1) the SSB indicated by the SSB index as a non-cell-defining SSB in a case where an absolute radio-frequency channel number indicating a frequency location at which the non-cell-defining SSB is transmitted is received.
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418